Top News

Third Annual Lilly Awards Recognize Women in Theater

The third annual Lilly Awards, which recognize the contributions of women working in the theater, were presented Monday, June 4, at Playwrights Horizons in New York. At a time when women are underrepresented on New York stages, the awards were created by the Committee for Recognizing Women in Theater as a way to draw attention to their achievements.Honorees included actors Cristin Milioti ("Once") and Nina Arianda ("Venus in Fur"), directors Diane Paulus ("The Gershwins' Porgy and Bess") and Sarah Benson ("Elective Affinities"), playwrights Katori Hall ("The Mountaintop") and Leslye Headland ("Assistance"), and set designer Heidi Ettinger. Milioti, Arianda, and Paulus are also nominated for 2012 Tony Awards.Lifetime achievement awards were given to multiple Tony Award nominee Estelle Parsons, who is currently performing in the musical "Nice Work If You Can Get It" on Broadway, and two-time Pulitzer Prize finalist Tina Howe, whose play "Painting Churches" had an Off-Broadway revival this.

See full article on Backstage