Add a Review

  • cyberbat8 September 2001
    As a long time lbt fan (14 years now) I know I am slightly biased but none the less I think this movie is great!

    Now even though I am a fan, I'm not blind. I know why many people may dislike the rest of the sequels. They may seem rather corny and irritating. But this movie is different.

    One of the things that sets this apart from the other sequels is that the dialogue is not a childish as the others. And there are a few funny quotes thrown in as well.

    such as "I dislike violence' 'then why did you hit me?"

    It seems as if the creaters of this series are finally realising that just because it is a children's series does not mean all the things have to be utterly childish. There are a few scenes in this movie where references are made to later films. This is a good thing.

    Another good point is that there are 2 mysteries in the movie. The first is why Petrie's uncle Tyranno is hated by the others and the other is why is up with the strange rainbow faces.

    Even though I know what would happen, it was still interesting.

    Focusing of kidnapping instead of natural disasters (which they are running out of ) this sets it's self apart from the others.

    a solid 8/10

    and kids (regardless of age) will love it :) even those who are as old as me (I'm 20)
  • I remembered watching this a few years ago as a six year old child in the early 2000s when it first came out and I actually liked it. Which is why I think that this surpasses both "The Time of the Great Giving" and "The Secret of Saurus Rock" as the best of the series.

    Yes, the story's a little episodic filled with forgettable songs and the fact that it's too short, but it doesn't matter.

    The animation is very nice to look at and the editing is very decent. The characters are well-developed and the pacing moves along very nicely. I know it's weird, but I actually liked the villains. Rinkus and Sierra were great, but I think that Pterano steals the show. Littlefoot was tolerable as the main protagonist as is the two rainbowfaces.

    The strongest aspect is the excellent voice acting and the hilarious dialog. I like Sierra's "No, no, no, jeb, jeb, jeb, it's driving me nuts nuts nuts!" and the rest of the quotes in this movie. The voice acting, like I said before, is very excellent with Michael York stealing the show for portraying Pterano very well.

    Overall, not excellent, but is arguably the best in the series and it's definitely worth watching!
  • Littlefoot observes a "stone of cold fire" fall into the Mysterious Beyond but everyone thinks he imagines it, apart from Petrie's uncle, Pterano.

    This film has a serious message about how we should take responsibility for our actions. It also explains that goodness can be found even in a person who seems bad.

    Pterano and his henchmen are entertaining new villains, especially Pterano. He basks in his assumed greatness and demonstrates a range of emotions. He is excellently voiced by Michael York. Two other new characters are a pair of "rainbow faces" who encourage Littlefoot in his quest for knowledge. They are mysterious right up to the surprise ending which I won't give away.

    The youngsters are as cute as ever, especially Ducky and Petrie, who are given more to do than normal. The best song is sung by Pterano. The animation isn't top notch but that is only to be expected from a straight to video release. It can be enjoyed by adults. (I'm 23)

    Rating 9/10
  • Mightyzebra16 October 2007
    A lot of LBT's are childish nonsense, even good ones such as LBT 2 and LBT 3. However, this one actually deals with a few adult issues, which is extraordinarily strange for a LBT. Of course, it deals with child issues as well, in case you didn't realise. This film also has Michael York as a new "flier" called Pterano.

    This film also has pleasant songs, good humour and a gripping adventure so it should be good for any LBT fan - or most other people as well! Yet another thing about this film that sets it apart is that it has different animation from any other LBT film, before and after.

    The plot goes like this: Littlefoot wakes up in the middle of the night after some wanderers have come to the valley and sees an amazing light fall onto a mountain nearby. No-one really believes Littlefoot when he tells many dinosaurs about it, but he is determined to go out and find it. Meanwhile, Petrie's uncle has suddenly appeared from crashing onto a tree branch...

    So enjoy this different, good quality sequel, "Land Before Time: The Stone Of Cold Fire"! :-)
  • Warning: Spoilers
    Tied for 2nd best with the the 6th episode. Part 7 is really cool! (SPOILER) Littlefoot sees a comet and the next day, two strange Rainbowfaces claim it's a "Stone of Cold Fire". Cera's dad tells them to shut up, but instead they sing a song about what's "Beyond the Mysterious Beyond". One day, Littlefoot and friends meet Petrie's uncle Pterano, who is accompanied by flyers Rincus(Rhamphorincus) and Sierra(Cierradactylus). Pterano is said to have been sent away by the grown ups. Littlefoot's grandparents are alerted about uncle P. Then, one night, Ducky is kidnapped by the flyers. The next day, the kids are told that Pterano led some of the grownups(after the great earthquake of part 1) into danger and just flew away. The grownups keep arguing, so the gang goes after Ducky and finds her in a cave. Then, they meet the rainbowfaces, who show them a kind of primitive elevator to the top of the mountain where the Stone of CF landed. They get the stone, but the flyers get there too. Suddenly, the mountain erupts and Ducky tumbles to the peak's edge. Pterano remembers a duckbill who fell off a cliff was part of his squad. He redeems himself by catching Ducky. Petries mom and a Quetzalcoatlus help them out. The rainbowfaces have a cool ending revealing that they are aliens.
  • When I first saw this sequel two years ago, I thought it was merely okay. Recently I have been on an endeavour to re watch all of the sequels to see whether my initial opinion of them had changed. In some cases no, but this was one of those cases when it was better than I thought. I did remark in my "Time of the Great Giving" review last year saying that was the best of the sequels, but now even with its problems, this one is the one I enjoyed most. Of course it is not as good as the stunning original, which is one of my favourite movies of all time, but it is an above average sequel. It is too short though, and the story structure is a little episodic and the songs on the limp side, but the film skips along nicely, helped by some nice animation and some funny dialogue. Actually along with "Great Valley Adventure" this is the sequel with the funniest dialogue, such as Sierra's "no no no yep yep yep, is driving me nuts nuts nuts!". The villains I thought were interesting here, Pterrano is a different sort of villain, not menacing like Hexxus or the Horned King but charming and smooth-talking. Michael York voiced him perfectly, in fact the voice acting was top notch here. All in all, this is a good sequel, with its problems yes, but kids are more likely to overlook any of the franchise's flaws and just lap up the sense of fun the franchise in general has. 7/10 Bethany Cox
  • rossrobinson16 September 2003
    10/10
    TLBT 7
    I remember this one as this was the first to be releaed in the 2000's. This movie was released in 2000. This 7th Land before time begins when Littlefoot witnesses that he saw a flying rock in the night. Petrie's uncle gets intrested with the news about Littlefoot's story as he travels with his friends to find where the stone of cold fire landed.
  • I must admit that this was a little weird. LBT takes on an alien adventure! OMG! Okay, it is not bad, just not what I expected when I put it on.

    I liked that more of our beloved gang's members did more in this LBT sequel. Petrie learning about his uncle was the best in that aspect of the movie. There are also some good action scenes and scares.

    The dialogue is also more mature in this one and I appreciate that. When they talk about "the flying rock" and what it could be, I actually found it engaging, because these mysterious and fairly weird creatures began talking about what is out there (but they could have made a better name than "rainbow faces"). They had a moment when they made my jaw drop.

    Pteranno and his goons are actually really funny and well voiced (Pteranno beautifully by Michael York) and get some great lines and good development throughout the movie.

    The only real disappointment in this movie is a bunch of forgettable songs. As a whole I do not like the musical aspect of the LBT sequels, but it kind of worked in LBT VI: THe Lone Dinosaur.

    A different take on these many sequels and worth showing to your kids (or watch it if you will give it a chance).
  • Warning: Spoilers
    The Land Before Time VII: The Stone Of Cold Fire is my personal favourite of the Land Before Time series (along with the original of course). I have always enjoyed and still enjoy everything about it, from the animation to the music to the storyline to the new and recurring characters. The main storyline itself gives an almost science-fictiony vibe to it (I'm a major sci-fi fan) and focuses more on Petrie. It all begins when a group of newcomers visit the valley and that night Littlefoot sees a strange blue meteor but no one believes him about it. That is, except for Petrie's uncle Pterano, Pterano's travel companions (I use the term loosely) Sierra and Rinkus, and the Rainbow Faces (whom I assume to be Troodons). I won't spoil the ending but here's what I do have to say: 10 stars easily. The songs are Beyond The Mysterious Beyond, Good Inside, and Very Important Creature, which also happen to be my top three songs in the series. As for the new characters: Pterano, Sierra, Rinkus, and the Rainbow Faces, Sierra and Rinkus are pretty funny but I prefer Pterano and the Rainbow Faces. While Sierra and Rinkus are straight-up villains, Pterano is more complex and even a bit tragic. The Rainbow Faces (not sure if they're a couple or siblings) are also very fascinating and their song is simply haunting. Plus, let's just say that they're "not of this world", which is a very fascinating concept in and of itself. As previously mentioned, I like that Petrie gets a chance to shine (as does Ducky in The Big Freeze) and the sci-fi tone. Highly recommended for fans of the series.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    Some people are just dumb enough to say that movie is crap without actually watching it. When I was 11 I saw the first sequel o LBT The Great valley adventure,and found it far not as good as the first movie, in fact I didn't actually like it, maybe just a bit.Then I didn't see LBT anywhere until 2007, when I got unlimited internet connection and finally got a chance to know about all things I missed during my childhood, I found one of LBT songs from LBT 13 and found it very cute, because of Petrie's singing there.I was impressed by amount of these movies, I thought they should be more successful than 2-nd movie of there are so much of them and decided to download all movies. Well I just made myself watch Great valley adventure, to so to say remember LBT characters and storyline. Then LBT 3 and it was a bit better, but still drawn worse than first movie and worse overall of course.so I watched all sequels 4-6 and got used to it's stile-not amazing, but good to remember childhood.But when I watched The Stone of Cold Fire, I felt something changed, strong dialogues, Great-drawn Amazing storyline, They DON'T "meet new friends" and other nonsense some of LBT haters say they only met 3 villains and 2 friendly aliens, researching the main characters doing miraculous things like teleporting and other mystic stuff, this whole movie is filled with mystery, and meanwhile it doesn't go far from the main storyline, This movie is totally different from previous 6 as a new Millennium it's quality is much better and continues improving with later sequels. I really enjoyed this movie ,and it's actually looking as the second movie of LBT deserving for Family rating, Everyone Young and old will most likely love it.2 of 3 songs in The Stone of CF are not childish, they are just great, every word is catching, maybe because adults sing them.Also a Science fiction storyline is extremely rare for childish cartoons and realistic once( reminds me show LOST where all begins realistic and them and then goes to science fiction with time traveling) and revealing aliens at the end just blew my mind! This movie has an excellent stile, especially Pterano's personality, and his voice(Michael York did great job), SOCF is also tougher than the other onces, and at the same time it brings good moralities, where can bad leadership bring to, and that some people who seem bad have heart too, they are just confused like Pterano. I'm also glad there were SciFi instead of magic, if This stone was magical it would ruin the whole LBT universe Every time I re-watch this movie I more realize how great it is, it isn't silly as any previous sequel.Also the soundtrack is amazing.

    Some people think it would rather better to make a series instead of movies, my question to you ARE YOU SICK?? You really think that low quality 20-min time limited episodes would do anything good?? Sooo in 2007 a lame cartoon series of LBT released, drawn with low quality, repeating songs, silly story lines, dialogues, can't say it is worse than The Great valley Adventure, but most of episodes a really not so good, they are just childish and not for the whole family to watch, just made for kids,and for Little kids.

    About other Sequels, I think The Stone of Cold fire made a new level for the sequels, made them not only for children(who definitely like them)but for the whole family again, almost as it was with the first movie, which is the best for all times, but if there were no sequels I'd rather live sadder, most of LBT sequels brought much happiness in my life, and NO other cartoon is even close to it's greatness.
  • b_yourself_alwayz21 October 2006
    Warning: Spoilers
    I just want to say that I think that third movie rocks! Some people might say that it is childish or boring, but I strongly disagree, they are the best movies ever, in my opinion that is. So what if they made 12 movies and the plots are predictable, kids love them and so do some adults and teenagers- like me. If anything, we should be amazed that not only did they managed to come up with that many plots to do 12 movies, only involving a couple of dinosaurs but they also had to make up all those different, not to mention catchy, songs for every single movie. Some people like a second childhood, with cute little dinosaurs and their adventures and songs. So, to sum it all up, I think that this movie and the others rock.

    PS. I am not quite sure if this contains spoilers, so I am just going to say it does.
  • Kochonskie13 December 2000
    Littlefoot witnesses a "Stone of Cold Fire"...The problem is at first no one believes him. The dino team set out on a quest for the stone. And Littlefoot learns about leadership. Meanwhile Petre's uncle wants the stone for other reasons.
  • The Land Before Time VII: The Stone of Cold Fire, the seventh installment in the Land Before Time series, boy I'm catching up after all these years of sequel after sequel. It's just crazy how many of these movies there are, right? But I'm not complaining, from what I was seeing in the ratings, I've been expecting trash when it came to these movies, but so far they've been enjoyable. The Stone of Cold Fire isn't my favorite of what I've seen so far, but I really did like it. The story is really keeping up very well and the journey with Littlefoot and his friends have been just great to watch. I really liked the family story in this one, how many kids have had that one relative that just disappointed them and they keep hoping that they'll come back, that's what I think made The Stone of Cold Fire a great story to relate too.

    One night, Littlefoot sees a "flying rock" falling from the sky and colliding with a mountain in the Smoking Mountain range. The flying rock's appearance differs very much from any Littlefoot has seen so far. When Littlefoot tells about what he has seen the next morning, most of the full-grown dinosaurs in the Great Valley, none of whom has seen the flying rock, disbelieve Littlefoot's story. However, two newcomers, the mysterious "Rainbow Faces", begin to speak eloquently of a "Stone of Cold Fire" possessing seemingly magical properties, and other wonders that might become known if the dinosaurs free themselves from limits and think "beyond the Mysterious Beyond". Littlefoot embraces this idea, his imagination having been stimulated by the ideas. However, Mr. Threehorn, being practical tells the Rainbow Faces how things work in the valley: first, a flying rock is a flying rock; second, fire can't be cold; and third, there's nothing beyond the Mysterious Beyond. Unknown to the others, Petrie's uncle Pterano has also heard. Being highly ambitious and deceitful, he makes plans to take possession of the stone and its supposed powers. Pterano and his two cronies, Rinkus and Sierra, confront Littlefoot and his friends and offer to help searching for the stone to prove its existence. Littlefoot refuses to search for the stone, feeling reluctance to trust Pterano. It is soon shown that no adult trusts Pterano, who once was expelled from the Herd on a charge of neglect. Following that, Pterano asks Petrie, who idolizes him, to obtain the information about the place where the meteor landed from Littlefoot. Ducky is surprised by Sierra while eavesdropping on Pterano, whereupon she is abducted by Pterano. The group sets out to save Ducky and recover the cold fire stone before Pterano and his gang does.

    The Land Before Time VII: The Stone of Cold Fire is a great story for those who know what it feels like to have disappointment, but I loved how it really picked up in the end and just had a great happy ending, even if it can be unrealistic compared to real life, but for the kid's sake, it's good to have that happy ending. I would definitely recommend this sequel, I really like these movies and hope the ratings kick up a bit and that people will be more open to these sequels. They're great family films, short, but always deliver a great story with Littlefoot and his friends.

    6/10
  • bubulac27 March 2021
    Excellent series! I do not understand the low ratings and reviews, they seem to be given by adults reviewing cartoons intended for kids. Have they consulted some kids before rating/reviewing? My guess is they haven't.

    My daughters (7 and 8) absolutely LOVED all of them, to the point where they were impersonating various characters, making lego dinosaurs and even dreaming about dinosaurs.

    I asked them to rate the movie and they both said 10/10 with a big grin.
  • jkennard-979727 May 2020
    5/10
    Good
    Like the original, a well crafted heatwarming tale. This storyline is full of morals and lessons from fanily, trust, democracy, greed, honour, teamwork, friendship and much more.

    The animation is traditional and simplistic with some innccuracies of depictions of species' features and some inaccuacies between Mesozoic and Cenozoic periods. However the dubbing is amazing with characters vocal patterns and use of language being correlative to the species presumed intelligence.

    Unlike the original this has several musical numbers which seem dubious in the context of the series. The songs seem to get marginally better throughout the series.

    A must watch for kids.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    Okay I'll admit something right now, this movie is really weird. Don't believe me? The motivations of the villains are to find a comet that fell on Threehorn Peak and use it's rumored power to take over the Great Valley. Oh and did I mention that we also have alien dinosaurs?! Yeah, like some of the other sequels, I know why some people don't like this movie but this movie gets weird enough to entertain me! The aliens and the villains are the best parts of this movie. Pterano is actually a pretty well-developed villain for a Land Before Time sequel and his 2 sidekicks are really funny! (Seriously, the gray one says the best line in any LBT sequel) As for the aliens, I just found the idea kind of amusing and I really liked their song. This is definitely one of the better sequels.
  • When is it gonna stop??? I dont care anymore!!!!! This is too sad. Never show this to your children,even a hippie in the 60's would get depressed after seeing this pile of c**p!
  • O_MAN159 December 2000
    My god please enough is enough this movie is so tired just drag it out to the middle of the road and put a bullet through it's head, I have to admit i liked the first one (i was 5 ok). I guess i should tell you a little bit about this movie. Our favorite longneck Dinosaur Littlefoot sees a comet or as he put's it The Stone of Cold Fire. Fly through the sky. when he tells the adults noone believs him so him and his band of young dino's go and look for it and along the way they they sing songs and meet new friends yada yada yada. i hope that the stone of cold fire is part of the Asteroid that killed the dinosaurs so BOOM!!!! no more land before time movies.