• Chrysanthepop29 July 2008
    Sometimes Yes, Sometimes No, That's Life
    There are only very few actors who can play the ordinary man with extraordinary talent and skills. Shahrukh Khan is one such actor. While he is more known for his larger than life films (such as 'Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge', 'Kuch Kuch Hota Hai', 'Devdas' etc) it is in roles such as Sunil, Raju (of 'Raju Ban Gaya Gentleman') or Rahul (of 'Yes Boss') that I prefer him most. 'Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa' is one of his greatest achievements and among his most underrated films. He beautifully brings Sunil to life and had I not been aware that I was watching a movie, I wouldn't have known that Khan was acting.

    For me, Sunil is one of the most unique and memorable characters in Hindi cinema yet he is so easily recognizable. He's not the son of a millionaire, not an A-grade student, not popular with women. He's vibrant. He's talented. He's carefree. He lies. He IS just a regular guy. One that you must have known sometime somewhere. I see a lot of myself in Sunil. His despair for Anna's love, his passion for music, his indifference towards his academic failure, have all been displayed with gusto by Mr. Khan.

    Kundan Shah's direction is outstanding. He keeps everything including execution, story, props and setting, simple and that's what makes 'Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa' so easy to relate to. His portrayal of Sunil's relationships with the people in his life that includes his family, his band members, the girl he loves, a priest and his boss is very real and down to earth. Thankfully, nothing is sugarcoated. Shah stays focused and does it all with a very subtle approach. Even the brother sister relationship which was given very little screen time, flourishes beautifully on screen and, in my opinion, it is one of the best depiction of a sibling relationship.

    The background score flows very well with the film and the songs are great. My favourites include the ballad 'Sachchi Yeh Kahani Hai' and the soulful 'Ae Kaash Ke Hum', both of which have been beautifully visualized. Actually all the songs are nicely picturized including the funny 'Kyun Na Hum' and 'Anna Mere Pyar', the sad 'Woh To Hai Albela' and the romantic 'Deewana Dil Deewana'.

    Though 'Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa' is Shahrukh Khan's film, most of the supporting cast is very effective. Naseeruddin Shah as the priest/Sunil's confidant is totally awesome. Tiku Talsania and Goga Kapoor are hilarious. Of Sunil's friend Kurush Deboo stands out. However, Suchitra Krishnamurty and Deepak Tijori are merely okay.

    In a nutshell, 'Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa' is one of my all-time favourite films. It's one of the rarest of its kind, truly a gem of a movie.
  • Peter Young16 July 2009
    9/10
    Shahrukh Khan's exemplary creation of an unforgettable character
    Shahrukh Khan is not where he is today without a reason. He is one of the most versatile, natural and talented actors Indian cinema has seen. Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa is a true example of his ability to create a character so simple yet so memorable. Though such films do not always work out commercially for him, Khan is always at his very best in roles like this, where he plays the ordinary, simple, romantic, witty, generous, lighthearted, desperate, vulnerable and loving middle-class guy. That's what represents Sunil, a character so real and so easy to relate to. He badly loves a girl who does not love him the way he would want her to, he is an average student, and most of his efforts to find romance are unsuccessful. Sunil is partly a comic, partly a tragic character, and Khan injects it with so much energy, realism and passion that you don't really feel it is an actor playing a part. That's what makes this character unforgettable and this performance an all-time great.

    Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa is actually about what life is. Sometimes you get something, sometimes you don't; sometimes it hurts, but in the end, you learn to come to terms with it. Kundan Shah's direction is outstanding. He brilliantly portrays all the aspects of Sunil's life, if it's his relationships, his love, his hope or despair. The dialogues are well-written and the film is realistic throughout. The music is beautiful and all the songs are absolutely spot on. Though the film belongs to Shahrukh Khan, the entire supporting cast is fantastic, and every actor—from the pretty Suchitra Krishnamoorthi to the ever-great Naseeruddin Shah—does a fine job. Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa is surely an underrated gem. It is a film that reminds me of myself. It is a film that I can watch over and over again, and still be excited, saddened and encouraged. It is a film that teaches you how to look at life differently, how to take things as they come and despite the pain, be able to recover with a smile.
  • Deepshika12 April 2003
    7/10
    One of SRK's most underrated movies.
    Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa is the story of Sunil (Shahrukh Khan), the girl he loves, Anna (Suchitra Krishnamurty) and the guy she loves, Chris (Deepak Tijori). Sunil, realizing the budding relationship between Anna and Chris decides to take things into his own hands by trying to create rifts between the two and taking advantage of the situations to woo Anna himself. Supporting these three are Sunil's family, his musical friends (look a little closer and you'll see Ashutosh Gowarikar among them) and also the local Father (Naseeruddin Shah) who acts as Sunil's mentor.

    This may sound like a very simple and typical love triangle, which it is. What makes it different is Sunil. His character is one that is rarely seen in Indian cinema, yet not unfamiliar to us because we've met hundreds of Sunils in our lifetime. We ourselves might be a Sunil. He is that real. He has no great physical strength (Shahrukh in 93? puny!), or great intelligence (he failed the same class several times)or great wealth (his father is a mechanic). He is a regular Joe trying to get the girl he loves.

    Sunil happens to be Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa's greatest asset. We see everything and everyone through his eyes which makes his world real to us. The things he does are things we might do when in love. What he ultimately does in the end might reflect on who many of us really are on the inside: simple people who love their family and friends.

    A lot of people believe Shahrukh Khan became an actor with Dilwale Dulhaniya Le Jaayenge in '95. The truth is that he was well on his way to becoming a legend in Indian cinema with this movie. He IS Sunil. He breathes life into the role making it much more than just a character in a story, he brings Sunil to life, he brings Sunil to us. He is brilliant. Just watch the film.
  • Fatehsher13 April 2001
    9/10
    best shahrukh khan film
    of all shahrukh khan movies this is by far the best. the story itself is not original, but the ambiance that it creates is definitely distinct from any other movie. it is truly a shame that people did not enjoy shahrukh khans best performance to date. unlike all of the other characters he portrays in his movies you can make a connection to one he plays in this one. funny how people love it when shahrukh over acts and dont recognize true art when they see it. it is very discouraging to see films like this one not doing well with the main stream audience. it means that the film-makers will go back to their "formula" movies.

    the songs of this movie were really spell binding. the music was a throw back to the 70's kishore kumar era, with a touch of its own uniqueness. kumar sanu voice sounds really great, and comparable to kishore's voice. all in all, the comedy, the drama, the music, and the surprise ending make this movie really exceptional.
  • nahush9212 December 2005
    10/10
    Best Shahrukh khan movie
    Best Shahrukh Khan movie (swades follows closely) till date. This movie was shot during his pre-Baazigar days and you can see rawness in his acting. Even Shahrukh admits that this is his best film. He played the role of Sunil to a T. Though the character had negative shades it was loved by all. It was also Kundan's Hindi film after a long time (the first being Jaane Bhi Do Yaaron). He brought many actors of Jaane Bhi Do Yaaron like Naseer, Satish Shah, Ravi Baswani into this film. The songs were also amazing. Among the best Jatin Lalit albums. Songs like Ae Kaash Ke Hum, Deewana Dil Deewana are still remembered for its freshness.
  • shailu_nonstop28 February 2006
    10/10
    SRK at his best
    The movie was released at the time when SRK had begun his steps towards stardom. This is by far his best performance to date. The story is very simple and entertaining. Kundan Shah does a good job in direction. A simple love triangle melded with hummable numbers and some comedy makes the movie superb.

    The support cast have done proper justice to their job. Whether it's Deepak or Naseerudin or Anjan or Ashutosh. But the charm of the movie is the débutante Suchitra who plays her role of Ana as beautifully as she is in looks.

    And above all, SRK with his lifetime best role. Critics of SRK should watch this movie as SRK gives a Baadshah performance even though he plays the role of a simple Town guy. His act as Sunil, so simple but yet so convincing. One feels as SRK is playing their role, when he talks, when he fancies Ana, when he laughs and even when he cries. It all seems so natural. My rating - 9/10
  • manoj agrawal10 August 2005
    7/10
    Delightful
    Being such huge fans of 'Jaane Bhi Do Yaaron' I still remember the excitement when we (some friends and I) went to watch this movie. It was after a gap of 10 years that Kundan Shah had come out with a movie and we couldn't wait to watch it. Though we found 'Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naan' to be OK but were disappointed as it was nothing like 'Jaane Bhi Do Yaaron'. But I give credit to Kundan Shah for his judgment on not trying to repeat 'Jaane Bhi Do Yaron' again because it is difficult to recreate magic.

    Caught 'Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naan' on cable couple of years later and since this time I knew what to expect, I quite enjoyed the film. I watched it again and this time I enjoyed it more. That's the thing about this movie; it grows on you. It's like a friendly face in the neighborhood that the more you see the more you like. Now I consider this as one of my favorite movies that I can watch from any point and enjoy it.

    It's the story of youth with all its elements; the unrequited love, the ambition to do something different, the generation gap etc. But it is the characters and situations that are so real and so delightful that you can identify with most of them from your own personal life. The humor is subtle and will make you smile and at the most chuckle. Performance wise everyone does a fine job. Jatin Lalit's music is melodious and pleasant, but I must admit that I have a bias against Kumar Sanu's voice so I would have preferred someone else to sing the songs.
  • Liakot Ali10 June 2006
    10/10
    it is Shah Rukh Khans Favourite Film
    Shah Rukh Khan has mentioned in a interview (Koffee with Karan), his Best movie he made is Kabhie Haan Kabhie Naa. I Believe this is a great Movie, not his Best, but completely underrated. For the first time in Bollywood, i finally saw a change, a movie about a guy who loves the girl dearly, but has to realise she loves someone else, but he is not ready to accept this. The movie is very heart warming and light hearted with a mix of comedy and romance. Shah Rukh Khan delivers a Fantastic Performance of his career. This movie ranks among His Greatest Movies. Others include Dilwale Dulhania Lejayenge (Being the Best), Kabhie Khushi Kabhie Gham, Kuch Kuch hota hai, Baazigar, Chaahat, Darr, Anjaam, Kal ho na ho etc. Deepak Tijori suits in a small role as usual like in Sadak, Jo jeeta wohi Sikandar and Khiladi. The actress is unknown and long forgotten. The movie is a Big Time entertainer..
  • HeadleyLamarr15 March 2007
    10/10
    A brilliant gem
    Some movies never age, time does not cast a patina of dullness on them. Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa is one such film. The story is so simple you cannot describe what it is all about. Yet the emotions the movie invokes are so profound it turns into a huge deal. Sunil (Shahrukh Khan) is a college kid with only two desires - that he win the love of Anna (Suchitra Krishnamurthy) and that he become a successful musician. Anna love Chris (Deepak Tijori) who is a fellow band member. BTW - do not forget to watch out for Imran (Ashutosh Gowarikar), one of the other band members! Sunil makes every attempt to win Anna, some attempts are above board, others are less than ethical. Father Briganza (Naseeruddin Shah) is his compass and keeps trying to set him back on the right path. Does Sunil succeed in winning his heart's desire? Does he remain an immature young man or does he complete his journey into manhood? Can and should every human being be judged by the same yardstick? The movie answers these questions while providing us with valuable lessons about life...

    Shahrukh is astounding in the role of Sunil. If you do not see yourself in Sunil then you will certainly see a friend or sibling. He is childish, spoilt, loving, mature, conniving, naive, generous, vulnerable, tragic - he runs the gamut of emotions one experienced in the yo-yo phase of youth and you feel for Sunil and identify with him at every turn. This is clearly one of the defining roles in the career of an actor who is now a mega-star. Suchitra does a fine job as the bubbly Anna, Deepak Tijori is good as the other guy, Naseer Shah is brilliant - but do we expect any less? However, this film belongs to Shahrukh and according to him remains one of his most favorite roles.

    Jatin Lalit provide excellent music that grows on you quietly. Deewana Dil Deewana, Kyun Na Ham Mil Ke Pyara Kare, Anna Tere Pyar Ko, Sacchi Yeh Kahani Hai Sun Lo Meri Jaan, Woh To Hai Albela are all very pleasing numbers, but THE song of the film is Ai Kash Ke Hum Hosh Mein Aane Na Paayen. It is exquisite in composition, execution, and in the emotions expressed by the lead pair.

    Kundan Shah directs with a deft hand and produces a film that will tug at your heartstrings and remind you of that age of angst we all go through when life is beautiful yet every moment could be an extreme of emotions - extreme joy, extreme pain.

    This movie is a keeper and worth many a repeat watch.
  • altegomaniac27 February 2014
    9/10
    A rare gem..
    Missing out this movie is like missing to pick a diamond among other polished/cut crystals. It is a very special film. Rare coming together of several veteran actors and creative people. Its a rare mix of unusual flavors.

    Kundan Shah's previous film 'Jaane bhi do yaaron' is considered one of the best comedies made in Hindi films. And then this happened.

    I think no one on earth can do this character better than Shahrukh. This role is meant for Shahrukh, I don't think the greatest of actors could have played it better.

    The thing I like about this, it has several scenes which on the surface appear funny.. but kind of captures rare moments that everyone can relate too..

    Like Sunil fidgeting about the exam results, like feeling guilty while facing the consequences of a lie, like Sunil fumbling to express his love for Anna to her parents, like moments of jealously when Sunil realizes that he is losing his girl to an apparently better looking friend, like trying desperately correct a situation that has gone all wrong ...

    Its impossible to not 'feel' for the character, while on the surface its the usual flamboyant Shahrukh playing it.. I end of watching it with a smile on the face while strong feeling connected to what is happening on screen.

    It captures heartache and pangs of jealously beautifully, not the dramatic in exaggerated way made with an intent to make you cry. I guess some people do not relate to the movie because they do not have a Sunil inside them - the average, bumbling, problem kid who always messes up and wishes things weren't the way they are...
  • wrightrules19 December 2006
    10/10
    Shah Rukh's Best Ever!
    Shah Rukh Khan became an artist in this movie as he reached the pinnacle of his field with his sheer talent and acting prowess. I think there cannot be a greater achievement in the career of a true artist. But somewhere along the way (after he ganged up with the Chopras and the Johars), Shah Rukh lost the artist in him and he now remains just a personality.

    "Kabhi Haan Kabhi Na" reminds me how I loved Shah Rukh once upon a time. It seems so far ago back now. As Sunil in KHKN, he was simply amazing. You laugh, you cry, you cheer for him and you get upset at his follies. But you know he is true at heart and this is what is reflected throughout the movie too, it is truly a heartfelt effort. The simple story with beautiful Goa as a background was so splendid, it felt like we were actually looking into the lives of real people.

    Kudos to Kundan Shah. An ACE again after "Jaane Bhi Do Yaaron". But he seems to have vanished again. Come back Shah Rukh, come back Kundan, let's see the magic again!
  • nomanali7726 February 2006
    8/10
    One of SRK's first films
    I have watched this movie over 20 times. But i don't think that it's a GREAT movie. It's just a fairly good movie. Simple, to the point, slightly comedic, slightly romantic, slightly heart-warming. But I have watched it over 20 times. The reason is Shahrukh Khan.

    This was Shahrukh before Baazigar, before Darr and more importantly, before DDLJ. This was Shahrukh Khan raw. This was him before the audiences found him lovable and adored him. This was him before he was able to floor girls with just a look and a smile. This was SRK before he became a star.

    As said by another reader, SRK breathes life into the character of Sunil. Sunil is a guy we all know, we all are. He is the common man. He has weaknesses, he isn't rich, or particularly handsome and he's sometimes willing to go the wrong way to achieve something.

    The movie is filled with ridiculous situations (the Chinese theme bar!!!) and characters (Anthony Gomez) but SRK fights it all and shines through. I recommend this movie to all people who watch SRK today and say that he keeps doing the same kind of roles. It is a brilliant performance.
  • ldlAkasha13 April 2002
    Jealously, Rivalry, and Goan Catholics
    All in all an entertaining film, while not so complex that subtitles are needed for those not overly proficient in Hindi. SRK is in his blustery talk-his-way-out-of-everything mood here, chasing after an Anna who looks 14 and is entirely silly -- her playback singer isn't all that great. The rivalry between him and Chris is actually well done and sincere-sounding, a rarity for Bollywood. Kind of throws you off that Udit Narayan's singing for Chris in this movie, if you've gotten used to thinking of that as SRK's voice. Father Braganza is a great character, showing interreligious cameraderie and not set up as a comedic figure (unlike Catholic priests in several other movies, both Indian and American). Goa's beauty shines through the whole thing and makes any story seem believable, even this one.
  • immanojkumar20 December 2015
    10/10
    One of best ever Bollywood movies and vastly underrated.(Must Watch).
    I can't tell you how I feel when I watched this movie, it's is not a movie when hero instead it's very genuine. SRK himself said that it is his best movie. The movie is so simple yet so heart-felt, I also watched after I have watched all of SRK movies nearly and fond of movies like Swades, Chak De India, MNIK, Darr, Baazigar, but this movie is something special, it's songs are so heart-wrenching and you will fall in love with them. The movie is so ordinary but yet so extraordinary. Now a days Actors play hero or I should say they follow a template in their movie and how they say their dialogue but it's not like that here you are so lost in characters of movie you won't remember who is hero but just character. Must watch movie not only for SRK fans but all the movie fans. It's my most favorite movie from Bollywood. And I just created IMDb account to write a review for it.
  • ketank-480-18043110 December 2012
    10/10
    Masterpiece
    Warning: Spoilers
    Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa is one of the most entertaining and one of the most beautifully crafted movies till date.

    The movie name - sums it all - sometimes Yes, sometimes No.. visualized through the eyes of a simple middle class hero ( shahrukh khan ) who is just like an avg guy next door, living his life, taking things as they come, in small strides. all n many things crafted beautifully by the director, in this movie

    A movie that came at a time, when action movies were hit, a time when hero always won, defeating the evil, one who always got the girl at the end. Well, in this movie, we see shahrukh ( a very innocent, warm hearted shahrukh) who loses the girl at the end and still wins our hearts.

    This movie shows that hero does not need to have muscles, or brains or money. All it needs is a golden heart and one who can enjoy every moment of his life can also reflect as being a hero. Such is the beautiful direction , we see in this movie, that we accept this hero and we also love him too at the end too.

    I personally started liking sharukh after this movie. This movie is set in beautiful GOA with a love triangle, very nice songs in the middle, the movie never stops displaying us how we, normal human beings, with our ups and downs of life (through a middle class perspective) believe in love, living for others, and caring for the better, and even with so much simplicity, the movie still keeps us entertaining. Comedy is good, acting world class, direction is even better.

    A must watch movie for all those who believe in true love., who believe in simplicity and who believe in living life every moment... truly a masterpiece
  • andosonniamath28 February 2017
    srk's best movie
    You'll hear it once and obviously you know why this is not just mine but Shahrukh khan's favourite movie (no it's not because he's in it, even though he makes it look good) and here is why.

    Sunil (Shahrukh Khan) is a musician yet a failure at life as he never passes his grades and usually lies. His father labels him as good for nothing. Among Sunil's friends-cum-band members Chris (Deepak Tijori), Imran (Ashutosh Gowariker), Tony (Aditya Lakhia) and Yezdi (Kurush Deboo), Sunil is in love with Anna (Suchitra Krishnamurthy) for a very long time and always dream to tell his feelings towards her and marry her. However, Anna is in love with Chris as Chris is in love with Anna. Whenever the two get closer, Sunil is in despair and causes tensions between them just so they can separate. He also seeks help from Father Braganza (Naseeruddin Shah), Anthony (Goga Kapoor), Patel (Tiku Talsania) and his sister. However, sometimes it leads to him depression of envy as he wishes he could be like Chris (being wealthy and rich)

    May be a typical story however what makes it so interesting is Sunil. He's not wealthy, doesn't possess much money, never passes his grades, his passion for music and his love for Anna. You relate a lot of people like Sunil as you come across life. I relate myself with Sunil as well as most people. This is not your average "boy-conquers-the- world", chivalrousness related, and your typical "falling in love and getting married in the end" type of movie. This movie explains a lot of realism and true concepts of people as it is still known nowadays. Hats off to Kundan Shah for bringing real life of people in a movie so excellently directed.

    Direction by Kundan Shah is just excellent as well as the story and screenplay. However let's not forget the performances.

    Deepak Tijori is likable as Chris as he portrays his character excellently. Suchitra Krishnamurty is beautiful as Anna and really shows her performance brilliant. Naseeruddin Shah is great! The rest of the cast is simply amazing including Ashutosh Gowariker.

    But this movie belongs to Shahrukh Khan. Who else could perform Sunil than the King Khan himself? His physique, his expressions and dialogues really brought the realism in the movie.

    Music is just amazing as well! Ae Kaash and Deewana are the best songs in my opinion. The rest are worth listening too.

    Overall, best SRK movie and do not miss it!
  • asadkhannasar19 February 2015
    10/10
    King Khan's BEST FILM
    Watched SHAH RUKH KHAN's, the King of Bollywood's, the King of Acting, the Badshah of Bollywood's favorite Kabhi Haa Kabhi Naa .. SHAH RUKH KHAN lives life in to the role of Sunil.. the role was just meant for him to be honest..

    i wish i would have words to describe how AMAZING he acted in the movie, i don't think i have ever seen any beautiful character, Acting than this... as much as we thank SRK for such movie that will be less i feel, he was out of the world as a Sunil..

    To be honest even we have to agree that KHKN is the cutest, bestest movie ever i've made in Bollywood actually in this world..

    SHAH RUKH KHAN proved in KHKN that how GREATEST, AMAZING ACTOR he is, even if he would have just made KHKN in career still i would consider him world's best actor ever , because of the AWESOMENESS KHKN has.. wish KHKN would have 10 more parts.. SRK is no doubt the best Bollywood actor Indian Cinema has ever Seen..
  • Rawal Afzal28 May 2017
    8/10
    Very good despite an abrupt ending!
    Warning: Spoilers
    How did Sunil sacrifice his love? Did he sacrifice it or did Anna and Chris just casually push him out of the way? Or did the priest convince him into acting like a mature man after all?

    Sadly, these questions will never be answered due to an abrupt ending. The film misses out on a golden opportunity, a lecture/speech kind of scene by Sunil which would've shown of him having finally learnt his lessons and become a mature man. Something like that would've been a cherry on top of which is otherwise an excellent film overall.

    The reason behind this being one of SRK's under-rated films of the past, or possibly the most under-rated, is obviously the fact that this wasn't the kind of film that he's famous for. People are used to seeing him in the other kind of roles and those are the ones that appeals to the public the most. So that's understandable.

    However, I'm deeply impressed by this film given especially the fact that it was made 23 years ago. The stories, the plots and everything on the mind of the film-maker used to be very different those days. The kind of topic that it touches, of a boy who lives in a bubble and hasn't manned up to face the realities of life and can never confront the truth is a story so true to almost every household. I can't remember from my memory of which the main issues lies in the main character's habit of hiding about lies. They never used to show anything such back then, as the hero was always the most upright, honest and brave man, and if anything unusual was shown, he was portrayed as a laughing devil who'd take the wrong path on purpose.

    Again, this film deserves a lot of applause, as does SRK for such a commendable performance as an anxious, lazy and looking-for-short- cuts teenager.
  • Anish Misra15 April 2017
    9/10
    Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa review
    Warning: Spoilers
    Kabhi Haa Kabhi Naa is a film co-written and directed by Kundan Shah. I saw this film because many people recommended to me that it is a good film. And yes it is. No because of SRK. But because of the way the story is written.

    Plot: Sunil Falls in love with Anna. But Anna loves Chris. So who will Ann's be? Story and Direction: At first the story looked to me as a romantic comedy. No, but it has some elements of drama too. It is mostly centered around Sunil and his love for Anna. It is very beautifully shown that how he cares for Anna. Then we have Chris who too loves and cares for Anna.But still I feel for the Sunil character. The supporting characters like Father Briganza, Don Anthony, Sunil's band, etc... are all etched out very nicely . I never felt a dull moment in the film. Even those who feel for Sunil, there is a surprise package in the last scene. For which all credibility goes to Kundan Shah.

    Performances: Shah Rukh Khan does an excellent job as Sunil. He impressed me quite a lot. Deepak Tijori was also great. I didn't expect him to do that good. Suchitra Krishnamoorthy as the heroine was OK. (But since the film was about Sunil more so I could actually forgive that). Naseeruddin Shah was in quite a different role that showed how versatile an actor he is. Even Goga Kapoor stepped out of his villainous role (known for Raavan character), which was commendable. The rest of the supporting actors also fitted the bill perfectly.

    Music: Jatin-Lalit has composed the music. and they have done a wonderful job. 'Deewana Main Deewana' and 'Woh to Hai Albela' were some of my favorites. Even the background score (maybe done by the same music duo) was also great. I got a little disappointed in the song 'Sachi Yeh Kahani Hai' because it was a straight rip off of the Boney M song 'Ma Baker'. Even the lyrics too sounded the same.

    Favorite scene: I guess it would be the very first one. It was a comedy of errors and a nice dream sequence.

    Verdict: I enjoyed this film a lot. One number would be lessened from my side, as of the song I mentioned before and Suchitra Krishnamoorthy too.

    I would give the film a 9/10.
  • jmathur_swayamprabha1 June 2014
    8/10
    My favourite SRK starrer
    Shah Rukh Khan is the superstar of today who started his acting career from TV serials and once getting the right break, climbed to the sky of wealth and fame just like a fairytale. He has many super-duper hit movies to his credit. However today I am reviewing the movie starring him which I like the most and which has a special place in a corner of my heart. This movie is Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa (1994).

    Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa (sometimes yes, sometimes no) is the story of a youth with a heart of gold. He is Sunil (Shah Rukh Khan) who has neither any interest in the automobile repair business of his father (Anjan Srivastav) nor in his studies. He is interested in music and devotes maximum time in the activities of the theatre group of his friends. He is very close to a priest Father Briganza (Nasiruddin Shah) who understands him and always shows him the right path. However he keeps on bearing with the scoldings of his father in his home.

    But his heart and his life are brightened by the love in his heart for Aana (Suchitra Krishnamoorthy), a Christian girl. Sunil finds that Chris (Deepak Tijori), a rich youth is his rival for Aana's love. The tug of war between Sunil and Chris keeps on going with Aana being in the position of the rope. However in the end, Sunil comes to know that Aana and Chris genuinely love each other. Now it's not difficult for the audience to guess what our hero with a heart of gold is expected to do.

    This movie is directed by Jaane Bhi Do Yaaro (1983) fame Kundan Shah who has cast the heroes of that movie, i.e., Nasiruddin Shah and Ravi Baaswani in this movie also. I consider this movie as his best work after JBDY and perhaps the last good work done by him. This is a beautiful movie with lots of touching moments. The mood of the movie remains light for the most part of it but it's not a regular comedy all the same. It's an emotional movie. A saga of a youth whose pluses are ignored by his father, who is error-prone but contains an ocean of sublime feelings in his heart, who is ready to sacrifice his love for the sake of the love of his life only but who is still strong enough to move on in life after that.

    Whenever I watch this movie, it makes me weep at many places. The scene of Sunil's arranging false marks-sheet to satisfy his father but admitting it in the middle of the party thrown by his father to celebrate his success, is highly touching and reminds us of an episode from the life of Mahatma Gandhi, the Father of the Nation of India. And then follows the song - Woh To Hai Albela which I am ready to listen to and see on the screen for 'n' number of times without getting bored or tired.

    The theatre-play in which a gangster's life-tragedy is presented on the screen (from his point-of-view) is also damn impressive. And the ending scene in which Sunil becomes the Best Man in the wedding of Aana and Chris and the wedding ring is slipped from his hand. The ending scene in which Juhi Chawla (in a guest appearance) comes across Sunil in the style similar to that of the heroine who has gone out of his life, is so amusing that this style of presentation (with some high-profile heroine delivering a guest appearance in the ending scene of the movie) was later copied in many Hindi movies.

    Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa is full of entertainment. There is not a single boring moment in the movie. The script-writers (Kundan Shah and Pankaj Advani) have done a splendid job. The story is told in such a way that the viewers starts relating to and getting associated with the hero and keeps on flowing with him in the stream of events as if they were happening to himself only. The filmmaker is able to create such a passion in the viewer through his storytelling that the viewer smiles with the hero and weeps with him as well.

    The movie does not boast of high production value and the complete milieu renders an air of simplicity but that is a huge plus point of the movie because it helps the audience in relating to the characters especially the hero. Technically everything is in order. The grip of the narrative remains so tight on the audience that the length of the movie is never felt.

    Music by Jatin Lalit is admirable. In fact, during the nineties, they composed damn good music for many SRK movies. The best song, in my view, is Woh To Hai Albela in the voice of Kumar Sanu, Devki Pandit etc. Another song that stands out is also in the voice of Kumar Sanu only - Aye Kaash Ki Ab Hosh Mein Hum Aane Na Paayen.

    I can't imagine any other actor in the role of Sunil. SRK has lived this role and made it thoroughly reliable. He is the heart and soul of this movie. Undoubtedly one of his best performances it is. Suchitra Krishnamoorthy has done well as somewhat naive and ambivalent Aana. Nasiruddin Shah has done the role of a different flavour this time and he is also very impressive.

    Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa is a movie which has become an inseparable part of my heart. It lacks naturalness at many places because mainly it's been made for the purpose of entertainment in the form of a romantic comedy with a little dose of sentiments. Hence over the top things are there. If not for them, I would have considered this extra-ordinary movie as worthy of five stars.
  • CriticGirl916 July 2015
    6/10
    Lovely Concept
    Warning: Spoilers
    The simplicity of this film is laudable. The beauty of the film is in the perspective that it takes. The entire film is from the viewpoint of the naughty rather than the nice hero.

    So, Deepak Tijori plays our typical all goody hero, while SRK is a little bit of a selfish and deceptive person with a heart of gold. It is the story of a simpleton, who lives in a dream world of his own. His dreams are often shattered, but he is admirable for his ability to bounce back after every disappointment. Even when he loses his biggest dream, he shows his large heartedness by keeping his love before himself.

    The entire feel of the movie is sincere, a slice of life with no attempts to thrill you. There are no superheroes or villains in the film, just everyday people like you and me. And not to forget, the wonderful music of the film. Probably the best of the nineties- with my favorite heart touching Ae Kash Ke Hum.

    Then why my mediocre rating for this one? Simply because of SRK's acting. He is as superficial and over-the- top as he is today. He is much better suited as the villain. A good actor in his place would have taken this film to the next level. Nevertheless, a one time watch.
  • yaldamoghaddami20 January 2014
    10/10
    one of SRK's best romance movies
    Filmfare awards was very cruel that year.this movie only nominated for best actor.but it was its merit to be in the list of nominations for best film,best music director and best lyrics("Woh To Hai Albela").i think it was better than the winner of best film "hum hain rahi pyar ke".the music of the film was really brilliant specially the songs "Aana Mere Pyar Ko Na Tum" and "Woh To Hai Albela".i liked the real story of the film and great performance from shahrukh khan.it is a real story and it is the best thing about this film after srk.if srk was not in this film,film was not like this,because Suchitra Krishnamoorthi and Deepak Tijori don't are not special at all.sunil real character and his trying to win his Anna 's heart makes you good feeling.and comedy-romance scenes are so funny. it's not srk's best film or best romance but i think after "DDLJ","Veer Zaara","Devdas" and "KKHH" it is his best romantic movie. 10/10.no doubt!