User Reviews (24)

  • Naman Kapur7 May 2010
    7/10
    The Six-Day-Script is the real king!
    God provides everyone what they deserve but doesn't fulfill their greed.. This statement holds truth for today's youth who wish to attain the height no one has ever reached without doing the required hard work.. Badmash Company depicts this thought beautifully.. Intelligent script combined with superb individual performances resulted in a 2.30 hrs of light entertainment.. Awesome... Brilliant... Superb... were the words coming out of the mouths of those coming out of the theaters after watching this movie.. Honestly speaking watching the movie was real fun..

    Set in 90's a group of four(Shahid, Anushka , Vir Das and Meiyang Chang) decide to work against the system and earn money and height quickly by their unorthodox methods... They work brilliantly by making unique plans and taking accurate decisions.. The first half is a fun ride with the rise of their company and the chemistry between the friends and between Shahid and Anushka..

    Things start getting little repetitive and predictive in the second half when success gets inside Shahid'd head and he eventually runs of out of his luck and starts claiming himself the spearhead of the group and even starts calling himself the god.. His pride makes him friendless and he ends up behind the bars.. Then the usual self realization comes and he learns that money is not the only thing which makes a man rich but the glory and respect he earns from others by doing a legal job in a commendable manner makes a man rich.. Then he goes back to beginning and starts doing the right job in an extraordinary way..

    Parmeet Sethi has struck the right chord with his first directorial venture.. A script written in six days cannot get better than this.. The dialogues especially the one liners are hilarious.. Cinematography is commendable.. Pritam's music is strictly OK! Amongst the actors its Anushka who steals the show by her performance.. After Rab Ne her transformation is superb.. Shahid is absolutely fine with his role.. His style and way of doing everything will be remembered.. Meiyang Chang too was fine considering the fact this was his acting debut.. Vir Das was absolute delight with his funny yet sensible acting..

    To conclude, Badmaash Company is a complete surprise.. An intelligent entertainer.. A must watch for all!!

    My Rating: 7/10

    Thanks & Regards
  • manish agrawal10 May 2010
    5/10
    Badmash company: just crossed the break even point
    As the name and tag line suggests there are bunch of guys who do some wrong but smart things to make the money and fulfill their dreams. So this Badmash company start their business with a nice and interesting trick. Till that time everything is good, but from here on the there is a gradual fall. Director unsuccessfully tries to impress audience with some more unrealistic and boring tricks and only one nice trick was not good enough, for two and half hour.

    Indian director always underestimate their audience, and here again the same story. Sahid background voice explaining the tricks becomes annoying after a certain time. The second half of the movie drags too much and you will not be able to connect emotionally with any of the character. Sahid has done a average job, while Anushka performance is a let down. One or two song of the movie is good but as whole the music score of the movie by Pritam do not offer anything special. Overall Badmash company is neither a bankrupt company nor a fortune 500 company.
  • bunnymehra198510 May 2010
    7/10
    Friends & Company
    So guys this one is a fresh concept of YRF. When I went to watch this movie, I thought this would surely be a copy of any Hollywood flick, but was surprised to see that it is not. Story is good, interesting and new, and ideas which Shahid follows to become rich was amazing. After complete success the thing that comes up is clash of the ego, which was the most let down point of the movie, and here Director was failed to show us the real ego factor between friends.... like it very much looks fake. If we talk about acting... then Shahid is superb and carry the entire film on his own... Anushka was just okay... Chang looks really confused. Vir Das was funny and give you great time to laugh. I liked his work after Mumbai Salsa. Overall movie is good and one time watch go for it and I am sure you guys really enjoy... I will give 7/10....
  • Biswajit Tripathy13 June 2010
    8/10
    Quick Rich Scheme
    Warning: Spoilers
    Shahid, Vir Das, Chang (Indian Idol Fame), and Anushka Sharma are friends and want to make quick money out of anything and anywhere. Shahid has the intelligence and the mind to make it a success but then once money comes in greed, pride also comes in and Shahid starts believing that he has made all this and he should get all the credit.

    All the four friends are like us, regular guys with a lot of dreams and very little time to achieve. Obviously, they can do it only by going the wrong way. They make scheme after schemes to make it big. But then there are family values, laws of land which comes in between.

    All of them are too good in the movie. Parmeet Sethi debuts as the director. A must see from Yash Chopra.
  • Manoj Arya12 May 2010
    5/10
    Con ideas can change your life
    Film opens with voice-over by its hero Karan (Shahid) detailing its period. 1994, India, Bombay. He jokes that time it was Bombay and not Mumbai where he explains word FM meant Finance minister and not FM radio, cell phones existed only in science fiction, Mumbai-Delhi calls used to cost 90 Rs and not 90 paise over STD. This is the setting where we see India wasn't this free market and custom-duty was a bitch. I remember Anurag Kashyap blogging that story always needs its milieu. This one has got it.

    Boy is from typical working class with father whose life he doesn't want live of 25 years sitting behind same desk. Fresh graduate topper believes gains of his efforts should be entirely his own and not of his boss or firm. Soon he devices a scam and gathers his crew to help the con. He is smart for sure. An idea to get away with custom duty. They buy foreign stuff cheap at Bangkok. There is a twist in the shipment which you better catch on screen. Then make phony scene refuse to claim the shipment leaving it in custom warehouses only to buy it back at customs auctions without custom duty now, so at scrap prices. Profits are huge.

    Con is successful and crew is happy. Love-interest perky, bold, wannabe model Bulbul Singh (Anushka) with slang (f off) who while kissing hungrily inside car warns Karan, panting, this is not serious to which guy replies that should be my line yaar. Their romance connects well. Other two are rather two dimensional ones can be summarized – one is womanizer (Veer Das) other one is drunk (Chyang). Foursome makes good company till first half of the film. Really good.

    But all is not always ends well. It's kind of perennial screw up, filmmakers continue to botch the second half of a promising film. Turning a fun-con into boring predictable morality lesson. Shifting story to US where new cons, more success, then success getting to head, egos, fights, alcohol, aiyaashi, inevitable break up. Protagonist learning lessons hard way. Papa don't preach or do it well.

    When they stop having good time, how can we? Audience slowly realized film is sagging. "How much more is left?", someone asked sitting behind me. She was right though. But still for its better half it's not all bad company.
  • bobbysing11 May 2010
    5/10
    Too easy to be a con-movie.
    After taking a long deliberate gap from his acting assignments, Parmeet Sethi returns sporting the cap of a director, story-screenplay and dialogue writer. With his debut movie based on con acts practiced by a team of four, the actor turned director positively shows some sparks which may turn out to be more brighter in his future projects. But in his first attempt he only reaches a marginally acceptable level as the movie is unexpectedly slow and drags greatly post intermission.

    Actually a project belonging to this particular genre of a thrilling con-movie, needs to be very fast, intelligent and exciting with some last moment gripping sequences in its every con-act, bringing the viewer to the edge of his seat. Unfortunately "Badmaash Company" hangs in between a good and average product because even when it has some well made plans unfolding on the screen, the narration fails to excite you enough to sit straight and take notice.

    The various schemes thought of and executed by the group of four, move too smoothly without any surprises or minor hic-ups. Moreover in the first half, there is only one plan on which Shahid and his team goes on working differently which becomes monotonous and makes the viewer restless. In fact all those getup changes and interesting moments shown in the promos are entirely used in only one trick, tried with different vendors and customers in the first half. Post their first plan, all other cheating tricks, involving the repeated selling of a house and disposing the rejected lot of shirts towards the end are quite unbelievable in realistic terms. Besides this, I strongly felt the fun element missing in the narration, which is a must in such a project based on con-men.

    Further, the second half dips drastically when the love & betrayal angle takes over in the script. As per the demand of the subject, this section should have been avoided or dealt in some other interesting way, not hampering the pace of the movie. For instance, the conflict between the group could have arise with a plan going wrong and they all escaping in different directions, blaming each other for the failure. But somehow our directors are habitual or forced to include the usual Indian emotional elements into the storyline irrespective of the fact that it's a con, heist or a murder mystery movie. Frankly speaking, I couldn't understand what was the need of the girl getting pregnant and still participating in the last plan carrying a large belly? Another worth mentioning point about this pregnancy sequence in the movie is that when Anushka discloses this to Shahid for the first time, then they both just start talking about The Baby Boy..!, taking his fresh breaths in the belly. Not even once they both discuss about the baby being A Girl. And that I think, clearly shows the Indian ancestral fantasy of a male child which is now being widely accepted, due to the boy-girl ratio going through some scary changes in the country.

    Coming back to the movie itself, it's too easy to be a thrilling con-flick. With only few good performances you can't expect to play the trick with the viewers. Though Shahid is simply brilliant playing both the white and grey shades of his character, but he once again gets a not so good script to work upon. Anushka, looking for a serious image transformation, reveals a lot along with her fine acting, but she still doesn't look too sexy or inviting in those short outfits. Still the image shift will work for her for sure. Vir is fine but not great since he fails to make a mark with his funny one liners and comic scenes (except for one small in-flight sequence). But Meiyang, more famous for his Indian Idol act surprisingly delivers a polished debut performance and impresses. He is sure going to get some more assignments soon with his exceptional on screen presence. Among the veterans, Anupam Kher and Kiran Juneja get to play the same old parental drama seen many times before, whereas Pawan Malhotra is enjoyable with his Punjabi accent.

    The other major drawback of "Badmaash Company" is its soundtrack with Preetam giving one of the most uninspiring scores of his career. The OST strongly points towards two things prevalent in the Industry.., One that the music directors tend to go partial with their selected projects and two, the director should himself have a good ear to extract some melodious compositions from his music director. The songs are a big letdown, especially if compared to an otherwise appealing cinematography capturing the foreign locations, casinos and lavish cars in a splendid style.

    The debutant director Parmeet Sethi surely shows his capabilities of making it big in the near future. But in his debut project, he stumbles taking a mid-way path trying to cater all sections of the viewers in general. The movie could have been a different experience all together, if only it had a crispier script, concentrating mainly on its base theme of a con-team and had a few more enjoyable con-acts for the viewers. In all, it's once again a just OK movie coming from the big production house and Shahid Kapoor together. But I was really expecting a lot more from Parmeet.
  • kimi_layercake7 May 2010
    6/10
    Fresh But Predictable
    2 Things.... This movie is FRESH cause it has an ensemble cast which looks good together. Also the performance is very good considering the fact that 3 out of the 4 lead are virtually new comers. Also the background is cool as is the music. And most importantly, Anushka Sharma is looking smoking hot throughout the movie which inevitably raises the oomph quotient.

    Second...this movie is PREDICTABLE in the way the movie progress and eventually we get a movie that says "honesty is the best virtue". What was supposed to be something in the mold of "21" turns out to be typical good-over-bad, right-over-wrong bolly movie. Also at nearly 2hours and 30 minutes, its too long to handle.

    On the whole, Badmaash Company is a watchable experience for various reasons, the prime reason being it offers entertainment, but doesn't insult your intelligence.

    My verdict: 6/10
  • DICK STEEL7 May 2010
    8/10
    A Nutshell Review: Badmaash Company
    Some may come to the conclusion, from the trailer alone, that this looks like 21 with the characters having spend time in Las Vegas probably scheming against the casinos in their get rick quick ploys, but the truth is much further than that. Credit has to go to actor turned first-time writer-director Parmeet Sethi who adopts the same glitzy look and feel of the Hollywood production, but steering clear into his own story, allowing the characters to rest and relax instead at Sin City, and hatching plans that even Danny Ocean will be proud of.

    The film opens in the mid 90s Bombay, and spends considerable time in the opening credits scenes with shots of the streets, setting the stage for Shahid Kapur's Karan, a bright young man whose plan is to make a lot of money, being quite averse to the life of an average salaryman like his father (Anupam Kher). Together with his friends Chandu (Vir Das) the womanizer and Zing (Chang Meiyang, from the 3rd season of Indian Idol) the drinker, they meet up with the attractive lass Bulbul Singh (Anushka Sharma) during one of their early forays into the smuggling business, and soon strike up a fast friendship, with Karan and Bulbul hitting it off extremely fast as a romantic couple.

    Taking the advice of big plans churning out big money, they form Friends & Company as their front for their get rich quick schemes, exploiting business and loopholes in the law, as well as society's innate corruption in order to get ahead on India's position on the cusp of a consumerism explosion. Karan hatches plan after plan for Kiran's Quartet to execute, which allows for plenty of montage opportunities where the players don different disguises and personae in order to cheat their way through their pathway to riches. And like yuppies, they spend as hard and play as hard, since at that age the sky's the limit, and the feeling of invulnerability is seductive.

    It's akin to Ocean's 11 with the mantra of greed being good, and the film examines how the excesses of money can influence and change relationships, and corrupt the inner soul of a man into thinking he's a god, especially when his ego gets super inflated, thinking that they are all nowhere without his ideas. Shahid Kapur shines in this transformation from rags to riches, and puts on quite the charismatic charm in order to pull off his schemes. In his Chance Pe Dance he plays a man looking for his big break, and here his Karan scores both the girl and the cash before ego gets in the way and begins that systematic destruction of what's dear to him.

    But being a Bollywood film, there's plenty of room in its 144 minutes to set things up and down, and made right again. The supporting cast also made this film a delight to sit through, with Anushka Sharma in only her second film outing after the highly successful Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi, and what more for a Bollywood film to have featured her first on-screen kiss with Shahid as well, which of course is a big thing besides having to don her obligatory bikini to frolic in pristine beaches. Being quite the clothes horse here, her role is a departure from the more demure one in her film debut, being a lot more joyful and playful, and hardly sulking.

    Credit too must go to the co-stars who make up the quartet, with Vir Das's Chandu given plenty of chances to get into disguises as he plays an integral field agent in their plan to pull the wool over their unsuspecting victims. But the one who will invariably get the attention is Chang Meiyang as Tanzing, or Zing. My only wish is that I can converse in Hindi as well as him, undoubtedly being the butt of most race related jibes (in good nature I must add), but holding his own just as well.

    Shot in India, Thailand and the USA, Badmaash Company's strengths lie in the chemistry amongst the main leads, as well as the little moments of nostalgia and cheeky references put in to good effect. It's not the perfect film, but it has plenty on offer especially when learning how to make it good while doing all the bad things, which at times does call for a certain stretch of the imagination to work, sprinkled with doses of humour in between the more exciting scenes of witnessing Karan's bold plans unfurl. Recommended!
  • harsh_trvd7 May 2010
    10/10
    best movie of 2010(till now)
    so guys I watched this movie on first day first show with a very low expectation because the director was new,cast was new(except shahid). i went to watch this movie because of yash raj banner.

    But when i came out of theater there was a big smile on my face because the movie was so good, it went above my expectations. this feeling was the opposite feeling of house when i had to say movie was good, but didn't want to because there was no movie in comparison so not only me but every people had to watch that movie.because there was no big movie that time.

    but in badmash company i got entertained. and there is not only a con job in the movie but there is a good message also.

    if you watch this movie,you wouldn't say that director is doing debut by this movie and this is his first script. hats off to director(parmeet sethi). shahid has done a great job in the film as well as other members of the cast.anushka is looking sooooo hot and idea of conning people is fresh(not copied from the Hollywood or some other film) this movie is far more better,superior,excellent than last week's release housefull. i watched this movie in 70 rs. but now i am regreting that i should've seen this movie in a red lounge or e-bony lounge which costs 350 or 400 but this movie worths that. i am going to see this movie again this Sunday but this time in red lounge. as a audience i guarantee you all that you won't get disappointed. two thumbs up for badmash company.
  • Imran Zunzani11 August 2010
    10/10
    Chaska rocked
    I was very reluctant to watch this; but after hearing praises from a friend of mine; decided to give it a shot. Boy; wasn't disappointed at all. What I liked most about the movie is Meiyang Chang's role. As my friend said, he has been fully utilized; or should I say, exploited in this movie (LOL). His character is what usually made me laugh. The scene where the Reebok manager bows to him is really sidesplitting.

    Now; Shahid has started acting surprisingly the same (blinkered) in every movie. So, this was where I felt mediocre about his acting; but the scenes where he has bickering with his father are really well acted and depicted.

    The two songs; Chaska and Ayashi are really rocking. Chaska still lingers with me.

    To my surprise; I really didn't care much about this movie while the trailers were being aired; and now, here I am writing a review about it.

    Although, it was not a smash; is what the general consensus is. But I'd give it a full; as I was entertained. Maybe you should try it and form your own opinion about it. You might even love it.
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.