European Film Awards



  • The creation of the European Film Academy was the initiative of a group of filmmakers brought together on the occasion of the first European Film Awards ceremony held in Berlin, Germany, in November 1988. Initially founded under the name of European Cinema Society by its first president Ingmar Bergman and 40 European filmmakers, its objective is to promote the interests of the European film industry. In 1991 the organization was renamed the European Film Academy.
  • In an attempt to bring new life to the event the European Film Academy relaunched the European Film Awards in 1997 and introduced a new statuette which still remains unnamed. The trophy was named Felix for the statuette presented from 1988 to 1996.


Award of Merit

Carlo di Palma Award

EFA People's Choice Award

Eurimages Co-Production Award

European Film Award

European Film Committee Recommendation

European University Film Award


Honorary Award

Lifetime Achievement Award

Lux Audience Award

Outstanding European Achievement in World Cinema

Prix Eurimages

Prix d'Excellence

Screen International Award

Special Achievement Award

Special Mention

Special Prize of the European Cinema Society

Special Prize of the Jury

Young Audience Award

Historical Timeline

  • The short film festivals of Clermont-Ferrand (France), Oberhausen (Germany), and Tampere (Finland) were involved as nominating bodies.