• bkoganbing28 June 2016
    6/10
    Angel Cake
    Previous to Charlie's Angels the only female private detective I recall from television was Honey West with Anne Francis. Anne was certainly a sight to behold, but the male of the species got to gawk at three lovely beauties, all working for the never seen Charlie but with the voice of John Forsythe issued them their weekly case.

    Only Jaclyn Smith lasted the entire run of the show of the original female operatives. Kate Jackson and Farrah Fawcett were the other two original angels. Farrah was the breakout star, I can well remember that any kid whose hormones started to speak to him spoke the name of Farrah Fawcett. So what did she do but leave the show after one season for a career that never quite got off the ground. Proof of that her Jill Monroe character was guaranteed two or three guest appearances in succeeding years.

    Other angels included Shelley Hack, Cheryl Ladd and Tanya Roberts. The only other regular was David Doyle as Bosley who functioned like Higgins did for Robin Masters on Magnum, PI. I'm convinced Bosley was gay or he would have made some kind of move on one of the angels.

    Charlie's Angels featured beautiful women who competed and well in a man's game of private detective. I don't think Dashiell Hammett, Raymond Chandler or Mickey Spillane ever figured on PIs like these.
  • lois-lane333 October 2015
    6/10
    Better than watching a game show.
    I found watching some of these episodes again a mixed experience. Maybe memory makes some things seem like they were more exciting but I seem to remember seeing this show at various times in the past and thinking that it was a more exciting show than average. When I watched it recently it struck me as being a tad on the boring side and some of the characters reactions to things came off as a bit silly. For example Cheryl Ladd's character gets tackled by a bad guy and is virtually defenseless even though the character was supposed to be a trained Police Officer before going to work for Charlie Townsend's agency as one of "Charlie's Angels." There were a few other things like that and one episode in particular stood out because it was like watching a musical from the time of "The Sound of Music." I found that hard going. Maybe some shows remain more watchable than others over the years. This one-in my opinion -didn't age as well as it was expected to. Not unwatchable but nothing awesome either.
  • Desertman8416 September 2012
    9/10
    Women Doing Police Work
    Warning: Spoilers
    Charlie's Angels is a crime drama television series about three women who work for a private investigation agency, and is one of the first shows to showcase women in roles traditionally reserved for men. The series stars Kate Jackson; Farrah Fawcett-Majors; Jaclyn Smith; Cheryl Ladd; Shelley Hack; Tanya Roberts; David Doyle; and John Forsythe as the voice of Charles Townsend, also known as "Charlie". The series was broadcast in the USA on the ABC Television Network from 1976 to 1981 and was one of the most successful series of the 1970s.

    Three women, the Angels graduated from the Los Angeles police academy only to be assigned such duties as handling switchboards and directing traffic. They quit and were hired to work for the Charles Townsend Agency as private investigators. Their boss, Charlie is never seen full face. He assigns cases to the Angels and his liaison, Bosley via a speaker phone. Fawcett-Majors and Jackson eventually left the series during its run. Fawcett-Majors was replaced by Cheryl Ladd in the second season.While Jackson was replaced by Shelley Hack. In the final season, Tanya Roberts replaced Hack in the fourth season.

    Like other American TV crime shows of the 1970s, Charlie's Angels was generally formatted in the way of a procedural drama. Most episodes followed a regular structure whereby a crime is committed, the Angels are given the case details by Charlie and Bosley at the Townsend office and the trio go undercover. Towards the end of the episode one of them is uncovered and it is a race against time for the others to rescue their friend before they meet some horrible fate. Inevitably, the final scene would be back at the Townsend office with Charlie offering his congratulations for a job well done.

    This was one of the most popular shows in the 70's as it was the first show to feature women in police work.Also,it was a delight to the male viewers as they have the sexy stars in skimpy clothes and bathing suit.Some have considered it sexist in a way that it was its primary feature to gain viewers but it was part of the so-called Jiggle TV era of the 70's.Also,it presented good stories despite being dated at present times.Overall,it was one best shows ever created.
  • TJ McCarthy28 January 2011
    10/10
    Spectacular in HD!
    Let's face it: nobody, but nobody, watches this series because it's a great crime drama. The plots are awful, with some story lines bordering on childish, the action is tepid at best, the stunts are second rate, the suspense non-existent, and the dialogue . . . well, let's not go there. The one and only reason to watch this show is because Aaron Spelling put three of the most beautiful women ever to grace a television screen into one show, and managed to have them come across as successful, surprisingly intelligent professionals. Had he gone the pure jiggle, airhead bimbo route, this would have never lasted a single season. If you find Kate, Jaclyn, and Farrah to be attractive, the show becomes addictive and impossible to turn off. Casting Cheryl Ladd to replace Farrah was a truly inspired move that saved the series, though Shelley Hack was a good but less successful replacement, and Tanya Roberts made the final year all but unwatchable. Wives will never ever understand why their husbands keep watching!

    Universal HD recently took the old standard definition episodes and converted them to High Def. The effect is simply stunning. The Angels, while beautiful in 1976 on an old 24" set, really come alive in HD. It's like having old friends step out of a time machine and into your living room. Some scenes were originally a bit out of focus, which wasn't noticeable then, but becomes painfully obvious after the conversion. For the most part though, everything is razor sharp, well-lit, and easily up to today's standards. The picture is cropped to fit, not stretched, so things retain the proper perspective. The occasional skimpy outfits, attractive in SD, and traffic-stopping in HD. One downside is the audio; the original was mono and the broadcast is in stereo, but with two identical channels. So, you have to live without surround sound, at least until some genius comes up with an easy way to do that conversion as well.

    Forget the Charlie's Angels movies, stick with the TV series in HD for a wonderful trip back to the 1970s.
  • Diamond977 June 2010
    10/10
    I love Charlie's Angels!
    Charlie's Angels is one of my all-time favorite shows ever. I fell in love with the adventures of the beautiful lady detectives and Bosley. Tiffany, Julie, Jill, Kelly, Kris, and Sabrina are the wonderful Angels. However, my favorite Angel team is Kris, Kelly, Sabrina,and Bosley. This is the Angel team that got me hooked on the show. The combination of sassy Kris, tough Kelly, brave Sabrina, and loyal Bosley was truly magical. Cheryl Ladd, Jaclyn Smith, Kate Jackson, and David Doyle had AMAZING chemistry together!

    Back in the 70s, I remember my friends and I (as children) loved playing Charlie's Angels. I would take turns being Kris or Kelly. I also had a Kris doll and a Kelly doll, as well as the Charlie's Angels lunch box. I was really fascinated with this show!

    I always remember the show being fun with lots of action and great characters. I love all 5 seasons, but Seasons 2, 3, and 4 are my absolute favorites.
  • preppy-323 April 2009
    5/10
    Sure it's sexist but fun in a non-think sort of way
    Three beautiful women (Kate Jackson, Jaclyn Smith and Farrah Fawcett) are the only employees of a detective agency run by the unseen Charlie (voice of John Forsythe) and his helper Bosley (David Doyle). Every week these women went out to solve laughably obvious crimes and never break a nail or get one hair out of place. Just like real life huh?:) This came on TV when I was in high school and it was trashed (for good reason) by the critics but was a HUGE hit. The ratings went through the roof and this started the Farrah Fawcett phenomenon of the late 1970s. Also, for its time, this was pretty sleazy. The women all wore very tight and/or revealing outfits and in one episode ("Angels in Chains") they were sent to a prison camp, forced to strip and sprayed with disinfectant! There was a huge outrage over this show but the rating were incredibly strong. It was also originally broadcast at 10:00 at night so the kids couldn't see it (I was 14 and I remember being angry that I couldn't watch). However the series toned down the scripts and it was put on at 9:00 with (I believe) the second season.

    Now this show WAS sexist to a ridiculous extreme but it did show strong female characters solving crimes each week. Of course they used every opportunity they had to get them in bikinis too:) Fawcett walked out after the first season (to become a movie star--which never happened) and was replaced by Cheryl Ladd. Then Jackson was fired (she rightfully complained that the scripts were "sh*t") and was replaced by Shelley Hack. Then SHE was fired and Tanya Roberts stepped in. By the time Roberts joined the series was seriously dying in the ratings and was cancelled right after.

    I watched it every week for the first few seasons. Being a closeted gay teenager I wasn't watching it for the women or the acting (which was terrible) or the scripts (pretty bad). But the show was beautiful to look at and was pleasant in a no-brain sort of way. You could relax for an hour and not think at all:) But, after Hack joined, the series just got dull. This was not Hack's fault--the scripts just got plain boring! I stopped watching around then--that's around the time the ratings dropped steeply. They tried to pump life into the series by introducing another detective agency run by Toni (Barbara Stanwyck) and she has three hot guys solving crimes! However that was only for one episode. Also this is known as starting "jiggle" TV. So I won't say this is any masterpiece but it was fun to watch.
  • garyldibert25 February 2007
    10/10
    The Best Show Ever On Television
    Once upon a time, three little girls went to the police academy. and they were each assigned very hazardous duties, but I took them all away from all that and now they work for me. My name is Charlie. Those famous words started the all time greatest TV show in history Charlie's Angels. When the pilot aired in March of 1976, it starred Farrah Fawcett Majors as Jill who was the athletic angel, Jaclyn Smith as Kelly who was the streetwise angel, Kate Jackson as Sabrina who was the cool smart, multilingual leader, David Doyle as John Bosley, David Ogden Stiers as Scott Woodville and John Forsythe as the voice of Charlie. Kate Jackson was aboard from the beginning of the project, and was set to play the lead angel. Farrah Fawcett was the next to join; filling the blonde role, but then the producers dropped the hair color concept and brought in Jaclyn Smith to complete the trio. Many of the scenes used in the opening credits of the show are from this pilot episode. Then in the fall of September of 1976 ABC introduce the three stunning, sexy and young former police officers, private detectives working for the Charles Townsend Detective Agency with the entire crew back except David Ogden Stiers. In the opening sequence of the first season no one knew where the Angels went to the police academy. The wealthy Charlie Townsend, their never-seen boss, relayed assignments via a speaker telephone. The Angels worked with their trusty male counter-part, John Bosley. After only 23 episodes, Farrah left the show at the end of the first season. When Farrah Fawcett left the series, her absence was explained by having her character Jill become a professional racing driver on the NASCAR circuit. Along with a new Angel, the show received a new time slot. The Angels remained on Wednesday nights, but moved from 10pm to 9pm. This change in time opened up a whole world of new viewers who wanted to know what the big fuss was all about and kept the "Angels" right where they belong - on top of the ratings! The 1977-1978 season ended with high ratings, proved that Kris, Cheryl Ladd, was every bit as popular with the viewers as Farrah. In the 1979-1980 season, the answer came with Shelley Hack, a model who had been prominent in Revlon's "Charlie" Perfume ads and commercials. Shelley entered The Townsend Office as Tiffany Welles, an Ivy League scholar who also was a graduate from the Boston Police Academy. Spelling and Goldberg had the idea that with this new Angel/model at the helm, she could bring an elegant and classy touch to Charlie's trio! Kate Jackson's absence was explained by having Sabrina getting married and starting a family. The writers treaded lightly as they tried to figure out how to make Tiffany Welles the new "Sabrina Duncan". The 1979-1980 seasons' problem was the sudden decline in ratings. The series found itself in the top 20's instead of the top 10 were it had been for the last three years. The ratings drop was directed at the new Angel and at the end of the season, Shelley was let go of her detective duties. Thus, beginning, for another hunt for a new Angel! By 1980, Charlie's Angels was beginning to feel its age and was declining fast. Aaron Spelling and Leonard Goldberg wanted to go with a fresh new image. After careful consideration, they decided to hire virtually unknown actress, Tanya Roberts. This time around, the character would be a model-turned-detective, street-smart Julie Rogers. The new Angel showed her face in the three-hour 1980-1981 season premiere on November 30, 1980. High hopes were placed on Charlie's newest Angel to pull the series out its failing ratings. To help give it an added boost, the Angels were sent to Hawaii for the first six episodes. Hawaii wasn't only chosen to intrigue the audience but to keep the Angels scantily clad in swimsuits! Charlie's opening monologue has now undergone a complete overhaul. It begins, "Once upon a time, there were three beautiful girls. Two of them graduated from the police academy. The other graduated from a top school for models. And they each reaped the rewards of their exciting careers Bosley looks over brochures of Hawaii in anticipation of the Angels' possible assignment there. Charlie arranges for Julie to receive a probationary investigator's license and begin working with Kris and Kelly. Unfortunately, at this point, the audience was no longer keeping up with the Angels antics. In February 1981, the show went on hiatus and wasn't shown again until June of 1981. Charlie's Angels was not winning any viewers in the summer of '81 with its remaining episodes. The show that had made women crime fighters popular during the 1970's was taken off the air. Charlie's Angels was a huge success the moment it hit the airwaves in 1976. The Angels were on gum cards, doll boxes, T-shirts, board games, puzzles and posters. If you wanted to hire the Angels you had to call the office phone number was 555-0267. Kelly Garrett (Jaclyn Smith) was the only Angel to last the entire series. Kelly was an orphan. John Forsythe' was never on the set - his voice was recorded, and dubbed in later. The Angels all drove Ford automobiles. Jill (and later Kris) drove a Cobra, Kelly drove a Mustang, and Sabrina drove a Pinto. For the record, Bosley drove a Ford L.T.D. Although Charlie was never heard, he did actually appear in a couple of episodes, but his face was never shown. Kelly is the only Angel to have been shot throughout the run of the show. Sabrina was the only Angel that was previously married. She was married to a fellow officer when she was still a cop but the marriage ended in divorce.
  • jacob18 January 2007
    Shelley Hack as Tiffany Welles
    i think people are very hard on Shelley , i mean by 1979 Charlie's angels slipped in ratings to #12 and Kate quit or was fired so the new angel hunt began and a lot actress were considered but Arron spelling choose Shelley as tiffany Welles but unlike Cheryl ladd "kris " they decided to slow introduce tiff into the mix and barley gave her any thing to do and by the time she was integrated into group 5th episode of season and wasn't featured until 10th episode "angels on campus" and Shelley was great but the ratting dropped and the press had a filed day and producers blamed Shelley for witch even Cheryl and Jackie said wasn't fair and it wasn't all Shelley fault . Shelley did the best she could but how could she replace bri ? and she wasn't given a chance by public and producers
  • sdeeemarie22 October 2006
    10/10
    Charlie's angels rocked!
    Warning: Spoilers
    By far, 3 of the baddest women of the seventies. They were endlessly amazing, from their ability to perform whatever undercover occupation they were given, to staying beautiful throughout all the fights. There was amazing things about all of them, how Kelly always managed to have that tiny camera that took pictures of everything, how Jill's hair never lost it's curls, how Sabrina's voice managed to crack in a funny, cool way. Sabrina was the intellectual , charismatic angel, there was no way you could hate Sabrina Duncan, they were all smart but she was the brightest one, her brains got them out of many troubles. Like in Angels in Chains, it was her idea to pour the gasoline to confuse the dogs. Kelly was the sweet, streetwise angel, she grew up in an orphanage and knew every trick in the book, including how to get to an informant. Like in Dirty Business, she had the guy making the Little Bo Peep porn eating out of her hands. Jill was the beautiful, athletic angel, like in Angels on Wheels, and numerous other episodes like Ladykiller, and The Mexican Connection, she was pure athleticism and breathtakingly beautiful. They were smart, resourceful women who weren't just beautiful, they were smart and efficient, and they always got their man(or woman). I think my favorite part of the show was when that "de de de deeee" music would play, that would signal that you have been had by an angel. I have most of the episodes on DVD. The movie was okay, but Barrymore, Diaz, and Liu don't do these women justice.
  • kennyg26416 October 2006
    10/10
    Farrah Fawcett was by far the stand-out!
    Farrah Fawcett was a huge part of the shows initial success. Some people may not remember that and want to re-write history or not give credit where it is due. No matter what your preference that is a fact. It was Farrah that sold 12 million copies of her poster. She is an American Icon. She brought a certain sexiness and charisma to the character of Jill Munroe. I was disappointed when she did not return to the series but ecstatic when she did the guest spots. Cheryl Ladd was absolutely the best choice to play Kris and saved the show. Jaclyn is a goddess and Kate is striking in her own right. Shelley Hack was a model before the show and added a scholarly feel to her character. And Tanya was just gorgeous. A great show, that I enjoy today. Farrah is my favorite actress so I am partial to Jill but I like them all. I am so thrilled to hear that Farrah has won her fight against cancer. I can't wait to see her beautiful face on TV again. Farrah Rocks!!!!!!!!!!!
  • angelmuze27 August 2006
    10/10
    Charlie's Angels is a cultural icon
    I was 7 when Charlie's Angels first aired, little did I think that 30 years later, I would still be talking about the Angels. The show captured the imagination of this nation and the world. It had glamorous settings, exquisite fashions, beautiful women, and intriguing often ground breaking plots. All these things were a part of the Charlie's Angels phenomena, and yet the key for me has always been the relationship of the three main characters. This was a true team of friends who didn't resort to the stereotypical cat fights that most women on TV often get into. They were three equals who depended on one another with confidence. Yes, they were beautiful and they used their sexuality, but they did so with brains and courage. I consider myself lucky to have grown up with the Angels as my role models, a girl could do a lot worse. The plots may have been silly but the relationships were genuine.
  • BumpyRide7 July 2006
    8/10
    Jiggle TV
    For those of you not around for it's original run, Charlie's Angels was not just a hit TV show, it was a phenomenon. Every magazine and rag magazine had a picture of "The Angels" on their covers. Incredibly popular, it all came down to Farrah and her 70's fly away hair, her dazzling toothy smile, her skateboarding pose wearing Addia's, her shampoo, her toothpaste, THE bathing suit poster of the century, and then she was gone. Exiting after only one season Charlie's Angels never was the same again. Bolstered by Jill's kid sister, Kris (Cheryl Ladd) and then others, Charlie's Angels never again climbed to the heights of sheer madness of its first season. Owing its popularity to episodes such as "Angels in Chains" and "Angels on Wheels," it fulfilled many a preadolescence male's fantasy and "Jiggle TV" was born. It may be a period piece today but it was a product of the fun, wacky 1970's that gave it birth.
  • roghache15 May 2006
    5/10
    Entertaining though appallingly sexist private eye show
    I ashamedly admit to quite regularly tuning in years ago to this weekly drivel myself, though even back when it aired, I was appalled by its totally sexist perspective. I'm definitely no feminist but as I'll discuss later, would certainly imagine this series to represent the very opposite of feminist goals. However, I do admit it was all quite mindlessly entertaining.

    The series portrays the adventures of three female police officers who are rescued from their mundane duties by a mysterious multi millionaire named Charles Townsend, who hires these gorgeous girls as operatives in his new private investigation agency. Charlie's assistant, Bosley, acts as a liaison with the ladies since the enigmatic Charlie never reveals himself in person. The three beauties, Sabrina, Jill, and Kelly, frequently go undercover as strippers, models, or whatever during the course of their investigations. When Jill leaves Charlie's agency to pursue an auto racing career, she is replaced by her younger sister, Kris. After Sabrina departs to start a family, she in turn is replaced by Julie and later by Tiffany.

    There wasn't a woman watching this show who didn't secretly wish she looked like one of these beautiful, curvaceous ladies. Kate Jackson played Sabrina, the 'smart angel' and often the brains of the operation. The blonde & bubbly Jill was portrayed by Farrah Fawcett and notable mainly for her hairstyle, which spawned a popular new look in the late 1970's. Kelly, the truly pretty & sweet one and the only angel permanent to the series, was played by the lovely Jacklyn Smith. Cheryl Ladd (who went on to do some pleasant little Danielle Steele TV movies) was cast as the perky and charming young rookie, Kris. My personal favourite was Julie, a street smart but classy New Yorker with an Ivy League education, played by Shelley Hack, who later starred briefly in another series, Jack and Mike. Finally, the role of the red haired model turned detective, Tiffany (whom I personally saw less of and never quite 'bonded' with), was given to Tanya Roberts.

    This series actually contradicts feminist philosophies, since it isn't really a show whose point is to depict that women can possess beauty, intelligence, and strength...all three. Instead, it's an excuse for displaying these gorgeous women in bikinis or other tight fitting clothing, and otherwise placing them in situations focusing on their sex appeal. The girls always wear beautiful designer fashions and however harrowing their circumstances, their make up never smudges, a nail never breaks, nor a single hair stray out of place. If you read the reviews here, you'll note that the common theme isn't the clever plots but how amazingly sexy these girls look in their bikinis! It's mainly all about the jiggle factor.

    Some claim that it does support the feminist cause since the angels are single, smart, independent, capable, and mutually supportive. These lovely ladies don't wait around for a man to rescue them when danger befalls, but instead depend upon each other. And that's the point...one BEAUTIFUL woman is rescued by another BEAUTIFUL woman, not a plain or ordinary looking though equally bright, resourceful, and courageous female. In fact, these girls employ all their sexual wiles to their best advantage, more often than not using their looks and sex appeal rather than their wits to get themselves both into certain situations and out of others.

    However, all that being said, it's a generally fun & entertaining show to watch. There's mystery, assorted engaging adventures, occasional exotic locales, and an effective chemistry of friendship & co-operation between these female private investigators. Just bear in mind that it's yet another monument to women with lovely faces, perfect bodies, and gorgeous clothes.
  • ShadeGrenade14 December 2005
    1/10
    Once upon a time there were three bad actresses...
    Warning: Spoilers
    The '70's was a golden age for U.S. television with groundbreaking shows such as 'Roots', 'Holocaust', 'M.A.S.H.' and 'All In The Family'. Created by Ivan Goff and Ben Roberts, 'Charlie's Angels' was a huge step backwards. Even as a testosterone-fuelled teenager, I found it both mindless and demeaning to women. Very much a male creation.

    The 'Angels' were three ex-policewomen recruited by a mysterious individual named 'Charlie' ( John Forsythe ) for covert missions. You can see how this idea happened. "Hey, guys!", some hot-shot executive probably yelled one day over an expensive lunch: "Why don't we do 'Mission: Impossible' with an all-girl cast?".

    If the 'Angels' had been strong characters, fine. But they were bimbos. Nobody could act, the violence was cartoon-like, the marshmallow theme tune made my teeth itch, and the Identikit plots rarely rose above the tenth-rate.

    Each week, the animated 'Barbie' dolls which composed three-quarters of the regular cast went undercover to trap some one-dimensional villain, which of course was nothing more than a pathetic excuse to get them into make-up and sexy clothes.

    Farrah Fawcett was the first to jump ship. She later matured into a fine actress. Cheryl Ladd was her replacement. Her debut episode featured one of the most ridiculous scenes ever broadcast on television - Ms.Ladd stripping naked in the middle of a street so as to gain entry to an exclusive nudist camp, while an elderly security guard chortled with glee.

    The girls came and went, but the show's entertainment value remained zero. It is amazingly now regarded in some quarters as a proto-feminist tract. 'Cagney & Lacey' it was definitely not!
  • orient_861 July 2005
    Soft and classy
    I watched the rerun of the show when I was 15-16 and at the time I thought it was the best show ever. I still like it.

    The acting may not be the best and the show lost its touch in the end (as usual) but it was classy, intriguing and entertaining. And it was the show that broke the "houswife TV-woman" once and forever. The girls could and they did. But they were still girls. They dressed with taste, fell in love, wore bikini and didn't treat men like dirt. They were tough but feminine.

    And the truth be told, I was really ******-off when they made a remake out of the show - Charlies Angels movies. Non of them had that little extra that the show had.
  • mnau8 June 2005
    Landmark TV- show of the seventies
    It was my brother who got me launched on Charlie's Angels when I was at ground school, in 1976 or 1977. I was 9 or 10 years old. We both got equally hooked on it but after a few years my brother's interest fainted while I remain addicted to this day. Now whoever did the casting for the show, he (she?) proved to have good taste, for sure. Kate, Jaclyn, Farrah, Cheryl, Shelley and Tanya as they looked back then were not exactly the kind of girls you would have kicked out of your bed. The angel who got my attention from the start when I watched the show for the first time was Kate Jackson with her crushing personality and her exotic eyes but mainly because She was unique - so unlike the 2 other girls, She was the one who "wore the pants" in the team - and never pulled them down. Oh and she could be really funny and entertaining at moments. Jaclyn Smith in turn went completely stealthy to my eyes in first place but as the years went by with me watching the reruns again and again she more and more grew on me. Today easily hers is the face that I am identifying the entire show with. She is by far the coolest angel- and the prettiest of them all, with her warmth and her exotic beauty she comfortably eclipses Farrah Fawcett in my opinion. I never really got Farrah by the way - what's all that fuss about her hair etc.?( just look at actresses like Heather Menzies or Stephanie Powers and you'll get an idea of a classy feathered back hairdo). Now that said I have nothing against her, and - to give credit where it is due - she was looking nice, acting well and from her side came a substantial contribution to the tremendous success of the TV-show but she never really grew on me. She played a bunch of remarkable roles though in her post-angels period. (Extremities, Barbara Hutton....etc). The "newbie" angels aka Ceryl Ladd, Shelley Hack and Tanya Roberts all were OK in my eyes, overwhelmingly charming (and remarkably nice-bodied ) Cheryl Ladd turned out to be a fit replacement for Farrah Fawcett, Shelley Hack as Tiffany Welles somewhat struggled to get her way out of Kate Jackson's shadow but I happened to like Tiffany and her classy silhouette from the first time I saw her on the screen and it has never changed ever since. Season 4 came out with 2 of my all-time favorite's episodes besides (Angels go trucking and Angel Hunt). Together with Kate Jackson and Jaclyn Smith Shelley Hack is one of my favorite angels. As for Tanya Roberts I didn't get to see the episodes with her until recently but my mind is made up - she is gorgeous !!
  • TxMike24 January 2005
    One of the most memorable TV series ever.
    Warning: Spoilers
    Note that I said "memorable", not "best." However, as a 30-something male in the 1970s, my main reason for watching "Charlie's Angels" every week was to see the pretty young ladies in action and danger.

    My favorite always was Texan Jaclyn Smith, the beautiful model who played Kelly Garrett. I was so taken with her, I could have watched a one-woman show of hers every week. Plus, she turned out to be a dependable actress.

    My second favorite didn't even start with the series the first year. Shelly Hack, who came on for one year starting in 1979 played Tiffany Welles. She wasn't a particularly good actress, but this model turned actress was my vision of the perfect "girl next door" type. I only wish she had had a more complete career.

    Of the original three, Kate Jackson as Sabrina Duncan was always good. The more serious of the three, she also played the "smarter" character. The one who arguably got most attention was Farrah Fawcett as Jill Munroe. She even grew up in the neighborhood I now live in, and her parents still reside here. But she just wasn't my type, I guess.

    I can gladly say each episode was good. They never met "Charlie", but always heard his voice, along with Bosley, over the speaker phone. They always fought the bad guys, they always came out on top. What more could fans ask for??
  • j_mccall8722 October 2004
    8/10
    A great drama for all to watch
    Charlie's Angels has became one of my all time favourite TV programmes since May of this year(2003). My family and friends think I'm really mad cos I'm always taping the episodes and watch them over and over again. Even as I'm typing I'm watching Charlie's Angels: "Counterfiet Angels"

    The show concentrates on three women fighting crime, under dangerous circumstances and going in deep to catch the culprit. what makes the show good is that it can have you gripped to whats going to happen and also have you laughing.

    Furthermore what makes it a great drama is the strong cast and the characters that they play. Each character brings something to Charlie's Angels, allowing for different aspects of their profiles to help in the capturing. Jill Munroe (Farrah Fawcet)is the sporty athletic angel, who makes the other worry sometimes with her actions. Sabrina Duncun (Kate Jackson) is the smart angel, who brings ideas to the team and can handle her own. Kelly Garret (Jaclyn Smith) is street - wise and tough angel, however she is also really sensitive. Kris Muntoe (Cheryl Ladd) is the rookie angel, given many different strange covers and whose emotions heightens when the person hurt involves friends and sibling. In addition the closeness between the characters allows for strong emotion and adds to the storyline.

    Not only the girls add to the storyline, Bosley and Charlie also add unique points. Charlie's assistant John Bosley always bothered about where the money is coning from, being given the sometime not so glamorous covers and being confused adds humour to series. Charlie's character adds some wit, with the fact that he goes to lengths never seen by the angels, no matter how much they try. Although i find character somewhat less appealing with his fascination with woman, to be exact beautiful women, a different one each week. I was glad when it came to the later seasons that they played down this aspect of his character.

    In my opinion the best seasons are two and three, maybe its partly because when i started watching it it was these seasons that i saw, but i do prefer Kris Munroe to Jill Munroe .

    I would also like to add, that if you base watching the films on the programmes then you might be disappointed.Although the general idea is still there, the modernised version has certainly made it more male orientated with a lot of the scenes, especially the "Bay Watch" scene in film two.
  • Troy Herman12 June 2004
    Get over yourselves Seasons 1 - 3 fans.
    Charlie's Angels has always been and will continue to be my favorite TV show. A show with females in the lead as detectives? Flipping their hair, wearing fabulous clothes and being desired by men every week? I got it. Okay, now let's get down to the nitty gritty. By far and large most mild or avid "Angels" fans will fight tooth and nail defending seasons 1 - 3. These seasons starred Kate Jackson, Farrah Fawcett-Majors ( as she was known then ), Jaclyn Smith and Cheryl Ladd. Get over yourselves. These seasons felt so typical to me. Almost cookie cutter. Farrah ( my least favorite Angel ) was bubbly but in an annoying, nails on a chalk board way. Kate was far too masculine-esqe for the show. I am all for not wanting to be a bikini clad bimbo but c'mon. Cheryl Ladd never really gelled until season 4. With Kate out of there she had more of a chance to shine. Jaclyn Smith grew as an actress and was so gracious, lovely, composed, elegant and focused. Season 4 & 5 introduced my favorite Angels. The cultured, intelligent, tough, classy and gorgeous Shelley Hack ( Tiffany Welles ) and the even tougher, sexy, street raised and and flame-haired Tanya Roberts ( Julie Roberts ). These two are always put down, overly criticized or just plain forgotten. Neither were to blame for the downfall of the series. The show by the end of the 3rd season was down to the Top 30 and slipping. This was before Tiff & Julie joined rank. The shotty, poor, cringe enducing scripts and poor management of the show are to blame. Even Jaclyn and Cheryl have gone on record numerous time defending Shelley. As she seems the most beaten up. Some say she took the show to serious. When in reality it was the opposite. She didn't look at the show with such grandiose ideas like everyone else. Personally, I preferred the class and sass of Shelley & Tanya. They beat the stereo-type of the initial Angels. And also with Tanya the producers finally got the brunette, blonde & red-head they had wanted since the conception of the show. I ask you to take an unbiased look back at seasons 4 - 5. There are many wonderful qualities you may have missed.
  • speedo6822 February 2004
    One of the Best of the '70s!
    One of the reasons why this show is still big and popular after all these years, can be attributed to the Angels themselves. I can't think of any other stars in the history of television who can actually enticed the viewing public more than the Angels, especially the MAGIC FOUR namely, Kate Jackson, Farrah Fawcett-Majors, Jaclyn Smith, and Cheryl Ladd (Of course, the other two angels, Shelley Hack and Tanya Roberts created a sensation too, but the "Magic Four" are the ones who started it all).

    I didn't had a chance to see the first season when it was first broadcast, as I was very "young" then, but lucky me, it was a huge success and was re-played again and again, every year. Funny, because a lot of people thought the series lasted until 1983 or 1985 because it was like being re-played forever!

    I must say, that the first season is the best of the rest and the chemistry of the original three are just wonderful. The second series with Cheryl Ladd was excellent too, but everyone knows that Jackson and Ladd were not in good terms, so, I guess, it affects the way the people look at them.

    I started as a fan of Kate Jackson, I reckon, for she's the only known star before the series started. But the two other lovely angels are hard to ignore. Fawcett is so bubbly and appealing while Smith is the most beautiful angel you can think of. But,I am still surprised up to now, why Fawcett became the more popular angel during her time on the show.

    She was even dubbed the sexiest of all the angels, where in fact, I believe, it is Jaclyn Smith, who's got the most curvaeous body of the three and looks great in that famous "white bikini" on the show. Even, in the hair department, I believe that Smith's hair is actually more flouncy and sexier than Fawcett. But then, I guess, Fawcett's popularity came right up with the released of her poster which was very timely for the show.But all in all, the original three are just wonderful.

    Then came, Cheryl Ladd. She's a welcome addition to the show. She's sexy, beautiful and very charming. Her introduction to the show with ANGELS IN PARADISE is one of my fave episodes and one the best of the series. Who can forget the scene when they're about to rescue Charlie in the yacht? Ladd came out from the water in a bikini with Jaclyn Smith (in her tiniest in a "green" bikini). No wonder the second season became more popular than the first one. I called this, the BIKINI FEVER!

    Then, Jackson, left the show. I believe, that Shelley Hack, did a wonderful job as the next angel, actually. Her characer speaks for her action in the show. Remember, the scene with Bosley in "LoveBoat Angels," when she told him that she's a bit scared to be part of the group because of what they have started already? Well, maybe her portrayal of her character was just too classy for the show but she's actually a stand out in the show. I also think that she's one of the two best-dressed angels on the show --the other one is Jaclyn Smith.

    Smith and Hack are in they're best when they're together. I like their chemistry on the show. It's a pity, she only lasted one season.

    The last of the Angels, Tanya Roberts is a fave, too. She's got this fabulous body and sexy eyes. Roberts, actually became more popular overseas and the bikini fever is back again. She was, obviously, given all the bikini scenes on the show. With Smith wanting to leave and Ladd, just happy to go along with the show, Roberts was given the responsibility to carry the show. Alas, the chemistry, didn't work out.

    The show opened a lot of things to women on television. Sad, to say, none has the charisma of the angels. I think, that's one of the reasons, why television is not as exciting as before in the '70s!
  • Totallyrad804 October 2003
    A chick show that guys love to watch every Wednesday night
    I grow up watching the show when it first aired in 1976 and I was in the first grade and I loved it. I couldn't get enough of it at the time and I had a huge crush on Farrah Fawcett-Majors (maybe because she was a blonde and bubbly)and I like the action that took place back in the 70's. When she left I was terribly upset, but got use to Cheryl Ladd as her replacement. Too bad Kate Jackson didn't take a liking to her, because I thought they had got along off screen, which Kate knew Cheryl before Farrah and Jaclyn Smith when they worked on Satan School for Girls. I love the adventures and the action that centered around them, but I really was not a fan of Sabrina Duncan (or Kate Jackson), because I did say she was the least attractive and I always felt that the show revolved around Sabrina than Jill, Kelly or Kris (which I noticed after Kate was fired the show revolved around Kris, which I myself felt Cheryl was the better actress) but I did like the episodes and I always loved watching them in reruns. The episodes in the first season was always the best where I always like when they had to go on a cruise to investigate and each of them had a bomb to throw off the cruise and when they focused on each of them individually they hair was blowing into the wind except for Farrah's hair. It never moved. I liked the comedy she kind of provided for viewers to watch which had men keep watching more as her career took off way after the show.

    The second season I did like the episode "The Sandcastle Murders", but the only con I could say about that episode it was really bad after Bosley (David Doyle) fired his gun to the bad guy, Dave Rossiter which he fell into the ocean, that they made Sabrina dive into the pier fully clothed to get him out, but from the back it was bad to say you could tell that it was a stunt double because the person from the back was wide, heavier and they never showed a close up on "Sabrina's athletic powers" (is what Bosley complimenting her to Charlie in the office after they wrap up the case). But I did like the show to take me into the third season, which Kate did wear to much makeup which I still found her to be the least attractive and did check into the fourth season with Shelley Hack. Now I had seen the episodes which I picked out "Avenging Angel" which was a great showcase for Jaclyn to portray and "Caged Angel" which is my favorite where Cheryl was locked up to investigate a case. But I did notice the show downslided and the new Angel Tiffany did not live up to any expectation. I can say Shelley did try her best but it only lasted for 1 season for her.

    Now in Season 5 which I was a fifth grader at the time I remember hearing that "Charlie has a new Angel". I couldn't keep up with the changes and I thought it was ridiculous that a model left her career behind to now work as a private detective (not to mention any of the other recruits who looked like models than cops). But I checked out the Hawaii episodes and those were ok as they were a team. The look was in which all 3 girls (Kelly, Kris and Julie were all wearing bikinis and Bosley going topless) which I knew it was a gimmick for viewers to get back into the show with an unknown - Tanya Roberts, (which all of them were unknowns at the time except for Kate). The episodes were not bad, but it just had to be over soon. I did enjoy "Angels in the Deep" where they had Patti Darbanville as a guest who had zest and the 1 they had to have Kris and Julie go undercover as go-go dancers where Kelly is now the investigator (Bad because Jaclyn has more dancing experience on her resume than the other 2 actresses). But it had to be classy. I wish it could be the same about the film because seeing Jaclyn in a cameo appearance, I wish she could be in it and show the other 3 (Drew, Cameron and Lucy) how it should be done. But when the show was cancelled I didn't know if I was upset or what. But there is cable which could rerun the show and I could be entertained by it.
  • kittykatkan8 July 2003
    Beautiful does not mean weak
    I have seen complaints about the original Charlie's Angels series and how having beautiful stars in it negated any feminist notions about the series. I would like to disagree.

    In the late 1970s and early 1980s, there were few enough female 'action' stars on television to be role models for young girls. The various women in 'Charlie's Angels' were (according to the OP) police officers before Charlie hired them -- and as female police officers, they were given stupid 'girl' jobs like handing out parking tickets, and handling switchboards, and so on. Charlie gave them jobs in which they could actually fight crime -- and they did fight crime, together. If one of them needed rescue, it wasn't a man that came to rescue her, but one of the other two 'angels'. They were independent, intelligent, single, employed women who worked well together and supported one another.

    The show is dated now, given how strong feminism has become since then. Back then, however, it was more than enough for at least one little girl to see that she didn't have to grow up and get married and have babies to be happy in life. Charlie's Angels -- the original show, not the fluffy movies (which are fun in their own way) -- remains to this day in my opinion an excellent example of how women should look at life: it's a challenge; meet it head on, and on your own terms.

    The fact that the women were all beautiful is irrelevant to the show except that it attracted a male audience.
  • Brian Washington8 April 2003
    Influential in Its Own Way
    When this show first came on, it was dismissed as nothing more than a jiggle show. However, this was one of the first shows that showed that women could go out and get the bad guys just like the boys could. Of course, I was a fan of the Kate Jackson era. The three years she was on the show were its greatest era. She definitely was the star of that show and when she left I stopped watching. But, it was her chemistry with Jaclyn Smith, Cheryl Ladd and of course Farrah Fawcett that made it one of the top shows of the 1970's.
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.