User Reviews (29)

Add a Review

  • It is so refreshing to watch a family film that doesn't have to rely only on special effects to tell the story. This film is just how they used to make films with great acting, beautiful photography and of course a lovely story. It's full of emotion and soul and it's just a good all round film the whole family will enjoy. It's about a boy and his parents who fall on hard times and have to sell their beloved dog, which gets taken hundreds of miles away. But his love for his dog never falters and the dogs love for its owners makes it determined to escape and travel the vast distance to get home. We have watched a few blockbusters lately but this film deserves praise. It might have a lower budget, but it has something that we all deep down want out of a film.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    Just watched this film today and must say I thoroughly enjoyed it. This is a family film so obviously don't expect an unpredictable ending (I mean the book is called 'Lassie Come Home' as we all know) but if you enjoy heartwarming, fun films for the sake of the fuzzy feeling to be gained from them (call me sentimental but I think that's reason enough!) then you're sure to love this adaptation of the well-known tale of an adorable rough collie and her journey back to her beloved working-class Yorkshire family, especially her best friend, the small boy named Joe.

    If you aren't an animal lover this is certainly not for you, but if you have a soft spot for our furry friends you will definitely like it. If you have ever had a faithful dog as a pet it should touch you particularly - it celebrates the loyal nature of the canine and the fulfilling relationships humans can build with him. I think what is all the more attractive about the film is that Lassie's determination is so inspiring - she could just as easily be a human struggling against life's hardships.

    The scenery and cinematography is homely, wild and beautiful, and the cast - Samantha Morton and John Lynch as Mr and Mrs Carraclough, Joe's hard working parents, and Peter O'Toole as the selfish Duke who persuades the scrimping family to give Lassie up, to name three - do a fantastic job.

    If you are prone to crying at films then have the tissues at the ready (I went through a modest two, my boyfriend shed a few tears as well!) because the whole thing's a bit of an emotional, if unsurprising, roller-coaster! You find yourself rooting for the lovable pooch and will I think be more than satisfied with the very cute ending! Congratulations to everyone involved - this is a marvellous romp for the festive season and children especially will be enchanted by it (and probably start pestering parents for a collie pup of their own - sorry!).
  • kay_and_dan22 December 2005
    Warning: Spoilers
    Forget the over-hyped Chronicles of Narnia - this film has more character and soul than 100 CGI-pumped fantasy extravaganzas. Think Kes with a happy ending. Based on the 1942 novel by Eric Knight rather than the American TV series. Set at the outbreak of WW2 in a Yorkshire mining village, its the story of the social injustice, separation and ultimately reunion of boy and dog. There are no cheesy Lassie rescue scenes, no "What's that Lassie?", "woof woof", "Someone trapped down the well?", "woof woof", and little Joe Carraclough (played by Jonathan Mason) is heart-breakingly believable - a refreshing change from the annoying overacting of many child stars. Yes, I cried when he was forced to say goodbye to Lassie, and I will never forget the look on my 5-year-old son's face when Lassie eventually made it back from Scotland. Clever enough for a teenager/adult to enjoy, and enough comic turns and doggy scenes to entertain the very young. Bring your Kleenex...
  • tollini25 August 2006
    I saw this film on August 24th, 2006 in Indianapolis. I am one of the judges for the Heartland Film Festival's Truly Moving Picture Award. A Truly Moving Picture "…explores the human journey by artistically expressing hope and respect for the positive values of life." Heartland gave that award to this film.

    Obviously this is an often-told tale about a boy and his beautiful and intelligent collie. But … this is an especially fine telling of that story and specifically of the loyalty and love that can happen between a boy and his dog.

    The story is set in England prior to World War II. The boy, Joe, is from a working class family and the father loses his coal mining job when the coal peters out. Lassie catches the eye of a rich Duke played by Peter O'Toole and Joe's parents reluctantly sell Lassie to obtain much needed cash. This causes Joe to go into a deep sadness. But to make things worse for Joe and his parents, Lassie regularly escapes the Duke's dog handler and finds his way back to Joe. Over and over the dog is honorably returned to the Duke because a deal is a deal.

    Finally the Duke goes off to his other home in Northern Scotland 500 miles away and takes Lassie with him. Lassie escapes again and the rest of the movie revolves around the impossible attempted journey back to Joe.

    Lassie is obligated to steal the movie, but he doesn't quite do this. There are too many other interesting things going on. Peter O'Toole is a great curmudgeon with a slowly revealed heart of gold. The English countryside is gorgeous. And the rich class- poor class dichotomy is adroitly told.

    Honor and integrity and human dignity are human traits that can be shown by anyone despite their age or sex or income or social status in life. That's a message worth communicating in a movie.

    FYI – There is a Truly Moving Pictures web site where there is a listing of past Truly Moving Picture Award winners that are now either at the theater or available on video.
  • peter-104828 December 2005
    OK so am I the only one who never realized Lassie was set firstly in 1939 and secondly in Yorkshire? I grew up believing in gingham tablecloths, dusty gold mines, skunks in prairies and dangerous rattle snakes all of which our furry heroine, pined at, climbed from, lifted to safety and made friends with, yes and all without being stung, bitten

    or even pooped on. Well move aside Nantucket because the real bitch is back and Charles Sturridge has done Eric Knight's beautiful story proud.

    The film looks beautiful, set very convincingly in the 1930s English depression. The sets, camera work and locations provide us a time that makes much more sense of a dog returning home to his young master than 1960's America. Lassie's impossible journey deals with issues of loyalty, generosity, determination and good old Britishness all of which must have been useful propaganda tools for a country heading into war in 1939. So that's why it was written back then, so why remake it now? Because, those same basic issues and emotions are just as useful to remind ourselves of now as then but unfortunately for us modern family films have become lost in a sea of CGI and comuterized, sickly nothingness that has no relevance to anything but thrill. Truthfully? It's just plain nice to sit with your family in a cinema, cry your heart out and remember what's important in life. (And it doesn't have to be 40 feet tall and eat bananas!)

    The boy is wonderful as indeed is the dog(s). The support from Morton, Lynch, O Toole, Drinkage is perfectly judged and I defy you not to blub a dub during the emotional Christmas homecoming. This is a beautiful film, a joy to watch and a credit to its makers.

    Go Lass go.....
  • The worst thing that can be said about this excellent film is that it is a "family movie" as that term may turn off many cinema buffs from seeing a film that is first rate from practically all aspects. It is brilliantly directed by Charles Sturridge ("Brideshead Revisited") and features several cream of the crop actors starting with the marvelous Peter O'Toole. It is also a superb adaptation of Eric Knight's wartime novel, "Lassie Come Home." (Unfortunately, the viewer would not know this until the end of the credits.) The photography is absolutely breathtaking with scenes of the Scottish Highlands that I haven't seen equaled. There is also a grittiness and realism to the film that was impossible to capture in a 1943 version filmed on the back lots of MGM. Rather than a mere remake, this film is classic in its own right and deserves a wider audience than I suspect it has found thus far. High fives all the way.
  • I haven't seen the Liz Taylor version but I'm guessing that this one is a bit grittier. There are some nasty scenes of cruelty to dogs, although you never actually see one getting hit (they wouldn't be allowed to, would they!) so don't take a child if they're exceptionally sensitive. There are some great supporting roles from legendary actors such as Peter O'Toole and Gregor Fisher (Rab C Nesbitt), with cameos from the likes of Robert Hardy, Edward Fox and Angela Thorne (To The Manner Born, Maggie Thatcher impersonator) and the kids are cute but not too saccharine. But the scene is definitely stolen by the dog. Just as it should be, and a Christmassy ending to boot. Great family entertainment for kids over eight.
  • Scoval713 September 2006
    Wonderous, wonderful, charming, excellent, sad and happy. I really enjoyed this movie. So will most people except for one moron on this review board. What a lovely movie--the direction, the acting--animal and human---the photography, all superb. A lovely story of a dog's courageous return to the family he loves. Set in the days before WWII, this version of Lassie, to me, is far superior than the 1994 version by a wide margin. Don't miss Lassie. The theater was packed where I went and that says a lot. Reviews for Lassie echo my sentiments. It is a truly heartwarming and tender story. Lovely film that tells a sad story with a happy ending. Great photography. I have nothing but praise.
  • Entertaining and fun dog movie shot in marvelous outdoors with very well trained animals . Exciting life of a Collie named Lassie is here expanded to include the adventures of the humans who surround the dog . Set England and Scotland , about the fate of a wonderful Collie dog and the people who own and command them , there are splendidly revealed as Lassie narrates the circle of his life and seen through its own carefree life . A family in financial crisis is forced to sell Lassie , their intimate dog . As Sam (John Lynch) , his wife (Samantha Morton) and children are forced to sell the dog to the Duke (Peter O'Toole) . The Duke moves to the Scottish Highlands for the holiday season and Lassie is hundreds of miles away from her true family . Lassie escapes , and sets out on a journey home suffering many hardships , passing several owners both good and bad and after achieving freedom . This dog more than a Hero is a legend .

    Handsome take off of the Eric Knight family novel but sometimes fails to capture qualities that make this book a classic . There were some earlier "Lassies," in literature of the 1800's, as well as in silent films . Eric Knight, a British-born author, wrote a Lassie character in a short story in 1940 , then expanded it to a novel called "Lassie Come Home," which became the first Lassie sound film . This is a new classic for a new generation, a thrilling saga of courage and loyalty . The animals in this film were in no way harmed or mistreated , and all scenes in which they appeared were under strict supervision with utmost concern for their handling . Narrated quite energetically , as the story is efficiently told and through its profound and wizened eyes . One thread that connects all the Lassie projects is Lassie herself . Every one of the long string of Lassie productions has featured a collie directly descended from the original canine star, a dog named Pal . The new film was made with 8-year-old Lassie the ninth, and three other non-related collies , whose biggest challenge were in scenes swimming across Loch Ness on her way home . The impressive scenery , photography and music enhance the story of ¨Lassie¨ and its adventures , sufferings and adversities . The tale is treated in good sense and high sensibility ; environment , animals , landscapes combine to enhance the glories of nature , one of which , after all , is silence . Good cast full of fine British actors as Peter O'Toole , Peter Dinklage , Kelly Mcdonald , Robert Hardy , Edward Fox and John Standing . Glowing and glamorous cinematography by Howard Atherton ; of all the Lassie films ever produced , this was the first one to be shot in the 2.35:1 aspect ratio . Sensitive as well as emotive musical score by Adrian Johnston . The music all plays with the soul , it is so delicately composed, performed, and chosen for the movie that it is worth seeing just to enjoy the soundtrack . The motion picture was marvelously directed by Charles Sturridge (The scapegoat , Shackleton , Gulliver's travels , Fairy tale).

    Other films based on this famous novel are the followings : the classic and original Lassie was first performed by a male collie named Pal and played Lassie in all of the early sound films such as ¨Lassie comes home¨ (1943) with Elizabeth Taylor , Roddy McDowall , Donald Crisp , Dame May Witty and Edmund Gwenn ; ¨Sons of Lassie¨ (1945) with Peter Lawford , Donald Crisp , June Lockhart and Nigel Bruce ; ¨Courage of Lassie¨ (1946) with Elizabeth Taylor , Frank Morgan , Tom Drake and Harry Davenport ; ¨Challenge to Lassie¨ with Edmund Gwenn , Donald Crisp , Geraldine Brooks and Reginald Owen . And subsequent follow-up played by Pal's descendants in the TV series and TV appearances and in most Lassie films since ¨Lassie's great adventure¨ (1963) with June Lockhart , Hugh Reilly , Jon Provost , Richard Kiel , ¨Lassie¨(1994) with Tom Guiry , Helen Slater , Jon Tenney and Frederic Forrest , among others .
  • de_niro_200125 June 2007
    Warning: Spoilers
    I didn't think they made films like this any more. If you've seen Lassie Come Home you'll be familiar with the story but that doesn't detract from the pleasure of this new version. It is a somewhat idealised portrayal of the 1930s but still very good. Steve Pemberton makes Hynes a hissable and comic villain, better than Pat O'Malley in the original version. John Lynch is excellent as is Peter O'Toole. The Glasgow scenes are obviously Dublin although they have included a bus in authentic Glasgow Corporation livery. The streets of 1930s Glasgow also look a bit odd without trams! The scene where poor wee Toots gets killed brought a lump to my throat and tears to my eyes. I own a border terrier so maybe that made it personal. Nicholas Lyndhurst's reputation has been forever tarnished. Rowlie is a small man with a big wonderful heart and a lovely talent for entertaining children and I really felt for him. It is good though how everything ends up so nicely for Lassie and the Carracloughs. If you ever want to have a good cry a recommend this film.
  • alr12629 June 2006
    Warning: Spoilers
    I had to give this movie a 9, I have had dogs all my life and I have to say, I thought of each and every one of them while watching this film. It's a very sentimental film, boy has dog, money is tight due to the war, parents sell dog, dog goes on journey home. I checked spoiler in case this spoils the film for anyone. I highly recommend this movie for families, yes, the children will be on the edge of their seats, mom and dad may even shed a tear or two. Worth the time to see. I know I did! There is the standard bad guy, and various characters that are anti-lassie and pro-lassie, typical of older versions of this classic tale. Regardless, watch this movie, you will not be disappointed.
  • In this day and age of noisy family/children movies starring flatulent Ogres and whatnot, comes this quiet little family film about love, loyalty, honest, and family. It is a wonderful movie with wonderful performances by all. Not hokie and over the top like many other animal movies. This movie has all the elegance and grace of the best British pastoral movies of our time. Lassie and her boy are from a poor family living in a town in the English country-side. Sarah is from a rich, royal family. The families rarely intermingle and the glaring differences in their surroundings startle and add to the movie. Neither the poor nor the rich are stereotyped, but instead, treated like the multifaceted real people that these kinds of people truly are. Peter O'Toole is nominated this year for an academy award for his role in Venus, but just as well could have been nominated for his excellent portrayal of the Duke in this movie. I cannot say enough about this children's movie that has real emotions and real people instead of CGI characters and little heart. Now, don't get me wrong, I love a good CGI movie (Toy Story, Finding Nemo, etc...), but a children's movie with a heart and soul is hard to find. Go rent it. Make your kids watch it and talk to them about what they learned. If they don't learn anything from this movie, then it may be time to slow them down, ween them off the mindless drivel, and start filling their hearts and souls rather than their merely their funny bones.
  • This inspired adventure will warm your heart and provide your children with an introduction to the inequities of class-based society. Set in early 20th century England, a struggling working class family faces destitution when the local coal mine shuts down, leaving no work in town. Their young son's primary source of joy is his dog Lassie, but they can scarcely afford to feed him. When the granddaughter of nearby duke fancies Lassie, a deal is struck to exchange the dog for cash. How will Lassie respond to this form of trade? What effect will the dog have on these two families representing either extreme of peerage? Find out, and enjoy a couple of delightful subplots along the way. Meet an opportunistic upper-class "wannabe," an amiable puppeteer with a traveling sideshow, and even catch a glimpse of the era's dating scene.

    Like most children's films, the performances lean toward the pedestrian, but the cast is engaging nonetheless. The cinematography is breathtaking, and the story is fully realized. Don't miss it!
  • Warning: Spoilers
    With its class divisions and social differences, the have not's and the I want mores, this is the story of Lassie the Rough Collie, originally bred for herding in the harsh Scottish climates, she, like her owners have become innocent victims of the times. Set in the beautiful Yorkshire valleys and lush green fields, as well as the ever - mesmerising Scottish Highlands, with true filming locations in England and Scotland, plus County Wicklow and the Grand Masonic Lodge, Dublin in Ireland and the Isle of Man. This is a visual splendour of the vast wilderness and the beautiful panoramic landscapes, that when set against the tiny figure of the star herself only projects her impossible plight. Cinematography is by one Howard Atherton, and being a member of the British Society of Cinematographers too, has us transfixed at the stunning lands and lakes that are Lassies barriers and wedges that divide heart from home.

    Done with a gracious style of indifference and tender loving, Lassies adventure homeward bound is a story of human tragedies also, for the people that she stumbles upon, she brings course and effect, Lassie touches us all, her ever trusting, and weary, nature, she can become as close to you as only you wish to be close to her. With a cast of greats and new faces alike such as Peter O'Toole (1932 - ), as the sinister, cunning and malevolent Duke, with him are the likes of Scottish actor and comic Gregor Fisher, Jonathan Mason as young Joe, Peter Dinklage as the travelling Rowlie the street entertainer. We also see John Lynch as Joe's father along side Samantha Morton the wife and mother, and a bit part from the comedy actor Nicholas Lyndhurst, playing the evil Buckle, not forgetting the acting talents of Steve Pemberton, Robert Hardy and Edward Fox too. This all blends in extremely well too, set against the period sets, locations and costumes of the pre Second World War era. With the style of story telling, which was first written in 1943 by Eric Knight (1897 - 1943), that brings us to a state of trepidation, doubt and sorrow for our heroine, then at the right moment will have us adulated for her sheer guts and determination.

    Lassie is a family movie, and for sentimentalists alike, with its theme of finding ones home and knowing where the heart really belongs, with its subplots of human soul searching that are parallel to Lassies plight too, this is a fine story, told in both wondrous countryside and stately homes to back streets.

    This is a tale of knowing ones place in life, and wanting to be there, and the rewards of achievement when one reaches the end of the road.

    Heartlands Truly Moving Picture Awards, USA, gave Lassie top accolade for its very moving emotional impact and to quote their philosophy for picking such movies, "Truly Moving Pictures are films that explore the human journey by artistically expressing hope and respect for the positive values of life". I'll second that, will you?
  • Warning: Spoilers
    I've never seen any previous version of "Lassie". I only judged by my feelings for this one, and it's good enough.

    With beautiful cinematography and gorgeous symphonic music, this film is very easy to get yourself involved inside and wander by the plot. The little boy is not classically handsome, but he's very specially cute, like some character coming to life from a fairytale. And surely the collie Lassie is gorgeous enough to catch everyone's eyes, intelligent enough to deal with humans (both the good and the evil) and fortitudinous enough to run across the island to unite with her families. And many supporting roles were played by great actors and actresses and were played greatly.

    It's a hilarious masterpiece, though occasionally mixed with bitter and sadness. But isn't it what life should be? In this case, it's a good material to teach children with. They will know all the necessary elements of emotions and respect life and people from of all classes.

    **(spoiler) However, I just don't get it why the dwarf's little dog had to be dead.** I still think death is too cruel a thing to be shown to the target viewers of such early ages. And some scenes were considered too sentimental, thus may possibly prevent some adult viewers.

    So overall I'll say it's a masterpiece with flaws. Still it may give many families a great time to enjoy.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    This is a superb, authentic adaptation of Eric Knight's novel "Lassie Come Home". It avoids unnecessary, forced sentimentality to tell a straightforward tale of a dog's dedication to "home" (and Master). Structurally, stories like this are potentially problematic because the central plot threads divide once the heroine (Lassie in this case) escapes from bondage and begins her incredible journey. The trick is to make all the characters interesting enough so that when their lives are intercut with Lassie's progression, we don't lose interest in their plights. Thankfully, director/writer Charles Sturridge creates fascinating, complex characters all round and casts every role beautifully. Jonathan Mason is pitch perfect as Joe, the little boy whose devotion to Lassie equals the dog's devotion to him. Hester Odgers is magical as Cilla, the smart, sensitive granddaughter of eccentric aristocrat The Duke. And Peter O'Toole, as The Duke, strikes a perfect chord in every scene and gradually reveals his true, noble heart. John Lynch and Samantha Morton are entirely convincing as the struggling, working class couple who face an uncertain future and are forced to sell Lassie to make ends meet.

    The uncredited "Mason" plays Lassie, and what a moving, emotion-laden performance it is. It's not often that a male plays a female so utterly convincingly. Every scene the dog is in is riveting, and there isn't a moment that we don't sympathize with her ordeal.

    One of the film's most touching chapters is the one in which Lassie joins a traveling puppeteer (Peter Dinklage) on the road, performing in shows with another loyal dog. Dinklage, who previously appeared in the wonderful "The Station Agent", is thoroughly fantastic as the pint-sized puppeteer with a heart of gold. How this chapter plays out (in a misty forest) is quite traumatic and dramatic, and is an example of director Sturridge's firm control of the material. Interestingly, the tone of this sequence recalled Todd Browning for me, and was just off-kilter enough to still be suitable for the kiddies while keeping the oldies satisfied.

    I must also mention the stellar work here of cinematographer Howard Atherton. His understated style perfectly captures the period (pre-WW2) and breathes rich cinematic oxygen into the nasty sequence in the forest while making the montages of Lassie's difficult trek soar. Score by Adrian Johnston is suitably old-fashioned while echoing contemporary scores such as Mark Isham's musical masterpiece for "Fly Away Home", a film this one parallels tonally.

    A great film in every sense of the word, and one that doesn't resort to flashy tricks or bombastic style. It is a work of great discipline.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    This movie gets TOP Marks, in my opinion. I recommend it on a DVD Buy list - you won't regret it.

    One thing about this movie was that it went back to the original "Lassie Come Home" story-line and story locations (rural England vice suburbia United States). I loved the scenes and cinematography for that value alone.

    The worst thing about movies that are remade are that everyone expects them to be the same as the original. The original "Lassie" movie that the 2005 edition emulates was "Lassie Come Home", starring Elizabeth Taylor and Roddy McDowall( c 1943). Set in pre-WWII Yorkshire, they tell a tail about an out-of-work miner having to sell his family dog to the local land baron and the dog's journey back home after being relocated. The 1943 movie was spectacular given the available effects of the time (as were the follow-on movies, Courage of Lassie and Son of Lassie) and this movie, in my opinion does justice to the original and stands on its own right as a great movie. Its unfortunate that this movie has been so under-exposed that folks have thought the television series (1954, with Timmy falling-in-the-well and the subsequent US location filmed movies of the late 90s and early 2Ks). ~~ The 2005 edition, filmed on locations in Ireland, Scotland and the Isle of Man (Yorkshire having become too industrialized to support the wide-open screen shots in the terrain desired), and the actors and actresses are built on United Kingdom talents, rather than importing US actors and forcing the movie-goer to listen to vague renderings of what we would consider "english" accents (totally ignoring that Yorkshire and Scotland have two entirely different population groups and accents). I didn't consider the acting to be particularly wooden or abysmal as suggested by some, but the story isn't about the humans, so their part in the movie could be silent anyway. The story is about the dog. Some of the scenes seemed to serve little purpose other than to say "animal cruelty isn't accepted, not even by animal control officers". The burgeoning romance between the two adults who want to adopt the wayward dog just feel like "filler" and had no real value without some sort of follow-through or closure. ~~ I believe the efforts taken to make the movie appealing to the younger generation (children, who can still read a book) who haven't a clue about the TV series or the older movies, were exemplary. This would be a difficult movie to film and keep the story line close to the book "Lassie Come Home" in today's high-tech demanding computer-movie world. True, the dogs' scenes were scripted and appeared to be more staged than in the old movies, but that's largely due to the older movies not having to cope with huge amounts of extra processes and props that are part of today's production location. Anyone who's trained dogs knows its not easy to get the dog to go exactly where you want it to, time after time after time, until the director and producer feel the scene is perfect. ~~ This is a 21st Century Salute to the 1943 movie, and stands on its own as a superb movie, given the story-line and movie-goers desires. At best, it highlights in this No-Pets-Allowed world of disposable cellphones and over-run animal shelters, that owning then discarding a dog is traumatic for the people and the dog. At worst, its a movie that adults and children will love to watch, go home crying about, and then will help them be nice people - for at least a few days.
  • This wonderful adaptation of Eric Knight's "Lassie Come Home" is not only the best film version but also the best British Family film since the early seventies (Lionel Jefferies' wonderful duo of "The Railway Children" (1970) and "The Amazing Mr Blunden" (1972)). It is blessed with a great cast without a dud performance between them. Particularly worthy of mention are the two wonderful child actors Jonathan Mason and Hester Odgers as well as a charming performance from Peter O'Toole as the crusty Duke who thankfully does not turn out to be the cliché villain that he initially appears. Along with gorgeous photography by Howard Atherton and a script by director Charles Sturridge that mixes enough grit into the story to stop it from becoming too twee, this truly great family film should have become better known than it is. For those of us that have been lucky to discover it, it is an instant classic.
  • Lassie is just a wonderful movie. It has a sweet, engaging story, and everything works so well that you completely forget any areas that fall on the predictable side. Lassie's greatest strength is that it is never afraid to explore deeper and present some mature themes.

    The film also looks beautiful. The photography is just marvellous and wonderfully evergreen, while I loved the scenery just as much as it was stunning and quite picturesque. The script is also a strength; it is a very poignant one that cleverly avoids falling into mawkish sentimentality and also balances subtle humour social tension adeptly.

    The cast are just excellent. It also helps that the characters are well fleshed out and easy to relate to. Jonathan Mason brings the right amount of pathos to his character, while Peter O'Toole is a warm and charismatic presence and John Lynch, Peter Dinklage and Samantha Morton are also impressive. Lassie though makes the picture endearing, what a cute and talented dog and it makes it easier for the audience to sympathise with Lassie's predicament too.

    All in all, a very beautiful and moving film. 9/10 Bethany Cox
  • Everybody likes Lassie. It's a very safe movie for the kids. No cursing. Very little and controlled, mostly off-camera, violence. It seemed a bit boring in the beginning and there was very little action throughout the movie. Peter Dinklage did a very nice job as the puppet master. Lassie was the real star and left us all daydreaming that we owned her. Music and photography was awesome. Even though action was tame, drama was not. The drama of the movie sneaked up on me and took hold during the final 20 minutes of the movie. I started with a little misty eyes and ended up with full scale, non-stop crying for the last 15 minutes. I was not alone. We shared what tissues we had. But, unlike Old Yeller, they were tears of happiness. It took a full hour after the movie for me to regain complete control. Guess I'm just a big softy for families and dogs.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    I cannot praise this wonderful film highly enough! There are so few movies these days that you can enjoy with your whole family. This may be a little slow for really young children, (perhaps under 6 would be too young), but my pre-teen and teenage girls loved it. The cinematography is absolutely gorgeous, and those of us who are Anglophiles will recognize a lot of British actors. Peter O'Toole, Samantah Morton,Peter Dinklage (I know...not British...but he does a great accent) and John Lynch head a stellar cast of well known (at least to me) faces. I have never read the original book, but I understand that this film is very faithful to it. The beautiful scenery of Scotland and York made me feel as if I were right there. I have always been a sucker for dog movies, and this one is one of the best I've ever seen. I should have brought my Kleenex! The children in the movie are very good as well; not too cutesy, just serious actors.
  • pabloinak14 August 2019
    Overall a crear movie that will charm all the family, i dont know why it is so lowly rated it should be above 7.5 for sure
  • Intelligent, well made family feature from the original novel, bearing little resemblance to the now campy-seeming US TV series.

    Beautifully shot, well scored, and featuring a first-rate adult cast (Peter O'Toole, Samantha Morton, John Lynch, Peter Dinkage) along with some very endearing child actors, this manages to be sweet without being saccharine, sentimental without being cloying.

    It even has a nice layer of social commentary about the English class system – the story involves the beloved pet being bought away from a near-starving family who can't afford to say 'no' when a lord offers them cash for their son's faithful companion.

    I appreciated that Lassie is treated as a real dog, and not some kind of super-mutt. A great, wonderful dog to be sure, but her behaviors all stay within the realm of real-life dog abilities.

    A very good film for kids and tweens, and a not at all bad one for grown ups who might watch with them. While it might not have quite the deep emotional power and/or wild humor of the truly classic family films, it's certainly well crafted and worth watching.
  • This is a near-perfect film for what it is--a richly imagined, finely-acted, lavishly produced family film, and one faithful to the source; this Lassie is not a dumbed-down version where the dog does stupid pet tricks, but instead the film stresses the importance of the relationship between the dog and her pal, a young lad living in a coal town.

    Lassie, by the way is amazingly expressive and simply beautiful. The essential story is probably familiar to anyone over twenty who speaks English, but the film is enriched with cameos from major actors, including Peter O'Toole, James Fox, and Peter Dinklage, and with the lush, verdant vistas of Ireland standing in for Scotland.

    While not as emotionally elemental as the classic Roddy McDowell version, this modern retelling also has a strong underlying foundation; the implied criticism of the class system will not be an obvious statement to young eyes, but adults will easily pick-up the points made concerning the privilege of the rich; children of all ages should enjoy this sweet, universal fable.
  • What a movie! And What a dog! There are some brutal scenes, so I don't think kids under 8 should see this movie without an adult. It was very touching, and I was sobbing all the way throughout it. The acting was great. Especially Peter O'Toole as the Duke and Jonathan Mason as little Joe, amazed me. However, the dog totally steals the movie, just like it's supposed to. I think everybody can understand the pain Joe is going through when they have to sell Lassie. Even if you hate dogs, you will love this one! Yes, Lassie is a dog everyone will love, children as well as parents! It's a great movie for every family!

    PS: If you're going to see this movie, don't forget tissues!
An error has occured. Please try again.