Aacta announces short-form nominees

‘Robbie Hood’.

Aacta unveiled the nominees for this year’s awards for Best Short Film, Best Short Animation, Best Short Documentary and Best Scripted Online Video this evening at Shorts+Web Fest in Sydney.

In contention for Best Short Film are: Jane Cho’s The Egg; Michael Shanks’ Rebooted; Madeleine Gottlieb’s Snare; and Curtis Taylor and Nathan Mewett’s Flickerfest winner Yulubidyi – Until The End.

Up for Best Short Animation are Lee Whitmore’s Sohrab and Rustum; Yori Narpati, Erika Ju and Quynh Truong’s Sole; Simon Rippingale’s Jasper and Greg Holfeld’s Pinchpot.

Aacta introduced the award for Short Documentary earlier this year, with the inaugural nominees Pia Borg’s Demonic, which premiered in Cannes earlier this year; Luke Taylor’s Home Front – Facing Australia’s Climate Emergency; Stefan Bugryn’s War Mothers: Unbreakable, which premiered in Tribeca, and Michi Marosszeky’s Woven Threads.

Ludo Studio are

See full article on