Satellite Awards

Los Angeles, California, USA


  • Formed in 1996 by industry veteran Mirjana van Blaricom, The International Press Academy (IPA) is both the largest and most diverse association of professional entertainment journalists in the world. With a membership of over 200 working press representing both domestic and foreign markets, IPA membership reaches more than 500,000,000 people globally via major print, television, radio, cable and the Internet. Unlike other press organizations, The International Press Academy is open to all full-time entertainment journalists, both domestic and foreign, who cover the fields of film, television and interactive media. (from the official web site, 1999)
  • The event takes place since 1997. It is a spin-off/split from the the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA) and their Golden Globes.


Auteur Award

Breakthrough Performance Award

Golden Satellite Award

Honorary Satellite Award

Humanitarian Award

Mary Pickford Award

Nikola Tesla Award

Satellite Award

Special Achievement Award

Stunt Performance Award

Historical Timeline

  • In recognition of the Gulf Coast disaster after Hurricane Katrina, IPA will not be holding an evening gala this year, but an afternoon awards presentation at 1:00 p.m.