User Reviews (291)

Add a Review

  • (10 out of 10) I just saw "Sweet November" on TV by chance. I had no idea what it was about beforehand, and I have not seen the original. The result was a thoroughly moving experience. It's amazing how the same movie can hit people so differently. It's also incredible how one's mood can affect a person's reaction to a film. In my case, the movie caught me in the right mood and at the right stage of life. Thus, it completely hit the spot. I judge a movie based on how it makes me feel, and to what degree. I was falling asleep just before the movie came on, but once it started it woke me up immediately. I then felt slight anger, then some healthy laughter, and at one point I actually cried, which for me (as a 28-year-old macho guy) is a rarity. Was it the script, the plot, the actors' convincing performances, or just my own state of mind which allowed this film to speak to me? I don't know. All I do know is that I can now go to sleep, feeling utterly peaceful and fulfilled.
  • tmf22223 April 2001
    I have read several reviews for this movie, and I am very upset by them. All they have to say is how Keanu Reeves is such a bad actor. Frankly I am sick of everyone jumping on that bad wagon. A few people say that he's a bad actor, then everyone has to jump in and say it too. Sure, he could have done a few lines of this movie with more feeling, but that doesn't mean he deserves such awful critiques. When I was in the theater, several people around me were complaining of how it was the worst movie they ever saw. Here I was, still sitting there, trying to let my face return to normal color (I had cried a little). I was outraged. The viewers should have enjoyed it for what the movie was, a light romance, nothing more, nothing less. It wasn't supposed to be Oscar-winning, it was simply supposed to be romantic. Movies aren't always believeable, but that doesn't mean that it will automatically get bad reviews. It is really disappointing, because this movie was really good (and really sad).
  • Sinbad8328 December 2005
    I was never a fan of love movies, but this one hurt me so bad! Keanu and amazing Charlize gave their best and created one of the best love stories ever.

    I couldn't believe that Keanu can play like that and convince me that Nelson fell in love for just one month.

    I like Sara's story and the way she chooses to live. Charlize, as beautiful as always, made Sara strong and weak at the same time.

    The great supporting role of drag queen Chaz Watley by Jason Isaacs. I never imagined he'd play something like this!

    This is the only movie that made me cry and that's why I ranked him with the highest mark. BRAVO!!!
  • I really fail to see in "Sweet November" the faults that the previous reviewer saw. His cynical review does not do the movie, its story or its message justice.

    The acting is excellent, no doubt, but "annoying" is a comment from someone with his emotions firmly implanted where the sun does not shine, and communicates more about the reviewer than it does about the film.

    Also, it is not a fault per se, that the ending of a film is predictable and I tire of this being used as negative criticism. The message is in the story, and a surprise ending is the last thing this charming story needs, or thankfully, has.

    Oh, and since I used to be someone exactly like the Reeves character is the start of the movie, I can relate to what it is to discover that there is more to life. His character is real alright, but in the surreal sort of way that only those who have actually been there and escaped, truly understand. Now, if only I had had someone as charming as Ms. Theron to show me :-)

    Anyway, this is not an "epic" film or even a "great" film - its just a film with a story a few messages and some excellent performances that will tug on your emotions - not altogether a bad thing in a cynical age.
  • I just saw this movie on line. I wanted more information and came across this site. I then read the review about how bad this movie is... What a load of crap.. This is not just a movie. This is a story about life and relationships. There is a saying that goes. "The meaning of life, is to give life meaning." I think that is the message of this movie. Too many times people get wrapped up in stuff and glitz and all technology and everything else we have in this life that we forget that in the end... all we have is each other.

    The comments that the acting was not the best is crap too... it is harder to play the rolls these two actors portrayed than to play a bus-drivin super cop.

    GREAT MOVIE... SEE IT FIRST CHANCE YOU CAN...
  • This is a wonderful movie because it is just real. Real people have things they are dealing with and are not always making their best choices--Nelson decides to come back a couple times. I really enjoy the effort of Sara to shine a light so Nelson can see simple pleasures in life, pleasures looked over when someone is so focused on getting an account and working long hours.

    I love this movie, own it, and have watched it several times. I find it rather coincidental that my refusal to watch, turning off the movie right before the end (on the morning of December 1) to remember the beauty of the movie--is the same action that Sara takes to remember the change in Nelson and the beauty of their loving relationship, right before the end.

    Sweet November is a fabulous movie. I hope the film reminds you to slow down and take a look at the important things in your life when you view it again.
  • Especially since I am not really a fan of romantic comedies/drama. This is not really a comedy per se, as there is a dramatic element to it, and the performances should not be so easily dismissed.

    Charlize Theron and Keanu Reeves look good together; Keanu is not playing a superficial action role, so the focus is not on him. This is a good thing, especially as we can then appreciate Charlize Theron's performance as Sara Deaver, a quirky girl who Nelson (Keanu) meets at the DMV in San Francisco. San Francisco is an interesting backdrop- the positive aspects of it are emphasized, and it becomes another character in the film.

    Jason Isaccs plays Chaz Cherry, the local cross-dresser who is Theron's friend and confidante. He does well in this, and last night I actually saw him in "Friends With Money", wherein his talent was literally wasted. Liam Aiken portrays Abner, who is quasi-adopted by Theron and Reeves, as their relationship develops.

    There are some funny scenes, like where Greg Germann (Reeves' co-worker at an ad agency) orders cappuccino and is told off by the waitress. Also where Reeves is presenting an ad campaign for hot dogs, and he eventually flips out.

    The film works because it is not a gushing romance film; I am not a big fan of Reeves but he was very good in this film. Theron was excellent, as always, and there are some beautiful shots of the Bay in San Francisco, a nice backdrop for a bittersweet romance.
  • Perhaps those who've written all the bad commentary about this movie need to sit back and just enjoy things every once in a while. This movie is a good example of a slightly sweet and cheesy plot being centered around some average actors, but it was a really good screenplay and EXCELLENT cinematography. Cinema students would do well to watch this movie and notice how the director used sets colors and music to set the scenes and mood.
  • I thought Sweet November was an above average romance movie. A few qualifiers are in order here. First, I never saw the original, second, I normally do not care for romantic movies, and third, I am a big fan of Keanu Reeves. The reviews are quick to call Nelson Moss a self absorbed work-aholic. The movie does bring out a little of Nelson's past explaining how he feared he would end up like his father and the rest of the neighbors on his block. Combine that with the high pressure in today's society to get ahead, and you can understand why Nelson is obsessed with work. Sara is very original and entertaining and makes you wonder if she's all there or what is she up to. After almost 90 minutes into the film, you will see why Sara is the way she is and maybe enjoy the movie. Keanu does a good performance with Nelson, creating a believable image of a single focused Ad Executive. One can see many women saying "typical male," and many men thinking of Nelson as a typical best buddy. As is true with many things in life, Nelson goes from one extreme to the other. In the end, Sara becomes his single focus in life. Trying to find the middle road is a central theme in many of Keanu's movie roles. I liked the acting in this film. It wasn't too dramatic nor was it bland. It was right down the middle.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    ***SPOILERS*** ***SPOILERS*** "Sweet November" gets off to a bumpy start. Charlize Theron's character is first established as sort of a...well...borderline psychopath. Theron bumps into Keanu Reeves during a DMV exam. The two of them have a weird encounter in the parking lot. Later on, that night, she shows up at his apartment. He doesn't know how the hell she got his address. Since she failed the DMV exam, she asks him for a ride. Now, at this point, he should be terrified at this woman! He barely knows her and suddenly she asks him for a favor? After a long period of arguing, he finally succumbs to this favor. Then she breaks into this building and steals a dog. At this point Keanu should be even more terrified! But he keeps driving her. She invites him up to her place for cocoa. Again a conflict he finally succumbs to. She explains the whole "Spend a Month With Me and I'll Change Your Life" deal. Of course, at first he says no. He's a workaholic with no time for this crap. He makes a bad presentation for his advertising firm, he loses his temper and his job. Then he thinks, "What the hell. I'll go to this crazy b*tch's place and see what this is all about." He obviously can't stand her at first. The way she lives such a simple life, totally contradictory to his. Night falls, things heat up and the two of them are already in the sack! Now that's just a cheap attempt to have two hot actors heat up the screen. Keanu's character can't even stand being near her, yet he's suddenly ripping her clothes off and tackling her to the couch? Another one of those only-in-the-movies moments.

    Luckily, the film's appeal increases as it goes along. The performances by the two leads are strong, though I can't help but feel Charlize was a little miscast. For some reason, I don't picture her nebbish character as a beautiful woman with no facial blemishes. I mean, even Gwyneth Paltrow was convincing in "Bounce," because they didn't try to make her look beautiful. Half of the film she's wearing hardly any makeup. But that's a flaw I was able to look over. The point is the two characters are so likable and the two actors have such a cute chemistry that I couldn't hate this movie (past the 30-minute mark). The moments they share are genuine, and though I don't think Keanu's character arc would've been generated quite so successfully I was willing to look that over as well. Yes, this is moderately standard Hollywood fluff, but it works. And I was oddly captivated.

    I also wish I could've been given a better explanation about Charlize's whole "Spend a Month With Me" deal. It's a pretty strange concept, and something that should've been explained with more detail. You mean EVERY month she can actually get a guy to live with her, no strings attached? As if she's a guardian angel and she just patrols the streets of San Francisco looking for her next customer, who seemingly needs help? And I'm sure, out of all those guys, Keanu is not the first one she had actual feelings for. Women are more libidinous than you think. I also wanted a better explanation of the Jason Isaacs character. Was he gay or what? Maybe I misinterpreted, but did him and Charlize use to go out? Is he bisexual? And what was that whole family crisis that Charlize had to deal with? There's a good deal of loose ends in this story that were either not clearly explained or not explained at all. And this is not a Hitchcock thriller, so you can't tell me the characters and plotlines were meant to be enigmatic.

    I have to say, I did appreciate the ending. It wasn't overly sentimental, and I still found it sad and touching. And it sort of left things open-ended. One of those "Where Do I Go From Here?" conclusions. But someone did point out something interesting--the trailers almost ruined the film! You see, in the ads, Charlize lying in hospital bed with her face completely pale. Geez, I wonder what to expect? I assumed the plot was Charlize was dying and she wanted to spend the last days of her life with Keanu. It's times like this I wish they stuck with the teaser trailers.

    "Sweet November" is not a great movie, but it's sad, touching, sometimes funny and contains two fine performances. It has an odd appeal to it. One of those films you want to keep on watching for no explicit reason. You don't know why you're into it, you just are. Maybe it's a guilty pleasure, maybe not. Who knows? But I'd be a lying, pretentious snob if I were to say I didn't like it. This is just my take.

    My score: 7 (out of 10)
  • spiderd7 November 2001
    Warning: Spoilers
    the movie is not honest to his characters, because it is not about love, but about control. the movie suggest it is about love. the relationship is very selfish, when you look at shara. she doesn't want to "rescue" keenu reeves from his life, but wants control over her own life. she made him love her and at the end she abondens him stonecold. and dynies him to expres his grief and anger to her. if she really loves him she would accept him all the way. now the relation is totally insignifigant. the movie is a poor attemp
  • This movie was shown over the free channel last Sunday. I read up on the reviews for preparation to be unbiased and fair to it.

    I think the problem with this movie is a tired plot and a terribly two dimensional script. Keanu's and Charlize's performance was what helped to lift it out of a 4/10 rating for me. Jason Issac as a cross dressing flatmate was a heartwarming portrayal of how friendship does not always come in neat little packages hemmed in by our expectations. His loyalty and support for Charlize's Sara was the real cruncher in this movie for me. Nelson's initial shock and reaction on seeing Jason's Chaz in a loud dress was hilarious only because it does mirror the general population's.

    The other part of the movie that I find strangely revealing and therefore very endearing, was when Nelson decides Christmas should come a month early for Sara. He pops into her house via the window while everyone is having Thanksgiving and proceeds to give her twelve gifts for Christmas. Each gift and especially the last one, was obviously well thought out in relation to his feelings for her and their relationship throughout that November.

    I have read snippets of how Keanu is very fiercely protective, private, very loving and giving as a person to those he cares deeply about and that entire scene made me realize this is less acting the part but more a lingering snapshot of a small part of who he really is.

    I have so far watched "Speed", "A Walk in the Clouds" and the "Matrix" Trilogy, all of which showcases Keanu as a leading man. I must say that I do catch glimpses of what looks like the real Keanu popping up every now and then. So it's no wonder that Sandra Bullock should say that she was very taken by the way Keanu looked at her just before he kissed her at the end of "Speed".

    I think that many people are quick to rubbish Keanu's acting as wooden because they fail to notice that bit of his soul, often very obviously displayed on the screen, just because it usually isn't displayed on his face.

    Enjoy the movie for what it is, a simple love story with a bittersweet ending and you won't be disappointed.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    The most hilarious part is when the kid asks Keanu to adopt him and to come to father-son day at his school. Keanu declines the adoption but promises to show up at the school for the kid. The kid then happily trots away and says "wait till my mom hears!". HAHAHA, yes: "mom, a 30-something man I hardly know is going with me to school on father-son day!" The kid is obviously an easy victim for pedophiles. hahah...

    Anyway, this is one of my top five worst movies of all time. She had WAY too many drugs in that cabinet. No matter what kind of illness you'd never have 50+ prescription bottles! Also, the santa scene - he carried a DISHWASHER in a BAG up multiple floors.

    Absolutely ridiculous...
  • Warning: Spoilers
    Possible spoilers

    San Francisco. Nelson (Keanu Reeves) is a successful and arrogant PR-manager. One day he meets Sara (Charlize Theron), who prevents animals. She chooses him to be her "Mr. November". In one month she wants to make him a better man.

    To my own shame I must admit that I never watched the original movie from 1964, so I can´t comment it. But it´s an unwritten law that remakes are never better. Besides the non-happy ending, it bristles with stereotypes - of course, Sara has got cancer and her best friend is gay - just to mention two of them. Nevertheless I still found it worth watching. Why does everybody scoff about Keanu Reeves and Charlize Theron? It´s THEIR chemistry that carries the movie and gives it the warmth that it needs.

    Very "kitschy", but beautiful to watch.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    Having recently watched Sweet November I would like to say it is definitely interesting. Though it only touched the surface of several story lines in the movie it was none the less a good watch. It was like another review said a lesson of life. Another said that Sara, in the real world would be selfish and bitter, but maybe she just wanted to be remembered like she said at the end of the movie.

    As far as the clichés in the movie it was a good movie. Of course, the lame ass business guy, the gay best friend, and the dying girl. The way it was portrayed was awesome.

    Personally I thought the acting was wonderful. Reeves was wonderful as was Theron. Jason Isaacs did a marvelous job as Chaz.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    I remember when my best friend and I wanted to see a movie, this is strangely enough the first movie we ever saw together, sad start as this was just a pretty bad movie. Sweet November is another predictable pointless romantic movie that is trying too hard on the saps. Now I love Chalize Theron and Keanu Reeves, Charlize is an academy award winning actress with an awesome career, Keanu… well, woah. Their chemistry was on in The Devil's Advocate, so I guess they were looking for a similar chemistry in a more sappy movie. The problem is that we had the movie Autumn in New York that same year Sweet November was released, also A Walk to Remember, Love Story, they're all the same exact scripts with different characters.

    Nelson Moss is a typical businessman who devotes his life to his career. He meets Sarah, a woman very different from anyone else he has ever met. His arrogance and ignorance leads to her failing her DMV test and she decides to track him down to make him pay for what he did. She continually asks him to spend a month with her, to be her "November", on the promise that she will change his life. That night she sleeps with him and the next day another man arrives in the apartment, a friend of Sarah's, who is able to identify Nelson as Sarah's "November". Nelson believes, quite rightly, that something strange is going on and leaves. Sarah then runs after Nelson and finally convinces him to stay with her for as long as he can. Throughout the course of November the two experience very happy times together and some breakups. But there's more that Sarah is hiding from Nelson then he realizes other than just being her "November".

    I don't mean to bash the movie so much, just these movies do tick me off where like I said it just seems like they're insulting our intelligence and taking old scripts, using a red crayon and scratching out the names and changing them just to pass by. Charlize was very adorable as Sarah, but these characters really don't have many redeemable qualities as they're very self absorbed and selfish. No matter what the motivation was, I wasn't feeling the romance and I wasn't feeling sorry for any of these jerks. I wouldn't really recommend this movie, I promise if you've seen any of the other movies I mentioned, then you've already seen Sweet November.

    2/10
  • Warning: Spoilers
    Crazy chick 'Sarah' (Charlize Theron) likes to 'help' one idiot guy a month.

    The dumbbell for November is 'Nelson' (Keanu Reaves), a shallow advertising executive who has just lost his job and his girlfriend. After a small eternity of banter between these two losers: "Let me help you!"/"Get away from me!", Nelson gives in and wastes time with Sarah for 4 weeks he will never get back while the audience sits through this grueling torture for 2 solid hours which they will never get back.

    Somewhere along the way, Nelson has (surprise!) fallen in love with Sarah. He professes his devotion by climbing up the fire escape and crashing Sarah's dinner party to deliver 12(!) clumsy presents including live birds and lit candles and the film still doesn't have a happy ending.

    Incredulous storyline isn't bad for laughs if you've got enough Bacardi.
  • IndyAnney1 August 2001
    Is it just me becoming a crotchety old realist or was Sweet November as bad as I thought it was? Not since 'Love Story' starring Ryan O'Neal and Ali McGraw have I seen such schlock. The story line was totally unbelievable and full of gaping holes. The acting was flat.
  • jawa35014 January 2005
    The story really sucks. Had it all figured out after just 5 minutes. This IS in fact the sorriest movie I've seen to date and Sarah is probably the meanest b*tch on this earth. Keanu? - why didn't you just leave after the first night with her. Any decent guy with just a little bit of self respect would have done that. Wanna see Keanu perform? Go watch Speed or something. I hope this sorry movie will continue to be the worst I've seen. If I ever experience a movie similar to this I promise I will start watching Indian made movies over American. I mean it. Don't watch it and in case you do. When you feel the urge to press STOP on your remote - after 5 - 10 minutes. Do.. I didn't. And I'm sorry! - If you can find "The Wraith" - watch that instead. Just a tip.
  • TheCooperVane12 October 2001
    Warning: Spoilers
    I really don't have much to say that hasn't already been said. I will only take a moment to mention that people who like this film must fall into one of a select number of categories: - never seen a "romantic comedy" before this one. - is incurably sappy and thus willing to overlook the cliches that define this "movie." - enjoys it on a meta-level; out of some categorization interest or (alternatively) its satirical nature.

    I'm not a big "romantic comedy" person, but I feel confident in saying that if you're moved by this movie, you'll be moved by ANYTHING. Sleepless in Seattle this isn't. It isn't even Jerry Maguire.

    Pause this film at any of the 'plot points' and you can easily and accurately predict what will come next (I first noticed this when SPOILER Keanu got fired. I thought "now his girlfriend will dump him." and voila! she did END SPOILER).

    On top of that, this film relies on contrivance. Tell me, if you were Keanu's character in this movie, wouldn't you have called the cops at some point? I know if I were a high powered, well-to-do businessperson with the kind of drive that they (vaguely) assign the character, any person who does what Charlie's character does would arouse suspicion (and a call to the cops for stalking, felonious theft, or any of a miriad of other things).

    Those of you with common sense... avoid this movie unless you're looking for another reason to get depressed at our national gullibility.
  • cerasea15 December 2003
    I could have forgiven a lot about this film. I always try to respect a movie's genre. This was a romantic comedy/fantasy so I wasn't expecting Kramer vs. Kramer. I could accept the melodramatic premise (beautiful dying girl falls in love with/tries to "save" handsome self-involved young man from himself) but most of the movie just didn't sit well with me. When trying to gather my overall impression, my mind can't help but "bring up" the scene where Sara is vomiting on the floor of her bedroom.

    I really don't think I was asking for much. Instead, I think the movie demanded too much. Suspending my disbelief was a fair requirement. I actually consider it part of the fun. However all the fun began to vanish when the movie decided to take itself more seriously than it had the right to. At this point, its demands became disturbing and somewhat devious.

    (As noted by other reviewers) The movie shamelessly plugged every cliché ever recorded on celluloid: rain-soaked confrontations, public declarations, cute animals, needy children, convenient diseases, gay/minority best friends with a heart of gold - but no real life of their own, and BAD SINGING! Yet the movie still felt that it could (and SHOULD) present itself as a somber tribute to the pain of life and love.

    The repeated and ridiculously heavy-handed diatribes about Sara's trying to, "control her uncontrollable circumstances" and, "die with dignity" seemed as if they were beamed in to give all the preceding romantic fluffiness weight. I have no problem with those arguments, but they belonged in another movie and appeared extremely contrived.

    Dying young is perhaps the ultimate example of life's unfairness, but to try to make a movie that is both eye candy and reality tale is almost as unfair.
  • Abysmal remake of a just-OK 1968 romantic comedy turns the scenario from post-hippie quirkiness to an atrocious "examination" of the modern yuppie lifestyle. Keanu Reeves plays a recently-fired advertising executive who moves in with quirky Charlize Theron, a free spirit who takes one lover a month. In truth, the original film (which starred Sandy Dennis and Anthony Newley) relied more on the actors' personalities than on credibility or logic; revamped and updated, that lack of believability makes the whole enterprise look like a house of cards. Reeves, waving his arms around and talking like he has a nose-cold, bottoms out in this role; Theron looks attractive but is sunk by the witless script. NO STARS from ****
  • This is my honest opinion, i created this acc just to comment on this movie

    Movie itself is decent enough, acting, cinematography and other stuff but the characters are the worst i have ever seen. The girl is not a good person she is the devil himself. No need to make her look like an angel. I was so tilted at the end i never recall anything like that.

    Do not waste your time.
  • First of all, I didn't see the original movie. Based on this one, I think I never will.

    Here's the plot. Keanu is a hot-shot marketing agent. You know the type, working 24-7, mistreats his hot girlfriend, watches roughly seventeen TVs while doing his morning exercise. In other words, a regular prick.

    Charlize on the other hand is not. She's a free spirit, finds joy in small unimportant fuzzy little things, like walking 10 poodles by the beach or playing hide and seek. She also doesn't care about her appearance, she does her hair with a vacuum cleaner and dresses what she finds on the floor. Of course, that doesn't prevent her from looking spectacular and having perfect hair and make-up in every scene but let's not nitpick here. Oh, except when she gets sick which is indicated by her not wearing makeup.

    So anyway, Charlize starts to harass Keanu because he was responsible for getting her kicked out from driving exam. Hey, this looks like a perfect setup for some great romantic comedy, right? He'll hate her, she'll hate him, they will put practical jokes on each other and finally fall in love, right? Wrong. This plot goes right out of the window, and is changed with Charlize insisting of "helping" Keanu, which consists of moving in with her, doing fun things (including having hot sex with aforementioned) and generally getting more relaxed and being less, well, a prick.

    Now here we come to the basis of my intense hatred for this movie. I really hate this Hollywood "free spirit" characters who spread joy and happiness and try to tell me how to Really Enjoy Life. Well, listen up, miss Charlize or Sara or whatever her name in the movie was, I'd really like to play silly games all day and have long warm baths, and throw away my cell-phone and forget about my daily job but, get this, I NEED TO EARN FOR THE LIVING. Like I need some overpaid Hollywood actor to tell me that regular every-day routine is boring. Sure, give me ten million dollars, I'll walk the dogs all day and relax and have fun. Geez.

    Back to the movie. Keanu puts up a small fight, but since Charlize is kinda hot instead of calling the police or at least psychiatric hospital he falls for her and eventually accepts her ways. And, lo and behold, he becomes A Better Person. Wee. Thanks Charlize, your psycho promiscuous ways really DO help.

    But of course, all is not well in Happy Fantasy Land where you can goof around and run willy-nilly all day and still manage to pay your rent and bills and eat food in nice restaurants. There is a dark reason why Charlize lives like she does and has a one-month dating policy. And oh no, say it ain't so, this "comedy" turns into a sappy soap-opera. Like I cared, since I hated both of the protagonists anyway.

    There is absolutely no need to see this movie. It's not funny, it's not moving, it's basically a big nothing. I even skipped over some things and characters in this crap that are not just totally pointless but actually manage to takes this movie further down a notch . Take that kid for example. Or the utterly clichéd drag/gay neighbour. Look, that men is wearing a dress. Some prime comedic material there. Or what about.. but I'll stop here. Watch the movie and make your own I-hated-this list afterwards, so we can compare.

    2/10

    P.S. Oh I almost forgot. If you need to move furniture around the house, please call Keanu Reeves. This guy can lift a dishwasher (together with bunch of other things) with one hand while climbing through a first-story window. And he can sing, too. He really is The One.
  • Hotoil8 February 2001
    I have never seen the original 1968 version of "Sweet November", but I have a hunch it was better than this. It had to be. The 2001 update starring Keanu Reeves and Charlize Theron is downright awful! It is about a woman who invites a new man to live with her every month and introduces them to a radical new style of living (don't worry, it's not too radical that mainstream audiences won't find it 'cute'). All of a sudden, one November she welcomes in Keanu and, surprise, she falls in love with him and doesn't want to let him go! Now a twist in the story develops but you probably already know if from the television trailers that made it a point to advertise only the end of the film.

    Even if you find the set-up interesting, it's hard to find the execution of it all more than contrived. The performances are less than convincing and Charlize doesn't exactly sizzle with Reeves. Definitely one of the more forgettable films of the year.
An error has occured. Please try again.