Top News

Shawn Ryan Top Vote-Getter in WGA West Board Election; Incumbents Keep Seats

Updated With Corrected Membership Figures: TV writer and producer Shawn Ryan was the top vote-getter in the WGA West’s board election, which saw a turnout of 22.4% of the guild’s members casting ballots. Ryan, creator and showrunner of The Shield and The Chicago Code, got more votes than all of the incumbents in the race, with his name appearing on nearly 67% of the 1,835 ballots cast. The guild has more than 21,000 members, according to its latest filing with the Department of Labor. The guild said there were about 8,200 members eligible to vote.

All five incumbents — Chip Johannessen, Scott Alexander, Michael Oates Palmer, Katherine Fugate and Marjorie David — won re-election to two-year terms on the board. Fugate finished second in the voting, with her name appearing on 1,124 ballots (61.3%), followed by Johannessen (1,071, 58.4%); Alexander (965, 52.6%); Aaron Mendelsohn (964, 52.5%); David (952, 51.9%); Palmer (817, 44.5%); Jonathan Fernandez (722, 39.3%); and Peter Lefcourt, who was elected to a one-year term (648, 35.3%), filling the vacancy

See full article on Deadline Movie News