9th Annual Governors Awards Recipients Announced – Charles Burnett, Owen Roizman, Donald Sutherland And Agnès Varda

47 days ago | WeAreMovieGeeks.com

The Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences voted Tuesday night (September 5) to present Honorary Awards to writer-director Charles Burnett, cinematographer Owen Roizman, actor Donald Sutherland and director Agnès Varda. The four Oscar® statuettes will be presented at the Academy’s 9th Annual Governors Awards on Saturday, November 11, at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland Center.

“This year’s Governors Awards reflect the breadth of international, independent and mainstream filmmaking, and are tributes to four great artists whose work embodies the diversity of our shared humanity,” said Academy President John Bailey.

Born in Mississippi and raised in the Watts neighborhood of Los Angeles, Burnett is an independent filmmaker whose work has been praised for its portrayal of the African-American experience. He wrote, directed, produced, photographed and edited his first feature film, “Killer of Sheep,” in 1977. His other features include “My Brother’s Wedding,

See the full article on WeAreMovieGeeks.com »

Movies & TV

American experience (1988)
Killer of Sheep (1978)
To Sleep with Anger (1990)
The Glass Shield (1994)
America Becoming (1991)
Nat Turner: A Troublesome Property (2003)
The Horse (1973)
When It Rains (1995)
The French Connection (1971)
The Exorcist (1973)
Network (1976)
Tootsie (1982)
Wyatt Earp (1994)
Stop (1970)
The Heartbreak Kid (1972)
Three Days of the Condor (1975)
Absence of Malice (1981)
True Confessions (1981)
The Addams Family (1991)
Grand Canyon (1991)
The Dirty Dozen (1967)
Klute (1971)
The Day of the Locust (1975)
Invasion of the Body Snatchers (1978)
Ordinary People (1980)
Cold Mountain (2003)
The Italian Job (2003)
The Hunger Games (2012)
Cleo from 5 to 7 (1962)
Le Bonheur (1965)
Vagabond (1985)
Faces Places (2017)


Charles Burnett
Owen Roizman
Donald Sutherland
Agnès Varda
Ray Dolby
John Bailey