London Film Festival

London, England, UK


  • The festival takes place since 1957.
  • The LFF was officially non-competitive until 2008 and the largest such festival in Europe as of 1996.
  • For the "Sutherland Trophy" and the "Grierson Award" please see the British Film Institute Awards.


Audience Award

BFI Fellowship Award

Best British Newcomer

Best British Newcomer - Jury Commendation

Best Film

Best Film - Honourable Mention


FIPRESCI Prize - Special Mention

Grierson Award

Grierson Award - Special Mention

Honorable Mention

IWC Schaffhausen Filmmakers Bursary Award

Outstanding Film of the Year

Prix UIP London (European Short Film)
  • The winning film is automatically nominated for the European Short Film Award at the next European Film Awards.

Satyajit Ray Award

Short Film Award

Sutherland Award

Sutherland Award - Honourable Mention

TCM Prize
  • The winning film automatically qualifies for the European Short Film Award at the European Film Awards. (as of 2000)

UK Achievement in Film Award

UK Film Talent Award

World Cinema Award

Historical Timeline

  • The festival is dedicated to the memory of Akira Kurosawa (1910-1998).