Add a Review

  • This movie is awesome! My mom taped it off the TV when I was about 2 years old and I started watching it when I was 4 and have loved it ever since! It is one of the funniest Christmas specials I have ever seen. I mean, who doesn't love that scene were Miss Piggy was coming up the steps and slips and all the characters yelled "Careful of the icy patch!" :D

    That being said, I have read numerous comments on amazon.com that the new version that was on video and DVD has been cut. So needless to say, I think I will stick to my taped copy, even with the old Toys "R" Us commercials on it.

    It is especially wonderful to see Mr. Jim Henson make an appearance at the end of it. I miss him so much! I mean if you watch the new movies and videos that the Muppets are in, you will notice Kermit's voice is different.

    Anyways, I believe everyone should watch this wonderful holiday classic, but if you are thinking of buying it on DVD or video, DON'T! Stick to your taped-off-the-TV copy if you have one.
  • picklesandcreamca13 November 2002
    10/10
    Awesome
    It is not Christmas without this movie, i just wish the full version could be found. I have two different versions one I bought, the other taped. The one I bought has an extra scene that the taped doesn't have, but the taped one has an extra scene that the video doesn't. I LOVE THIS MOVIE. I can watch it all year. We need a little Christmas, right this very minute....
  • I remember seeing this special when I was younger and I recently acquired the video. I've watched it a few times already. It's so cute and involves all the muppet characters (including fraggles and Sesame Street characters). My favourite parts are when the turkey tries to 'woo' Camilla and when the Swedish Chef tries to cook Big Bird. It's very amusing. And of course, Miss Piggy must make a grand entrance! I highly recommend this movie if you are in a giddy or childish mood. Every child I know enjoys this video.
  • I love Sesame Street and The Muppets, and I love this special. It is still among the best work the Muppet and Sesame Street clan have done, and is a must for the Christmas season. And I do concur, like Scrooge, the first two Home Alones, Muppet Christmas Carol, Miracle on 34th Street(the original) and It's a Wonderful Life, Christmas is incomplete without A Muppet Family Christmas. The story is heart warming, and the writing is always witty and funny as well as being accessible to children and adults. The production values, from the costume and set design to the photography, are splendid, and the festive tunes are delightful and not only lift the spirits but make you want to sing along, both of which is exactly what they should do. The characters are cute and engaging and serve a purpose to the story, while the acting and voice work is spot on. All in all, essential for "the most wonderful time of the year". 10/10 Bethany Cox
  • Having seen this for the first time as a child, and subsequently grown up watching it several more times, A Muppet Family Christmas has become my favorite Christmas TV special.

    There is a lot of charm and joy to be found in this 40-odd minute show. Muppet fans will truly appreciate this, if for no other reason than the mass gathering of literally every single Muppet Show, Sesame Street and Fraggle Rock character, and a cameo appearance by the late Jim Henson himself, surveying his creations as they celebrate the season. Even for those who aren't Muppet fans but suffer from Christmas fever, this should prove enjoyable, with many heart-warming sequences and several Christmas songs performed.

    A Muppet Family Christmas contains it's share of the usual Muppet moments of charm and wit, but it succeeds most by simply being a feel-good holiday special. It is the perfect show for the season.
  • A Muppet Family Christmas is as wonderful as Christmas specials can get: it's got heart-warming imagery and characters whom celebrate the timeless traditions of Christmas together. Kermit the Frog, Fozzie Bear, Miss Piggy, Gonzo the Great and company all tag along to Fozzie's mother's house for Christmas eve. Along the way, the Sesame Street Muppets come along to join this gorgeous party and its charm is virtually bursting at the seams. And heck, even the Fraggles from Fraggle Rock join the party; this whole special is Henson-filled happiness through and through.

    From the mind of a man who knew no limits to his imagination, Jim Henson gave us entertainment comparable to Walt Disney himself. Even though Henson's gone, he still makes millions of people happy thanks to his Muppets. A Muppet Family Christmas is entertainment that just makes you feel incredibly happy: and that's how good Christmas specials should make you feel in the end.
  • SnoopyStyle14 December 2017
    Fozzie Bear drives the gang thru the snow for a surprise Christmas visit to his mom. Unbeknownst to him, she's flying to Malibu, California for the holidays and has rented the home to Doc and his dog Sprocket. She stays to host the growing group of visitors. They watch home films of Muppet Babies. The Sesame Street gang drops by. Kermit and his nephew Robin discover Fraggle Rock. Miss Piggy makes a grand entrance.

    There is so much Jim Henson goodness in this one hour TV special. They've brought together so many of his children TV work. There are traditional songs and some reworked ones. It's simple muppet joy and there is something fun about the childhood simplicity.
  • This is probably my favorite Christmas special of all time, and I never even saw it as a kid. I have a weakness for the Muppets, and this special literally just hits you with all the muppety goodness you could ever ask for. The crossovers with Sesame Street and Fraggle Rock are so well done, and the little relationships they build with the characters (Oscar and Rizzo, Big Bird and Swedish Chef, Animal and Cookie Monster, Kermit and Doc) are just so sweet and funny and incredibly heartwarming. That's the best word to sum the whole thing up- heartwarming. The music is wonderful, the jokes are actually kind of hilarious (the scene with Fozzie and the Snowman is INCREDIBLE), and it's just a lot of fun. My favorite bit in the whole thing has got to be the scene with Ernie and Bert and Doc ("where we're from, this is small talk), and the whole plot line with Miss Piggy trying to get to the farmhouse and her big entrance at the end is so CLASSIC Piggy, and that cameo at the end has me in tears every single time. I can't ever not watch this special, as it's the biggest and best crossover the Jim Henson Company ever did, and it's just DRIPPING in Christmas magic. I absolutely love this special, and I highly recommend it. 9.5/10
  • This is one of the greatest Christmas specials ever made! It's so magical because it's one of the very few times we get to see characters from The Muppet Show, Sesame Street and Fraggle Rock come together. I love watching this every year at Christmas time and sometimes I enjoy watching it not at Christmas time. I love watching it because this is something that could not be made today because the Muppets are now owned by Disney and even if it was made today it wouldn't be as good because most of these characters have new puppeteers and voice actors that aren't as good. I highly recommend watching this if you can. It's a very special Muppet Christmas special. I think I like it better than A Charlie Brown Christmas even though it doesn't hold up as well.
  • I first saw this on Nickeleon(the old school one from the early 90s) during the holidays.

    I really liked this one, because it has a lot of your favorite Muppets all gathered up for Christmas at Fozzie's mother's farmhouse, who didn't expected her own son to bring company over.

    While Doc(from Fraggle Rock) was expected to have a quiet Christmas, but finds the farmhouse to be packed with Muppets. And to make it more interesting the entire Sesame Street Muppet gang came all the way from new york to celebrate with them.

    And not to mention the 5 main Fraggles from Fraggle Rock, who know little about Christmas also decide to join the fun. With these many Muppets all under on roof, you'll be sure to expect one enjoyable Christmas TV movie.

    With some Chirstmas Carols, and jokes. I'm sure any Muppet Fan will be pleased with this TV special. The cool thing is this was made when Jim was still around. He even made a cameo at the end just cause it's the holidays. I re watched this off of the recent DVD release which had a few minutes cut out of it. Cause I remember some extended scenes that were included in the TV version.

    Hopefully one day there'll be an uncut DVD of this fine Christmas program. If Jim were still alive, he'd be sure that this TV movie will remain uncut for everyone to enjoy.
  • Jerome "Doc" Christian (Gerry Parkes) rents a home from Fozzy's mom, only to find that the house has been taken over by the Muppets! Interestingly, Gerry Parkes also plays "Doc" in both "Boondock Saints" movies... coincidence? But, that is just an aside.

    This film is pretty much for anyone who grew up with the Muppets, which should be almost everyone. The regular Muppets are here, the Fraggles show up (briefly), the Sesame Street clan is here, and even the Muppet Babies are around for a moment. Few characters are left out. One missing is Telly, I guess, but that could be worse. And this is before the Elmo craze, so although Elmo appears, it is only in the background and it was tolerable.

    The better Mupper Christmas film, by far, is "Muppet Christmas Carol", but if you love them so much you need two movies, this would be Mupper film number two. (Jim Henson's Otter Jug Band Christmas is not even worth picking up.)
  • hellraiser710 December 2018
    This is an honorable mention of favorite Christmas films/specials; I also feel is an under the radar gem as it's became somewhat lost for a long time. This special is one of my favorite crossovers of all time in my book, it was long before the crossovers you've seen on the DC shows "Arrow", "Super Girl", "The Flash". The Marvel show "The Defenders" and even the movie "Avengers Infinity War".

    This special does have a special place in my heart as it's another childhood relic; yeah, I'm a Muppet fan as well as fan of Jim Henson. I mainly got into it from the 80's cartoon shows "Muppet Babies" and "Fraggle Rock" which of course lead me to the Muppets. This was also the very first time I got to see the Muppets and I'll admit it really blew me away. I loved watching this special then and as an adult I still love watching it now.

    This special really has no story or plotline, by its nature it a variety show special which feels right since "The Muppet Show" is a variety sketch comedy anyway. It's was just so much fun to see all the characters from Jim Henson's beloved show all coming together. You have to understand this was a time before Crossovers became commonplace as they are now, when I saw this when I was a kid it blew me away it really was unexpected, it really was like a dream come true when I saw not just all the Muppet characters under one roof, but the characters from "Sesame Street" and even "Fraggle Rock". Imagine all the characters in Marvel or DC spending Christmas together under one roof, wouldn't that be something.

    There are a few new puppet characters like Fozzie's mom whom is obviously a slight homage to Vicki Lawrence's character Mama from "The Carol Burnett Show" and "Mama's Family" as she's got that look and just a bit of the mannerism. It's touching and funny how loving she is but also how she is struggling to fit everyone in to spend the night. Even I'm wondering how everyone will find a space to sleep as the populous is collage sized.

    Another character a Jiving Turkey whom only really has a few scenes but there funny as he's sort of a slick con artist just looking to have a good time. My favorite one is with the Sweetish Chief character whom is trying to cook him up, but the Jiving Turkey cooks up a sly scheme to get himself out of the pot.

    And last is the Snowman, really like the back and forth both of them have as both are equally bad jokesters, though one funny scene is seeing him coming in to get away from the blizzard because he's so cold, I always found that funny and strange since he's a snowman so cold shouldn't affect him, let alone how the heck heat isn't either.

    But of course, there is everyone else whom are all themselves and most if not all of them due to time constraints (if there was a character or two missed sorry) have good and memorable scenes as well as good musical numbers.

    I'll just say a few of my favorite senses which by their nature are sketches as it's just hard to decide as there is not one bad one in my book. One is the Christmas play Burt and Errnie put on a Christmas Pageant which is their version of the "Night Before Christmas" poem, I'm not going to say anything else about it as it's something you must see yourself, but the more the pageant goes on the funnier it gets.

    The second scene is with Big Bird and the Sweetish Chief which I thought was really touching as both interacted nicely.

    Third is seeing the old film reel with the Muppets as babies and their all singing a Christmas song. I thought that was really cool somewhat of a nod toward the 80's cartoon "Muppet Babies" but it was a nice moment as it reminds us how we look back on our own Christmas memories and realize despite how much is different, things are still the same.

    One of the last highlights is a cameo by Jim Henson himself which made this all the sweeter, though also a little sad as this special is one of the last things he's done before he passed away which was three years later. But seeing him was a nice touch showing how much this man truly accomplished and has given us which to this day like the holiday lives on.

    So, if you're a fan of the Christmas specials or a fan of the Muppets and Jim Henson's work this special is a real Christmas treat.

    Rating: 4 stars
  • "A Muppet Family Christmas" is just that sort of old-fashioned TV special that plays on all of the best aspects of Christmas. Simply out, it's a gathering of family, near and extended, in one place for the occasion. It's just that in this case it's the colliding worlds of the Muppets, Sesame Street and Fraggle Rock. The sight of these characters interacting is something in its own right, but the legal clearances required make it all the more remarkable. The stars really aligned for this.

    All of the songs in this special are standards - those well-worn tunes that FM radio play right into the ground on an annual basis. But here, they're performed with a refreshing heart and a new sheen. Big Bird and Swedish Chef share (honest to god), the greatest duet. And by the time this draws to a close with an appearance from the late Jim Henson, the pitch perfect sentiment is enough to leave you in tears. Or at the very least, shot up with warmth and fuzziness. I smiled so widely it hurt.

    I love this special.

    10/10
  • "A Muppet Family Christmas" is not only the greatest Muppet Christmas TV special ever made, but it is also the greatest Muppet TV special bar none. Some may even consider it the greatest Christmas TV special ever made.

    "A Muppet Family Christmas" is so delightful to watch that you may not find yourself caring that the special really doesn't have a plot. Most of the adult Muppets (i.e. the ones from "The Muppet Show" (1976-1981)) accompany Fozzie Bear to his mother's country house, and they spend the rest of the special settling in and getting ready for Christmas.

    That's pretty much the extent of the story. What makes this special . . . well . . . special is when more Muppets appear and crowd the house. First, there are most of the "Sesame Street" Muppets who come a-caroling, only to later make themselves at home.

    Later, the Fraggles from "Fraggle Rock" appear below Ma Bear's house. Oh yeah, and those Muppet fans who are relatively unfamiliar with "Fraggle Rock" may not notice that the human who intended to rent Ma Bear's house for the holiday is none other than Doc (Gerard Parkes), who brought his dog Sprocket with him.

    Muppet fans who are familiar with all three Muppet universes (or at least two) will find some surprising poignancy in these different characters interacting. I especially treasured scenes like Bert & Ernie engaging in "small talk" with Doc, or the Swedish Chef trying in vain to cook Big Bird only to reconsider after receiving a special gift. I also laughed when Rowlf and Sprocket speaking "dog".

    To fully enjoy this special, it helps if you know most of the Muppet characters beforehand, which is a prerequisite almost all children of the 1970's and 1980's fulfilled effortlessly. I imagine children born after 1990 will know the "Sesame Street" characters, but not the others as much. Undoubtedly, they will wonder why Elmo didn't get more screen time.

    "A Muppet Family Christmas" was actually one of Jim Henson's favorite specials on which he worked, and was even described by Henson biographer Brian Jay Jones as "one of (Henson's) finest, and most under-appreciated, productions". It's under-appreciated for a good reason: it has rarely been seen on TV in years, and is out of print on VHS and DVD.

    Also because of music royalty issues, and because the "Muppet Show" Muppets are owned by Disney, the "Sesame Street" Muppets are owned by Sesame Workshop, and "Fraggle Rock" is owned by HIT Entertainment, the best chances of seeing this special are unfortunately by spending $50+ on a DVD copy on eBay or Amazon.

    A special like this one, which Muppet fans love and some have even worn out their old VHS copy they taped from TV, deserves to be seen perennially, and obtaining a copy of it should not be difficult. In fact, there is a Facebook group dedicated to getting the special the DVD release it deserves, and the page is already "liked" by several cult followers (Campaign for Eventual "Muppet Family Christmas" DVD Release).

    This special is very much like the holiday season: craziness and chaos abound, but it is nothing that good company, song, and the comfort of love and companionship can't make worthwhile. Just like the holiday season is one to which people look forward, they may have to wait longer to own a copy of this movie. However, if you find yourself lucky enough to get your hands on an uncut copy, consider yourself lucky.
  • CuriosityKilledShawn13 December 2013
    The Muppet gang are off to Fozzie's mother's house in the country for Christmas, she plans on going to Malibu and has already rented the house to Doc and Sprocket from Fraggle Rock, when Fozzie and his pals show up they decide to make it work. Meanwhile, Miss Piggy has been caught in a huge snowstorm and can't make it. I liked the crossover between the Muppets and Fraggle Rock but then the Sesame Street gang turn up too, and they find an old film reel of them as babies, so we get a live action Muppet Babies bit too, and then Kermit and Robin discover an actual Fraggle Hole in the basement and venture in for the first ever meeting of Muppet and Fraggle. Eventually Piggy arrives, as does Santa.

    There's so much going on in this Xmas Special, it's 48 minutes long but packs in loads into the running time and is never boring for a single second. The Swedish Chef even considers cooking Big Bird for Christmas Dinner.

    I think I'll make this part of my annual tradition now. It's so much better than that lame movie with Jason Segel, and just as good as A Muppet Christmas Carol.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    This film is every Muppet fan's dream come true! A film where all of Jim Henson's Muppets are gathered together at the same time, interacting with each other! You have the gang from "The Muppet Show," "Sesame Street," "Fraggle Rock," and even a bit of "Muppet Babies." Not only that, but this is a great Christmas special! Like I said in my review of "Christmas Eve on Sesame Street," the Muppets really know how to shine the wonder and the spirit of Christmas. I love that this special isn't complicated, it's very simple. The Muppets all gather together to celebrate Christmas. They don't need to overdo anything; there are no bright lights or over-the-top musical numbers (with the exception of "Jingle Bell Rock," but I really enjoy that one), there's no superficial characters, plots, themes, or messages here. Many bad, modern day Christmas specials try to force charm and magic on us. It's specials like this that are so very simple and original that create their own charm and magic. We totally feel the spirit of Christmas because of their pacing and simpleness.

    I do have two problems with the movie. They're not huge problems, but they're more than nit-picks to me. First of all, while we do see the "Fraggle Rock" characters, we don't see them for very long. The main fraggles really have only one scene, and they only share it with Kermit and Robin. They are there, and they interact with other Muppet characters, but I was disappointed they didn't interact with everyone else for the rest of the movie. Secondly, I find Doc annoying in this film. Again, I've only seen a couple episodes of "Fraggle Rock," and Doc wasn't very memorable. But here, he's annoying. Between his whining about not spending the holiday like he wanted to and the actor's delivery of his lines, I not phased by the character at all.

    Despite that, though, I still love this great Christmas special! You still see your favorite Muppet characters, you may hear your favorite traditional Christmas songs, and you even see a guest appearance by Muppets creator Jim Henson himself at the end! This goes back to what I said in my review of "The Muppets Take Manhattan." Jim Henson wanted all his Muppet characters to join together as a large family. If you love the Muppets, if you love Christmas, or if you love both, you'll really love this great special! BOOYIKA!
  • Warning: Spoilers
    OK, it's very likely you're sitting down already. Which is a good thing. This TV Special has got the Muppets. With the Sesame Street Gang. And the Fraggles. Oh, and the Muppet Babies. Plus a cameo from Jim Henson.

    I need to write more? Oh… If I must.

    Fozzy and the guys descend on his mothers house for Christmas. This comes as a surprise to Ma, who has rented out the house to visiting Doc and Sprocket and is herself heading off for a Christmas spent surfing. Still, never mind.

    This special feels more like a prolonged episode of the Muppet Show than any other Muppet Christmas movie. Or, rather, it feels more like scenes from the collected Muppet Studio family, with a slightly odd interlude where Kermit and Robin discover the Fraggles who proceeded to gift them with a song and a yellow stone. It made sense at the time… Actually, no it didn't. But it was a pretty catchy tune.

    One of the more conspicuous things here is just how similar the different characters from the different franchisees sound. Now if you're me you find this cute and endearing, and frankly it's something you get used to watching the Muppets. Still, it is noticeable… Highlights are the annual 'Carol Sing', with plenty of stand out bits, especially Robin and Kermit singing 'It's in Every One of Us', a song from a previous Christmas album featuring John Denver and which is a personal favourite of mine. Also, I assume, of Jim Henson as it was sung during his memorial service only three years after this special was shot. Another lovely moment comes when Bert and Ernie, who have confused Doc by commenting on the first letter he uses during each reply with line's like "Yes? Yes is a Y letter". The pair obviously understand his confusion and explain why first letters hold so much attraction to them. "This is small talk where we're from." It's hard to describe why this holiday special is one of the few I've watched to actually deserve that moniker. The Muppets manage to pull off sentiment without ever being to sentimental. They are warm and happy and loving without ever feeling the need to wink at the audience due to embarrassment. When they sing about family it doesn't feel like schmaltz, because you feel that they are a family and, more than that, they want you to be part of that family.

    This special, with it's oddness, kooky moments and shear stupidity (Seriously, Two Headed Monster as Father Christmas!? As Sam asked 'Is nothing sacred?') is one that everyone in your family will be able to enjoy. I recommend it heartily.
  • Absolutely essential Christmas offering. I watched this for the first time in at least 14 years, and yet I recalled every scene. It was such a charming experience to sit through this again. Fozzie and the Muppets head to his grandmother's house for Christmas. Before you know it, the Sesame Street gang and the Fraggles show up. What might have been an overcrowded crossover works due to the hilarious sketches. The scenes between the Turkey and the Swedish Chef are perfect examples of the Muppets' weird and rowdy wit. Common themes such as friendship and family are covered, but The Muppets always have a way of making these sweet, rather than sickly.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    When I was 11, I first saw this special (on the VHS release that is). And that was back in 1999-2000. I couldn't stop watching this special! Then I acquired the DVD in 2001. Then I found out my mother taped it when it aired on Nickelodeon in 1992. I was shocked to find out that the DVDs that I had been watching all this time had been edited because the music rights had been only secured for television, and not for home video release. If only they could acquire the full rights to all the songs and re-release the original special that only aired in 1987 and 1988. How could they just think about money, rather than this priceless Christmas gem? ANYWAY, I love "Muppet Family Christmas." It features practically every Muppet known to man, from Kermit, Fozzie, Gonzo, Rowlf, Miss Piggy, Animal and the rest, to the cast of Sesame Street. Even Doc, Sprocket the dog, and the Fraggles make an appearance! Most of the Muppets in this special don't even exist anymore. Fozzie decides to surprise his mother at the farmhouse for Christmas, who was going to spend the holidays in Malibu. It's not only Fozzie who shows up, but all of the Muppets! Soon a blizzard hits. All the Muppets are safe and warm (and definitely crowded) inside the farmhouse except for Miss Piggy, who has been doing last minute shopping, and hasn't gotten there yet, and Kermit had been worried sick. But Doc decides to go out in the blizzard and search for her. Then Kermit and Robin discover a Fraggle hole in the basement, and it leads them into Fraggle Rock, and they meet some Fraggles. The Fraggles tell them about their Christmases, how they've been exchanging a Fraggle Pebble 37 times. They give it to Kermit, who gives it to Robin, (who later gives it to Grover.) Miss Piggy finally arrives, and makes her entrance (and slips on the icy patch, which had been a running gag throughout the whole show) And the Muppets sing a medley of carols, which sums up the holiday goodness of this wonderful special.

    I am lucky that my mother taped this, probably the last time it ever aired on TV during the holidays. Had I not watched that tape, I would be watching the edited version! All the edits still do make the show make sense, except for one--when the Muppets are watching home movies of their very first Christmas together, (look out for a special live-action Muppet Babies cameo,) it shows them singing Santa Clause is coming to Town, and right after, Animal bursts through the screen. Yet in the edited version, it cuts right to Animal bursting through the screen, and Doc saying "boy, that was fun!" How could it be fun if it was like, two seconds??? LOL.

    Fortunately, if you're lucky, you will have an old VHS tape with the original airing (or the 1989 "almost uncut" edit.) Back in the wonderful Jim Henson era of the Muppets. He even makes a cameo appearance!
  • drew_vinson4 December 2006
    This is def the best Christmas movie of all time. I watch it many times each December and a few years back even got the DVD. I was heart broken though to find out that although there are a few small scenes on the DVD that weren't in the TV version that I have taped the DVD actually cut on 2 whole songs... and good songs at that!

    Whoever owns the rights to this movie HAS to release it on DVD again with all the scenes in it.

    I've toyed around with the idea of loading the whole movie onto my macbook and edit together my own master version but I simply don't have the time :(
  • dewwy32127 November 2006
    10/10
    Great
    Warning: Spoilers
    This like many shows and movies brings back many memories of Christmas when I was a kid. This special aired in 87 when I was 5 and I am now 24, and to this day I still love this xmas special. Its always nice to remember xmas's from years ago just by watching a show or a movie. The first time I watched this Im pretty sure was the first time it aired on TV, my sister and I watched it Dec 24th, and i remember for at least a few years it aired on Dec 24th, and I remember it well when it didn't come on the next Dec24th, and thats been at least 15 years...Though it did come on many times it was never the same, it would come on early in the month, it would b edited to rat sh!t, just like this DVD release, I would never buy it cause it wouldn't be the same, but if your someone who can deal with about 10mins of edits, then buy it, cause its still a great xmas special..Heres a few of the edits, Most if not all the musical numbers, which do come on TV, I guess the musical #'s are copyrighted for TV, Fozzie bear's and the snowman telling jokes, Miss piggy falling on the steps, Most of the muppet babies, and much more...Though I have found this on the internet, with all of it intact, but it looks like someone taped it from years ago and put it on the internet for download...Though its not the same as I was a kid, every time I watch on my computer it brings back floods of great memories, and to me thats more important.
  • I just wish they'd re-release this on DVD. Can only find originals and copies on ebay for over $45. My copy on VHS is good but you just don't get the clarity that you see on DVD. I love the fact that Muppets meet the Sesame Street gang. Have watched this every season since my kids were toddlers and that was over 20 years ago. How does the public change the marketing of movies. Or is this a Jim Henson glitch? Wish I could find out. Just not ready to spend the big bucks on ebay. The story line is a blizzard on Fozzie's farm and Miss Piggy is on her way to the festivities. It's just comical to see the "cook" see the size of Big Bird and think "how do I roast That". Just an all round great holiday film.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    I love all the muppets, be they the fraggles, live on Seame Street or be a part of The Muppet Show. To me this show is it. The ultimate christmas gift for any Henson fan. Seeing all the Muppets together and singing the Christmas songs is one of the greatest holiday tv traditions. Right up there with "It's a Wonderful Life" on Christmas Eve. **SPOILER** The very end with Jim Henson in the kitchen always makes me cry. You can see how proud he is of what he has created. It leaves one to wonder what he would have come up with if he had lived longer.

    This is a TV holiday tradition. Watch it and enjoy the magic of the muppets and Christmas.

    Also watch The Muppet's Christmas Caroll. Muppets and Christmas, what more could a girl need?
  • laurakay7623 November 2001
    Warning: Spoilers
    I've seen this about a dozen times; I watch it at least twice every holiday. It's delightful. The entire Muppet ensemble turns up at Fozzie's mother's house for Christmas Eve -- and I DO mean the entire ensemble! They come from the Muppet Show, Sesame Street, and Fraggle Rock to celebrate the joys of the season. Among the highlights are the Sesame Street Christmas pageant, a journey down into Fraggle Rock, the Swedish Chef's attempts to cook a certain bird for dinner, and the unnerving (for poor Kermit) race against a deadly blizzard to find Miss Piggy. All throughout the celebrations, the Muppets treat us to a medley of favorite holiday songs.

    Both my husband and I have been Muppet fans since we were quite young children, so we always enjoy this little trip down memory lane. There's one particular reason that this video holds a special place in our holiday collection, however, and that comes at the very end. Mr. Jim Henson steps out from behind the scenes to take a peek at the Muppets sharing Christmas with one another, and darn if I can't keep tears out of my eyes when I catch sight of his dear face. This is a splendid and entertaining show for the kids to watch, but for those of us who grew up on the Muppets, it's all the more to be cherished for its sentimental value.
  • My favorite parts are when The Swedish Chef tries to cook Big Bird, Fozzie tries to fine everyone a place to sleep, and Bert and Ernie put on a Christmas pageant in this great Christmas special that includes every Muppet Jim Henson had created at the time. Jim Henson himself appears at the end, and even Elmo can be seen in the background, although he doesn't have any lines. There are several Christmas songs sung by the cast, that take up most of the time in this story, but this is a great addition to anyone who is a fan of the Muppet Show, Sesame Street, or Fraggle Rock.
An error has occured. Please try again.