Classics Film Fest Unspools in Colombia (Exclusive)

34 days ago | Variety - Film News

With Sean Baker, Trey Edwards, Chris Newman, Ed Lachman, Peter Webber and Mike Hausman among its board members, a new film festival of classic films will unspool from Nov. 10 -13 in Bogota, Colombia.

Dubbed The Classics – Festival of the Films That Will Live Forever, the new film fest is founded by producer Ivonne Torres and Juan Carvajal, co-founder and artistic director of the three-year old Bogota Independent Film Festival, IndieBo.

Buoyed by sell-out crowds at IndieBo last July when the festival screened restored classics via a new pact with Martin Scorsese’s Film Foundation, Carvajal said: “I saw how these movie gems – rescued and restored with the support of the Film Foundation – deserved nothing better than to be enjoyed where they belong: the big screen.”

For many moviegoers in Bogota, it was the first time to see such classics as Joseph L. Mankiewicz’s “All About Eve,” Elia Kazan’s “On the Waterfront,” and [link=nm

See the full article on Variety - Film News »

Movies & TV

All About Eve (1950)
On the Waterfront (1954)
Rebel Without a Cause (1955)
Some Like It Hot (1959)
Manhattan (2014)
Belle de Jour (1967)
Vertigo (1958)
Carol (2015)
The Virgin Suicides (1999)
Tangerine (2015)
The Florida Project (2017)
La Gente de la Universal (1991)
It Comes at Night (2017)
The Godfather (1972)
Amadeus (1984)
The Exorcist (1973)
The English Patient (1996)
Embrace of the Serpent (2015)
Girl with a Pearl Earring (2003)
The Medusa (????)
Boomerang (1992)
Katrina (2007)
The Age of Innocence (1993)
The Sacrifice (1986)
Night of the Living Dead (1968)
Lucky (2017)
Beauty and the Beast (1991)
The Lion King (1994)
I Tawt I Taw a Puddy Tat (2011)
Close Encounters of the Third Kind (1977)
Predator (1987)


Sean Baker
Chris Newman
Ed Lachman
Peter Webber
Mike Hausman
Ivonne Torres
Martin Scorsese
Joseph L. Mankiewicz
Elia Kazan
Billy Wilder
Woody Allen
Luis Bunuel
Alfred Hitchcock
Margaret Bodde
Felipe Aljure
Ciro Guerra
Warrington Hudlin
Kenji Mizoguchi
Milos Forman
Andrei Tarkovsky
George Romero
John Carroll Lynch
Steven Spielberg
John McTiernan
Natalia Santa