U.S., Canada and Mexico to Host World Cup in 2026

U.S., Canada and Mexico to Host World Cup in 2026

The U.S., Canada and Mexico will host the 2026 World Cup.

Members of international soccer governing body FIFA voted 134-65 on Wednesday in favor of a joint North American bid put forward by the three countries over a rival bid by Morocco. It will be the first time since 1994 that the U.S. will have hosted the soccer extravaganza, and will come two years before Los Angeles welcomes back the Summer Olympics, in 2028.

The World Cup remains the second-biggest global sporting event after the Olympic Games and offers a ratings bonanza for broadcasters around the world. The 2026 matches, involving an expanded roster of 48 teams, will be held in stadiums scattered throughout the U.S., Canada and Mexico. The winning bid listed 17 U.S. cities, including L.A., San Francisco, Atlanta, Miami and Philadelphia, as potential match sites; organizers will select 10 of those.

The vote at a FIFA meeting in Moscow

See full article on Variety