Directors Guild of America, USA



  • The DGA was founded in 1938 under the name 'Screen Directors Guild'. In 1960 the merger of the Screen Directors Guild and the Radio and Television Directors Guild forges the Directors Guild of America, Inc. The RTDG, formed in 1947 as the Radio Directors Guild, had grown to include television directors, associate directors, stage managers and production assistants working in live and taped television. Today the guild represents more than 10,000 members working in U.S. cities and abroad. Their creative work is represented in theatrical, industrial, educational and documentary films, as well as television - live, filmed and taped - radio, videos and commercials. (as of 2000)
  • Although only directors are given DGA Awards, involved assistant directors, production and stage managers receive a plaque to acknowledge their work as part of the team.
  • The DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film has nearly always been a perfect forecast of the winner of the Oscar for Best Director. Since its inauguration in 1949 the winners of both awards only differed six times. In 1969 Anthony Harvey won the DGA Award for The Lion in Winter (1968) while Carol Reed won the Oscar for Oliver! (1968). 1973 Francis Ford Coppola received DGA's nod for The Godfather (1972) while the Academy selected Bob Fosse for Cabaret (1972). In 1986 Steven Spielberg received his first DGA Award for The Color Purple (1985) while the Oscar went to Sydney Pollack for Out of Africa (1985). In 1996 'Ron Howard' was chosen by the DGA for his direction of _Apollo 13 (1995)_ while Academy voters cited Mel Gibson for Braveheart (1995). In 2001 'Ang Lee' was chosen by the DGA for his direction of Wo hu cang long (2000) while Steven Soderbergh won the Best Director Academy Award for Traffic (2000). In 2003 'Rob Marshall' won the DGA Award for Chicago (2002) while 'Roman Polanski' received the Academy Award for The Pianist (2002).


Career Achievement Award

DGA Award

DGA Diversity Award

DGA Honorary Life Member Award

Frank Capra Achievement Award

Franklin J. Schaffner Achievement Award

Golden Jubilee Special Award

Lifetime Achievement Award
  • The Lifetime Achievement Award is considered to be the DGA's highest honor.
  • The award was officially named 'D.W. Griffith Award' from 1953 to 1999. On 14 December 1999 the DGA announced to change the name of the award. 'D.W. Griffith' is widely considered to be one of the most influential Americans in the development of motion pictures. However the DGA had heard more and more complaints over its highest honor's name as Griffith is nowadays also considered to help develop assaulting racial stereotypes in films such as The Birth of a Nation (1915) and others. DGA president Jack Shea said about the announcement that "There is no question that D.W. Griffith was a brilliant pioneer filmmaker whose innovations as a visionary film artist led the way for generations of directors", "However, it is also true that he helped foster intolerable racial stereotypes."

President's Award

Preston Sturges Award

Robert B. Aldrich Achievement Award