The film features 4 Oscar winners: Janet Gaynor, Loretta Young, Paul Lukas and Don Ameche.

While the onscreen credit states the movie is "based on the play" by Ladislaus Bus-Fekete (Leslie Bush-Fekete) and Hollywood Reporter production charts stated the play was called "Three Girls," no performance of that play has been found. Another Hollywood Reporter news item in December 1935 stated that Fox purchased Bus-Fekete's novel, "Ladies in Love" to be published in England in 1936. The book was published in the United States in 1937.

Tyrone Power got so much fan mail after this film's release that 20th Century Fox head Darryl Zanuck replaced Don Ameche with Power in his next film "Lloyds's of London" (1936).