First WWE PPV appearance for Rey Mysterio.

Brock Lesnar won his first WWE Championship at this event.

First in-ring WWE PPV appearance for Shawn Michaels since WrestleMania XIV in 1998.

In the Sunday Night Heat match, Spike Dudley defeated Stevie Richards.

The 6th summerslam ppv in a row in which the intercontinental championship changed hands.

First WWE Pay Per View match for Rey Mysterio.

Eighteen wrestlers performed on the PPV, and fifteen of them held a WWE world title at some point in their career. One had in the past (Ric Flair), seven would in the future (Rey Mysterio, Adam Copeland, Eddie Guerrero, Jay Reso, Booker Huffman, Chris Benoit, and Rob Van Dam), one won the title at this event and would win more in the future (Brock Lesnar), and six were both past and future world champions (Kurt Angle, Chris Jericho, Mark Calaway, Shawn Michaels, Paul Levesque, and Dwayne Johnson). Out of everyone who wrestled a match on the show, only Lance Storm, Dustin Rhodes, and Andrew Martin never held a world championship.

While Ric Flair was always scheduled to win his match with Chris Jericho, plans did change regarding *how* that match would finish. Originally, Flair was to win with a rollup, but it was actually Jericho himself who suggested he should submit to Flair's Figure Four leglock. While the hold is inexorably linked with Flair, he did not regularly win matches with it, and Jericho felt that a legend of his stature should be given such a win on a big stage like SummerSlam.