User Reviews (338)

  • antiquesfairs2 February 2018
    10/10
    Added to the VintageIreland Film Club
    A weekly Facebook-based film club for fans of all things antique and vintage, we chose to start our year's movie schedule with this 1950 release, All About Eve, starring Bette Davis as actress Margo Channing, alongside George Sanders and more. The film also features Marilyn Monroe in one of her earlier roles.

    Nominated for 14 Academy Awards, All About Eve remains the only film to have received 4 female acting nominations, among them Anne Baxter for her portrayal of the titular character Eve, and of course, Bette Davis herself. In the end, it won 6 Oscars, including that of Best Costume Design for a Black and White film.
  • Leofwine_draca2 January 2018
    6/10
    Cynical character piece
    Warning: Spoilers
    ALL ABOUT EVE is a dark and cynical look at the world of theatre and those at the very top in terms of fame and fortune. It's remembered today for being one of the films featuring an inimitable Bette Davis as an ageing star who finds herself waning and facing opposition from her younger rivals. The film offers a pretty bleak world view in which everyone seems to be out for personal gain and fortune. It's finely-judged indeed and boasts some strong performances, in particular from Anne Baxter who takes ruthlessness to a new level. Davis the real star here though, performing in a more sympathetic role than usual and making the role her own.
  • Morten_513 December 2017
    8/10
    Still going strong!
    Well-deserving of the six Academy awards (including Mankiewicz for his accomplished direction and screenwriting) and eight nominations (including Davis and Baxter for their fine acting), "All About Eve" (1950) is an undying classic, still very impressive. /Mårten Larsson (Twitter: @7thArtShortRevs).
  • cinemajesty11 December 2017
    10/10
    Exposing A Lie
    Film Review: "All About Eve" (1950)

    One-hundred-thirty-eight minutes of black & white cinematic splendor, up in smoke and booze as medicine of choice, produced by Hollywood's Golden Era prime producer Darryl F. Zanuck at 20th Century Fox in season 1949/1950 engages Director Joseph L. Mankiewicz (1909-1993), who writes and directs for the pace of a beating vulnerable heart in business that like no other needs to cope with rise and fall of individuals in the shortest amount of time. Here it is the character of Eve Harrington, portrayed by actress Anne Baxter (1923-1985), who so famously gives life to a small town girl entering the New York society of theater production company, led by the star of the ensemble Margot, with ease and experience of a true Hollywood star playing actress Bette Davis (1908-1989) and her Director-husband Bill. The tactics of Eve to become the Star covers lies, pitch-perfect servant-work for Margot as the inner company scheming of betrayal and love-interest cheat-outs reach such sophistications that only the equally ruthless critic Addison DeWitt, performed with style and dignity by actor George Sanders (1906-1972), is left to come close enough to walls-building character of Eve in a climatic hotel room scene at running time 1h 57min 00sec, where from "killer-to-killer" the future role delegation gets sorted out in a game of power for the ultimate social recognition by award, before so-called friends realize that the award is the substitute for a heart.

    © 2017 Felix Alexander Dausend (Cinemajesty Entertainments LLC)
  • m_mehdi_m6227 November 2017
    8/10
    Great Movie
    Great movie with rich dialog and acting. The movie was kind of predictable the way that it started. You know the outcome of the movie from the beginning and the curiosity will drag you down till the end to figure out how that happened.

    This movie shows publicity and fame within theater and movie are the main nature that drives some actor and actress and they are willing to do what ever it takes to reach to the top using all people as a means to become celebrity.
  • maxdaddytj23 November 2017
    10/10
    No wonder it won the Best Picture Oscar!
    Each scene just flows seamlessly into the next - what a script! And what casting! IF I had been an Academy voter that year, it would have been tough - Bette Davis in this, or Gloria Swanson. Some great lines that live on and on. My only minor quibble - Birdie (the great GREAT Thelma Ritter!)( is never seen or mentioned again after the party scene - what happened?
  • Bella10 October 2017
    10/10
    Perfect!
    All About Eve is a great classic drama movie that I would recommend to anyone. The movie focuses on theatre and the problems that occur. One of the main themes is age and how it is seen in the theatre and how it is dealt with. Everybody ages and everybody feels the effects of how society treats them differently. In the theatre, the pressure is even greater. This movie does a great job at covering this topic in a way that will pull at the heartstrings of everyone who watches.
  • guy_in_oxford21 September 2017
    5/10
    Tremendously witty trap for post-war women, with Lavender Scare underpinnings
    Warning: Spoilers
    Friedan spoke of the "problem that has no name" — the demand of society that women give up the agency they had been demanded to accumulate to lubricate the wheels of the war machine with their factory work. No longer required as servants of warfare, they were supposed to be content with reclassification as unpaid and dependent family worker, because enough of "their men" had returned from abroad. As Smedley Butler so cuttingly detailed, war is a racket. When a racket moves an entire society then the sexes are going to get caught up. Hollywood, the propaganda vehicle in those days, needed to dress up the shabby role of "happy little housewife". And so, one sees slickly corrupted presentations of Friedan's problem.

    You see, feminists like Friedan also were part of the trap. Instead of being able to fully comprehend that egalitarian gay relationships are not a threat to the foundation of society (e.g. its war profiteering and other machinations), even those who recognized the problems inherent in withdrawing the newly-found agency of women had to decry them in order to put a nice sheen on the "institution" of heterosexual marriage. Why? Because they didn't understand that only a small percentage of people are gay enough to want serious gay relationships in the first place. Think I'm joking? The former PM of Australia stated with a straight face that same-sex marriages, if legal, threatened the extinction of humanity! The "logic" was that same-sex relationships, presumably because they're more egalitarian, were so attractive to most people that they would abandon heterosexual relationships that are about reproduction (for taxes and other resources). There are several failures of logic and examples of ignorance in the Howard claim but the bottom line is that All About Eve uses that very viewpoint as its foundation for dramatic conflict.

    The fight against the dreaded gayness causes all things to take place in this film. Eve's relentless hollow pursuance of stardom is due to her vapid lesbianism. She has no heart and seeks to put an award there. She and the gay man (critic) who she conspires with are "killers". In fact, she's not even fully human. She has a "feverish little brain" like a rat. She studies people, mechanically, like a serial killer — rather than a natural and warm woman who is interested in true love, what Margot transforms into. Lesbianism is just trickery, as when she and her lover conspired.

    Margot, the quintessential harpy of Greek myth, is tamed by a younger man. This flip in the gender roles is part of the cleverness of the trickery happening. The common assumption, that younger women belong with older men, is reversed, a seeming improvement for female agency that comes at greater cost — her career. That loss of career, not accidentally, comes with her affirming that older women should leave the business because they're not beautiful enough anymore. Gone is the Margot who doesn't care how young the woman in the part is because of her talent and ferocity. Replacing her is Grandma Channing, who will somehow remain enchanting to the younger man once she has given up all the feminine wiles that made her enchanting – like her fantastic acting and her grande dame exaggeration. Bill sees into her true heart, though — the soft warm fuzzy one that stays in the kitchen to bake muffins.

    Heterosexism has the word sexism in it for a reason. Almost no one uses the word for reasons, too. In this film, it is the tool for the promotion of sexism. The film's poster said it is about "women and their men". It's about the role of women now that their men are back from the abroad. That role is definitely not to be "strong women" who will be corrupted by lesbianism and the resulting feminist demands. It won't be to leave men floundering, bereft of female companionship, forced into the arms of other men — seeking art rather than child rearing. Make no mistake. The gay male character is purposefully put right next to Marilyn Monroe to make a point. His sophistication is shallow and self-defeating. Leads to a blind alley. By contrast, a virile red-blooded heterosexual man knows just how to treat a lady. The film is so slick that even Ebert was oblivious vis-à-vis that entire narrative is based on repudiating homosexuality (female agency being one of its symptoms) in favor of patriarchal heterosexual marriage. He gabbed about Channing as being a "universal type" and merely focused on mechanical aspects of filmmaking. People have been conditioned in the modes of seeing the world according to heterosexual patriarchal imperative. Also willful blindness? How any thinking viewer can miss obvious bits like Eve and another woman conspiring together and holding each other's bodies while doing it... Of course she was a lesbian! And, of course it's amusing to her for a gay man to claim that she's his property. It's amusing for a gay man to try to possess a woman in a patriarchal way. The perversion of the scene is obvious and intentional. Film cleverly lays out the Friedan problem in pretending that it's only a problem if one is gay. Reaffirms inferiority of feminine brain, when it comes to the Machivellian requirements of running the world; also shows gay man trying, and failing, to live up to duty as a man (woman under his control).

    Davis is wonderful, despite these themes. She was in love with "Bill" then. The writing is cute with cutting sophistication. I can't escape from all the clichés, stereotyping, and backward beliefs it promotes. Example: Plain folks have common sense to see through nonsense artsy types are tricked by. Although he wrote that Hollywood "needed to drop its vendetta against them", the best Mankiewicz manages to do in this film is not have gays kill themselves (i.e. the Children's Hour). It just shows that all that their "hearts"' desire is folly.
  • JohnHowardReid30 August 2017
    10/10
    Just Brilliant!
    Warning: Spoilers
    Brilliantly acted and cleverly characterized, with sparkling dialogue that mercilessly parries the gloss from the New York theater world's highly sophisticated veneer, "All About Eve" is a scintillating comedy of manners that compels rapt attention for the whole of its 2¼ hours. We like George Sanders, pointing out Gregory Ratoff to his escort, Marilyn Monroe (whom the script describes as "a member of the Copacabana school of acting"), with the words: "There's a real live producer, honey! Go and do yourself some good!" And the final scene, in which Sanders asks Barbara Bates, "Do you want some day to have an award like that of your own?" — "More than anything else in the world!" she answers. "Then you must ask Miss Harrington how to get one", he replies. "Miss Harrington knows all about it!"

    It is often complained of Mankiewicz's work that it is too stagey and too talkative, that there is not sufficient movement. There is some justice in this charge in the consideration of such films as Five Fingers, The Quiet American, House of Strangers, and Dragonwyck; certainly Mankiewicz's two spectacles, Guys and Dolls and Cleopatra, are much improved by sharp editing. But in his best films, The Late George Apley, A Letter to Three Wives, All About Eve, People Will Talk (which I regard as his masterpiece — it was too off-beat, unfortunately, for contemporary audiences or critics to appreciate), and The Barefoot Contessa, any trace of over- talkativeness is more than offset by the range and variety, the unusualness of the characters. Moreover, it is the characters themselves that determine the plot — not the fate or some external force.

    Thus, in All About Eve, Margo Channing is the victim of her egocentricity, Sampson the victim of his own cynicism and Richards, the victim of his own ingenuousness. Eve Harrington is cunning and ruthless enough to exploit these traits in her climb to stardom. Besides Mankiewicz's two awards, All About Eve also won statuettes for Best Picture, Best Supporting Actor (George Sanders), Best Costumes and Best Sound Recording. Also, producer Darryl Zanuck won the Thalberg Memorial Award for consistent high-quality production over the previous three years.

    The film also won the New York Film Critics' Citation for Best Picture, Best Direction and Best Actress (Bette Davis). Actually, I thought that Miss Davis' performance, fine as it was, was overshadowed by Anne Baxter's interpretation of the scheming Eve. To cover with a winning veneer of innocence a character that would not stop at blackmail or adultery to win stardom, cannot have been an easy assignment for a young actress; yet Miss Baxter brought it off flawlessly.

    OTHER VIEWS: I'd had the general idea for All About Eve in mind for a long time. But I never had a middle, a second act. Then our New York office submitted a short story by Mary Orr called "The Wisdom of Eve" — later a radio script — and I had my second act. Incidentally, Zanuck deserves some credit for what happened. He was the only studio head in town with the courage and intelligence to try new things. I don't think I could have made this picture on any other lot but 20th Century- Fox. -- J.L.M.
  • Anssi Vartiainen25 August 2017
    Drama distilled
    When I think of a great drama film, this is just about what comes to mind. A shy and naive theatre fan Eve (Anne Baxter) gets the chance of a lifetime to meet her idol, Margo Channing (Bette Davis). Through a few happy coincidences she ends up as Margo's assistant and proverbial lady-in-waiting. But slowly Margo starts to feel jealous towards this quiet and unassuming young lady with many hidden talents.

    All About Eve is above all else a beautifully acted film. There's only about ten characters in the whole film, but the group's inner dynamics, frictions and squabbles make the two and a half film feel at least an hour shorter. That's how interesting, dynamic and engaging the story and the characters are. Baxter and Davis are both brilliant in their role, although I do like Margo's character arc a bit more. She starts out almost as a Disney villain, lounging on a divan and smirking at Eve's sweet urge to please. But slowly something shifts and you start looking at her with sympathetic eyes. Whereas with Eve the journey is almost backwards.

    In general All About Eve is one of the better character studies I've seen in a while. To think that they manage to create two such complex women and make their individual journeys so fulfilling, believable and mutually supporting. Not to say the rest of the characters aren't good - they are - but this is clearly Baxter and Davis's show.

    Not really anything more I'd like to say. It's such a good film that the only thing I can say is that you should see it.
  • Kirpianuscus31 July 2017
    a masterpiece
    all what you suppose write about this film sounds fake. because it is more than a classic, a masterpiece or example of impeccable script and admirable performances. it is , sure, a film about show universe. about competition and envy and hate and transformations, about fundamental errors . but, first, it is a film about the love for yourself. egocentricity or selfishness or form of schizoid behavior. in fact, a film about solitude. the deeper and deeper solitude. and , across the decades, this film could become a mirror for yourself. or, only your reflection like in the story of Dorian Gray. because, at the first sigh, it is the image of a perfect mechanism, selecting the heroes by losers. in fact, "All about Eve" remains one of the most useful stories about life proposed by cinema ever.
  • Edgar Allan Pooh30 May 2017
    10/10
    Most Millennials believe that Fox recently created Fake "News" just for their benefit . . .
    Warning: Spoilers
    . . . but Fox's "Best Picture" feature ALL ABOUT EVE proves that this is not the case. BEFORE President Obama was a foreign-born Muslim, BEFORE Global Warming was a Hoax, EVEN BEFORE Evolution was a Discredited Crackpot Theory, Fox's unique skill at fashioning self-fulfilling prophecies out of Thin Air is abundantly on display here in ALL ABOUT EVE. Even without the Gofundme Campaign that would be necessary for me to Encyclopedically document the dozens of Fake News Scoops in EVE (or the thousands riddling the entire Body of the Fox Film Corpus), consider these two Norma Jean moments from EVE calling out "Marilyn Monroe's" most famous co-star and spouse BY THEIR REAL LIFE NAMES!! About 56 minutes into EVE, Marilyn's character "Claudia" says that she'll sacrifice "anything" for Clark Gable, an eerie foreshadowing of the co-star she'd leave with a fatal heart attack after plaguing him through the filming of his final flick, THE MISFITS a decade AFTER this comment is made in EVE. Twelve minutes later, Fox insures that its Fake News about a false-fronted bimbo seducing and ruining America's top playwright (EVE's "Lloyd" character) is cemented into American Culture's REAL LIFE Future as Arthur Miller is mentioned BY NAME in front of Artie's Looming Femme Fatale, nee Norma Jean Mortenson. Of course, it goes without saying that EVE--nee "Gertrude Slojinski"--and her back-story dalliance with a Royal Family of American Booze is sly Fox's way of including Jack and Bobby Kennedy among Ms. Mortenson's long list of Real Life victims.
  • JelenaG8901 May 2017
    You cannot watch this only once
    Warning: Spoilers
    There are not many films that I can just watch over and over again, and still appreciate. I'm also someone who is usually critical of even the most iconic of films- don't believe me? Well, everyone in my family seemed to love "The Quiet Man" yet I absolutely hate it! "All About Eve" though is a film that I can still watch over and over. Nearly everything about this film is perfect- Bette Davis is iconic as the fading actress, Ann Baxter is appropriately despicable as the young actress yearning (and eventually succeeding) to replace her, and Celeste Holm, Thelma Ritter are wonderful as, respectively, Davis' supportive best friend and the maid who does not quite trust her employer's new protégé. Marilyn Monroe has a small role as a graduate of the Copacabana School for Dramatic Arts, and Barbara Bates plays a crucial role at the film's conclusion.

    However, George Sanders steals the show for me each time as the diabolical critic. His voice always gets me, and I want to watch what he will do each time.

    As much as I like Judy Holliday, I do think Bette Davis (or Gloria Swanson) should have won the Oscar for this film. Both of those were powerhouse performances while Holliday's was comedic and did not require much depth in my opinion. But I digress.

    'All About Eve" is a film that you should not miss.
  • reb-warrior12 March 2017
    10/10
    All About Bette
    Warning: Spoilers
    I have never seen Bette Davis in anything before. I have to say what a spirited actress. I definitely will check her out in more movies. Now I understand the all praise of her that I've heard about over the years.

    Anne Baxter did a excellent job of playing Eve with a subtle slow arch.

    As for the movie, all the actors were excellent. I can't find a negative thing to say. It uses flashbacks to tell the story. The plot isn't really a great epic thing. It's about a younger apparently nice women that insinuates herself into an older actress' life and manipulates people to get what she wants, stepping all over them. But what makes it special is that it's like a character study in motion. You see the characters develop as the story develops until it comes full circle right back to the beginning, just before the flashbacks start. The conclusions you drew about the characters at the beginning will be significantly changed by the end.

    The ending has irony at play, and leaves the viewer satisfied that karmic payback is definitely at work. 10/10
  • Michael_Elliott8 March 2017
    Bitterly Funny and Perfectly Acted
    All About Eve (1950)

    **** (out of 4)

    Broadway star Margo Channing (Bette Davis) invites a woman named Eve (Anne Baxter) into her life because she's an adoring fan but before long the much older Margo begins to fear that the younger woman wants more than friendship. Soon Eve's plans of becoming a star herself come out and she's not going to let anything get into her way.

    ALL ABOUT EVE was, at the time, the film that captured the most Oscar-nominations with fourteen and it eventually won six including Best Picture and Best Supporting Actor for George Sanders. If you're a fan of movie stars, directors, producers or anyone in that profession then ALL ABOUT EVE is certainly a must see. Sure, perhaps it does run on a bit too long but there's no question that it contains one of the greatest ensemble acting classes that you'll ever see as well as some perfect direction by Joseph L. Mankiewicz and his screenplay is bitterly sharp and funny.

    So much has been said about this film over the years that I couldn't possibly add anything new. What I really respect about the film is the fact that it really could have gone over-dramatic but instead it plays out like a black comedy where we're dealing with some at times ugly people who get out done by a couple snakes in the grass. The way the mystery of this Eve character plays out is so flawlessly done that it's impossible to hate her because you see her game and her goal. You then start to see that she probably didn't do anything that others wouldn't have done also.

    Davis gets the majority of the credit in the acting department and there's no doubt that she's perfect and this helped rebuild the second stage of her career. As great as she is I think she sometimes overcrowds what others in the film do. Both Gary Merill and Hugh Marlow are terrific in the role of the supporting men. You've got Marilyn Monroe in an early bit and she's really funny here. Thelma Ritter is always fun to watch. Then you've got the three best performances in the film. Celeste Holm is simply divine on so many levels here as the woman who opens the gate for the snake to come in. Baxter is simply wonderful at playing so many different sides of this character. There are so many adjectives used about her character and the actress really delivers everything you could hope for. Then there's Sanders who is perfectly delightful as the rather crooked writer with his own game to play.

    ALL ABOUT EVE contains a really terrific script for these great actors to sink their teeth in. The film is brutally honest and funny about stardom and what one will do to capture their glory. The way the film plays out is wonderfully done and there's no doubt that the film deserves its reputation.
  • Raflet605 March 2017
    10/10
    As perfect as it gets.
    Despite the numerous reviews for this movie, I felt I had to add my own after viewing it on a big screen earlier today. This was my second viewing of this movie and seeing it on the big screen apparently made me see and hear dialogue I had missed after watching it on TV. Oh my Goodness! What a spectacular film! I basically sat there for over two hours in awe. I just couldn't believe the incredible performances from everyone associated with this movie. The writing, the acting, the story just makes you long for a Hollywood that unfortunately no longer exists. To see a movie with a real story and with real movie stars is something that has been lacking for the last thirty years in my opinion. It may sound corny but I actually got goose bumps hearing some of those lines and seeing the performances given by Bette Davis and George Sanders. I'll just say that this is a must see for anyone that likes good writing and acting.
  • Antonius Block27 February 2017
    8/10
    Sharp, predatory, and bitchy - so a little hard to love
    Warning: Spoilers
    Bette Davis is so effortless and breathes fire in her performance as Margot, an aging actress who finds herself slowly and insidiously being usurped by a young fan, Eve, played by Anne Baxter. I don't think it's in a 'best ever' type of discussion, or worthy of its 14 Academy Award nominations, but its sharp dialog, predatory manipulation, and overall bitchiness make it entertaining, even if it's hard to like the characters.

    There are some great lines here; in addition to the famous "Fasten your seatbelts, it's going to be a bumpy night", I loved it when Davis exclaimed "I'm not twenty-ish, I'm not thirty-ish. Three months ago I was forty years old. Forty. 4-0. That slipped out. I hadn't quite made up my mind to admit it. Now I suddenly feel as if I've taken all my clothes off." Davis herself was 42, and this line and others ring true. George Sanders (as Addison DeWitt) is also fantastic, at one point saying "You're an improbable person, Eve, and so am I. We have that in common. Also, a contempt for humanity, an inability to love and be loved, insatiable ambition, and talent. We deserve each other."

    These quotes capture the spirit of the movie, which to me is simply about the difficulties that aging women face, and the cold and calculating world of the theater. There is supposedly a homosexual element, a theory put forth and apparently confirmed by writer and director Joseph L. Mankiewicz, but it's so subtle, perhaps because of the Hays Code, that it didn't even register with me, and I think it's irrelevant. These characters are in the best cases rough around the edges, and in the worse, simply awful people. We see Margot being slowly replaced and want to feel sympathy for her, but it's tough because she's so abrasive. We see the evil side of Eve slowly unveil itself as it becomes apparent she's far from being a starstruck fan or even who she says she is. And at the end we see that she, too, will be replaced. It's all a bit grim: time, a machine that grinds them down, and competition for glory that leads to Machiavellian backstabbing. It's ironic that Davis was such a diva that there was discord amongst the actors, and Baxter pushing her way into a 'Best Actress' nomination instead of 'Best Supporting Actress' would lead to a division of the vote and neither of them winning. I was happy to see Marilyn Monroe in a small part at age 24 and before she was big, just to bring some lightness into the film. This is certainly a good movie, don't get me wrong, but it's not one I'd watch again and again as I would my favorites.
  • Sameir Ali1 February 2017
    10/10
    Evergreen Eve.
    Some films mark milestones in the history. "All About Eve" is a combination of rare cases like First ever movie to be nominated for 14 Oscars. Also, it has the highest number of Oscar nominations for the Actress. This makes the movie a must watch for all film lovers.

    The movie begins with an award ceremony. The winner is Eve Harrington. The flashback goes through some people who are present at the ceremony. Margo Channing is a super star stage artist. One day she gets a fan visit after the show. It was the young Eve. Soon, Eve works for Margo. Eve becomes all in all for Margo. Eve was more of an observer, how Margo walks, talks, eats, sits etc. The movie has a wonderful ending.

    The cast and crew are perfect. There was a competition of acting. Marilyn Monroe's appearance was interesting. I think this movie was made before she became a great celebrity.

    A definitely must watch. Highly Recommended.

    #KiduMovie
  • oOoBarracuda6 January 2017
    9/10
    "Funny the things you remember and the things you don't."
    Bette Davis is just fantastic. I've never been as enamored with an actress, past or present, as Bette Davis. Many male actors have stayed on my radar for years, but Bette Davis is alone among the women. All About Eve tells the story of an aging actress and a young woman that will do anything to take her place. The 1950 film starring Anne Baxter and George Sanders with Davis, was an interesting character study into the lives of those most involved with acting and the theatre. Directed by Joseph L. Mankiewicz, All About Eve really delves into the relationships between writers, actors, directors, and those they love exposing the side of the industry, rarely seen by those on the outside.

    Margo Channing (Bette Davis) is a Broadway star, heavily sought after by the best in the business. Margo has become increasingly concerned with her advancing age. She focuses on aging constantly and is worried her career is on the brink of a plummet. One day, waiting at the stage door of one of Eve's performances, a young girl named Eve Harrington (Anne Baxter) is hoping to meet the star. When she happens upon Karen Richards (Celeste Holm), a member of Margo's inner circle, Eve edges her way in for a meeting backstage with Margo. Eve blows Karen away with her knowledge of Margo's performances, as she has seen every performance of Margo's current play. Eve astounds backstage when she meets director, and Eve's boyfriend, Bill Simpson (Gary Merrill), playwright Lloyd Richards (Hugh Marlowe) as she tries to wrangle a spot closest to Margo. After a successful meeting, Eve begins working for Margo and subtly taking apart Margo's life by the seams, all the while looking as if she is simply a doting fan. Eve fools everyone, with the exception of Addison DeWitt (George Sanders). DeWitt can be somewhat ruthless himself but refuses to see Margo be taken down by trusting a fan too much. Addison DeWitt takes control of the situation and keeps Eve under his wing protecting Margo at the same time. After Eve is accepting DeWitt's strong suggestion to vacate, she meets a young woman who calls herself Phoebe, willing to emulate her every move.

    I've covered the fact that I really enjoy watching Bette Davis. Davis is a one-of-a-kind actress and we really haven't seen one like her since. An ensemble piece, All About Eve boasts brilliant performances from all involved. As wonderful as each performance was, George Sanders was the one that consistently steals the show. Each scene he is in, Sanders is just captivating and by far the standout, for me. The first couple times I watched All About Eve, I found the film nearly perfect. I almost always love ensemble pieces and enjoyed this one each time I watched it. This time, looking at the film as critically as I ever have before, it didn't quite measure up like it has in previous screenings. As exceptional as All About Eve is, it's one that doesn't replicate the initial viewings as well as some other films. Perhaps it's because there's no surprise factor after you see the film once and know what Eve is up to, but this viewing just doesn't measure up as its previous viewings, for me. All About Eve, a wonderful Bette Davis vehicle with a splendid ensemble cast, is still deserving of its status, and a wonderful Best Picture winner.
  • keithperrott27 September 2016
    10/10
    #1 All Time Favourite
    I first saw part of this film on TV when I was about 10...and I laughed out loud. Unfortunately it was lunch time and I had to go back to school. It was many years before I actually saw the entire film, on the big screen, at a revival house in Toronto. I have since seen it more times than I can count, and I still laugh continually throughout. Best movie line of all time: "You're too short for that gesture!" I have to admit that I had seen the film about 20 times before I finally figured out what Marilyn said while going off towards Max....it wasn't "Why do they always look like nappy rabbits?" (which made no sense)....but "Why do they always look like UNhappy rabbits?" Her diction or my hearing? Had it been a play it would have the same stature as "The Importance of Being Ernest". We're probably lucky it wasn't, and it should never never NEVER be re-made....it would be like re-painting the Mona Lisa. Frame for frame, word for word, perfection. It never ages and it never gets thin. "Ah men!"
  • dougdoepke12 September 2016
    A Suggested Perspective
    No need to recap the plot or echo consensus points. Instead I want to make a suggestion on how to take the story's crux. Generally the story holds up pretty well after six decades. In my book, that's because Eve (Baxter) amounts to a compelling portrait in perverse psychology, quite apart from a show-biz setting. Eve literally connives her way to the top of the Broadway heap by shrewdly separating an outer poor-little-me from an inner backstabbing-schemer. To me, her perverse character can unfortunately be found in many walks of life. Here her scheming makes good dramatic use of a competitive Broadway setting, but can also be found outside that high profile venue.

    I agree with most of the positive remarks about the film. But I can also understand why some folks find the lack of action and snobbish setting off-putting. That's one reason I've emphasized that Eve represents a broader personality type rather than just a single movie character. So if you don't like the movie's context, you may still find Eve's personality type interesting-- the type whose inner person separates from the outer for purely selfish reasons, which Eve represents in spades
  • elvircorhodzic11 September 2016
    9/10
    Fasten your seat belts, this will be a turbulent ride!
    ALL ABOUT EVE is a film that adorn the phenomenal acting, sharp dialogue and a superior "on the verge of taste" film satire.

    On the other hand I see this film as brilliant packaging reproach addressed to the „High Society". Anyone who tries to fly high, often falls low. The essence of the story is in a relentless ambition where combustible absolutely all the characters in their own way. The director is probably long observed the atmosphere in the theater. All figures are in some way false charming, self-centered and perishable. In the film I liked female domination. Relationships based on intrigue, conflict and illusion are extremely popular.

    Conflicts are brilliantly conceived and are full of ambition, pride, deceit and hypocrisy. Given the excellent and concise dialogues, everything seems so lively. All characters have a certain way emotionally hurt and punished.

    I am simply thrilled with acting. Characterization is unbelievable. The characters in this film delight and terrified at the same time.

    Anne Baxter as Eve Harrington is a female spider characterized by icy peace and ruthless ambition. Her network woven around prey and finally takes his place, and eventually it becomes the prey of larger predator. Bette Davis as Margo Channing is the most intriguing character in the film. Perfect acting, age, a sharp tongue and fierce ego. Bette Davis is an actress for this role. I enjoyed her performance. George Sanders as Addison DeWitt is walked poison. Character that in every sense pulling the strings. Sanders is always excellent in the role of classy villain. Gary Merrill as Bill Sampson is sensitive and promising because the character of a good heart and inability to tame the domineering „wife". Hugh Marlowe as Lloyd Richards is uncertain character who has more kindness than sense. Celeste Holm as Karen Richards is an attractive and well-meaning character. Maybe a bit naive. There are such women.

    The young actress, an older actress, film critic, director, playwright, housewife ..... and Marilyn Monroe. Well, it's a completely different story.
  • 8512228 September 2016
    9/10
    Delightful from start till finish
    Greetings from Lithuania.

    "All About Eve" (1950) is as much about Eve as it is about Margo. This is a very true to life story about behind the scenes of theater, and some stars are being born - i have no doubts that many of stories like this are very true. I was involved into this movie from the opening sentence till the very last end, which ends almost identical as it began - for some.

    Acting and writing in "All About Eve" are mesmerizing. There isn't a dull performance or boring screenplay for a minute - it is a highly involving movie for it's all 2 h 17 min. I wasn't bored for a minute.

    Overall, maybe "All About Eve" isn't as smart as i taught it would be, but this is a surely must see movie, a sure classic and a very delightful movie. Great film.
  • peefyn5 September 2016
    9/10
    Great screenplay acted out by great performers
    Some films earn their place in the canon due to the importance they had at the time of their release. All about Eve was no doubt important, but it also holds up better today than many movies released this decade. It's wit is just as sharp, and the performances are still top notch. It's a movie about hunger for power, staying relevant, and realizing that nothing lasts forever - all of which are still interesting themes today. (Staying relevant will maybe never lose its relevancy.) While the cast is stellar all around, Bette Davis' performance really stands out as just amazing. She's the highlight of any scene she is in, and when she's not a part of the scene, you miss her. Much of it is because she really captures the character (which might have been easy for her), but also because of the writing. So many movies around this time has excellent dialogue. It's like they didn't care if it was realistic at all, it was more important that it was good.

    There's only one scene I really object to, and with a fear of spoiling it, I'll say it's a scene between DeWitt and Eve in hear bedroom near the end, where Eve's reaction feels either over done (which does not match her character at all), or, if meant to be genuine, seems uncharacteristic of her. Perhaps it's just not aged that well? If so, it's unlike the rest of the movie.
  • maxastree23 August 2016
    9/10
    Truly excellent
    All About Eve was the award winning metafiction of 1950, a psychological study of someone who's willing to fake victimhood in order to get what she wants: the limelight.

    The film is about an ageing theatre star and the theatrical milieu of her day - someone younger, prettier and seemingly hungrier has come along as a slightly naive, star-struck admirer who ends up employed as an understudy, but her motives are not what they seem.

    The combination of real emotion, nuance, brilliant writing and acting make this film a standout. It is, by some peoples accounts however, a fairly modest production; there isn't any grandiose staging or 'cast of thousands' spectacle like in some old well-regarded classics. The film is about observation and intelligence though, not sentiment.
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.