Network: NBC

Episodes: 198 (60-90 minutes)

Seasons: Eight

TV show dates: September 14, 1967 -- January 16, 1975

Series status: Cancelled

Performers include: Raymond Burr, Don Galloway, Don Mitchell, Barbara Anderson, Elizabeth Baur, Gene Lyons, and Johnny Seven.

TV show description:

After 20 years of police service, San Francisco Police Department (Sfpd) Chief of Detectives Robert T. Ironside (Raymond Burr) was forced to retire because a sniper's bullet paralyzed him from the waist down, confining him to a wheelchair.

He later gets himself appointed (in a clever way) a "special department consultant" by his good friend, Police Commissioner Dennis Randall (Gene Lyons).

He requests that Detective Sargent Ed Brown (Don Galloway) and young socialite-turned-plainclothes officer Eve Whitfield (Barbara Anderson) be assigned to him.

Ironside also recruits angst-filled African-American ex-con Mark

See full article on TVSeriesFinale