Top News

Carlos Diegues Caméra dOr Jury President: Cannes 2012

Carlos Diegues, best known internationally for his 1980 hit Bye Bye Brasil, will head the Caméra d’Or jury at the 2012 Cannes Film Festival. Previous jury presidents include Bong Joon-Ho, Gael García Bernal, Roschdy Zem, and Abbas Kiarostami. Diegues’ fellow jury members are Gloria Satta, journalist with Italy’s Il Messaggero; Rémy Chevrin, representing the French Association of Film Cinematographers; Hervé Icovic, on behalf of the Federation of of Cinema, Audiovisual and Multimedia Industries; Michel Andrieu, representing the Society of Film Directors; and Francis Gavelle, for the French Union of Film Critics. Launched in 1978, the Caméra d’Or is given to the best first film presented in the Official Selection (Competition, Out of Competition and Un Certain Regard), La Semaine de la Critique or Directors’ Fortnight. This year, 22 are eligible. The information below is from the Cannes Film Festival website. The "Northeast" referred to in the text is the Brazilian Northeast (more specifically,

See full article on Alt Film Guide