User Reviews (909)

  • Kristine30 January 2006
    Why were the critics so harsh on the film?
    I thought "The Island" was fantastic and just was a movie worth watching. Ewan and Scarlett were just great together in this on the seat thriller, the story was just very exciting. Especially since cloning is such a huge debate right now, I know that it is going to get more intense in the future. That's the story's main plot, cloning and wither it's right or wrong of playing God.

    The story itself just keeps you guessing and thinking with some very great effects. I would without a doubt recommend "The Island" for your viewing pleasure. It's a lot of fun, it's got excitement, romance, action, and a plot that actually worked coming from Michael Bay. :D My only complaint is the ending, which I choose not to give away, but it leaves some room for questioning. Other than that, enjoy!

  • qball_823 August 2005
    I found The Island to be highly enjoyable - a great Summer blockbuster that isn't quite mindless. It raises a number of very interesting questions...

    Plenty of eye candy in every form, the two leads, the scenery, explosions, action sequences, the cinematography, everything you would expect from Michael Bay and Co.

    The pacing to begin with is somewhat slow as the premise is set up (though disappointingly the trailers give it all away), but once it launches into the first action sequence it doesn't let up for some time. Yes the story has a number of plot holes but you can easily overlook them and get swept away in the fun. I've never seen Johansson on film until now and WOW, now I know what all the fuss is about. Her and McGregor display enough chemistry to make their relationship believable but only just. I'm sure this will only propel them onto bigger and better things.

    My one and only gripe was with the ending scene complete with cheesy choral accompaniment - blech! Maybe Bay just couldn't help himself. I suppose no film is perfect..

    7 out of 10, solid, fun entertainment, what more can you ask for?
  • Claudio Carvalho10 December 2005
    Original, Intriguing and Scary View of Science, Ethic and Future Society
    In 2019, Lincoln Six Echo (Ewan McGregor) and Jordan Two Delta (Scarlett Johansson) are best friends in a repressive and intriguing society, where everybody expects to win the lottery. The prize is to move to a paradisiacal island outside the domes that protect the dwellers against the contaminated environment. Jordan wins the lottery, and Lincoln accidentally finds the scary truth behind the utopist award.

    "The Island" is an original, intriguing and scary view of science, ethic and society in a near future. Using elements of "Logan's Run", "Matrix", "Gattaca" and "The Thirteenth Floor", among other sci-fi movies, and non-stop action, it is a surprisingly great film. I liked very much the amoral behavior of Dr. Merrick (Sean Bean), with a total lack of ethic, and the possibility of replacement parts raised in the story. Scarlett Johansson and Ewan McGregor shows a good chemistry, and watching this sci-fi / action movie is worthwhile, even to think how cloning process shall be discussed by the society and controlled through well-studied laws. My vote is eight.

    Title (Brazil): "A Ilha" ("The Island")
  • MovieManMenzel24 July 2005
    The Popcorn Action Sci-Fi Thriller for summer 2005
    I worked at Eworks when I first saw the trailer for "The Island." I wasn't blown away by the trailer and neither was anyone I worked with, mainly because we couldn't figure out what the hell the movie was about. Several trailers and TV spots later, I still felt the same way about it. The only thing about the film that interested me was the cast. I really like Scarlett Johansson, Ewan McGregor, and Steve Buscemi. So considering that there was nothing else out this weekend I decided to give "The Island" a chance.

    "The Island" is basically about the end of the human race or so we think. The movie's basic storyline for the film is this: the human race gets contaminated and there is this compound that rescues people and decontaminates them. So all of the world's survivors live in this compound with the ultimate goal of going to the Island, where everyone can live a safe and happy life. However, Lincoln (Ewan McGregor) finds that this compound doesn't make much sense and begins to question the whole idea of the island. It isn't long before Lincoln finds out the truth behind the island but just when he does his best friend Jordan (Scarlett Johansson) gets selected to go to the island. It is now up to Lincoln to save Jordan and the rest of the people in the compound from going to the island and ultimately finding out the truth of their existence. An intense and action packed film ensues…

    Like I said earlier this film never really interested me but since this summer is really lacking in films, I gave it a chance and I am glad I did. This movie may actually be Michael Bay's move from all action to action and story. While there are still some plot holes in the film and the script could use a little fixing up, the majority of the film was well done especially for someone like Michael Bay. The story was very interesting and seemed pretty realistic. Sure it had a few far-fetched action scenes but what's a summer action movie without them? But on the whole it was action packed, entertaining, interesting, and thought provoking film(wow who would believe that one day I could say that about a Michael Bay movie).

    I also never thought I would see Scarlett Johansson play in a Hollywood action/thriller and from her scenes in the trailer it looked like I never wanted to either. However I was pleasantly surprised by how she pulled it off. She seemed to fit the role and was very good at it. But if you ask me would I rather see her in big budget popcorn flicks or independent films, I would still pick the independent films. Ewan McGregor was actually good as well, and again I never thought I would see him pull off a role like this but I guess that proves that both McGregor and Johansson are good actors. It's was also fun to have Ewan and Scarlett giving the film a few chuckles here and there. Steve Buscemi is our comedic relief guy as well as the guy who basically explains the whole island thing to us. He was good but I felt was cut out of the film awfully fast.

    Bottom line is that I was pleasantly surprised with the outcome of "The Island." It was a lot better then "War of the Worlds" which basically had all action and no story. This film doesn't have a perfect story, but it still has one and has an interesting concept at that. This film isn't going to win best picture any time soon but it's a good summer blockbuster. The basic premise of the film to me seems very believable in the near future. I just suggest buying the biggest popcorn and soda at the theater and enjoy! MovieManMenzel's final rating for "The Island" is a 7/10
  • BigHardcoreRed4 August 2005
    The Island Is A Mighty Fine Movie.
    Warning: Spoilers
    The Island is about the possibility, in the not too distant future, of a clone farm, for lack of a better term. When dealing with clones, especially in the movies, problems usually arise due to the lack of knowledge in the area. In this particular movie, it does not give away that they are clones too soon (unless you saw the preview). We are eased into their predicament slowly, although something is quite different and not right. At the beginning, I got sort of a Truman Show kind of feel to the movie, as they are always being watched, either by computers or cameras, and their lives are controlled in just about every detail.

    The clones are told that the outer world is contaminated and that the only safe place left is "the island". The only way to get to the island is through random lotteries where the lucky winner is whisked away to their new paradise.

    Lincoln Six Echo (Ewan McGregor) is the first of the "harvested beings", as they put it, to start asking questions and even has distinct memories that were not embedded by the corporation. While wandering around, he soon discovers they have all been lied to. Meanwhile, one of his closest friends, Jordan Two Delta (Scarlett Johansson), has just won the lottery! Just as she is getting ready to leave, Lincoln grabs her away and starts running.

    The rest of the movie is pretty much a chase scene. One scene in particular closely resembles the one from Bad Boys II. That is not a bad thing, as it was still unique and fun watching the mass destruction.

    Both Ewan McGregor and Scarlett Johansson did a fine job in their roles. Somehow, I do not remember Scarlett being as hot as she was in this film but maybe that is just the movie magic. Either way, she has a new fan. Also, Djimon Hounsou, Michael Clarke Duncan, Steve Buscemi and Sean Bean did fine jobs with their roles. Duncan's role was pretty small but his performance was very strong and relevant to the story.

    I was reminded of many movies while watching this one. One scene, while showing the harvesting, was closely resembling The Matrix. Also, one of the reasons I liked this movie so much was the ingenuity involved with inventions of the future. From innovated trains to literal desktop computers (that was awesome) to cars and even to an X-Box, those little things sprinkled all through the movie kept my eyes on the screen. Similar to I, Robot.

    Although I would not have considered myself a fan of Michael Bay, after seeing this movie and realizing what other movies he is also responsible for (minus Pearl Harbor), I can say that I like his work and am looking forward to his upcoming Transformers project. 8.5/10
  • brian-olsen31 October 2006
    From K-Tel Films: 35 Years Of Classic Sci-Fi All On One DVD!
    Warning: Spoilers
    Are you sick and tired of buying all those science fiction movies, cluttering up all the available space in your pre-defined entertainment area, when all you want is that cool scene so you can watch over and over? Well, you don't have to worry anymore! Because, you can get all of the coolest, the hippest, the most thought-provoking and the most original of scenes you want to relive again and again in The Island!

    Imagine not having to sit through all those BORING exposition scenes that are used to develop a story. No more!

    Remember THX, and the heart-pumping action of a man trying to reach 'paradise'! It's in the Island! Or Logan's Run and the stunning ending? It's there too! Remember how you were moved intellectually in Blade Runner? The Island has that! Or what about that action packed hover bike scene in the Return of the Jedi? It's all there. And you can't forget the classic Clonus Horror, the one you snickered at while watching Mike and the Robots on MST3K! And, hey dude, do you, like, remember how cool the Matrix was? Well, don't you worry, you don't have to subject yourself to that plank of wood called an actor ... you get to see some hot chick instead!

    All this, and more. So throw away that whole collection of DVDs just wasting room. With our simple DVD navigation, you can get to those action packed scenes right away. All this and more, in The Island!

    Order now! Sorry, No C.O.D.s
  • kmahaffey2 December 2006
    I, and also my whole family, found this movie extremely enjoyable and very underrated. I have to admit that I had't even heard of this movie and almost passed it by, as soon as it started, I was glad that I didn't.

    Because of the content of a lot of movies (ie. graphic sex and/or violence) it can sometimes be hard to find a movie that the whole family can enjoy without feeling uncomfortable (or falling asleep). I found that "The Island" has everything I want in a movie, action, adventure, comedy, and an extremely well written plot line, without an overabundance of sex or violence.

    I feel that this movie is well worth watching and highly recommend it.
  • terminator69022 August 2005
    Mediocrity - A lost opportunity
    Warning: Spoilers
    In Summary:

    Appallingly overt product placements. More of a commercial than a movie.

    Brilliant premise - but let down by lack of any character or plot development.

    The plot is treated purely as a device for standard action scenes - a bit like the plot in a seventies porn movie

    Wasted the talents of a fine cast. This is down to poor direction, and script.

    Far too many implausible stunts - even for a Hollywood Summer blockbuster.

    As thought-provoking as Dumb and Dumberer.
  • tararau31 July 2005
    loved it
    The Island is the first Michael Bay movie I have seen and I really enjoyed it. Far more entertaining than War Of The Worlds for example, which I found quite boring.

    The story is pretty standard issue Sci Fi. Fine by me (I wasn't expecting Bladerunner). It's a story of cloning and bad scientists up to no good. It's a quest movie and a chase movie. It looks fabulous, some nice toys to enjoy. The chase scenes maybe improbable but who cares? It's not Hotel Ruanda (great by the way - love Don Cheedle!!).

    You know, I actually found it quite touching and was definitely invested in the well being of the main characters

    Ewan McGregor is excellent, he is really fun to watch, he takes the movie seriously and it works. He's a really good actor, why haven't I noticed that before? Easy one the eye too which is always good.

    Scarlet Johanson is also good, she is lovely to behold and she also turns in a good performance (though never with out lip gloss no matter what) darned makeup people!.

    Djimon Hounsou doesn't have as much to do as the above (they are on screen pretty much the whole movie), however,he holds our attention when he is on screen, another fine actor.

    If you want some fun, nothing too deep, that looks good and acting that is entirely entertaining. If you enjoy the adrenalin rush of a good chase and some epic destruction (like I do) this is your movie. Go. 10/10 for FUN.
  • mstomaso20 March 2007
    Just a little better than pretty good, but also just a little unoriginal
    Michael Bay has had his directoral ups and downs, but here in the big budget action realm, the director of the excellent The Rock seems right at home. This time, Bay welds the action to a solid, if somewhat unoriginal sci fi plot - which blends elements of Logan's Run, THX-1138 and Gattaca.

    Ewan McGregor and Scarlett Johanson are an attractive couple living in a completely medically regulated community designed to repopulate a world decimated by a mass extinction. Ethan Phillips, Djimon Hounsou and Sean Beam all provide excellent support. Beam is miraculously transformed into his clever, arrogant and suspect character. Phillips is also particularly memorable as their slightly unhinged pal.

    Life in an enclosed, sterile environment, with all of their needs taken careof - including neatly arranged and identical uniforms, jobs, and three square can be a great bore, so - once a week or so - the sponsoring corporation gives away a one way ticket to the only place in the outside world which isn't lethal - The Island.

    McGregor's Licoln Six Echo and a number of his cohorts are becoming increasingly agitated and curious about their home. All the while, his platonic relationship with Jordan Two Delta (Johanson) grows. But then, she wins her ticket to the island.

    I have described the basic set up, and sci-fi fans will probably understand that this film actually sits among Logan's Run, gattaca, THX-1138 and other intelligent dystopian sci films. What may be a little harder to visualize is how stylistically indebted to Gattaca and THX-1138 this film is. Ewan McGregor doesn't really look like Ethan Hawke, and Scarlett Johanson is certainly not easily mistaken for Uma Thurmond, but between the cinematography, the themes, and the overall prettiness of the cast, the homage is obvious. The camera work is excellent, and the pace is spot-on, though it does become a little breathless toward the end.

    Nevertheless, The Island stands on its own as a nice example of big budget sci fi which does not insult its audience's intelligence and uses its budget to tell an interesting story - not just to show off a lot of special effects and highly improbable action (though there is quite a lot of both here anyway). Recommended for serious and semi-serious sci fi fans.
  • diamonds_are_a_girls_bes13 December 2006
    It could've been a much better film....
    Warning: Spoilers
    This movie starts off well. The plot in particular is very intriguing as is the question of whether it is ethical to clone people for their organs. And this question of ethics is what is used to draw the viewer in. So i was surprised that about 30 mins of the movie was dedicated to developing this theme and the rest was just a string of action sequences. Yes, for what it was this movie was an entertaining action flick. But it really could've been much more than that, in the hands of a decent director. Seriously, why does Michael Bay get to keep on making movies? All the cast were excellent in their roles, but you could tell they were crying out for a better script. The movie seemed shallow and bereft of depth although it had a good plot and theme. If you're after action then this movie will keep you entertained for 2 hours, yet if you thought this was going to be a sci-fi, makes you question humanity sort-of-movies, then you'll be disappointed by The Island.
  • Mr_Sensitive3 August 2005
    ""The Island" Is What Gives Them Hope"
    Warning: Spoilers
    I have every movies of Michael Bay, and I got to say – this is probably his best. Though the story is nothing new and it has a lots (loads) of resemblances of his previous work; I really enjoy watching it. But it actually the actors (Ewan and Scarlett) who made this movie so interesting.

    Without this two actors I don't think I could enjoy it this much. They are perfect with each other (though they're like 10 yrs apart). The story is very believable and it also got great flows; though many parts are just too brief and too many actions scene. I have to warn you – the movie has a lots of gruesome scenes.

    Anyway, I like the movie. And I highly recommended for you to watch. Don't trust the US Box Office. As far as I concern it have done really well around the world. This might not be the best sci-fi movie, but it surely keep the audience ask for more pop-corn.

    Recommendation: Michael Have Done It Right This Time.

    Rating: 7/10 (Grade: B-) Please Rate My Review (Yes or No) After Reading It – Thanks
  • pekjr423 July 2005
    A fun ride....
    I liked "The Island" quite a bit due for two reasons: a depiction of the future which wasn't too "over the top", which was refreshing, coming from Bay, and that the leads were very effective at portraying their characters. McGregor, from his acting, and Johansson, from her open, fresh expression. There could have been a little more exploration of the cloning question, and I felt the action was, while visually beautiful, mundane. The score was outstanding, the theme beautifully matching the opening to the film. Pity there wasn't more of it. Sean Bean, to those used to his villainous work in "Patriot Games", and "Goldeneye", was a little weak, but due to writing, not his thespian skills. And what's a Micheal Bay or Cohen Brothers movie without Steve Buscemi? His character was relatively weak, with no real motivation behind his actions in the film. Djimon Hounsou has a pretty good part. Nice to see him carry a substantial role. One good reason to see the film: great visuals, good looking people with consistent positive ideals. Pretty to watch.
  • DarDarDetroit19 July 2005
    Good Action Thriller
    I saw the movie at the Detroit red carpet premiere on Monday, July 18. In attendance were Michael Clarke Duncan and Djimon Hounsou.

    The movie reminded me very much of Total Recall and The Matrix, not only with the plot line, but with its intensity. This was a very good summer action thriller. It was a little slow at first but once Ewan McGregor and Scarlett Johansson's characters discovered that they were clones, the action picked up immensely.

    I was a little surprise about the lack of time Duncan was in the movie. Hounsou did a fabulous job as the hired gun. I am not a Ewan McGregor fan but I think he did a great job as Lincoln Six Echo and Tom Lincoln, especially when both Six Echo and Lincoln were in the same scenes together. Johansson looked good on the screen but her dialogue was limited.

    Steve Buscemi did an funny job in his supporting role as McCord, the human buddy of Lincoln Six Echo. The scene when Johansson's character, Jordan Two Delta, and McCord go through McCord's closet to find some normal clothes for Johansson is a riot.

    As parts of the movie was shot in Detroit (See when Ewan and Scarlett arrive in L.A.), I was looking for shots of the Motor City. In this sense, the movie did an excellent job making Detroit and "L.A." look really snazzy. However, in two shots of downtown "L.A.", you will see on the side of one of the buildings, a giant mural of Stevie Yzerman in his Red and White Red Wings jersey. I don't know if this was a goof, but it was interesting to think of why Yzerman would be on the side of a building in L.A. forty years hence.

    Overall, I give it a seven. If you are a giant action and science fiction fan, you should not miss The Island.
  • Horn Dog26 July 2005
    Too Stupid To Believe
    Warning: Spoilers
    You think the box office flop here had anything to do with the plot of The Island being too stupid to believe?

    MAJOR SPOILERS........................................

    How do they expect you to believe that this clone base and their illegal behavior wouldn't have been exposed in seven years? Congress passed legislation and specific laws yet no one ever enforces these laws? No one ever checks on the status of these clones in their "vegetative state?" None of these four thousand employees would suffer a crisis of conscience (killing mothers directly after giving birth?) and leak anything to the media? Employees like Steve Bucheme wouldn't talk or be an informant for cash?

    Did we need the obligatory car crashes on the freeway scene? Can you say Matrix or Bad Boys 2? You would think that the truck driver would've noticed that he was losing most of his load after the first dozen giant metal dumbbells fell off his truck but no, he kept on driving.

    It was nice to see that killer mercenary have a change of heart and help Scarlett at the end of the movie. Who cares that he was guiding his crew to kill as many cops as possible just a few scenes earlier on the streets of LA. Very believable plot turn there. Why did Scarlett assume that they would just capture her on the swingset? They've been firing bullets at her all day long and trying to kill her on site yet, they arrest her and don't even check to see if she's armed? Next, she's being prepped for surgery yet no one notices the gun? Unless she had the piece wedged clear up her huha, what's the deal with that? The ending is too stupid for words. He pulls one lever and everything blows up. Thus saving the day and making it possible to finish the movie with Michael Bay's patented wide angle swoop slow motion shots. (Not to mention the "guy kissing girl swoop slo-mo shot-I thought I saw Ben Affleck kissing Liv Tyler in the background)

    I could go on pointing out the stupidity of this movie but I've already wasted too much of my time on this trash. Some flops are just pure justice.
  • Animus28 July 2005
    Clonus Horrors Revisited
    Warning: Spoilers
    Ouch. I knew this movie would never live up to the hype as soon as I saw the trailer and recognized the plot as a direct steal from "Parts:The Clonus Horror" a movie a gleefully laughed at on Mystery Science Theater 3000 some years ago. Although this remake has been jazzed up and given spiffy special effects and a huge budget for blowing things up the story is just as badly thought out. The plot leaks like a sieve,life for the clones is un-fulfilling and is causing psychological problems for some (meds anyone?), the huge number of people working behind the scenes to keep things secret (that many people can't keep a secret, lowly wage slaves least of all), holographs to display the "contaminated" world (they are UNDERGROUND, just tell them that), and of course the fact that at least 50 or more people were killed in the chase scenes, no one would ever notices that in LA. Sigh but worst was the ending, it was so ripped from "Logan's Run" I expected to see Peter Ustinov waving at the clones. Yay, they are free.... in the middle of the Arizona desert... with no food or water... and no press to show the world.... right. Save your money. Save your mind.
  • seaview115 July 2005
    The Island is a fun, summer flick
    Warning: Spoilers
    Michael Bay has directed some big budget action adventures that have an over-the-top feel (like Pearl Harbor and Armageddon). He tones it down a bit and, despite borrowing from a myriad of past films, his latest effort, The Island, is an intelligent, entertaining adventure with science fiction as its source material.

    In the not too distant future, there is a segregated world of men and women who function with a limited view and knowledge of their antiseptic world. Their only way of life is that they must work, follow the rules and dream of being selected in the lottery to go to The Island, the ultimate destination of happiness and fulfillment. One of the populace is a male, Lincoln Six Echo (Ewan McGregor), who begins to question his existence and role in the world even as he develops a friendship with a female, Jordan Two Delta (Scarlett Johansson). He also experiences nightmares about an outside world and expresses doubts about the validity of his surroundings including the lottery. He relates these concerns to a friendly doctor, Merrick (Sean Bean) and later to an outsider, McCord (Steve Buscemi), a computer geek. As he explores the floors above him, he stumbles onto another level where he discovers a terrible truth and lie. Realizing that their world is only part of something much more, Lincoln and Jordan make a break to the outside with McCord's help and find themselves pursued by bounty hunters led by Albert Laurent (Djimon Hounsou). It seems that Merrick works for a cloning corporation dependent on enormous outside funds, and it is involved in secretly cloning humans for individual sponsors. The problem is that the corporation has gone too far in its experiments with tragic consequences. Searching for answers, Lincoln and Jordan eventually find themselves face to face with Lincoln's sponsor whereupon they decide to stop Merrick's evil plans and expose his horrifying activities to the world even as Laurent closes in.

    This film is engaging from the very start with its interesting premise, and it does a good job of maintaining a steadily building mystery until the startling revelation which spins our protagonists in another direction. And if it seems the storyline is derivative of a multitude of other film plot lines, it's because concepts such as duplicate humans, memory loss, corporate societies, and the pursuit of individual freedom and identity in a futuristic setting have been visited before. There are strong echoes of Coma, Logan's Run, Minority Report, Total Recall, and especially George Lucas' early THX 1138 and John Frankenheimer's Seconds. And savvy viewers may recall an older made-for-television movie along the same lines called The Resurrection of Zachary Wheeler. Yet by liberally borrowing from these stories, The Island reinterprets familiar themes into a reasonably entertaining story unto its own with a nod to science fiction author Philip Dick.

    Adapted from his own story by Caspian Tredwell-Owen and Alias alums Roberto Orci and Alex Kurtzman, the narrative takes a deliberate path, and its exciting action scenes, particularly the numerous chases on foot and by car, are in service of the plot. Michael Bay has been notorious for filming elaborate, 'shoot 'em up' and 'blow 'em up' set pieces that resemble a massive video game. Here, he holds back a little and concentrates more on staying true to his storyline. 'The play's the thing' and events move so rapidly, you don't notice the credibility gaps that strain logic at times.

    Sean Bean (who is making himself quite the first choice in movie villainy as in Goldeneye) is quite good as the sinister Merrick, and Djimon Hounsou (Gladiator) registers in a role that could have been one dimensional and without heart. Ethan Phillips (late of Star Trek: Voyager) lends able support as a resident of the clone world. And let us not forget the wonderful Steve Buscemi (Reservoir Dogs) who gets some of the best lines and exits much too soon. The leads, McGregor (Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith) and Johansson (Lost in Translation) are quite photogenic and work together quite well. One wishes they have future screen pairings.

    The special effects are effective and especially impressive when Lincoln meets his dead on double. Those scenes are so good, they are seamless. The world of the near future is realistic in its depiction in much the way Blade Runner integrated futuristic vehicles and technology with older, existing buildings and settings. The pace is well edited, and the film never feels slow and boring.

    Again, there are a couple of scenes which really strain credulity, but they come and go so quickly that you are on to the next scene. One obvious complaint is the product placement that becomes a bit self conscious and annoying after the third or fourth product logo is conspicuously shown. You'll see what I mean. It's also hard not to have a slight feeling that the film's main theme has controversial, political implications with the debate over cloning, stem cell research and the abortion fight in recent headlines.

    Although it is ironically a clone of other film plots, The Island delivers legitimate action and thrills without sacrificing its linear storytelling. Let yourself go and don't pay too much attention to the occasional plot lapses, and you'll find this a reasonably diverting adventure.
  • demonracer9999 July 2005
    It is Michael Bays Best Ever! and most of it makes sense!
    Warning: Spoilers
    The island is a futuristic action thriller. Set in the year 2019, residents the the last human city live sheltered lives after a disease has contaminated most of the globe. They know the ocean, grass, insects, and all of the worlds wonders only from pictures and looking outside the window. None of them have ever smelled fresh air. The only drive in their lives is that some day they could move to the last habitable island in the world.

    The Island is pretty solid as an all around movie. Michael Bays visual sense actually completely fits the movie. The movie is down and gritty, which is why Bay was tapped to direct in the first place one would assume. As Far as the cast goes, Ewan McGregor did a great job. He performed above his usual standard. Especially in his scenes with himself (although during one of the car chases his Scottish character was played a bit BIG, but i think that was intended). Scarlett Johansson shows a new side in this film. She performs action, drama, and suspense perfectly. Michael Clarke Duncan gives the performance of the movie, although its a short one. Steve Buscemi and Sean Bean are also great, but take a back seat in the story. While Djimon Hounsou is under used and given a character arc most wont care about.

    As far as the action cheese goes. Nothing was THAT cheesy. Although the part when two people fall off a skyscraper with a helicopter exploding like 3 feet away from them and they survive with tiny scratches will bother some. The joke that follows it makes it forgivable.

    Over all it is a unusually solid movie, with more plot and character development than all of Bays other movies put together (minus pearl harbor).

    So Watch And Enjoy This Surprising Summer Delight!
  • agwon7929 July 2005
    Great intro, crap ending
    Warning: Spoilers
    Michael Bay... I really thought you were onto something different from your smash-em-up, shaky cam, action flick. The first hour of this film was excellent, but why did it have to become an action film with the moral fiber of Commando? In the beginning, we get the message that life, any life, is precious, then all the bad guys (even the not-so-bad guys) just start dropping like bricks, and we're supposed to feel happy when THAT happens. The initial chase scenes were great, but as time went by, they started to drag and then just became pointless.

    The final "showdown," as it were, was not necessary at all. Whatever happened to the "going to the media" plan? He could have still got Johanson with him and made a pretty good case, considering her famous host was dying at the hospital at same that time. Then he would have had enough evidence to get people to actually listen to him, and enough support to return to that place of doom with a small army at the very least.

    But no, this is an action movie, so they must do this on their own, with a plan that required at least 95% dumb luck. And another thing, though we have improved on how we deal with the bad guy's demise in films since the 80's, many of us still think that the only way to deal with the bad guy is to kill him in a gruesome fashion, but really, wouldn't public exposure and shame have been better? Sean Bean had no time to even realize he had lost. Trust me, all he was thinking was "I'm in a lot of pain." The Shawshank Redemption, though a different kind of film, dealt with its villain in a way that I think could have worked very well for this film too.

    As for the last scene (okay, second to last scene excluding the two of them on that stupid boat), "Yay, they've all escaped!" Now what? They're in the middle of the desert, and nothing has been explained to them, so they're all completely confused. Great finish, Michael Bay. At the very least, let us see that the government allowed them all to live the rest of their days out on a real island. Sappy ending, I know, but much more rewarding than what we got. That wasn't even a finish to the right movie! It was the ending from the bloody Lion King! I hear you all on some of the plot holes, and most of them I could overlook and still enjoy the movie. But this ending killed it for me.
  • humantorch12523 July 2005
    Michael Bay's Finest Moment!!!
    The last few Michael Bay movies that I saw were not that great, but after seeing this movie today I have only one word to describe it, Amazing! When I first saw the previews for this film I thought that it looked cool, but I never expected it to be as good as it was. Don't be surprised if this movie wins any awards by the end of the year. This movie is very unique while at the same time reminds you of Logun's Run. The score is well-paced and really sets the tone for the movie. The chase sequences are absolutely incredible and will have you on the edge of your seat. Ewan McGregor and Scarlett Johansson are perfect in their roles and make the movie movie seem very real. Overall, this is by far one of the best movies that I have ever seen and I advise anyone who has not yet seen it to drop everything you are doing and go to the "Island!"
  • ThatGuyFromThatShow21 December 2005
    Too many blatant advertisements
    Warning: Spoilers

    Awful, just plain awful. I mean like "stick a hot poker in your eyes to remove the memory and do it again just to make sure" awful. Aside from people falling 70 stories without any serious injuries and no "superhuman" explanations, there are a dozen or so of other "wtf?" moments with the movie. There are almost as many of them as there are obvious advertisements!

    I won't go into all of them but there are extremely serious problems like "why the heck would some Evil Genius Trying To Play God (and his employees) tell everyone within speaking distance at every chance possible about the the intricate details concerning his Evil - against - almost - every - law - if - anyone - finds - out - I'll - get - the - gas - chamber - and - yet - they - gave - me - 130 Billion Dollars -without - dropping - to - make - sure - the - money - is - well - spent transgresses?" Not only that, why the heck don't they use some of that 130 BILLION dollars for JUST ONE good security guard? Or, even JUST ONE half-decent McDonald's Playground security guard to be placed near an important thing like THE EXIT. And, they could use some glue to stop people from escaping from a supposedly secure installation via the middle of corridors using small floor tiles that seem to support several hundred pounds without any problems. (I'll stop right there, I could babble for MUCH longer than the movie lasted about serious defects with the action and plot).

    Oh well, at least I didn't have to bother to watch normal commercial television to see over-the-top advertisements. There were extremely (purposely) obvious advertisements that went out of their way to make sure that viewers noticed them 1) Cadillac, 2) Mack (trucks), 3) Puma, 4) Ben & Jerry's, 5) MSN (Microsoft), 6) Reebok, 7) Budweiser, 8) Aquafina, 9) Xbox(Microsoft again), 10) Maxim, 11) and some other magazine, 12) A perfume that the main actress is in reality pushing (I'M NOT KIDDING, "Eternity Moment" -- Calvin Klein), 13) Johhny Rockets, 14) NFL, 15) Nokia, 16) enough already, there are more blatant advertisements in there but I'd like to just pretend it was a bad dream I had.

    I, Robot seemed extreme with the blatant advertising, but that's just kid-stuff in comparison.
  • anhedonia5 December 2005
    A good example of what's wrong with Hollywood
    Hollywood studio execs bemoaned the loss of revenue this summer. Every weekend, they kept coming up with new excuses, new reasons, new explanations as to why box-office receipts were low. They blamed the weather, proliferation of home theaters, DVD sales, rude movie patrons. Very few, if any, were willing to admit that the main reason fewer people went to movies this summer was because the most of the films stunk! "The Island" is a great example.

    Here's a film with an intriguing idea and two very attractive and talented stars. In fact, the first 15, 20 minutes of this film were exciting and refreshingly good for a Michael Bay film.

    There's was something awfully Kubrickian about the whole set up. The clinical atmosphere of the place, the entirely aloof attitude among the people. Knowing this was a Bay picture, I was pleasantly surprised. This story actually had some substance, something to say. The characters were interesting, their situations and dilemmas intrigued me.

    Then the whole film went completely berserk. Michael Bay took over. And the likes of Ewan McGregor and Scarlett Johannson are relegated to saying dumb things you normally expect to see in a bad Will Smith movie as they're thrust into one inane action sequence after another. All those action scenes could've been jumbled and thrown back into the film and the plot would not have suffered one iota.

    It's almost as if there are two films in one here. The first half creates an exciting world, raises probing ethical questions and seems intelligent. The second half is loud, obnoxious, unoriginal and a total waste of the early build up.

    In the end, it's all bluster and thoroughly unsatisfying.

    "The Island" is yet another example of the dumbing down of America. You can't tell me there are no good original stories floating around Hollywood. It's just that execs are gutless, without vision and keep insisting on churning out the same garbage.

    Of course, this time they were helped by loads of product placement. There are times when "The Island" seems like nothing more than a commercial, albeit an expensive one, for some product or another. The number of product-placement shots in this film is beyond vulgar, it's downright obscene.

    I suppose the one reassuring thing about "The Island" is knowing that in the mid 21st century, Amtrak still will be running.
  • pfertig22 July 2005
    glad I had free tix and didn't pay to see this
    Warning: Spoilers
    a bunch of chase scenes with a sappy love story thrown in. That's the movie in a nutshell. Oh did I mention the plot holes? So they are clones and yet somehow he has knowledge about the guy who bought him. Knows things from his life, just doesn't know they are from his life. Has no knowledge of sex, yet as soon as they get into the real world they are all over each other. They play up the jokes about them being fish out of water and not knowing the most basic things about the modern world - like what it means when someone is taking a dump, or in the can....... Yet he knows how to drive. The ending was so predictable you could have left half way through and known what happened. They fall in love and kill the evil Dr. BORING!
  • doug_f_wolf17 July 2005
    The Island.. Original if its the only movie you have ever seen before...
    Warning: Spoilers
    All in all not a bad movie, but there is not one new idea in it. A rehash and sampling of at least a dozen other movies. From small stolen ideas..Blade Runner: (false memories implanted in a replicant), to huge stolen ideas: to The Clonus Experiment (clones grown for replacement body parts, who learn the truth and escape to expose the real truth), to The Matrix: huge caverns of growing bodies, Not to mention Logan's Run..etc etc etc.. The list is endless. But it is done with flair, directed and paced well. The actors are quite good, the effects are quite good, so its worth seeing, as long as you are new to the genre and wont see every plot point coming at you a mile away.
  • Vulcan9120 July 2005
    Just Make Sure You Don't Think While You Are Watching It
    Ewan McGregor has worked with the likes of Tim Burton and Ridley Scott. Scarlett Johansson has been directed by the daughter of one of the greatest directors of all time in an Oscar-nominated movie. Steve Buscemi has frequently been on the set with perhaps the godfathers of independent film-making, and Sean Bean has experience with just about everyone in Hollywood. So I have to wonder what went through the minds of these performers as they headed from their trailer to the set each day to find out the latest use Michael Bay had for his $100 million budget. "I should have read this script a little closer"? "My agent is so fired for this"? "At least I'm making a ton of money"? "I wonder what we get to blow up today"?

    For that matter, I would be curious to witness what Michael Bay is like on the set. Surprisingly, "The Island" does not open to explosions and carnage, but actually begins with drama. In fact, Bay makes it through the first act before going buck wild. You can feel the tension mounting as the film progresses. You can picture Bay offscreen, gripping the arms of his chair, repeatedly glancing at his wristwatch. And then, he can wait no longer, and he leaps to his feet, flailing his arms wildly and screaming "ENOUGH OF THIS NONSENSE LET'S BLOW SOME **** UP!" And with that, all logic is abandoned. Things explode. Automobiles spiral wildly through the air. People scream. Guns blaze. And boy does this excite the filmmakers. The editor is having the time of his life, making a cut once every tenth of a second, and the cameraman is jerking the camera around as if he has completely lost his mind. Whoever is composing the score is sitting back and drinking coffee, having already taken the five minutes necessary to copy and paste an annoying jungle techno loop to run for two hours. Around the time railroad axles began falling off of the back of a truck demolishing cars (having just learned that in this futuristic world trains do not even use wheels, but levitate above the ground), I started laughing. I laughed without stopping until the credits rolled, and then I laughed my way out of the theater. In fact, "The Island" was unintentionally one of the funniest movies I have seen in years. The incredibly over the top action and the abrupt transitions between story and mindless chaos are so absurd that you cannot help but smile at how delightfully terrible this movie is.

    "The Island" does in fact have a plot, and at first it actually is a decent one. Sure, quite a few of the scenes seem to be ripped straight out of "Logan's Run" (Logan 5=Lincoln 6?), but heck, maybe it was just an admiring nod to the 70's cult classic. Before it degenerated into madness, I was quite optimistic about where the film was heading. The dialogue, as you would expect, is incredibly cliché at times, and a somewhat experienced movie-goer should be able to finish a lot of the actors' lines for them. One particular line near the end of the film certainly falls into my list of the cheesiest lines ever.

    "The Island" is mindless and has things exploding, which means it should attract the masses. It also makes summer blockbusters like "I, Robot" (which I did enjoy) look like a best picture nominee. There are a few things this movie will teach you, though: Cadillac, MSN, X-Box, Aquafina, Johnny Rockets, and Puma shoes are all excellent products, and stem cell research and cloning are evil Nazi practices.

    May the box office slump continue...

    1 star (out of 4)
An error has occured. Please try again.