User Reviews (746)

  • kz917-129 January 2018
    5/10
    Rotten Georgia Peach
    Jeepers! What awful characters.

    Four hours of death, trickery, and lust for someone else's husband.

    Ugh.. A classic is may be, but not my cup of tea!
  • Asif Kazi21 January 2018
    10/10
    After all Tomorrow is Another Day! Tenacious South!
    I am not going to write a review in a classical sense of things. this is a film which should better be watched than reviewed one thing i would like to say is that our hearts are very silly part of body we don't know the importance of people around us but we focus on some abstract ideal being who only lives in our mind. Human being is actually flawed creature, it is violent selfish and at the same time kind and compassionate animal that is beauty of film till the end you will never figure out who is hero who is villain.
  • elizabetbowencc2 January 2018
    9/10
    I didn't like it at first, but then it grew on me, and now I love it!
    Warning: Spoilers
    I'm going to be completely honest, I really hated the movie at first. Scarlett Just seemed to whine so much and it drove me crazy. I've always grown up believing that you make the most of what you have, and she just wasn't fitting the bill of the perfect heroine. She just seemed to lack so much in her character, she had no depth.

    Then the war started and things began to look more interesting... Until she went and married Charles all because she wanted to make Ashley jealous. When she did this, it felt like my distaste for her would never end. I would have never believed I would be loving her character by the end of the movie.

    When her first husband died and she was forced to wear mourning clothes at the party, I couldn't help but be astonished at her behavior. Some poor man had just died, her husband no less. Even if she did not love him, she should have at least felt some remorse. Then Rhett Butler entered the ball. This was the turninig point for my view on the movie. I wasn't able to stop myself from thinking "This is it, Scarlett. This is your chance for happiness." And for a moment, when she went to dance with the man, I thought she had. But then she just ran right back to Ashley, even though the man was already married.

    Jumping ahead to when she was a nurse in Atlanta, it is my belief that this is where her character development truly started to progress. I may sound like a total monster, but the scene when she is running through the streets surrounded by wounded and dying soldiers may very well be my favorite. She was driven to run through such a horrible scene to help Melanie, the wife of the man she loved, to get a doctor as the woman was about to give birth. Scarlett had a huge grudge against Melanie, but because of the promise she made to Ashley, she protected her to the best of her abilities.

    Much later in the movie, after she had married Rhett Butler and after her daughter had died, the most inspiring moment of the movie came. The death of Melanie seemed to fuel the final change in Scarlett's character. Though it helped puth the final crack in Rhett and Scarlett's relationship as she hugged Ashley in front of her then husband for comfort, it led to many important revelations. First, that Ashley never really loved Scarlett. This in turn caused Scarlett to realise she was not upset by this, for she thought she loved him but she did not. In reality, she had loved Rhett for quite some time.

    When Scarlett returns home and he leaves her, speaking the famous phrase "frankly my dear, I don't give a damn," she is heartbroken. But she then remembers Tara, and swears that she will return to her home and find a way to get him back.

    In conclusion, I must say that Scarlett really surprised me. She seemed so annoyingly shallow in the beginning, but as the story progressed and the plot got deeper, so did she. Her character development was truly remarkable. And without Vivien Leigh as the actress, this may not have been possible, her skill at being able to completely become another person is one of the key factors in this films success.

    Of course who could forget the incredible casting, cinematography, and directing. For a movie from the 1930's, it seemed well ahead of its time. The fact that the movie is still so loved to this very day is proof of that.
  • Benedito Dias Rodrigues2 January 2018
    10/10
    My Masterpiece number 6!!!
    At last l surrender for this classic,when l saw it for first time in 1983 in my teenage years l found just a good movie,sometimes long and boring,l had a second chance to watch it which l did in 90',in that time it seems me a little better,but now on a Blu-ray experience l finally understood how this picture is a real classic,the civil war works as backdrop to this strong drama before and after the war,Vivien Leigh and Gable in your best definitive moment,worth to remenber the stunning performance by Hattie McDaniel who won the first Oscar by colored people!!

    Resume:

    First watch: 1983 / How many: 3 / Source: TV-Blu-ray / Rating: 10
  • norahthebadgerwombat18 December 2017
    10/10
    Fantastic Dramatization of the Civil War
    I watched this movie for the first time at fourteen years old. I enjoyed it immensely. I have always been a fanatic for anything Civil War themed, so when my mother recommended it to me, it was a yes from the start. The opening scenes show the young Scarlett O'Hara as she awaits her father's arrival. Beloved in the eyes of all the men in the county, Scarlett has acquired a high self-esteem, but when the War is announced to come after all, the high-spirited Scarlett soon faces obstacles that are determined to destroy her faith and her hope. She meets many people along the way, she even gets married. With new relationships, new responsibilities come as well. Rhett Butler, a man determined to have Scarlett for his own, comes into her life half way through both the novel and the movie, and he fights her on topics such as love, politics and societal roles. Even after the Civil War, Scarlett is still faced with many decisions. She has faced death, marriage and defeat many times. Still willing to go on, even when it seemed impossible, Scarlett leaves us with the last quote of the novel and book, "After all, tomorrow is another day."
  • Richie-67-4858529 December 2017
    10/10
    Gone But Not Forgotten
    I was dating at the time this came out in a small theater on Hollywood blvd for a short run. Me and my girlfriend decided to see a movie and chose this one not knowing anything about it. We sat in the balcony and was immediately captured by the music, characters, story-line and each other as we watched what we thought was a memorable night out together. Unknown to me, when part one ended I thought the movie was over and remarked boy that was good but I wonder what happened after that. We got up to go and found out it was only intermission. I cannot describe the feelings of joy knowing there was more. We were not disappointed either. When it ended I felt totally satisfied and changed forever more. A great movie with my future wife locked into each other for our lifetime. Since then, I have seen this movie so many times never tiring of it. I bought the collectors sets (vhs) and finally the DVD. Just finished watching it again loving every moment until the end. Will I see it again? Why not after all tomorrow is another day....Good movie to eat with while watching
  • gkeith_124 November 2017
    10/10
    Great
    Warning: Spoilers
    Great. Stunning. Excellent.

    Beautiful costuming. Red slinky dress on Scarlett is totally smashing. Green drape dress quite ingenious. White gown on her stunning. Mammy and Prissy clothes drab and wish they could have had dressy clothes also. Belle Watling clothing bright and beautifully garish. Bonnie Blue always looks cute and lovely. Rhett and Ashley dashing and gentlemanly looks.

    Music pleasant and a nice background.

    Miz Scarlett was a whiz at attracting all those men. She had to keep fighting them off. I noticed a future Superman early in the film on the front steps. Later she marries a boy then an old man, says Rhett later, but he is no spring chicken himself.
  • paskuniag-584-89055120 November 2017
    9/10
    Like the film? Read the book.
    I've seen the film many times, have always enjoyed it. But I've been reading the book for the first time. It's a very long novel, and you have to stay with it if you want to see the ending. It's a good read, but Margaret Mitchell, former newspaper reporter, is very thorough in her description of both Southern culture and the changes that the Civil War brought to it. It's the size of the book that was the biggest challenge for David O Selznick. Not what parts to film, but which parts to leave out. So many characters that appeared in the book couldn't be introduced in the movie without extending the film's length to well over four hours. So he had Sidney Howard write the screenplay, then cut that down to a filmable length by hiring several more writers to further pare the script, and was still rewriting it himself while it was being filmed. Selznick was close to running out of money, so he asked his angel, millionaire Jock Whitney, to loan him enough to finish the film. The film was finally completed and edited, then was test-marketed at a theatre not far from LA. The viewers were excited about having seen it and said so on their preview cards, which allowed Selznick to rest easy, knowing he had a hit on his hands.
  • ludvikmarki16 October 2017
    7/10
    Good, but if it was shortened down it wouldve been waay better!!
    OK so just watched this whole movie! One of the only things i can think about it is how extremely long it is! if this movie had been half the time it actually is it probably wouldve been an amazing movie in my opinion! but the length destroys the whole movie! it is soo boring! i know people love this but i try to see how and why! it is impressing for its time, but thats all i find that actually is good! the story is OK, and Clark gable saves the movie basically the whole way through.
  • Tweetienator11 October 2017
    10/10
    One of the Greatest
    A perfect epic movie with a great story and a superb playing cast and one of the biggest productions imaginable. Like Ben Hur and War and Peace a classic for all eternity.

    A world is going down, a new world is rising out of the ashes of the gone - melancholy, fear, the sacrifice, and hope of a whole generation fighting and suffering in the Amercian Civil War.

    In our troubled times, where war and terror are present almost in every corner of our world and in times where the status quo seems to be a faster and faster-going constant stream and faster-going flow, where nobody can be sure or predict what the future ahead may bring to us, a movie more relevant than most people think.
  • dtroiano-109916 October 2017
    One of the greatest of all time!
    Simply put this is one of the most amazing movies I have ever seen. I have watched it since I was very young thanks to my mom. Love Clark Gable in this. This movie was so far ahead of its time, Hollywood is just now catching up to it. Top of the list for classic cinema. - Don Troiano-
  • mallaverack29 September 2017
    8/10
    The brilliant Vivien Leigh made me so angry!!
    Warning: Spoilers
    Just yesterday, I watched the entire GWTW for the first time (excellent quality DVD)and even though in comfort of my own home, I found this film way too long. I would not, could not, sit for almost four hours in a cinema to watch any movie. As a great number of reviewers have pointed out here, this is a movie of two parts, the second bordered on soap opera and partly for that reason, I am unable to give a 10 star, gushing endorsement to GWTW.

    The characterisation also bothered me. Of the four principal parts, Leslie Howard's (Ashley Wilkes)was the least credible performance.Here we have someone ready and eager to go off to war but someone unable or unwilling to express his genuine love for his wife Melanie when taunted by the scheming, jealous Scarlett O'Hara. And it seems so odd that Selznick would cast an Englishman as a southern gentleman, particularly when Howard's 'Englishness' was so apparent for his entire performance?! Surely there were better-looking US actors (who sounded like southerners) to play the part of a so-called dashing lead character!

    Despite the fact that it was apparent that everybody regarded Melanie(Olivia De Havilland) as a saintly figure who never spoke ill of anybody, it was almost beyond credibility that she appeared so blithely unaware of Scarlett's manipulative, brattish intentions and behaviour. And on learning of the possible romantic link between Ashley and Scarlett, Melanie reacts in an even more incredible fashion.

    It was the portrayal, the brilliant portrayal by Vivien Leigh of the story's heroine, that unnerved me more than anything else. Despite the many reasonable defences of Scarlett's character and behaviour - she shows stoicism in hardship, displays admirable strength in returning the fortunes of Tara etc etc - I found Scarlett O'Hara such a most unlikeable, indeed, almost detestable character, that I longed for the scene in which she would get her comeuppance! She was selfish (selfless when material gain beckoned), simpering, headstrong, jealous, vindictive, childish, scheming, stubborn, cruel and seemingly incapable of genuine affection for anybody save her father - most noticeably not for any of her three husbands nor for the presumed object of her unrequited love, Ashley Wilkes. She even steals her younger sister's fiancé Frank Kennedy whom she marries for financial gain. Scarlett also shows no qualms in engaging in dubious business practices and exploiting convict labour in her lumber business.

    How typical that shortly after marriage, Rhett insists he'll spend as much as necessary on a new mansion in Atlanta and Scarlett responds with: "Oh Rhett, I want everybody who's been mean to me to be pea-green with envy."

    On three occasions, Scarlett uses physical force to show her anger and pride when she slaps somebody across the face - if only Ashley or Rhett or even Mammy had the gumption to give this hoyden a similar whack!

    From my perspective, never has there been a more apt closing line in a movie because regarding the fate of Scarlett O'Hara, I couldn't give a damn.
  • Edgar Allan Pooh9 September 2017
    4/10
    The reasons WHY this flick is worse than and MUST be outlawed like Kiddie Porn . . .
    Warning: Spoilers
    . . . are Self-Evident to ALL Loyal Patriotic Normal Average True Blue Progressive Union Label Americans. From its mendacious opening scroll to Rhett Butler's final words about Damnation, GONE WITH THE WIND (as well as Margaret Mitchell's poorly-written source material) perpetuates and celebrates the most Evil BIG LIE in all of American History. If Leni Riefenstahl were alive today to make a sequel to her star-making vehicle for Adolph Hitler (TRIUMPH OF THE WILL, an equally over-rated Propaganda Piece that came out within a few months of GWTW's Grand Premiere), and IF Der Fuhrer were alive and kicking (and able to rant in semi-coherent English), Hitler could easily co-opt the supporters of Red Commie KGB Chief Vlad "The Mad Russian" Putin's White House Sock Puppet Don Juan Rump in a New York Minute. Such is the power of Big Money Cinema, even when this sinful enema is flushing out the most vile excrement imaginable, such as TRIUMPH OF THE WILL or GONE WITH THE WIND. It is ILLEGAL even Today for Germans to own a copy of Ms. Riefenstahl's Satanic TRIUMPH, and the U.S. Government MUST take similar action against GWTW immediately! How many Heather Heyers must die before this KKK recruiting tool is eradicated?!

    When Kiddie Porn was outlawed, there was no "Grandfather Clause" to allow perverts to retain the smut that they had legally purchased in the 1950s for "Old Time's Sake" or "to Preserve Film History." (You can still Google stories about Oklahoma State Troopers seizing Blockbuster VHS tape rental records so that they could kick in the doors of folks who'd just rented the PG-13 movie version of Gunther Grass's coming-of-age novel, THE TIN DRUM.) Also, ISIS beheading Youtubes now can be found only on the Dark Web--NOT in public Art House Film Festival Revivals or in University Film Appreciation Classes aimed at Impressionable Youth. America MUST follow Germany's lead Vis a Vis Nazi paraphernalia in regard to GWTW. ALL copies of this Demonic Fake Facts Racist Screed MUST be incinerated ASAP, along with ALL the Rhett and Scarlett dolls, GWTW posters and lobby cards, Grand Premiere newsreel footage, and so forth. This should be VERY easy to do--all the GWTW offal added together amounts to less than 1% of the Kiddie Porn already stamped out by our Brave FBI Agents. For each person killed by Evil Kiddie Porn, more than 100 have died at the hands of GWTW's Racist White Supremacy "Romance." EVERY Black person who's lived from the 1930s up until Today has suffered at least some harm from GWTW, even if they have not paid the Ultimate Price by being Lynched or run over by a Dodge Charger. If YOU have seen GWTW more than once, go get your head examined to see if you're a ticking time bomb like Dylann Roof, or if your name merely belongs on the coming-soon National Registry of Racists!
  • graphicstyle728 August 2017
    10/10
    It is a controversial movie, true...
    Warning: Spoilers
    Here is how I feel about Gone With the Wind. My mom's side of the family is Southern. They lived mostly around where Scarlett and her gang hung out. Some had plantations and owned slaves. My grandparents were "old fashioned" in the clueless way Margaret Mitchell was. I've heard their side lots of times, and I found it to be wrong. If I were Black, I wouldn't like to pass by statues erected to past oppressors either, nor would I want to have flags in my face constantly reminding me of a sorrowful past.

    However, please consider this.

    1. If you're going to get upset at GWTW and ban showing it, then you would also want to eliminate the rest of the movies from back then which show stereotypes as well, correct? Unfortunately, ALMOST ALL, probably about 98% of Black roles for the stage and screen pre-1960's were just as racist as in GWTW, many were worse.

    The problem is, if you get rid of these movies, you erase the work of any Black actors back then as well. You won't see why Hattie McDaniel won an Oscar for a performance in a land so bigoted, she could not sit in the audience during the premiere. You won't see lots of superb singing, dancing, and acting by any African-American during this time. They will be completely ignored because of the context.

    You wind up punishing all these people who wanted to work in entertainment and had little influence over the roles they played as well as those whites who made those movies.

    And...

    2. Hollywood whitewashes and pretties up EVERYTHING. It always has. Don't get upset because they did it for the millionth time in GWTW.

    Consider the movie "300", about ancient Sparta. There was no mention of slaves they owned, or the organized pedophilia that went into the training of boys (Google it if you don't know what I'm talking about).

    And yet, there were no mass protests at the rose colored vision in the movie. No one came to picket the film because it omitted a horrendous flaw in Spartan society.

    Why? Well, for one thing, that was well over 2000 years ago. What happened in Sparta is no longer directly relevant to anyone. No normal, modern army expects raping young boys as part of their training.

    It's no longer relevant.

    Unfortunately, GWTW IS STILL RELEVANT. Many of the problems portrayed in this film and any film from back then with Black actors are still haunting the U.S.. Denying that there is anything wrong and everything is just fine and has been fixed is simply denying reality.

    Why do I care? Unfortunately, GWTW is one of my favorite books and films. It has a strong, still unique story of feminism I can relate to. That is what is relevant to me in the film. I have tended in the past to brush aside the slave part because it seems surreal to me to own people. I'm certainly not sitting there, hoping the "good ol' days" can come back. I like the modern world with its aim of acceptance and tolerance. I get the feeling the vast majority of viewers feel the same way.

    How do we solve this problem? When Blacks are truly integrated, and that day will come, then GWTW will no longer be that relevant. It won't strike any raw nerves. The protests will die down, just as they have for every other hot button issue who's time has come and gone.

    True classics never die. GWTW has many redeeming features which have made it endlessly entertaining to me and thousands of other people. Keep talking about it, show the movie now and then with perhaps a short lecture on history and context before, and know that in time, the pain will fade.

    ALSO, KEEP IN MIND, when you criticize Scarlett for her actions, there was NO OTHER WAY to survive in the Victorian world if you were a woman other than SEDUCING A MAN. It's not like she could go off to college and get a degree. Women were NOT allowed to own land, have a bank account,vote, hold a job (besides perhaps a hat maker or, much more commonly, a prostitute) etc. If she seems strange for marrying men she didn't love,keep in mind it was that, or be totally broke and homeless.

    Much of the criticism of her character comes from total lack of knowledge about this context.

    As for the movie itself. I first saw it when I was thirteen. It made quite an impression. Forty years or so later, it still moves me. Some people criticize the main character, Scarlett, because she's "not nice". She's not "typical" of a main female character.

    Scarlett behaves in an uncomfortably realistic way. She's not a nice lady, she is a super-rare female anti-hero. She's not comfortingly evil, but she's never going to be a goody two shoes. Some people don't know how to handle that.

    Melanie, on the other hand, is criticized for being "unrealistic". I would ask anyone who thinks that to understand the context of the times she lived in. There was no mass media, save for the local newspaper, and that was hardly an international trove of information as they are now. No TV, no radio, no internet. A person could grow up to be innocent in a way we simply don't experience in modern society.

    It's a movie about survival. And it's a war movie without battle scenes. I would urge you to watch it.
  • justin-fencsak25 August 2017
    10/10
    The best four hour movie ever made!!
    When it comes to the most popular movies of all time, not any summer blockbuster can't beat this classic, a movie that beat Snow White for the most popular movie of all time when you count reissues, TV showings, and of course home media releases. Based on a best selling book, Gone With the Wind is set during the Civil War, the only war in which two sides of a country fought each other for supremacy. There's love, romance, drama, as well as some comedy and action in this movie that's nearly 80 years old yet feels like a classic movie. Only one cast member, Olivia De Halland, is still alive. The movie has won many Oscars as Titanic, Ben-Hur, and the Lord of the Rings trilogy capper Return of the King. Go watch it on Amazon Prime!!!
  • thomaspkanell20 August 2017
    3/10
    Detestable Depiction of Romance and of "Genteel" Civilization
    Warning: Spoilers
    As I write this review (in 2017) we have violence in Charlottesville, Virginia by white supremacists, a church group killed in Charleston, South Carolina by a gunman enamored of the Confederate flag (2015.) And over the last eighty years, we have "Gone With The Wind" as a kind of statement of a nostalgia for the "good old days" when slaves catered to the whim of white people, where white cousins married each other, where mistresses slapped their servants around, where people didn't marry for love, but for power, money, social standing and lust. Talk about depressing!

    As if the institution of slavery weren't vile enough, we actually see the effect of slavery on the slave owners themselves who aren't able to have an honest romance with each other because they can't respect humanity enough to treat all people equally as "endowed by their Creator" with "inalienable rights of life, liberty and happiness." If the basis of Southern society were based on the denial of these rights, is it any wonder that the pursuit of happiness was forever out of reach for these people? If people can't love or respect those who labor honestly and serve them well, how can they possibly love themselves or each other?

    Scarlett is a spoiled young woman, always scheming in the ways of love, who never grows up. Rhett sees the futility of war with the North, but yet he enlists with the Confederates after Atlanta falls because he can't keep himself from supporting a losing cause and because of his warped sense of "honor." The movie-goer is subjected to many rounds of deviousness, deception and tragedy, just as the Southerners deceived themselves about their own supposed virtue even while subjugating and enslaving of a whole class of people.

    Men are always depicted as "genteel," women as "belles," slaves as "simple and accommodating," the North as "oppressive and ruthless." The North and South are depicted as two separate countries, two separate civilizations. It's an affront to Lincoln's vision that the United States was one country which should remain united and held together as such.

    The only character who shows any depth is Melanie, Ashley's wife, who is long-suffering and sacrificing, but her frailty and meekness overshadow her goodness.

    It is unsettling that in 1939 and even today that this movie is considered one of the greatest ever made. To me, it's detestable! It's a national tragedy that slavery should ever have existed, but this movie is also a tragic in that it invokes a nostalgia for a civilization that should forever be relegated to the dust-bin of history. Just three years before this movie was released, Jesse Owens won four gold medals at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin, and yet in his home country he was a second-class citizen. It would be another eight years that Jackie Robinson would become Rookie of the Year in Major League Baseball. The black actress, Hattie McDaniel, who won the Academy Award for "Best Supporting Actress" in this movie was forbidden by Georgia authorities to attend her own movie's premiere in Atlanta! Let us not forget that 1939 was also the year that Hitler sought to create his own racist society by killing millions of innocent Jews, Slavs and other undesirables in WW2. When you have people praising this movie so glibly and glossing over the prevailing ideas of racism even today, one wonders to where our sense of moral outrage has disappeared.

    Greatest film ever made? I just don't see it. It made me angry, nauseous and offended. I couldn't find any redemption for the film from a purely romantic point of view either. Everyone deceives each other, nobody is honest and for this reason, tragedy abounds. I think the film says more about American racism than it does about theatrical art. And this racism is not a theoretical racism incidental to the story line, but it's about the prevalent racism that had allowed the original institution to exist, this particular movie to be made and our present racial strife to perpetuate.
  • JohnHowardReid29 July 2017
    10/10
    Victor Fleming and Other Directors of The Wind!
    Warning: Spoilers
    "Gone With The Wind" won numerous awards, including the Photoplay Gold Medal and the Film Daily Best Picture of the Year (selected by polling over 450 U.S. film critics), but missed out on The New Film Critics (though Vivien Leigh's was voted Best Feminine Performance) which went to Wuthering Heights. The National Board of Review placed Gone With The Wind only 9th (even The Biscuit Eater preceded it).

    The uncredited writers listed by IMDb all made a fair contribution to the finished script. Other writers who worked on the scenario at various stages include Jo Swerling, John Balderston, Michael Foster, Winston Miller, Charles MacArthur and Edwin Justus Mayer. Director George Cukor also took a hand.

    The story of the filming of "Gone With The Wind" has been told in many books, most notably "Scarlet, Rhett, and a Cast of Thousands" by Roland Flamini (Macmillan, New York, 1975).

    The director: Considering the continued popularity of at least three of his films, Victor Fleming has never been a household name. Yet more people have seen "Gone With The Wind" in a cinema than any other movie in history. In 1982, gross film rental to that date from the U.S.- Canada market alone was $76,700,000. (Negative cost: $3,957,000). As some movie prices have increased a staggering 5,000% since 1939, the figure needs to be multiplied by at least ten — perhaps as much as twenty or thirty — to give a just comparison with movies such as Star Wars ($193,500,000) and E.T. ($187,000,000). "Gone With The Wind" was voted the best film of all time in a poll conducted by the American Film Institute. But not only did Fleming direct this outright winner, he had another film among the nine runners-up: "The Wizard of Oz". Fleming was the only director with two films on the list.

    Some critics have pointed out that Fleming did not direct all of either of these films. He had to leave "Wizard" for "Wind" when the former picture was almost completed. King Vidor finished up. However, Fleming returned after his stint on GWTW to supervise the cutting of Oz and it would be churlish indeed to cavil at his sole director credit. GWTW is a bit different. Cukor had already directed about 5% of the finished movie when Fleming took over. When Victor himself walked out after a particularly acrimonious clash with Vivien Leigh, Sam Wood was called in and then retained to direct a second unit, even after Fleming was prevailed upon to return. Wood directed 33 minutes (14%) of the released footage, particularly in the Reconstruction sequences.

    William Cameron Menzies directed about 15% of the picture, including the Atlanta fire (the first scene shot) and the memorable silhouette of Leigh and Mitchell at Tara. However, Fleming directed all Gable's scenes (except Rhett's visit to Scarlett with the Paris hat, which was directed by Cukor; and Gable's final exit, which was actually directed by Selznick himself — in Fleming's presence). Fleming also shot the opening sequence of the picture at Tara, Ashley's furlough, Leigh and Howard's love scene in the woodshed, Melanie's death, some of Scarlett's return to Tara, some of the scenes in the cotton fields, and perhaps the film's most memorable shot of all — the enormous crane shot of wounded Confederate soldiers at the railroad depot. (Selznick himself directed some of these takes, and in the end, neither man could say who shot the take actually used in the movie).

    The film's most memorable scene — Scarlett shooting Paul Hurst's deserter — was directed by Cukor.

    It might justly be claimed that as Fleming directed the main story- line, he deserved the main credit. All the same he was unhappy at being shut out of the film's editing by Selznick. He boycotted the Awards dinner at the Ambassador at which he would have received his first — and only — honor from The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. (He'd never been nominated before and was never nominated again.)
  • poewilson17 July 2017
    7/10
    Directing
    Amazingly shot and directed, with poor pacing. That is Gone with the Wind. It is the Titanic of its day, financially viable, idealised and romanticised to levels that only Hollywood can bring and given that the source material is basically one of the world's first harlequin romance novels it is impressive what Fleming achieves and nothing should take away from the skill he exhibited, but ultimately the movie is lacking in knowledge of the time period (but given the history of films that is to be expected) and in its writing which is not something a movie based on a book should ever fail at, but we have all seen countless poor films spun from decent literature.
  • ElliesWonder15 July 2017
    7/10
    My darling, Scarlett
    It was a movie filmed on 1939!

    The costumes, the dresses, the laces, and the architectural style, they are so gorgeous and sophisticated. What an amazing masterpiece! Very dramatic and unpredictable plot.

    Scarlett is a captivating and attractive character, yet she has an unfortunate life, always losing her loves. However in my opinion, her capricious thoughts also are the factor to lead this tragedy. She is like a spoiled child, always want something she thought should be good, but not really in reality.

    Beside Scarlet should be blame for keep tempting her friend's husband. Marriage is built on faith and responsibility, being faithful to the other half is an oath under the god and law.

    Nevertheless, no matter how selfish Scarlet is, I still appreciate her courage, it is amazing to live totally free from heart, and never betray her own wills.
  • Latana Lacks15 July 2017
    1/10
    Watch & Hate
    As a black woman I despised having to watch this film. My mother made me watch this. She hated this film because could never speak out on why this film was disturbing to black people, but "A film that white people hold up as one of the best movies ever made"

    The film makes my mad because "Prissy" was simple minded and her mother was named "Mammy". Mammy of course was fat and loud but seemed to love taking care of the white folks.

    What is shown is how rich white people suffered during the "Civil War" but it does not show black people that suffered the years before or after the war. In the same time period they could of shown how black people lived and how they were seen.

    My mother took me to see this movie in 1989. She watched it with me and then said "We Need to Stick around the Lobby after it ends" and you will see how white will "Go On & On" about how wonderful it is but nobody will think about how inaccurate the film truly is.

    Yes I hate this movie. How would white people feel if we made a 4 hour epic about the LA RIOTS of 1992. We make heroes out of the people out of all all black people and made all the cops "On the take". The ending scene is where we make a holiday out of OJ SIMPSON'S BIRTHDAY or "Verdict Day".

    Think about it when you start watching this again!
  • irishm3 July 2017
    6/10
    I don't see the appeal
    My vote is for the technical achievements. It would be higher if the plot and characters were more appealing to go along with those, but unfortunately they aren't.

    I guess the Civil War is thought of romantically by some, which I find odd. I'm old enough to remember the miniseries "North and South" that you absolutely could NOT get away from when it was on TV. Everyone but me seemed to be watching it.

    I'm not overly offended by the portrayal of slavery in GWTW... it's inaccurate for sure, but it's no worse than that portrayed in "Song of the South" which has been banned and shunned for decades. Why is GWTW still worshiped? I don't know. Scarlett can threaten to beat Prissy with a strap and that seems to be okay, but God forbid Uncle Remus tell a few morality tales about a cartoon rabbit to a little boy. But I digress.

    My real problem with GWTW is that all of the characters are either unpleasant or stupid... sometimes both (hello, Prissy). It's hard to sit there for four hours without being invested in what happens to anybody because they're so difficult to care about. Scarlett is cruel and selfish, Rhett is cruel and selfish, Ashley and Melanie are so dimwitted one wonders how many generations the Wilkes cousins have been intermarrying.

    In short, it's beautifully filmed, but leaves me almost entirely cold.
  • Wuchak25 June 2017
    6/10
    Scarlett, Rhett, Melanie, Ashley, Mammy and… Tara
    Released in 1939 and directed by Victor Fleming, "Gone with the Wind" chronicles events at a Georgia plantation and points nearby before, during and after the Civil War. Vivien Leigh and Clark Gable star as Scarlett and Rhett while Olivia de Havilland and Leslie Howard play Melanie and Ashley. Hattie McDaniel and Butterfly McQueen appear as Mammy and Prissy.

    This is certainly an iconic movie and obviously spectacular in its day, but it was outdone by the same production team seven years later with "Duel in the Sun" (1946), which is just an all-around superior movie and holds up better all these decades later. Some people wrongly diss "Gone with the Wind" for depicting plantation life and the requisite slavery, not to mention portraying it in a relatively neutral light, but this institution was a fact-of-life in the Deep South at the time and, believe it or not, not all slave owners were inhuman monsters dripping with evil.

    The opening act is weak with its hokey writing/acting. I half expected the peripheral cast to break out in choreographed song & dance at any moment. Once you get used to the quaint vibe, however, the story pretty much takes you in and really perks up with the burning of Atlanta. Unfortunately, Scarlett is a weak protagonist. She's selfish, neurotic and annoying despite her physical beauty. In the second half, just when you think she's redeemable, you find out you're wrong. Rhett isn't much better, but at least he has that charismatic gleam. Actually, I'm kinda impressed that they used these two as the protagonists because they're definitely antiheroes long before the antihero came into vogue. Melanie and Ashley are the true heroes of the movie, particularly the former.

    Another problem is that, except for establishing shots (in Arkansas and Georgia), the movie was filmed in Southern California, including the outdoor sequences, and it's too obvious. An additional issue is that the last 45 minutes are generally weak for several reasons and the story just goes on & on when it seriously needed to wrap up. And then there's the hilariously delivered final line by Scarlett. Still, the movie's iconic and there's enough good here to make it worth checking out, as long as you can handle old-fashioned melodrama.

    For a more realistic depiction of the Plantation Era, albeit on a TV budget, check out 1980's "Beulah Land," which was shot on an actual plantation and points nearby in Natchez, Mississippi.

    The film runs 335 minutes (5 minutes shy of 4 hours).

    GRADE: B-
  • GooseReviews24 May 2017
    Tomorrow is another day :)
    A movie based on the book with the same title. It tells a story of beauty from Georgia during the Civil War and just after it. Scarlet O'Hara loves her family and her home - Tara, and she'll do whatever it takes to protect them. When something goes wrong she does not give up and deal with everything. The movie is impressive. Beautiful scenes, great acting performance by Vivian Leigh and Cark Gable, great music. I cannot think about anything negative in this movie. It's really worth watching.
  • MisterWhiplash21 May 2017
    7/10
    Breathless, beautifully mounted and idiotic. It's America at its brightest and dumbest.
    Gone with the Wind is a gorgeously polished rancid-egg of a Hollywood spectacle. I want to say 'turd', but that's not entirely fair. It's got perhaps THE most awful protagonist in popular cinema - and Rhett Butler isn't too far behind, though at least Gable finds some of the smirk in the performance - while De Havilland is the one who gets it unironically and Howard is completely adrift and knowing he's fatally miscast. It's maximum effort and art and craft and production ingenuity in service of a story where the character doesn't grow (or, if she does, it's a fake and she goes back to being the spoiled 'fiddle-dee-dee' brat of the world) and seriously lags in the 2nd half until a lot of people start dying and/or get hurt.

    Oh, and the "I'll never go hungry again!" bit makes no sense.
  • George Redding19 May 2017
    10/10
    THE big movie for ages
    Warning: Spoilers
    This was the great feat for Hollywood the other side of "The Godfather". The movie is much quoted even today, more than seventy years after its release in 1939. It is an understatement to say it is no wonder that it won the Best Picture award for that same year. Truly, Margaret Mitchell's very long novel (a little over a thousand pages long) was definitely a great feat for the outstanding producer David O. Selznick and directors Victor Fleming and George Cukor, and a great accomplishment for Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer as well. This definitely made Clark Gable a household name after he played excellently the role of Rhett Butler, and the career of Vivien Leigh was catapulted in this great classic as she played the role of Scarlett O'Hara. The young Olivia deHavilland did something for her career in the movies as well by acting well the part of Melanie Wilkes. Truly Leslie Howard, who played Ashley Wilkes, the husband of Melanie as well as the owner of the plantation Twelve Oaks, typified a southern gentleman, even though in real life Howard was originally from England. Hattie McDaniel was the epitome of a southern mammy. Thomas Mitchell was an almost-perfect actor in his role as Mr. O'Hara, the owner of the plantation Tara and also Scarlet's father. Though not a major actor here, Harry Davenport was quite impressive as Dr. Meade. Butterfly McQueen was there mainly for decorative purposes, but herself did well. The movie depicted well the War Between the States very realistically and graphically, of course. (I will have to tell something on myself: when I was almost eight years of age in the summer of 1954 when this movie was a return, the burning of Atlanta was so loud that I declared to myself that I would never see this movie again, though that did not become the truth.) The screaming wounded Rebel soldiers(though many of them were actually mannequins) added to the cinematic work being realistic and graphic. And, of course, the undulating romance twixt Butler and Scarlett O'Hara was excellently depicted. And too, the southern pride of the characters came across strongly; after all, Scarlett fought well for the reconstruction of the estate Tara at all costs including lying and stealing. Though the movie was originally filmed in B&W, the color did come through beautifully later. And, who can forget the closing line of Gable/Butler to Leigh/Scarlett "Frankly, my dear, I don't..." (Surely the reader of this knows the completion of the line.) A fine of at least a thousand dollars was imposed for using that unforgettable line. For all the reasons listed, definitely it has been for over half a century a movie whose very title has a special ring to it.
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.