User Reviews (578)

Add a Review

  • I approached this film after reading the hype and controversy surrounding its making and release, not really expecting very much. Surprised to find it an intelligent, beautifully-filmed, engrossing and touching thriller. I'd recommend it to anyone who has a fondness for weird gothic mythological stories. I didn't find the horror aspect overdone - in fact it was believable, and the script was superior to other films of this genre I've seen. As for Brandon Lee, this really was a superb performance and it is a terrible tragedy that his life ended so abruptly. This film is a fitting memorial to what could have become a major star.
  • This movie is fantastic. plain and simple. Brandon Lee delivers his lines to the point they were instantly memorable after seeing the film only once. The casting of both Michael Wincott and Tony Todd was inspired as these two guys have two of the most instantly recognisable voices in the movie industry. If i could ever be a movie or a lead in a film this would be it. I was initially put off the idea of the movie as i am a big fan of the graphic novel and there was an awful lot of hype around this film on its release. this proved to be my loss as i have only seen the film on the small screen. however i now have the 2 disc special edition DVD and watched it 3 times in succession the day i bought it and must have watched it at least 100 times since. my own personal opinion is that a movie should suspend disbelief, capture the imagination which this does in spades. it is truly a film that you can lose a couple of hours watching and at the end feel like you have spent a worthwhile couple of hours. would recommend this to anybody.
  • The only thing i can say is that when i left the movie theater then i had no comment to give... This movie got to me deep! I was 14 and now i am 25,and still i remember it so well and i still watch it sometimes.. Brandon Lee did a great job as an actor like everyone else, but the story about his death is totally insane, which made me worship the movie even more. What an irony. I like the movie cause it's dark, but also lighted up with true emotions..there is action, horror, love, even poetry for god sake! I have never seen so many genre's in one movie. Anyway for me it has been one of the best movies i have ever watched. And one more comment, lots of of other movies got ideas from The Crow, meaning the setting, the action, music, whatever it is the crow was their start up. I am not going to name them, Crow fans probably know what i am talking about.. My favorite quote: "Can't rain all the time" By the way the soundtrack's are awesome, The Cure's best song ever made is in it! P.S. The Crow II and III sucked, i hated it. They just ruined the conception of the first one.. totally..
  • The Crow is an excellent tragic film made even more tragic by the real life tragedies surrounding the film (Brandon Lee's death during filming, and the fact that the story is a result of James O'Barr's personal loss of his fiancée). Based on a very dark comic book, the film has the same dark feel. The movie does deviate from the comic book in some points, but in general is fairly faithful. If you can get it, I would recommend the DVD Collector's set with the 2 DVD version of The Crow (just to see the interview with James O'Barr is worth the price).

    The story is a basically about revenge from beyond the grave, and how true love is forever. The movie has a good (but fairly basic) plot, excellent action sequences, and very good casting. Brandon Lee gives a good performance (not excellent, but good), as does Ernie Hudson. The supporting villains are excellent in their villainy, and you do feel better when they get it in the end. But the real star of this film is the mood and the feel. It feels gritty, bleak, and depressing, but surprisingly uplifting at the end. Alex Proyas did an excellent job of transferring this feeling from the book onto celluloid. All in all, one of the best comic book to film translations I have ever seen.

    You do not have to be familiar with the comic book to thoroughly enjoy this film (like you do with some other comic book adaptations).

    Rating : 4.5 out of 5
  • This is one amazing film, with a mesmerizing performance from Brandon Lee!. It's visually appealing, extremely well made, with amazing performances all around!. Loved the score, too, it fit with the film well, and there's plenty of action to go around as well. Michael Wincott is, very menacing as the main villain, and was perfect for the part. The flashbacks were very cool, however i wished, i could see more of Shelley's character. The Directiing is outstanding!. Alex Proyas does an outstanding job here, creating lots of, dark atmosphere, great use of the rain machine,cool visuals, and keeping the pace,action packed, and engrossing all the way!. The film is very violent, but not all of it is bloody. We get several knives in the chest, knife in the hand, lots of gunshot wounds, some bloody, some not, hole through hand, 2 slashings, slit throat,2 bloody impallings, sword in the neck and a crow pecks a girls eyes out. The Acting is WONDERFUL!. Brandon Lee, gives an Oscar worthy performance here, he is completely mesmerizing, creepy,kicks that ass and, just thought he was too cool, his AMAZING AMAZING performance here, will always be remembered, what happened too him was a tragedy, and i for one will never forget him!. Rochelle Davis is awesome here, and is very likable,her and Brandon, had very good chemistry and is one of the best kid actors out there!, especially since she hasn't acted since then!. Ernie Hudson, is terrific as the Sgt., very likable, and very convincing. Michael Wincott, is great as the main villain, i loved his voice, and he was very menacing!. Sofia Shinas, is very good as Shelley, however, she didn't have much screen time, but was great when on screen. Overall a MUST SEE at all costs!. ***** out of 5
  • This film is so amazing, I can't remember how many times I've seen it. You don't have to be interested in a particular genre of film to watch it, because there is something for everyone in this film. Romance, action, gory bits, humour, drama- you name it, The Crow has it. The tragic circumstances surrounding this film and Brandon Lee also add to it's allure.

    Basically, it's about a rock star named Eric Draven, his fiancée Shelley Webster and the little girl they take care of, Sarah. When a ruthless gang of thugs viciously murder both Eric and Shelley on the night before their wedding, Eric comes back from the grave to avenge his fiancée's death by going after each member of the gang that killed her, and to say a final goodbye to Sarah.

    An extremely moving film that I would recommend to anyone who has a heart.
  • Although Brandon Lee did not have many films to his credit, this one turned him into a legend. With witty one-liners, and eye-popping action, The Crow was his best work ever. Whether its the scene where he embeds a crow-like design in Tin-Tin's chest, or leaves behind a fiery calling card after sending T-bird to his death, Brandon Lee left his mark. I was also impressed with the film's cinematography. With black being the picture's dominant color, I felt it was a perfect fit with it's storyline. Michael Wincott delivered an equally impressive performance as Top Dollar, the evil mastermind behind the two grizzly murders. Brandon Lee truly saved his best for last. Rest In Peace Brandon.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    Comic book movies have always fascinated me. I don't whether it's their visual style, the special effects, the performances of the actors as compared to the comic itself or the interpretation of the graphic novel's storyline by the filmmakers that interests me the most, but I've always been enthralled by a bleak story that places a tragic hero in the midst of a towering city, whose choices and actions determine the fate of himself and those around him. Often a comic book can provide the bare essentials for an excellent story, but more often, the filmmakers or producers scrap the idea of a storyline and aim primarily for the explotation of special effects. In the case of "The Crow," this is not true: this is the only film that has ever captured the true essence of the comic book it's based on, expanded upon its virtues and added its own style to complement the base storyline of the film.

    On October 30th, a night that has come to be known as "Devil's Night," in reference to the hundreds of fires set by dangerous gangs, Eric Draven (Brandon Lee) and Shelly Webster (Sofia Shinas) are brutally attacked in their downtown apartment. Shelly is raped by the gang and Eric is thrown out of a five-story window, dying almost instantly. They leave behind a close friend and younger-sister figure, Sarah (Rochelle Davis), endless rainy nights in the city, and infinite sorrow on those who knew them.

    Their deaths left a score unsettled, and as a result, an ancient legend becomes reality, as a mystical crow descends from the Heavens who normally carries souls to the land of the dead, brings Eric Draven's soul back to life so he can exact revenge on the men who killed him and his fiance. He dresses himself in torn black clothing, boots, and paints his face like a sad clown. He is invincible, for he is already dead, and sets out on a quest for retribution, seeking out each one of his murderers one by one. He is helped along the way by two people, Sarah and Officer Albrecht (Ernie Hudson), who stayed with Shelly until she died, against an army of arsonist gangsters led by the mysteriously incestuous Top Dollar (Michael Wincott), who is the orchestrator of Devil's Night, and inspires his troops with quotes and dialogue from Dante's "Inferno" and "Paradise Lost." With the crow leading the way, Eric Draven sets out to redeem his soul and regain his justice in a city that has never stopped raining since his death.

    From its opening shot right to its final seconds, "The Crow" is a depressingly gripping film. A truly fantastic and faithful adaptation of James O'Barr's comic book series, this film draws its inspiration from both the comic book and earlier films such as Fritz Lang's "Metropolis." The story is set against the backdrop of a broken city ruled by an underground society of arsonists, where the police can do nothing to stop them and the children run wild in the streets. The buildings tower high over the urban streets, overlooking a sad foundation without law, justice or order - you know everything about this world with one shot. The production design and cinematography combines to create an atmosphere in a society without hope, accentuated only further by a Middle-East inspired score by Graeme Revell, and choicy tunes by Nine Inch Nails, The Cure, Stone Temple Pilots and My Life with the Thrill Kill Kult.

    Director Alex Proyas claims he has never seen a sequel to his film on the basis that no one could do justice to the main character like Brandon Lee... I agree with him. Lee's performance as the vengeful soul is one of the greatest I have ever seen on film. He exhibits confidence, cunning and menace, while at the same time communicating just enough pain and depression to stay true to his character. You know what he's capable of, and at the same time his emotional weaknesses. If I can think of any flaw to this film I would mention the incestuous relationship between Funboy and his sister. It was not a subplot, thankfully, but it didn't seem necessary in a film that was already disturbing enough.

    Made with passion, performed with intensity, designed with precision and influence, "The Crow" is an unheralded masterpiece of the 20th Century. It is heartbreaking to think that this film almost dodged release - if that had happened, no one would ever have known the degree of Brandon Lee's acting capabilities. The man had a fiery presence and was articulate and powerful with his delivery - indeed, with one great film, he has become a martyr for the exposition of this character. 4 1/2 stars on a five star scale.
  • Alex Proyas milks the plot for all its worth and places The Crow beyond an average thriller and into the realm of motion picture brilliance. A heart warming tale backed up with enough gore and action to keep hard core violence fanatics interested. This stands The Crow as a masterpiece of cinematic wizardry, that is sure to impress even the most critical of viewers.
  • THE CROW, like 2001: A SPACE ODYSSEY separates those who see from those who do not! (who CANNOT). Alex Proyas will never achieve anything close to this masterpiece again and if Brandon Lee HAD to die, then there could never have been a better time and place (do not misinterpret my words or meaning here). Personally, I shall for ever be indebted to him for what he has left...a performance in a film that challenges, implores, conjures, paints. A surreal landscape of good and evil in almost equal proportions.

    I am no Goth, have never read the original comic strip, nor do I wish to. I simply regret watching the unspeakably pathetic and inappropriate sequels...do not make the same mistake!

    For all its grotesque violence, seediness and Gothic degeneracy, THE CROW is a pure love story, so pure, that even immersed within the blackest of adult fairy-tales its power cannot be dampened or lessened. Eric Draven's spiritual pursuit of those who murdered his beautiful girlfriend is less of a revenge story and more a reminder that karma balances out in the end.

    Perhaps the best performance, other than that of the crow itself, is from Michael Wincott, a very underrated actor, as the incarnately evil gang leader. It is the role of a lifetime for him.

    If I were in a position that I could see only two films again for the rest of my life, they would be 2001 and THE CROW. At no stage would I ever subsequently be able to say that I had seen EVERYTHING that either had to offer.
  • I hadn't seen it for about ten years and as the full moon came beaming through my apartment window late last night, it just felt right to indulge in some Proyas Gothic excellence.

    The question still taps away at all our doors, namely would the film be the cult classic it became without the Brandon Lee tragedy? That's a tricky one to answer because we all deep down have a morbid curiosity about us, especially with films and their stars. This is why I got a lot more from re-watching the movie after a very long period of time, namely that it may have drew many of us in years ago because of the tragedy and heart aching back story to writer James O'Barr's birthing of Eric Draven the character, but it can now enthral, thrill and shatter emotions of its own accord.

    The Gothic art design and the soundtrack are emo personified before such a label was invented, Lee is lithe and skillful and serving notice to what a talent we were robbed of that fateful day in March 1993. The villains are a roll call of go to guys for such roles, Kelly, Wincott, Todd, while Ernie Hudson fronts up as good cop personified. And finally Proyas, struggling with the budget even before Brandon's death, that he manages to create this world of perpetual bleakness, but still offer hope and beauty - the latter via tracking shots, pull aways and intricate frame shots of a tormented Draven, shows him to be a purveyor of considerable skills.

    All told, The Crow (1994) deserves to not be thought of as a cult classic, but just as a classic, period. 9.5/10
  • KarateBoyBiff26 January 2005
    In my opinion, The Crow is the greatest movie of all time. Brandon Lee's death had absolutely nothing to do with it, although it was a tragedy. That movie contained everything. Action, suspense, romance, horror, sci fi. It could literally fit into any category (accept for maybe porno). The diverse cast helped a lot showing that any one can be a bad guy. If you look at it, the character of Eric Draven is everybody. He's just your average Joe Shmoe who was scraping to make a living. There wasn't anything special about him until after he died. While Crow movies after this one may have had better special affects, or been less family friendly, there was a magic that these people brought to this movie that will never be recreated. Brandon Lee's death did not sell this movie, a story that everyone could relate to did.
  • latchy-4362126 October 2018
    After all this time I still miss him . Some people just go to young . See you again sometime
  • This movie is my favorite film of all time. One factor of this film that made it so awesome had to be the casting. The acting is just superb. Brandon Lee did an excellent job of playing Eric Draven, one of the most complicated comic book characters ever. I don't think there's any actor out there that could've mastered this role like Brandon Lee did. Michael Wincott fit Top Dollar's personality so well. He can be so evil at times. The soundtrack and the score were masterpieces in themselves. All the bands chosen to appear ( ex. Stone Temple Pilots, Nine Inch Nails)on the soundtrack had a certain mood to their music that fit the movie's aura. As for the score, Graeme Revell put together perhaps one of the best scores of the 1990's. With his combination of modern musical instruments and foreign instruments and his tasteful and original use of synthesizers, he will always be one of the most talented composers. The plot of this film is so universal. it can be used on so many other levels or in so many other stories. Being brought back from the dead not to avenge yourself, but to avenge the death of your loved one. Some may think that it's cliche but this coming from the same people who watch movie like Robo Cop and think that that is good movie-making. ::shudder:: Others believe that the movie became popular for the fact that Brandon Lee passed away during the making of it. I don't think this could be farther from the truth. The movie would be just as popular as it is today even if Brandon Lee had not died during the fabrication of the film. Though the sequels that followed the film fell short of it's greatness, they will never tarnish the importance of The Crow. James O' Barr put together a story of anger, pain, and love and Alex Proyas turned his vision into a masterpiece. This movie changed my life...
  • armands_briedis27 April 2018
    I think one my favourite movies of all time will always be The Crow. I was 10 the first time I saw it and I still watch it sometimes. It's one of the most visually stunning movies I have ever seen and they pulled it off more than 20 years ago without all the CGI technology we have today. It's a work of art in every frame. Story wise it's full of pain and loss, and the movie captures it so well that it always puzzles me how they could make such a dark and depressing story so beautiful and exciting at the same time. And then there's Brandon Lee - the actor of the main character who got accidentally killed on the set by a malfunctioning firearm. This fact alone makes the movie even more interesting as the movie itself questions the nature of death. This movie influenced me in such a way that I started to appreciate the beauty of all dark and scary things we experience. Most people usually look away when experiencing something negative, but I am always driven to understand it and appreciate it if nothing can be done about it. It's very interesting how art can change our personalities and the things we like. The Crow is the suppressed rage of poets and artists everywhere burning their oppressors on a dark wind-swept night and it's one of those movies that got many people interested in the goth culture and elevated it into a whole new level of popularity. At its heart it is a simple revenge movie; a soul drawn back to a corrupt living world to punish those that killed him and his fiance, but the way it's portrayed sets it apart from similar movies. It's a dark journey in a post-industrial hell-scape in search of those who wronged him. If you're looking for something dark and beautiful, this is it.
  • This film is marvelous, The Story is about Life, Death, Revenge, and Justice. Brandon Lee gives the most thrilling final performance of all time before his death on set on March 31, 1993 from a gunshot wound. The Crow is one of my favorite films next to director Alex Proyas other film, Dark City (1998). Its sad that Brandon Lee died, but remains a legend to this day. A+. 10/10
  • dravencage10 June 2005
    I have watched this film many, many times and it always captivates me....with it's story of love and loss, revenge and betrayal......the idea that love can conquer all, even death is a strong one, and in this movie it is handled with great gravitas.

    Alex Proyas (as he also showed with Dark City) has a visual knack for creating a dark world, and the world of the Crow is Detroit, but it could be anywhere.......The villains are never too OTT and the poignant moments between Sarah and Eric are handled well.

    The real stand out for me though, is Brandon Lee's performance, and it still fills me with sadness to know, that his breakout role, was his last.

    RIP Brandon...The Crow is a fitting epitaph for you.

    DC
  • I remember the first time i saw this movie and even though Brandon Lee died during filming i felt we'd lost an actor who truly had a great future.The way he portrayed such a tortured soul was truly brilliant.On to the movie it self apart from the obvious editing {PLEASE HURRY AND RELEASE A DIRECTORS CUT}the way music was used to set the mood for each scene was excellent.This is definitely a movie worth a look for anyone who enjoys a love story with a twist or any comic book buff who wants to see the first book to movie adaptation worth talking about.The director has given a great comic book and fine actor a movie to be proud of.
  • I really feel terrible writing this review, especially seeing everyone else raving about how great this movie is, and also, knowing about Brandon Lee's infamously tragic death on the set, but I must write on. Unfortunately, I watched this movie for the first time 10 years after it was released, I can only assume this was a costly mistake, the ruining of a legend for me. By the time it started, I knew I would be disappointed, and I was. To me, this movie was a tragic, god awful mess. Simply too melodramatic, too pseudo-poetic (psuedo as in what they tried to do did not work at all), and much too talky. Too many people explained way too many things that should have been inferred. Too many characters were stereotypes, mainly concepts represented by human bodies, and actors not doing a good job at portraying them. I know this may sound like blasphemy, but Brandon Lee, rest his soul, was not a good actor, at all. Actually quite the opposite. It looked like a terribly written movie with terrible actors, yet a big heart, that's the only good thing I could say about this movie.
  • This film is absolutely phenomenal. Better than The Godfather, better than The Matrix and better than Die Hard! The Crow is one of the best films ever made.

    It is just like any other rubbish basic storyline. Man and his fiancée get killed. Man gets resurrected a year later and kills the people who murder him. But Proyas's sharp and exquisite directing and Brandon Lee's sensational role as Eric Draven (The Crow) has turned this film into one of the best films of all time! And its not just Lee who puts in a stunning performance. Michael Wincott - in my opinion a superb but underrated actor - turns in a superb role as the sadistic and menacing master criminal Top Dollar.

    Despite all of the violence and gore, it doesn't lead us away from the fact that this story is about true love lasting forever. Usually in films like this, they just mention the death of a loved one a couple of times and then it's forgotten and it gets boring. But in this film, Shelley (Lee's fiancée in the film) is mentioned a lot by Eric and a series of flashbacks - including the scene where she is beaten and raped by the villains in the movie, Tin Tin, T-Bird, Funboy and Skank - makes us realise just how much love they had for each other and we feel satisfied when Eric picks off each of the villains in an assortment of gruesome ways.

    The dark sets and characters all add to the gritty, Gothic atmosphere that just made me admire this film even more. It is also one of the only films i have seen where the cast has been chosen to perfection. If Lee was still alive today, I have no doubt that he would be one of the best actors around. R.I.P.

    My advice to anyone who hasn't seen this film. Rent it or buy it as soon as possible! You have no idea what you're missing.

    10 out of 5 Stars. Keep em coming Proyas!
  • The Crow (1994)

    There's no question this is a vigorous, crazy-violent, youth oriented, anti-establishment movie with a heart. It's utterly romantic in an almost childish way but thank god for that because parts of the movie--more and more of it as it goes--are about exacting revenge. For me, as exaggerated and fun as it is in a way, it still only goes so far.

    But revenge is a good motive for action, and for bloody theatrical murder. Make no bones about it, the main character, this "Crow" person who has the worldly name Eric Draven (played by Brandon Lee) is a murderous hunk of a dude. He's an archetype of selfish lawless justice.

    The film is dark dark dark. The mood is dark, the lighting is dark, and the sets are made of dark things--wet pavement at night, blackish brick and empty alleyways, and dark clothes. And that's part of what works amazingly well. Amazingly. You get pulled into this nightmare of Detroit before Halloween, and if all the bad guys are like comic book awful, that's part of it, too. Thankfully it isn't too realistic. Detroit can be scary--I grew up in the outskirts, and I remember being scared for real on Devil's Night, October 30--but Detroit's nightmare isn't silly, not at all. And it's a city filled with decency, too. As one reviewer said, this makes Batman's Gotham look like the Emerald City. Not quite.

    It's tough to get too demanding about more ordinary things like acting, because the movie doesn't strive for realism. And it sure succeeds at avoiding it. But it succeeds also in keeping us outside of any real sympathies for the characters, except for the little girl, Sarah, who is a terrific and believable presence. Lee was obviously chosen for his body and his rock star kind of good looks (his make up is more Aerosmith than anything, which makes sense because Eric Draven is a rock star). But Lee can't act worth beans, and that's everyone's opinion. Whether you think it matters is another thing. Watch it and see. He has a following of sorts (not like his father Bruce, of course), so that might help. And it's his last film--he died at only 28 years old from an accident during the filming of the movie (a dummy or re-charged blank bullet hit him from a prop gun). Unfortunately that's part of the legend and tragedy of the movie to this day.

    We are overdue of a really good book overview of the comic book movies, to put their style and different intentions into perspective. Some are zany and live on their plasticky otherworldliness, like maybe the first breakthrough "Superman" movie (1978) which feels bright and colorful overall, or the Tim Burton "Batman" which isn't bright, but it's wacky. Most of these are have fakey scripts that just do the job of getting across the plot. The worst/best example of this might be the visually astonishing and ultimately boring "Watchmen" (which is a live-action animation). "Then there are the very serious seeming Nolan movies, the trilogy (so far), which tries to almost make Batman possible. The Robert Downey Jr. "Ironman" fits into that mold. And I think "The Crow" is really a precursor to these dark and realistic movies. Notice that "The Crow" precedes the first Nolan movie ("Batman Begins") by a decade.

    But the key difference now is that the believability of the main characters is worlds apart in the two movies--compare Christian Bale with Brandon Lee. Or just look at the scripts of the two movies. It's a wonder that "The Crow" holds up as well as it does. But it does. And it's mostly because of how it was made. Amazing, beautiful, dark visuals and moving camera and incredibly smart editing. And as one last bizarre twist--it was shot in North Carolina, not Detroit--Detroit was probably too dangerous.
  • poe4266 June 2009
    Warning: Spoilers
    It rained here in Wilmington, North Carolina the day Brandon Lee died. A buddy of mine called me early that day and told me that Lee had been shot on the set of THE CROW. I thought he was joking. He wasn't; the local news channels were confirming it. Not long before, another friend of mine, from out of town, had visited and we'd tried to find the location where THE CROW was being filmed. I was already a Brandon Lee fan and I loved the comic, so I was determined to see him in the flesh. On a dark, rainy day, we searched around until we found the black crow logo with an arrow indicating that the camera crew was somewhere downtown, and set off in search of Brandon Lee. My buddy grew tired of driving and searching and suggested we take in a movie (ARMY OF DARKNESS was playing, and we were both Sam Raimi fans). I insisted we keep on searching. Downtown, we drove past a group of filmmakers on a side street and I recognized Sam Raimi himself. I urged my buddy to stop. He thought I was "full of ****." But he stopped and we got out and watched Sam Raimi shoot second unit footage for THE HUDSUCKER PROXY. Later, we saw ARMY OF DARKNESS. I never did get to see Brandon Lee. I called the offices of Fangoria magazine and told them about the accident. They didn't seem interested (this was before the internet, and there was no way for them to confirm my story, I guess). Later, when the news broke that Lee had died, I followed up with another phone call. This time around, the Fangorians had heard the news for themselves and were understandably low-key. I hung up and walked to the door and looked out. Dark clouds were rushing past overhead, and raindrops were starting to fall again. I stood there with raindrops pelting my face and I closed my eyes and, before long, I began to cry. I'd been a Bruce Lee fan and had been shocked by his death; the shock of hearing about Brandon Lee's death was just as hard to take. Not long after, at the same hospital where he had been taken, I talked to a nurse who had been there when he'd been brought in. "He was bleedin' so bad they had to change the mattress," she told me: "It was soaked clean through." She went on, but I'd already gone numb. Sometimes, I still feel that way. It's dark out, now, so I'm going to go. It feels like rain.
  • MorbidGirlie20 January 2007
    This movie, for those who have never seen it, which I am sure is a small number but what do I know, is an absolute Must See. It clings to every genre of film: comedy, Action, Thriller, Romance... it's the ultimate movie. I've favored this movie since the second time I saw it... I've watched it repeatedly so often that now it is a black and white film with a little red, red! The lines are beautiful, the characters well portrayed...

    I also like The Crow: City of Angels though the ending was a bit... eccentric, and The Crow: Salvation didn't much live up to my standards. The Crow: Wicked Prayer would have been better if Furlong wasn't trying so hard to deliver his lines like Brandon Lee in the first film. (not I do not say original because it has yet to be remade and I doubt it ever will) All in all, if you like a wide variety of films, definitely see this one, you should not be disappointed!
  • This film is, in my opinion, the greatest film of all time. Stunning performances all round (especially Brandon Lee, and the ever watchable Michael Wincott), amazing direction, these thrown together with a beautiful soundtrack (rivaled only by 'Romeo & Juliet'), and you have this near perfect film.

    If you haven't watched it yet, go to the video shop NOW and rent it immediately!
  • Stop giving this movie a high score just because of the circumstances, does it all of sudden make this movie great? You know it doesn't deserve a 7.x on IMDb. It's a stupid, worthless movie. This fails on several, if not all levels. I couldn't even finish watching this cheesy movie, half of this juvenile trash was enough for me before I finally gave up being sadistic enough to torture myself with this.

    This has such bad and unconvincing acting, especially by the star of the film, Brandon Lee. A movie with a poorly executed story is made even harder to watch when the star of the movie couldn't act his way out of a house with no walls (therefore no roof, think about it). His wife got raped and killed, what is he supposed to be, angry or campy? Why is he making jokes as he toys with his victims? This is like a damn cartoon for 10 year olds. If the movie didn't take itself so seriously, then I wouldn't mind that performance choice so much. Everything from the script and the dialog was formulaic. How can anyone think this is a great movie? It's not 100% horrible, but it ain't Spider-Man, it's Elektra, enough said.
An error has occured. Please try again.