Add a Review

  • john_delaney115 January 2006
    After years of searching I have finally found it! I remember this film from my childhood and I recall it giving me a spiritual lift, which for somebody who is now not very spiritual I could kind of do with rekindling. I could only remember certain thinks about the film, such as a old man passing on a golden gun and a white suit whilst training a young apprentice to shoot at plates when blind folded. I would love to see this film again, and would appreciate someone telling me where I can buy it from. Now and again I have thought about this film with a golden gun and asked friends and work colleagues whether they had seen it. Each time I was met with a blank face, or with the reply 'you mean the James Bond film'. At least now I know I did not imagine it. I suppose it's quite a sad admission but this film really made me feel happy!
  • Nice to see a movie with a moral, a good cast, good performances, especially Hal Holbrook & Keir Dullea. I felt the story was good, and the performances believable, and quite real, other than the characters always being made up. A good family movie.
  • Growing up with a father that was a real cowboy. I grew up watching westerns from a very early age. I grew up watching all of the standards i.e. John Wayne, The Lone Ranger, Bonanza, Big Valley and even older stuff like Roy Rogers and Gene Autry. This movie while not great acting was very good to an 8 year old. I recently saw it again on the encore western channel and every time I see it I still enjoy it. This movie is a throw back to the old westerns that when you look a them today are very cheesy. But if you look at the Lone Ranger they are quite similar in their morale compass. They tell a good story where the bad guy gets his and the good guy gets the girl and the horse. While I agree with another poster that this was probably a failed pilot it is good for what it is. I think that some people think that all movies have to be great art in order to be any good. While they are entitled to their opinion I respectfully disagree.
  • If this is the movie I think it is, it is about a cowboy who is given a golden 7-shooter (vs the standard 6 shooters) by his mentor. He is given the wisdom "always save the 7th shot for evil!".

    At once point he is tested by a saloon girl and former acquaintance of his mentor and she throws a playing card in the air (7 of hearts?) and he shoots six of the seven hearts on the card and when he is asked why he didn't shoot the seventh, it's the "always save the 7th shot for evil!". When I was a kid this was a great movie, if I saw it now it might have been uber cheesy.

    It's been decades since I've seen this movie, so I'm real fuzzy on it, but I'd love to find a copy of it someplace.
  • I saw this movie as a kid and loved it. I, too, have asked several friends and movie rental store managers (I thought it was called "The Man with the Golden Gun") and they all thought I was talking about the 007 movie. I'll buy or rent this movie in a heartbeat; It is definitely worth having on the family collection shelf.

    Like this movie, there are two other TV movies I saw portions of as a kid that friends give me blank looks over when I describe them. I'd love to know their titles so I can track these movies down. They might be episodes from a Sci Fi TV series. The first one is about a pilot about to crash his jet in the desert, and a lady driving her convertible nearby who get trapped in a time freeze. Both his jet and her car are in a state of suspended momentum. The couple seem to be the only living creatures unaffected, and they join together venturing to a nearby complex to find out what's going on.

    The other TV story is about a father and his teenage kids who were exploring the depths of a mine when something out in the world happened. They walk into a small town gas station to get some gasoline and find no one around--it's as if the town people had instantly disappeared and everything is abandoned. The gas pump doesn't work, so the dad siphons gas from a vehicle beside one of the pumps. Afterward, he lifts his head and is met with a woman's staring face pressed against the vehicle window. It was then that my dad said I had to go to bed.

    Does anyone know about either story I'm talking about?
  • While I admit that I have not seen this movie since My early teens, it is one of those movies that has stuck with me over the years. I can seriously point to this as an influential movie, not because of the cheesy 70's soundtrack, but because of the spiritual aspect that at least one other reviewer noted. There was something there that caught my attention, and that is saying something.

    I don't remember much about the movie, other than the master teaching the young boy about how to sense the target he was shooting at and use his mind not his eyes (sort of proto-Jedi). I also remember that the golden gun had seven bullets, not six, and that that was a key factor, but not why it was so important.

    Never the less, it left an impression that I hold to to this day. I hope to find it someday. I would like to see it again, even if it was as hokey as others claim it to be.
  • FinerOptics5 September 2002
    It's been a helluva long time since I saw this movie so details are a bit hazy, what I do remember is that at the time, I thought it was great!

    There's a scene where a guy on horseback is being chased by some other guys on horseback and he comes to a huge ravine, not one to stand and get slaughtered by the marauding followers, he just jumps off the edge of the cliff (still on horseback mind you) and makes his escape. I remember thinking 'What about the poor horse?!'

    I think at the end he saves the damsel in distress by jumping across a pit and snatching her from her position hanging over the pit, or something like that. Anyway, I would love to see it again if only to re-live a childhood memory...
  • I remember watching this film nearly 30 years ago with my then young sons, it is a fantastic western. We have continually talked about how we would love to see it again, (my sons are now in their 30s),but to date have had no luck even finding the film ever existed. It is not on any UK database.

    My wife has been trying for the last 6months and finally managed to finally find your details on the film.

    Should anyone have a DVD/Video of the film could please let me know. Anyone knowing where I can Purchase a copy in DVD or Video format it wold be much appreciated. Many thanks. Dave Yates (UK)
  • "The Legend of the Golden Gun" looks to me to be a failed pilot for a television series.

    The medium to low production standards support this as well as the flat and wooden dialogue that is readily apparent; the cliched storyline; and last but not least, the lackluster acting.

    But, please, don't get me wrong...I admit, the movie had the potential to be something more...unfortunately, the producers, writers and director tried to do so much with so little.

    And do get me started with the (now) cheesy late seventies/early eighties soundtrack...ugh!

    My two cents for y'all!

    On the positive side however, they did manage to get a great supporting cast together...including (in order of utmost importance):

    1) Hal Holbrook - the old master

    2) R.G. Armstrong - small, but tight performance

    3) Keir Dullea - in his most hilarious role yet

    4) Robert Davi - as the sinister and foreboding villian, William Quantrill
  • This 'movie' seems to me as being a pilot for a TV series. It sets up the situation and defines the characters with a little Star Wars and a little Lone Ranger mixed together. Hal Holbrook as J.R. Swackhammer (or is it Yoda?) teaches our hero how to shoot bottles in the air while blind folded (John, feel your instincts)! It conveniently kills off Holbrook's character as he is the only actor of any substance. Jeff Osterhage as John Golden (Luke or maybe the Lone Ranger) has a side kick riding a painted horse. Sound familiar? I was waiting for it to turn into a Blazing Saddles style farce but all this was played as a straight story and never did. It apparently wasn't popular enough and was never made it to a series. This is all guess work but that's the way I see it.

    I saw this show on Encore Westerns in April 2011, so it's still around.
  • I saw this movie as a kid, an have been looking for it every since I started buying movies.Where can we find it?

    In this day of reality shows, I look for movies that bring me back to the days when you root for the good guy, and fantasize being in their shoes. There is too much crap on T.V. today where you can't enjoy have a hero to save the day. You now have people running around the world trying to show up the other teams.I need good shows like I grew up on,where right is right and wrong is wrong.No political correct for me.

    Give me good westerns,with hero's like John Wayne and Randolph Scott.Where the hero saves the town and the girl,not for money but because it is the right thing to do.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    It's amazing some users found this movie so great. Some even said it portrays reality. Well let's see. The hero's horse rears up just about every time he mounts up. He can shoot bottles thrown into the air while blindfolded. There is a former black slave who can't quote Shakespeare. A "wild" horse simply stands around waiting to be caught and they is mounted and doesn't buck once and becomes fully trained in a matter of minutes. Everyone's clothes always look like they just came from the laundry. The hero can "see" things with super-human powers. And he just happens to run across General Custer, Buffalo Bill Code, Sitting Bull, Wyatt Erp, and even Henry Ford in the same movie. Oh, Annie Oakley's mother was there too. When revolvers are fired, they don't kick and when shot in a closed room, no one is affected a bit by the load noise. There is a photographer running around taking pictures, who just happens to be stereotypically Asian. There is actually a "snake oil" salesman who has a sign saying, Snake Oil, on the side of his wagon. And last but not least, the ex-slave can throw a bolo (a four foot rope made of heavy rawhide with a large bag of rocks tied to each end) and catch a rabbit with it. Pretty realistic stuff right? I could go on with more, but you get the idea.

    The movie is pretty tame for kids but so poorly done it affords only comedy for any thinking adult.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    This clearly has the feel of a made for TV movie; you can tell where the commercial breaks would have been inserted as a scene will end and the story picks up again from the same point. It has a sort of Disney feel to it too, with the hero dressed in white and handling a special gun made just for him - "That seventh bullet is for evil". What surprised me as I began to research the film to write this review is that it's over thirty years old, obviously influenced (as many other posters on this board have mentioned) by the success of "Star Wars" and the Obi Wan/Luke Skywalker relationship. It actually took me a while to realize that the film was playing things straight, as there seemed to be a "Blazing Saddles" type of sensibility impinging on some of the situations, like Joshua Brown (Carl Franklin) stealing John Golden's (Jeff Osterhage) boot, only to stop when he realizes Golden's not dead. There's also the traveling snake oil salesman peddling his Blue Nectar, showing up three times by my count with a bargain at a buck a bottle.

    But the film seems to capture a certain nostalgia for times gone by for other reviewers on this board, so I'm not going to tarnish that glow. As a family film, this is the kind of picture you can settle down with the kids to watch, and it conveys a theme of good triumphing over evil and doing the right thing because it's the right thing to do. The film even name drops some of the major historical figures of the Old West like Wyatt Earp, Butch and Sundance, Buffalo Bill Cody, and Sitting Bull. Keir Dullea's take on General Custer is a trip in itself, playing it up for all it's worth in order to 'get Grant's goat'.

    The thing is, I would never have seen this picture if it hadn't been part of the Encore Western lineup today. I spend a lot of time there, and this was kind of a break from the more traditional black and white stuff of cowboy legend, like Gene Autry and Roy Rogers. I can't help but think that watching these Westerns since my youth helped develop some of my own instincts (there's that word) about right and wrong, and every reminder in a film like this just never seems to grow old.
  • sewalk9274 January 2006
    I, too remembered seeing this on TV as a youngster and was intrigued to see it show up on Encore one night. I expected a lackluster 1970's TV movie and even then it was a disappointment. The acting is wooden all around. The story is total tripe; the screenwriter gratuitously throws every legendary character from the Old West into the mix along with _almost_ every Old West cliché (at least the damsel in distress was never tied to the railroad tracks).

    Even the racial stereotyping is uneven. The hero's sidekick is a Shakespeare-quoting escaped slave who also provides the narration which is in character with the semi-enlightened racial attitudes of the 1970's. Unfortunately, Custer's photographer is a buck-toothed Oriental man with thick glasses.

    Production values are typical of late 70's/early 80's television movies and series.

    It's worth a look if you saw it 25 years ago as a child and are curious but otherwise, leave it alone.
  • Pretty sure it was not filmed in Kansas. Several Kansas towns are mentioned.
  • sixshootersonny11 September 2018
    Robert Davi plays real life baddie William Quantrill who kills the family of John Golden (Jeff Osterhage). Golden himself is left for dead in a river. After this Golden looks to exact revenge upon Quantrill. He comes across J.R. Swackhammer wonderfully played by Hal Holbrook who trains Golden. The film gets good when Holbrook shows up and starts to take on a nice flavour. This is a TV movie so it is not going to play out like Clint Eastwood's 'The Outlaw Josey Wales' with its subject matter, but might work well if you have kids in the 10-14 range who like a western. Also starring Keir Dullea as the over confident General Custer and great veteran R.G. Armstrong as corrupt Judge Harrison Harding. As you might have guessed through out the film Golden meets real life legends from the Old West.

    Now this TV movie is far from perfect and a couple of big things for me that didn't work were early on we are shown a scene that oozes cheesiness to me. We watch John Golden in slow motion ride his horse Moonbeam, which he is singing a song about. I thought this was completely unneeded as within a couple minutes Osterhage's acting should be able to bring his love through toward the horse. The other is the music in a couple of scenes does not really have a western feeling. It is more of a 1979 or disco-influenced theme and any seriousness in the scenes are washed away. In turn though well worth a watch. On a side note Harve Bennett was executive producer who went on to produce and co-write Star Trek II through V.
  • a_digiacomo15 January 2007
    Warning: Spoilers
    I watched half of this this very day(1/15/07) And thought "dang, this could've been cool!" As a child of the sixties and seventies(I'm 45) movies like this one were obligatory it seems, to me because they were always being made! This took way too much Obi Wan and Luke, outrageous misfires of historical characters, and totally politically correct re-writing of history. I admit I LOVE The Lone Ranger, and every OLD western thing: Gene Autry especially!(But Randolph Scott too), BUT THIS film just burnt out all the cliché's in the first half! I did note Jef Osterhage's almost twin brother facial features to Terence Hill and THAT was pretty neat. SPOILER ALERT: The story was Obi Wan and Luke, without Death Star and Empire to hit back at. The gun was too cool--they did indeed make guns with seven and even eight shots FOR REAL in those day! All in all, I guess if they had gotten their history correct, like: SPOILERS: General Custer was only a General DURING the War Buffalo Bill was NOT called that til The Railroad Era which was AFTER the War YNLESS the character of Books(the black friend) was raised IN THE NORTH EAST COAST, he would NEVER EVER have seen MUCH LESS EVER HAD READ a book OF ANY KIND Because HE WOULD BE TOTALLY UNEDUCATED! There were NO Orientals in the US Army in ANY ERA prior to World War 2! Without these flaws, and with a heck of a lot less xerox copying of Star Wars, this movie could have been a hit instead of a clear miss! One last thing: The genuine love the Mentor and the Kid had, totally blows away the stained, feigned(fake) "kinship" of Obi Wan and Luke--When Osterhage's Jim hugs the dying Hollbrook/Swakhammer(The Mentor) you can feel the true father son love they grew to feel! THIS ALONE puts this film on my list of Totally Cool Movies!
  • cordavian22 February 2017
    Finally found other people who have seen this.

    Could never find the name of this movie.

    Though from what I remember he saved the 7th bullet for justice not evil.

    Also they were poker chips that the saloon girl threw in the air that he shot not a playing card.

    Does anyone know where to find a copy of this movie or download it from?
  • This is my second viewing of this movie, and I love it. I'm reminded of Star Wars? The old gunfighter/Yoda, "Use your instincts/Use the force!" Well worth the watch if you love westerns. I'm not sure how I missed this one when it came out. It's on late for me this evening. I think I'll put it on record. I've forgotten the ending. Well, it mostly works out for the good guys... But, you can't count on that always. Compared to other westerns I think this one holds your interest as much as most. It's not a John Wayne flick, but what is? The protagonist in this one is good enough to make you want to see a few of his movies. The music is great and the scenery is pleasant. They didn't go high dollar on this one, but they did enough to give you a good flavor of the times. The historical issues are rather insignificant to the plot, so they are plenty easy to ignore.