User Reviews (166)

Add a Review

  • POIguy4 April 2020
    Another great sitcom from Nickelodeon. iCarly preserves Drake and Josh's legacy with a show equally as funny and emotional. I love these characters and their reactions to different situations! Nickelodeon just doesn't make sitcoms like this anymore.
  • AnnaPagrati25 August 2021
    Such a nostalgic & fun show! Provides you with so many laughing moments!
  • Warning: Spoilers
    Maybe you will enjoy the sitcom and see it from beginning to end (including the series finale)!!!!!!!
  • its_nusaybah2 March 2021
    One of the greatest nick sitcoms ever. It's a hilarious show and great for families to watch together. The cast has great chemistry too and I still love this show very much.
  • ryanc112914 September 2018
    10/10
    iReview
    This is one of best Nick sitcom that I ever see. Love the chemistry between the cast. Also, I believe that this would be one of the shows should come back to life
  • RNMorton20 February 2015
    Nick has started re-running this series and it reminded me of how really solid it was from start to finish. It was a combination of three key factors - great series concept (teenage girls running their own daily webcast), fantastic ensemble casting, and really good writing show in and show out. Victorious took awhile to get going, ended up being okay, but nothing Nick in this genre has ever consistently scored like this. Maybe nothing ever scored like this in the teen genre. Miranda provides the core of the show, Freddie is the ultimate good guy without being overdone, while Sam is a unique teen show character for the ages. Like early SpongeBob, this show has amazing viewing range, my 9 year old watches it regularly now (as my 13 year old did in its first run), and I've enjoyed each episode. Unlike SpongeBob, this show ended at exactly the right time. Kudos.
  • kdnor201119 December 2010
    In my personal opinion, this is the last excellent Nick show. Although that Victorious and Brain Surge look cool, when this show ends, I probably won't watch Nick again.

    The show focuses on Carly Shay, she and her friends Sam and Freddie have their own web-show where they do random things. Carly also has an older brother named Spencer, who is basically an artist trying to get his art career going. Not much to the plot, but it's a funny show.

    I like the fact that it focuses so much on the internet. Something that is very important in our lives today. And while the show isn't perfect, I plan on watching all future episodes, but Nick, please, PLEASE, don't drag this show on for like five more years, you lose your best shows that way.
  • I know I'm late to the party on this one, but I miss it. I was planning to write a longer review right now, but thadiusmain took the words right out of my mouth. I love this show for every reason that reviewer said. Back when this was on the air, I was in the worst spot of my life. I was a recent college grad with no job prospects and unemployed. This show was the only thing that could make me smile at that time. I'd watch it to ease my stress and just relax and disappear from the world. Of course, I do remember browsing online job sites while I watched it too, but this show kept me company when I thought the world was against me and I had virtually no self-esteem from being rejected by so many employers, so thank you for the quality entertainment throughout your 5 year run. This show will ALWAYS hold a special place in my heart!
  • lolaville2 June 2021
    Great show to watch very entertaining/ amazing actors! Enjoyed this show in my childhood... glad there's another series is coming back soon unfortunately Jennette McCurdy won't be in the new take this time around...
  • It seems like with everything Dan Schneider has produced, semi-spin-offs are inevitable. It certainly would seem that way with every kids' show he has produced. Amanda Bynes became such a force on "All That," she got her own variety show, which she was much better than. Former All That & Amanda Show cast-members Drake Bell & Josh Peck got a show of their own, and now Miranda Cosgrove, who played Drake's little sister on that one gets her own show here.

    Cosgrove plays as Carly Shay, a teenage girl from Seattle who's the host of her own internet site and show. Her co-host and best friend is Samantha Puckett, a girl played by Jennette McCurdy, and my memories of Miss McCurdy are from an exceptionally heart-breaking episode of "Law & Order; Special Victims Unit." Fortunatley, she gets to co-star in something much less heavy-handed. Not to say that the character she plays on this series is anything like that one guest appearance. She's an allegedly tomboy-ish, obnoxious girl who's hostile to a fault, always gets in trouble at school, and apparently has a drunken, mentally-ill mother who we see as often as Dr. Niles Crane's wife in "Fraiser."

    The only boy on her show is their technical producer and cameraman Freddie Benson(Nathan Kress), a boy in Carly's class who lives in an apartment across the hall from her and has an unshakable crush on her. Carly has made it clear that she doesn't feel the same way, something he's painfully aware of. Sam thinks even less of him, since he's a frequent target of her insults. Carly gets to do what she does, because she lives with her brother Spencer, a 20-something avant-garde artist played by Jerry Trainor. Trainor is another veteran of "Schneider's Bakery," being known for his role as Crazy Steve in "Drake & Josh." It helps to try to think of him as a rational version of Kramer from "Seinfeld."

    You wouldn't think that a TV show about a webcast would be interesting, but it is. If I tried to make a webshow, it would either bore the crap out of you, or annoy you to no end. In all honesty I'm as bad of a public speaker as President Bush. In any case, this show revolves around the lives of Carly & Sam and how they integrate it with the webshow, and how real life sometimes gets in the way and vice-versa. Speaking of real-life, it actually has real-live kids making their own webcasts for the show, although I'm convinced a lot of the kids are obscure kid actors. Good or bad, these videos tend to end up on the show, as well as Nickeodeon's website. And yes, you have some that are amusing and some that are annoying(your tastes may vary). These completely mental misadventures of Carly, Sam, and Freddie are hardly groundbreaking, but enjoyable nevertheless. If you don't have an aversion to kids' sitcoms, perhaps you should give it a try.
  • dee.reid3 July 2009
    "iCarly" is not a bad show in the least. It's about a teenage girl in Seattle named Carly (Miranda Cosgrove) who hosts her own live Internet web-show with her tomboy-ish best friend Sam (Jennette McCurdy) and producer/cameraman Freddie (Nathan Kress). Carly also lives with her sculptor older brother/legal guardian Spencer (Jerry Trainor).

    This is a very funny kids show (that will certainly turn away many adults not accustomed to this type of humor), much better than much of the crap being produced by Nickelodeon nowadays. I stopped watching Nick altogether about 11 years ago, because it removed many of the last of its greatest shows ("Aahh! Real Monsters" will be the most missed from that time) and replaced them with complete crap like "Spongebob Squarepants" and "Fairly OddParents"; the same thing began to happen to Cartoon Network and likewise, I stopped watching that channel as well.

    I'm 23. Right now, "iCarly" is the best thing that Nickelodeon has to offer in terms of good old-fashioned children's entertainment, for those of us young adults who still have a stomach for children's entertainment. After the conclusion of "Avatar: The Last Airbender," a fantastic pseudo-Anime'-style cartoon series that was nothing short of pure genius, "iCarly" is the next best thing on Nickelodeon right now, and that's a good thing.

    "iCarly" is cute, innocent, funny, well-acted and above all, entertaining in a way many children's shows just aren't anymore.

    I just hope that Nick doesn't get any funny ideas and decide to cancel this show before it's had a proper run on their station.

    10/10
  • I Carly is my top favorite show. I have been watching I Carly for years and years. It is so funny. Can't stop watching it.
  • There is not a lot out there that a guy my age can watch with his 11 year old daughter. Most of prime time network TV is way too adult themed to feel good about letting her watch, and many of the kid shows are just too annoying for my tastes. Along comes iCarly, a show my daughter and I have watched from the beginning. The show is definitely aimed at kids, but there are enough funny moments (often provided by Spencer, played by Jerry Trainor) to keep me interested as well. All of the four main characters (Carly, Sam, Freddy and Spencer) are likable and have good chemistry. You get the feeling that they like each other off the set as well. As the first season is coming to an end, I can only hope they'll continue making more. I recommend this for any Dad (who has a sense of humor and still knows how to be a kid once in a while) to watch with his kid(s).
  • Nik have a bonafide hit on their hands with this charming vehicle for the talents of star Miranda Cosgrove (formerly a supporting cast member and frequent scene-stealer on Drake & Josh). Created by former Head of the Class alumni, Dan Schneider, iCarly follows the adventures of a Seattle teen and her friends under the supervision of her unconventional older brother while her father is deployed abroad in military service. The cast is wonderful. Schneider has taken his knack for discovering young talent to new heights with this gifted ensemble whose singular and collective abilities frequently rise above the material -which is pretty good to begin with. As with previous discovery Amanda Bynes, Miranda Cosgrove exhibits tremendous skill and good comic timing coupled with honest-to-goodness likability. The same can be said of co-stars Nathan Kress, Jeanette McCurdy and Jerry Trainor who perfect a balance of silliness and earnestness without crossing into ridiculous or unbelievable territory. None of them oversell a bit or mug camera like in certain other Nik or Disney shows. With writing that is far from juvenile while still appealing to a young audience, iCarly is quite enjoyable and proves that youth programming doesn't have to pander to the lowest common denominator to attract an audience. Good, solid programming.
  • SanteeFats15 October 2013
    Warning: Spoilers
    I started watching iCarly in the middle of season 3 or 4. I found the show to be nonsensically funny. While the Sam character has reasons to be so mean there are times where she goes way overboard in my opinion. Of course this can be attributed to teen age hormones running rampant I suppose. Freddy is the only real reason they have a web show from what I can tell. Without his tech knowledge it doesn't seem as if there could be a broadcast. What's with Gibby and pulling his shirt off all the time? He sure ain't purty to look at with a shirt on. Carly is a warm hearted cutie who appears to only see the best in most people she runs into. Although she will go after a really bad one. The brother is a bit off center but he is an artist. How they earn income is never addressed. The brother sells a piece from time to time but where does the money come from for all the monthly expenses? Maybe daddy colonel? I find this show to be funny and at times it actually seems to address some aspects of teenage angst and growing pains. (With Sam around actual pain too, the butter sock is cool but wouldn't it start to drip or squish out when it warmed up)? Freddy's mom is even more off center than the brother. How Freddy turned out fairly normal with her around is a credit to the writers.
  • Such a great show! iCarly may be stupid, pointless, and unrealistic... but it gives you a good laugh!!! I have to admit, some of the characters are very stupid, but they're funny, which is what counts! Spencer is goofy, and exactly what you'd want in an older brother. Freddie is cute and techie. Carly is a goody goody, but she's a good character. Sam is funny, but violent and mean. T-Bo is hilarious... And Gibby... Gibby... Well Gibby's just Gibby. This show is very unique, and original. Most Disney shows are just the same concept over and over, but Nickelodeon is good at coming up with good, new ideas. I really like this show, and when it ends, I'll be very sad :(
  • foolishsker9 September 2007
    OK so you have this girl, Carly, living with her artistic brother Spencer. Carly has a best friend named Sam, when they are forced into doing their schools auditions for the talent show they see that a lot of their class mates have awesome talents. So long story short they start up some webisodes called "iCarly" were they host many wonderful and yet random talented people. This is all done with the help of Carly's annoying neighbor, Freddie, who also has a crush on Carly.

    Anyway the show is a hit that is watched by thousands of people. Personally though, I think that Jerry Trainor that plays Spencer steels the show. His random lines and insane attitude makes me crack up so much. For instance in the first episode Carly asks him to lend her his camera but he can't because he made it into a squirrel.

    Overall it's fun and cool and I recommend it to everyone,
  • Floated22 November 2008
    iCarly is a very good show to watch, its fun and has its entertainment. When i first heard about this show, i had mixed feelings and didn't know what to expect, but that has changed. This show is great and fun to watch. Its about a girl named Carly and her 2 friends (Sam & Freddie) who do a web cast on the internet. The plot seems simple but its actually entertaining and every episode seems different and new. Carly lives with her older brother Spencer in an apartment.

    I love how they set up the web cast, its very funny sometimes to go on their websites and see whats happening. The characters all blend in well together and seem to have great chemistry. And the acting is great, very well done...
  • Warning: Spoilers
    Words are not enough to express my hatred by this stupid, insufferable show...What happened with the good shows of Nickelodeon, like "Clarissa explains it all" or "Pete & Pete"? This shows is not only stupid and unfunny, but also incredible annoying as well, filled with inappropriate humor and unlikeable characters. All the characters of this show are annoying and irritating, and all behave like morons. The worst part of it is that none of them is funny or interesting at, all, their idiocy is only annoying and repetitive.

    Nickelodeon is getting worse and worse with the years, with horrible shows as "Drake & Josh", "The Naked Brothers Band" and this. "ICarly" must be one of the worst programs ever made.

    0/10
  • ckagarik11 July 2020
    ICarly has to of been one of Nickelodeon's best tween sitcoms. It is about a teenage girl named Carly who has her own web show with her Bff Sam Puckett as the cohost and her neighbor and other Best Friend as the technical producer. The characters are loveable with Sam's fierce attitude, Carly sweet appearance and adorable Freddie. I love iCarly! P.S. I know this is the but I wish a new sitcom will be as great as this in 2020...
  • Warning: Spoilers
    This show is one of the best sitcoms I have ever seen in my life. It was a super hilarious, relaxed, and very entertaining show. Yes, it did have its inappropriate parts, which I do not appreciate. That being said, these things dominate western TV and cannot be eliminated, as much as I would like them to be. These undesirable elements can be found in just about every sitcom AND cartoon, despite them being aimed at young viewers. So, ignoring some of the inappropriate parts, this show was an excellent sitcom. In fact, it is by far the most hilarious show I have watched. The characters had wonderfully refreshing and hilarious personalities, and all the actors were smooth and great at playing out their roles. Freddie, Sam, and Spencer are all great actors in the show, as well as Carly. None of the adults are boring either, such as Freddie's mother. However, Lewbert was one very annoying and gross character. It is sad that such great shows are not made anymore.

    *9/10*
  • This was one of nicks best shows. Miranda Cosgrove as the title character is one of the best characters to be created. She can funny, clumsy and cunning when need be. Sam as the grouchy, unhinges rebel and Freddie as the sympathetic fall guy.

    Carly lives with her hyper older brother who's also an artist named Spencer(Jerry Trainer). Together they all have wacky adventures behind and in front of the camera used for their web show. Anything can happen...

    The show was well written, shot and directed. The actors work well off each other. Probably the best character ever on the show is Neivel Papperman. Whenever he's on an episode, he steals the show. God! He's one of my favorite villains.

    So yeah, this was a childhood favorite of mine. This's a show I'd recommend to anyone who likes nick and wants to see a good live action show. ithink you should check it out.
  • dino_cale1628 October 2007
    iCarly captures a not-so-common life of a pre-teen girl perfectly. A smart, witty, funny girl and her best friend Sam have cool life having an awesome hobby (a TV Show), a spacious condo or apartment and her guardian is her 26 year old brother. It is one of those few shows where it's centered around a teenage girl, but guys can relate to it really well especially with the eccentric Spencer and the adorable yet sometimes annoying Freddy. I like iCarly mainly because I am a sucker for 21st century sitcoms and dramas like Drake and Josh and sometimes Zoey 101. Some of them may be girly but I love watching how kids/teens act with everyday things encountering their life. iCarly has a well rounded personality making this the best Nick sitcom in my view.
  • actormichaelo30 March 2008
    Even though I'm a fan of good ol' 90's Nick i love things like iCarly and Drake & Josk and Zoey 101.

    iCarly tells the story of three friends who create there own website were they have a live show every week and people can view.

    It's a great thing for kids to loose there imagination in and is very funny. The jokes are actually funny and not patronising to children, and i think that is a refreshing change.

    I love the episode called 'iNevel'. The kid that plays Nevel is very funny.

    Miranda Cosgrove gives another fantastic performance and has excellent comic timing.

    I also love the recurring characters! Very Funny!
  • This show is awful on so many levels it's hard to begin. I almost never see a show, particularly children's show, that I think is so painfully bad and damaging that I think it should be ripped off the air.

    iCarly is about a teenaged girl named Carly (Miranda Cosgrove) who lives with her dopey big brother Spencer (Jerry Trainor) in a lavishly furnished loft. Carly and her friends Sam (Jennette McCurdy) and Freddie (Nathan Kress) have an online show that has made them into celebrities. The three of them have a comedy webcast and often create trends, feature real world celebrities, and even invent holidays.

    I hate this show. I honestly don't think I have ever thought a show for children had messages as bad as this. After saying that, I must add I am not one to complain about children being exposed sex and violence or about how "morally bankrupt" shows are. (Family Guy and South Park are two of my favorites!). But this show is mean, judgmental, shallow, marginalizing, stupid, and plain NOT funny. The lead Carly is a stereotypical popular girl obsessed with herself, fame, and boys. These qualities are supposed to be endearing or likable, but they come across as obnoxious and shallow. Spencer is so inept at everything. I find his character confusing, because he seems to replace the role of an inept, stupid parent often included in other popular "tween" shows on Disney or Nick. But I have never seen Spencer act as a parent or do anything guardian-like, even though he is technically Carly's guardian. Either way, his stupidity is hyperbolized to an eye-rolling degree and he often shouts his lines. Sam is by far the worst character. She is a bully, engages in cruel pranks, and says horrible things to others. What's worse is that her very noticeable meanness is depicted as hilarious. Her lack of caring or remorse is also depicted as funny and cool. Basically, this show is condoning and almost encouraging bullying and mean behavior. Almost every single episode I have seen involves at least one instance of the stars making fun of, excluding or hurting someone because of their looks, weight, intelligence, popularity or more. This show definitely makes it clear that anyone "different" can and should be verbally (and sometimes physically) torn apart and kept as far away from the "cool" kids as possible. Freddie is actually the only character I find somewhat likable, as he is rather harmless. This probably has to do with the fact he is usually the butt of Sam and Carly's jokes and ends up humiliated or hurt.

    Then of course, there are some sexual innuendos, jokes, or the fact sometimes Sam and Carly are in scantily clad clothes. Now I hate the sexualization of children as much as the next person, but I believe many sexual innuendos fly over kids' heads. What I find more damaging to kids is not necessarily the exposure to sex, but the damage to their self-image that shows like this imply. There is one episode where a 14 year old Freddie is humiliated and teased because he's never been kissed. Now what message does that send to kids? That you need to make sure you get kissed around age 11-13 because EVERYONE ELSE is! That does a hell of a lot more damage than a young girl in a bikini—something kids normally see at the beach anyway. The kids on iCarly really live more like college kids rather than kids in middle/high school. It's common for kids on TV to act older than they are, but they usually still go to school and go home to parents. There is little to no mention of parents in this show, and Carly has absolutely no adult guidance in her life. Even when Freddie's mom has appeared she is depicted as overbearing, embarrassing, and treats him like a toddler. I have never seen a show that was so devoid of adults, and this further enforces the young viewer's idea (that most kids have) that they could live perfectly fine without parents because they know everything! Social implications aside, this show sucks. It's not funny, the jokes are stupid even by kid standards, and they overuse the laugh track so much it sometimes cuts into the actors' lines. ICarly has no redeeming qualities, and you're much better off having your kids watch some of the dozens of other dumb (but less damaging) shows out there.
An error has occured. Please try again.