Top News

LatinoBuzz: Nominees Announced for the 6th Annual Cinema Tropical Awards

Twenty-nine films from twelve countries have been nominated in the sixth annual edition of the Cinema Tropical Awards, honoring the best of Latin American cinema of the year in six different categories: Best Feature Film; Best Documentary Film; Best Director, Feature Film; Best Director, Documentary Film; Best First Film; and Best U.S. Latino Film.

The five films competing for the Cinema Tropical Award for Best Feature Film of the Year are: The Club by Pablo Larraín (Chile), Jauja by Lisandro Alonso (Argentina), Los Hongos by Oscar Ruiz Navia (Colombia), The Princess of France by Matías Piñeiro (Argentina), and White Out, Black In by Adirley Queirós (Brazil).

The five nominees for Best U.S. Latino Film of the Year are: The Book of Life by Jorge Gutierrez, East Side Sushi by Anthony Lucero, Mala Mala by Antonio Santini and Dan Sickles, Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Alfonso Gomez-Rejon, and We Like It Like That by Mathew Ramirez Warren.

The winners of the 6th Annual Cinema Tropical Awards will be announced at a special evening ceremony at The New York Times Company headquarters in New York City on Wednesday, January 20, 2016. The winning films will be showcased as part of the Cinema Tropical Festival at Museum of the Moving Image, February 25-28, 2016, celebrating the organization’s 15th anniversary.

The candidates were culled from a comprehensive list of films created by a nominating committee composed of 12 film professionals from Latin America, the U.S., and Europe. All the films under consideration had a minimum of 60 minutes in length and premiered between April 1, 2014 and March 31, 2015.

Complete List of Nominations:

Best Feature Film

• "The Club"/ "El club" (Pablo Larraín, Chile, 2015)

• "Jauja" (Lisandro Alonso, Argentina, 2014)

• "Los Hongos" (Óscar Ruiz Navia, Colombia, 2014)

• "The Princess of France" / "La princesa de Francia" (Matías Piñeiro, Argentina/USA, 2014)

• "White Out, Black In" / "Branco Sai, Petro Fica" (Adirley Queirós, Brazil, 2014)

Best Director, Feature Film

Nicolás Pereda, "The Absent" / "Los ausentes" (Mexico, 2014)

Gabriel Mascaro, "August Winds" / "Ventos de Agosto" (Brazil, 2014)

Pablo Larraín, "The Club" / "El club" (Chile, 2015)

Laura Amelia Guzmán and Israel Cárdenas, "Sand Dollars" / "Dólares de arena" (Dominican Republic/Mexico/Argentina, 2014)

Paz Fábrega, "Viaje" (Costa Rica, 2015)

Best First Film

• "600 Miles" (Gabriel Ripstein, Mexico, 2015)

• "The Fire" / "El incendio" (Juan Schnitman, Argentina, 2015)

• "Ixcanul" (Jayro Bustamante, Guatemala, 2015)

• "She Comes Back on Thursday" / "Ela Volta Na Quinta" (Andrés Novais Oliveira, Brazil, 2014)

• "Videophilia (and Other Viral Syndromes)" / "Videofilia (y otros síndromes virales)" (Juan Daniel F. Molero, Peru, 2015)

Best Documentary Film

• "A Committee Chronicle" / "Crónica de un comité" (José Luis Sepúlveda and Carolina Adriazola, Chile, 2014)

• "Identification Photos" / "Retratos de Identificaçao" (Anita Leandro, Brazil, 2014)

• "Invasion" / "Invasión" (Abner Benaim, Panama, 2014)

• "Last Conversations" / "Últimas Conversas" (Eduardo Coutinho, Brazil,2015)

• "Monte Adentro" (Nicolás Macario Alonso, Colombia/Argentina, 2014)

Best Director, Documentary Film

Maíra Bühler and Matias Mariani, "I Touched All Your Stuff"/ "A Vida Privada dos Hipopótamos" (Brazil, 2014)

Karina García Casanova, "Juanicas" (Mexico, 2014)

Betzabé García, "Kings of Nowhere"/ "Los reyes del pueblo que no existe" (Mexico, 2015)

Aldo Garay, "The New Man" / "El hombre nuevo" (Uruguay, 2015)

Christopher Murray, "Propaganda" (Chile, 2014)

Best U.S. Latino Film

• "The Book of Life" (Jorge Gutierrez, USA, 2014)

• "East Side Sushi" (Anthony Lucero, USA, 2014)

• "Mala Mala" (Antonio Santini and Dan Sickles, USA/Puerto Rico, 2014)

• "Me and Earl and the Dying Girl" (Alfonso Gomez-Rejon USA, 2015)

• "We Like It Like That" (Mathew Ramirez Warren, USA, 2015)

2015 Jury: Amalia Córdova, film programmer and scholar; Aaron Cutler, film critic and programmer; Paul Dallas, film critic; Vanessa Erazo, Film Editor, Remezcla; Michelle Farrell, film scholar; Sandra Kogut, filmmaker; Dominic Davis, film programmer, Rooftop Films; David Schwartz, Chief Curator, Museum of the Moving Image; Diana Vargas, Artistic Director, Havana Film Festival New York.

2015 Nominating Committee: Fábio Andrade, Revista Cinética, Brazil; Juan Pablo Bastarrachea, Cine Tonalá, Mexico; Consuelo Castillo, Doctv Latinoamérica, Colombia; Fernando del Razo, Riviera Maya Film Festival, Mexico; Vanessa Erazo, Film Editor, Remezcla, USA; Luis Gonzalez Zaffaroni, DocMontevideo, Uruguay; James Lattimer, Berlinale's Forum, Germany; Alicia Morales, Lima Film Festival, Peru; Joel Poblete. Sanfic, Chile; Andrea Stavenhagen, San Sebastian Film Festival, Spain; Charles Tesson, Critics' Week, Cannes, France; Raúl Niño Zambrano, International Documentary Film Festival - Idfa, Netherlands.

See full article on SydneysBuzz