Philomena, 12 Years A Slave, Gravity, Star Trek Into Darkness Among Scores In Contention For Oscar

1407 days ago |

One hundred fourteen scores from eligible feature-length motion pictures released in 2013 will be vying for nominations in the Original Score category for the 86th Oscars®, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced today.

A Reminder List of works submitted in the Original Score category will be made available with a nominations ballot to all members of the Music Branch, who shall vote in the order of their preference for not more than five achievements.  The five achievements receiving the highest number of votes will become the nominations for final voting for the award.

Nomination voting in all Oscar categories begins Friday, December 27 and ends Wednesday, January 8.

The eligible scores along with their composers are listed below, in alphabetical order by film title:

      “Admission,” Stephen Trask, composer

      “Ain’t Them Bodies Saints,” Daniel Hart, composer

      “All Is Lost,” Alex Ebert, composer

      “Alone Yet Not Alone,” William Ross, composer

      “The Armstrong Lie,

See the full article on »

Movies & TV

Admission (2013)
All Is Lost (2013)
Alone Yet Not Alone (2013)
The Armstrong Lie (2013)
Arthur Newman (2012)
At Any Price (2012)
Austenland (2013)
Before Midnight (2013)
The Best Man Holiday (2013)
The Book Thief (2013)
The Call (2013)
Captain Phillips (2013)
Closed Circuit (2013)
The Company You Keep (2012)
The Conjuring (2013)
Copperhead (2013)
The Counselor (2013)
The Croods (2013)
Despicable Me 2 (2013)
Elysium (2013)
Enough Said (2013)
Epic (2013)
Escape from Planet Earth (2013)
Escape from Tomorrow (2013)
Evil Dead (1981)
Free Birds (2013)
Fruitvale Station (2013)
G.I. Joe: Retaliation (2013)
Gangster Squad (2013)
Gravity (2013)
The Great Gatsby (2013)
The Hangover Part III (2013)
Her (2013)
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (2013)
Hollywood Seagull (2013)
Hours (2013)
How Sweet It Is (2013)
The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (2013)
Identity Thief (2013)
The Incredible Burt Wonderstone (2013)
Insidious: Chapter 2 (2013)
Instructions Not Included (2013)
The Internship (2013)
The Invisible Woman (2013)
Iron Man 3 (2013)
Jack the Giant Slayer (2013)
Jobs (2013)
Labor Day (2013)
The Butler (2013)
Man of Steel (2013)
Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom (2013)
Monsters University (2013)
The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones (2013)
Mud (2012)
Murph: The Protector (2013)
Now You See Me (2013)
Oblivion (2013)
Oldboy (2013)
Olympus Has Fallen (2013)
Oz The Great and Powerful (2013)
Pacific Rim (2013)
Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters (2013)
Philomena (2013)
The Place beyond the Pines (2012)
Planes (2013)
Prisoners (2013)
R.I.P.D. (2013)
Reaching for the Moon (1930)
Runner Runner (2013)
Rush (2013)
Safe Haven (2013)
Salinger (2013)
Saving Mr. Banks (2013)
The Secret Life of Walter Mitty (2013)
Short Term 12 (2013)
Side Effects (2013)
The Smurfs 2 (2013)
The Spectacular Now (2013)
Star Trek Into Darkness (2013)
Stoker (2013)
Thor: The Dark World (2013)
Turbo (2013)
The Ultimate Life (2013)
Unfinished Song (2012)
Wadjda (2012)
Walking with Dinosaurs (1999)
Warm Bodies (2013)
We Steal Secrets: The Story of WikiLeaks (2013)
What Maisie Knew (2012)
Why We Ride (2013)
The Wind (1986)
The Wolverine (2013)
Life Of Pi (2012)
Follow (2013)


Stephen Trask
Daniel Hart
Alex Ebert
William Ross
David Kahne
Nick Urata
Dickon Hinchliffe
Ilan Eshkeri
Graham Reynolds
Stanley Clarke
John Williams
Rahman Altin
John Debney
Henry Jackman
Joby Talbot
Cliff Martinez
Joseph Bishara
Laurent Eyquem
Daniel Pemberton
Alan Silvestri
Heitor Pereira
Ryan Amon
Steve Jablonsky
Marcelo Zarvos
Danny Elfman
Vincent Courtois
Aaron Zigman
Abel Korzeniowski
Roque Baños
Mark Isham
Dominic Lewis
Tony Chen
Steven Price
Craig Armstrong
Christophe Beck
Atli Örvarsson
Gabriel Yared
William Butler
Owen Pallett
Howard Shore
Evgeny Shchukin
Benjamin Wallfisch
Matt Dahan
James Newton Howard
Christopher Lennertz
Lyle Workman
Carlo Siliotto
Brian Tyler
John Ottman
Rolfe Kent
Lee Daniels
Rodrigo Leão
Jack Holmes
Johan Söderqvist
Fernando Velázquez
Hans Zimmer
Alex Heffes
Marc Marder
Randy Newman
David Wingo
Chris Irwin
Jeff Widenhofer
Anthony Gonzalez
Joseph Trapanese
Trevor Morris
Ramin Djawadi
Andrew Lockington
Alexandre Desplat
Mike Patton
Mark Mancina
Jóhann Jóhannsson
Deborah Lurie
Lorne Balfe
Thomas Newman
Theodore Shapiro
Joel P. West
Rob Simonsen
Michael Giacchino
Clint Mansell
Conrad Pope
Rick Smith
Clinton Shorter
Mark McKenzie
Laura Rossi
Max Richter
Paul Leonard-Morgan
Marco Beltrami
Buck Sanders
Will Bates
Steven Gutheinz
Joe Hisaishi
Winnie Mandela
Mychael Danna
Samuel Goldwyn