Top News

Annecy Announces Special Prize, MIFA Pitch Prize Winners

Annecy Announces Special Prize, MIFA Pitch Prize Winners

On Friday evening, the Annecy International Animation Film Festival announced 13 special award winners in advance of Saturday night’s Official Awards ceremony. Both events will be streamed for free on the festival’s YouTube page at 5 p.m. Cest (8 a.m. Pst).

Annecy artistic director Marcel Jean was joined, via prerecorded video clips, by a clutch of the evening’s big winners, and screened brief clips from several after they were announced.

Junior Jury Awards, voted for by a special jury of for short and graduation films went to Taylor Meachum’s “To: Gerard,” from DreamWorks Animation and Tsz Wing Ho’s “Catgot,” backed by the School of Creative Media at City University of Hong Kong, respectively.

Among the most coveted of Annecy’s special prizes, the Fipresci Award for a short film went to Theodore Ushev’s “The Physics of Sorrow.” Already a hit at both Toronto and Clermont Ferrand,

See full article on Variety