Series winners: Jack Dee (series 1), Mark Owen (series 2), Mark 'Bez' Berry (series 3), Chantelle Houghton (series 4), Shilpa Shetty Kundra (series 5), Ulrika Jonsson (series 6), Alex Reid (series 7), Paddy Doherty (series 8), Denise Welch (series 9), Julian Clary (series 10), Rylan Clark-Neal (series 11), Charlotte Crosby (series 12), Jim Davidson (series 13), Gary Busey (series 14), Katie Price (series 15), James Hill (series 16), Scott Timlin (series 17), Stephen Bear (series 18), Coleen Nolan (series 19), Sarah Harding (series 20), Shane Jenek (series 21), Ryan Thomas (series 22).

Chantelle Houghton was the first non-celebrity to win the series.

Series 17 (2016) was highly controversial, especially due to an incident in which Angie Bowie, the former wife of legendary musician David Bowie, was informed of his death by producers in the diary room. Angie attempted to tell fellow housemate Tiffany Pollard the news, but Tiffany thought Angie was referring to David Guest, another housemate who at the time was sleeping in the bedroom. Tiffany ran around the house hysterical, fearing that Guest had passed away, and Channel 5 controllers were later criticised for showing Angie being told her ex husband had passed away and also for making entertainment out of Bowie's passing. David Guest, the housemate Tiffany thought had passed away, died in real life just four months after the show was broadcast.

Holds the record for the highest number of complaints sent to Ofcom for a British television program (50,000 and counting). This is primarily over the alleged racist bullying of Shilpa Shetty Kundra by Jade Goody, Jo O'Meara and Danielle Lloyd.

Scott Timlin's Series 17 win in 2016 was criticised by viewers, after it emerged that Timlin's fellow Geordie Shore cast mates had been encouraging viewers to vote for Timlin by posting the phone number for Timlin to win on social media, claiming that the number was in fact related to Geordie Shore.

Austin Armacost, Calum Best, Coleen Nolan, Heidi Montag, Spencer Pratt, James Jordan, Jasmine Waltz, Jedward and Nicola McLean all returned to the house for an All-Star season (CBB 19). They originally came from CBB16, CBB15, CBB10, CBB11, CBB11, CBB14, CBB13, CBB8 and CBB9 respectively.