Add a Review

  • Being that I'm 19 years old, and that I've acquired an outrageously dark sense of humor, I would never think that a show targeted towards kids would ever appeal to me. But, this show is an exception. This show is nightmare fuel, pure and simple. This 'nightmare fuel' aspect is, in no way, a negative view of the show. The backgrounds' dark and dreary art style seems to compliment the characters' lighthearted antics. Oftentimes, extreme reactions in the characters faces are grossly exaggerated in a vividly horrifying, and wildly entertaining, manner. The story lines, and even the setting, are twisted and sometimes hard to follow. Again, this is not detrimental to the show's entertainment value, but instead enhances it. It is cartoons like these that keep one's imagination alive and kicking, wondering 'what else could be thought of, what else could happen?'. This show is great, purely imaginative, and conceptually beautiful.
  • "The Marvelous Misadventures of Flapjack" are just that. Marvelous.

    This is probably the last great cartoon show on Cartoon Network outside of Chowder. For a man that has grown up watching cartoons, I have to say that the shows on Cartoon Network, and Nickelodeon for that matter, have been falling off in quality lately. Flapjack excluded.

    With the mixed media, the use of watercolor, the writing, the quirky stories, all of it is spectacular.

    It's like we say in improvisation, you have to find the love. This show really does a good job at showing the love between mother and baby, mentor and protégé, and between friends.

    Sure, Captain K'nuckles is a crass bad influence, he lies, he cheats, he steals, he's greedy, gluttonous, and whiney, but the lessons taught and learned are great.

    Flapjack is such a sweet, kind, energetic kid, it's hard not to fall in love with this nautical-nonsense cartoon.
  • This show is AWESOME!! It has great sense of humor and awesome story lines! I a specially loved the part where flapjack saw a kid and the kid was like "I'm 40 years old" and then the expression on the kid's face - Priceless! KEEP IT UP!!

    Hey, Flapjack! Come with me, we'll go see a place called Candied Island! Who needs Candied Island? It's safer at the docks. But there ain't no streams of sodie pop to drippin' off the rocks. It's dangerous and risky! But adventurous and free! Avdventure - that's the life for me! There's lollipop trees and a lemonade sea! Doesn't sound very good to me. The misadventures of... Flapjack: ... Flapjack!
  • MR_Heraclius22 March 2020
    Animation:This is the best part of the show for me since it looks so amazing heck I think it beats some current cartoon network shows.(Don't worry it does not beat Gumball and Steven universe) It has very well made backgrounds and the intro was freaking stop motion animation done really well. It also had very good character designs like I love Flapjack and peppermint Larry's designs. What more can I say it has Wonderful stop motion and Traditional animation with some amazing backgrounds and character designs. Obviously 10/10 .................. Plot:Flapjack takes place in a place called strongstorm harbour and Its about 2 adventurers flapjack and captain k'nuxcles who have been looking for a place called candied island but have never got there due to bubby and all the danger that surrounds the place. So they have been stuck on the docks most of the time. Also flapjack is being cared by bubby the whale since his parents are gone and bubby also serves as flapjacks home and that is the premise. It is very creative but I do think we could get a bit more back story but overall a nice premise it gets a. 10/10 ................. Humor: Though aside from some humor not being funny it does have really funny moments in there which will make you laugh out loud. 8/10 .................. Intro: Well I love this intro it tells you what the show is about and also reflects the characters personalities. The animation in it is freaking amazing to with all the stop motion characters. 10/10 ................. Verdict:In short Flapjack was a show that has wonderful animation, A catchy theme song,Good humor and a Memorable cast of characters. Sure sometimes the humor is bad and some characters are jerks but I do think flapjack is a very over looked show and the score I give it is. 9/10
  • All I can say about "Flapjack" is that it is one of the most bizarre animated show ever produced. Sometimes we watch it & when the episode is over we look at each other & say "Huh"? But we're always entertained & always laugh out loud at something. As a matter of fact "Magic Genie Island" is perhaps the strangest cartoon episode I've ever seen & I've seen a lot of em'. Suffice it to say that you've gotta see it at least once & experience the oddness for yourself. The animation is striking & in some cases a bit nightmarish but always interesting to the eyes. The voices are spot on as well. A great cartoon is what it is so give it a shot.
  • Flapjack is an excellent show for children and adults alike. Its original, funny, random, and sometimes down right creepy but we can look past that.

    I would say it's the next SpongeBob but its on a completely different level.

    It has not only puppets but the classic clay animation and if you don't like that there's more! The storyline is random but worth watching. Its hilarious on some parts you don't think are suppose to be funny but the style of it makes it so.

    All the characters are lovable or at least likable.

    And you'll feel good after watching it.

    And if that's not good enough for then I don't know what is.

    My only advice is to watch it on Cartoon Network on Thursdays at 8:30pm or 20:30 and judge for yourself.

    So have a nice time watching The Marvelous Misadventures of Flapjack! : )
  • noodlesforfree19 February 2009
    I love Flapjack. This show is amazing. It has beautiful animation and I love the watercolor backgrounds. Flapjack's voice and laugh make ME LAUGH OUT LOUD. And so does all the crazy stuff that happens in the show. Its creepy and lovable all at once. They live in a whale's mouth, K'nuckles is blue, Peppermint Larry has a wife made of candy- all bits that keep me wondering about the mysterious land of Stormalong Harbor.

    I don't know why anyone wouldn't like this show. Maybe people who kick puppies wouldn't. And people who get irritated by lots of noises. But if you were like that, you probably shouldn't be watching cartoons, eh?!

    I wish Flapjack was on right now. I'd like to watch it. Even though it was just on for an hour and I watched that. He inspires me to be adventurous. And eat candy. And make friends with a creepy old pirate. I even have a sailor hat. I hope there are 1,000,000,000,000 seasons of Flapjack. I want it to go on until the world ends. I want it to go on until after the world ends. I want Vishnu to be able to watch Flapjack as he floats on a sea of milk.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    For a while there, I thought that a lot of creativity was running out in daytime cartoon shows. I mean Spongebob and Camp Lazlo are great. But I miss most of my random shows of the 90's. I miss Rocko, Doug, Dexter's Lab, and most of the others. It seems that mostly shows just try to cheaply copy the anime look and feel and call it a day. But then, every once in a while, little shows like Flapjack come along and make my day bright again.

    Flapjack , being one of the strangest and yet most interesting of shows that Cartoon Network has seen in a while, has captured my heart. Though this show has its disturbing little moments (like Ren and Stimpy), it never fails to provide fun, enjoyment, and a good laugh to my family and friends.

    The show has an interesting and fresh approach to design. The backgrounds look as though they were painted with watercolors. Everything has a dingy and used look; making every element of the backdrops its own unique work of art. The show is like candy for the eyes. And speaking of candy, expect that to be a recurring element. Candy has many uses in the world of Flapjack. It is used for currency, trade, building materials, and even people (one of the main characters has a wife made out of candy). So yes, this show has a different vibe, but one I have come to love.

    I also have fallen in love with the characters of the show. Be it the good-hearted and spirited Flapjack, the tall-tale spinning Captain Knuckles, the motherly and ever-advising Bubbie, or the eccentric Peppermint Larry; I love these characters. Every episode provides you new insight on the cast and usually more to love.

    The only bad thing that I can say about the show is that sometimes it leans toward a more disgusting side of humor. It at no point crosses the line of shows like Ren and Stimpy, but it does give me an Eww Gross! moment occasionally.

    That aside, Flapjack is one of the best new properties that I have seen in animation in a long while. I find something special in each and every episode, and cannot wait for new ones to come out. Keep an eye on this show, and maybe it will catch you by surprise as it did me.
  • Flapjack is one of those rare cartoons that you just don't see anymore. It has this very surreal feel to it, almost like it is more for an older audience. It isn't afraid to show gruesome images or add a bit of adult humor. It has a lot of random humor as well. Saying this, I wouldn't recommend it for young children, because I feel adults would probably appreciate it more. It reminds me of the older, classic cartoons, where anything was possible and no one was afraid to push the envelope. And one random positive is that the characters is likable as well as quotable. One of these days it will be one of those classic cartoons. Awesome cartoon.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    I heard many bad things about this show, so I had very low expectations when I started to see it. But this animated series wasn't bad at all. Actually, it was pretty good. I don't understand why people say that the animation was bad: The animation of this show is pretty good, is real animation, not just some sticky figures animated with flash (Like horrible series as "Hi Hi Puffy Amy Yumi") I liked the character designs. Some would say that those designs are ugly, but I found them to be quite good: The characters are supposed to look ugly, that's the fun of it. Also, they are very expressive and quite different from each other, instead of the bland, plain animation of overrated cartoons as "Family Guy".

    Despite all the criticism, I really liked "Flapjack". If you liked shows as "Rocko" or "Ren & Stimpy", you would like this too.
  • vizzywizzyw15 March 2020
    This show is honestly just an acid trip, man. The humor is clever and well thought out even if a little out land-ish at times. Plus the artstyle never fails to make the show stand out. I remember comparing this show to Chowder way to much as a kid, and for that I apologise. This show definitely separates itself from Chowder and any other for that matter in its weird humor and awkward plot points. Any cliches the show may have had are over shadowed by the uniqueness that derives the show to continue. Honestly, this show definitely deserves its spot in cartoon history 👌🌲
  • WeAreLive21 October 2018
    Warning: Spoilers
    Well I really hated Chowder as a kid but Flapjack on the other was the best alternative to this show.

    In terms of plot its just about Captain Knocklas and this sailor boy called Flapjack who are on an adventure to go and find Candy island along with their wheal who talk in an Jamacian accent called Bobby. They also fight any nasty pirates that come in their way.

    My favourite episodes are the one where Knucklas gets confused with a mirror in shop window for a girl and when Flapjack goes blind and needs a hair cut.

    Even though I haven't watch this show in years but it was a memorable show even today. It is a real shame it was given the axe by cartoon network when they just reached Candy Island.

    Oh well Flapjack will definitely be show I will remember from years to come. It is too bad now that majority of my child hood is drowned and buried with good for nothing trash like Teen Titans Go (which is way worse then Chowder, Uncle Grandpa, Annyoing Orange,Clarence and Secret Mountain Fort Awesome) and Unikitty.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    In an endless sea of Dexter's Laboratory and Hanna-Barbara-esquire ripoffs, "Flapjack" certainly stands out. While it's simplistic main character designs (Flapjack, K'nuckles and Bubby) resemble the aforementioned cartoons, it's secondary character and background art truly shine. The backgrounds are not only handpainted, but utilize texturizing techniques (sponges and splatters) and multiple layers to give them a 3-D effect. It also incorporates claymation every once in a while to keep things interesting. The secondary characters range from pleasant looking to downright gross (I mean, that's what sailors most likely looked like). Just take a look at the opening sequence...awesome. Not since Ren and Stimpy has a cartoon shown so much attention to detail and proper animation techniques. I'd compare it to a cross between Pee-Wee's Playhouse and classic cartoons of the 50's and 60's. The animators and writers know what they're doing. Some of the animation is a bit graphic for very young children (the mermaid episode was almost nightmarish art-wise) but children, say, 6 and up will really dig it. Also the main character Flapjack is just a tad too androgynous for pre-schoolers to understand (everyone mistakes him for a girl and there is a little bit of gender-bending related subject matter) but otherwise it's pretty harmless. A great cartoon to let your kids watch, and a great cartoon for adults who appreciate classic animation. Watch it for yourself and see.
  • While it may not be as great as Chowder, it too actually does a very good job trying to save Cartoon Network from going downhill. The man who created Flapjack has worked on three of my favorite Cartoon Network shows such as the Powerpuff Girls, Billy and Mandy, and Camp Lazlo!

    In fact, a lot of the crew who worked on Camp Lazlo! worked on Flapjack. The art is very creative, it's dark and realistic, it has more to it than just being gross, the grossness and disturbing imagery fits the setting of the show, and the characters are very well-written. Not to mention, the voice acting is spot on. True, it's insane, but what would you expect? It's actually something I prefer over Superjail! Heck, the creator of Gravity Falls worked on this show.

    So, I was wrong about Flapjack being a horrible show. I really like Flapjack the way it is.
  • This show shows that Just because it's gross or its ugly doesn't mean it's bad. I like gross out, but I like it when it's done right, and Flapjack shows how you can do it right, It differences itself from Ren and Stimpy by being more slow paced, Calm, and more Quirky if you're thinking of the Sea Urchins Episode. Honestly, watching an episode is like watching Spongebob, it's real satisfying but it gets dirty and gruesome that it increases the engagement. When it gets gross, it's actually funny. The animation is slow yet it has some structure and feels like a Pirate map, the voice acting is well done in this show, Flapjack feels like a kid, K'nuckles feels like an Irresponsible Adventurer, and Bubby feels just like a sassy yet mother like character. The Characters are also great, its People like the Urchins,Punsy McKale, and Peppermint Larry that make me laugh even harder than seeing Steven,Garnet,or Peridot. I honestly don't see why Mr Enter hates this show only for gross out, I also don't see why it caused him to become a Virgin, It's calm and interesting but gross, and when it does get gross like in the Kitten Scene,it's calm and Subtle about it. Saying that I'm not a fan of gross out just because of Asperger Syndrome doesn't mean that you have to say that Patrick McKale isn't Human or that J Q Qunitel should die, Aspergers isn't something to say only to get furious about a cartoon and cyberbully writers of the show, as said by Zach Bellissimo, If you don't like these shows then don't watch them. Either way, if you're a fan of adventure and like to have a good ol'chuckle with the writers of the show, then this is the show for you.
  • With the dwindling quality of CN, this show is a gleaming new hope for EVERY cartoon around! Flapjack combines morbid humor, as Billy and Mandy did, with hilarious voice acting, strange animation, and funny and compelling stories make this show incredibly well made, and funny in it's different qualities.

    Thurop Van Orman's voice acting is hilarious, and the other acting is funny. The voice acting is clear, and never fades out of it's talent.

    The animation is very crisp, and looks like an 80's cartoon, which gives the show a classy feel.

    The music feels as if it came straight out of a pirate movie, and makes the atmosphere feel so much more classical.

    Overall, the show's morbid feel and classic animation makes the show unique among the last 3 remaining good CN cartoons with new episodes still airing (Flapjack, Chowder, and TDI/TDA), and with creative director J.C. Quintel working on the new "Regular Show", you can be sure we'll see TWO cartoons like this!
  • This is an excellent show! My husband and I (we are in our twenties) crack up so bad ever time we watch this show. Yes, even the reruns (which CN hardly shows). I love the wacky humor, and the style it is drawn in. The voice acting is perfect for each character. The voice of Flapjack is absolutely perfect (way better than who they were going to pick); it cracks me up. And the actor who talks for K'nuckles is like my favorite voice actor now, because of this. :) It's hilarious that they sing in strange moments, and the fact that everyone is addicted to candy is original and funny. K'nuckles is more of a kid than flapjack. :D I hope this show goes on for years, because it is the only reason I watch CN at all! Chowder is okay (it's their second best), but this is by far their best show airing to date. I would hate for it to get canceled and replaced by a total drama island wannabe. If they showed this show half as much as total drama island and 6teen they would see what a great show they have! This could be cartoon network's spongebob squarepants. Honestly, I think it's funnier.
  • This show was awesome i recommend you watching it it's great
  • FLAPJACK was a show I started watching since before its official premiere. (Cartoon Network used to air shorts called "Wedgies" between regular programs. The first FLAPJACK Wedgie aired nearly a year before the official premiere of the show.) I didn't watch every single episode but I did watch most of them. I don't think there was ever a cartoon with so much potential that had it all wasted.

    I did like the artwork. I can see why some people say it's bad. Some of the minor characters have a grotesque appearance, which I'm sure was intentional. This makes it kind of like RANGO. We have an innocent and rather naive character many rugged characters. I had a problem with RANGO because we have to look at them for almost the whole movie. It's okay in FLAPJACK because we don't have to look at these characters for too long.

    I think the backgrounds look fantastic. I love how the water is made of shifting cardboard. I love how Stormalong Harbor doesn't seem to be connected to any land. I love the Victorian setting.

    The main problem with the show was the writing. The jokes were rarely funny. Sometimes they didn't make sense.

    Now, I know what you're thinking: It's a cartoon so why should it have to make sense?

    Well, cartoons have their own set of rules that they can break. For example, in Chuck Jones's cartoons that involve the Road Runner and Wile E. Coyote, the latter, when he runs of a cliff, usually won't plummet to the canyon floor below until he notices that he ran off the cliff. But cartoons need to obey some rules of logic in order to be funny. If they don't, audience members will become preoccupied with wondering what's wrong with the plot rather than enjoying it.

    In one of the episodes of the first season of FLAPJACK, "That's a Wrap!" , Peppermint Larry tells Flapjack and K'nuckles that he'll give them a piece of candy each for every candy wrapper they bring to him. In the end, it turns out that Peppermint Larry is secretly making a map out of the candy wrappers. It's a map to Candied Island, the fabled destination of the show's lore. He needs one more wrapper, one that has the X on it. K'nuckles and Flapjack have it. K'nuckles finds out this information by eavesdropping on Larry. He goes back and tells Flapjack about the plan but before he can do that, Flapjack rips up the wrapper (because it was getting in the way of their friendship). Peppermint Larry had promised them 50 pieces of candy if they could give him the wrapper with an X (which Larry called a "plus" to keep his intentions secret). Flapjack decides to just write an X on an extra wrapper that K'nuckles has and they give it to Larry. Larry finishes making his map and heads to Candied Island but goes to Pickle Island.

    This doesn't make sense for a few reasons:

    1. Peppermint Larry seems to be the only seller of candy in Stormalong Harbor, which means he already had all the wrappers necessary for making his map but gave those wrappers away...for some reason. Sure he had to sell candy, but still, he gave away pieces of candy in wrappers that he wanted back. That makes no sense. 2. The part of the map with the X on it is the last part of Larry's map. If everything else on the map is right (and the show doesn't give us any reason to suspect otherwise) it shouldn't matter whether or not Larry uses the real wrapper or the fake wrapper that Flapjack drew an X on to finish the map. It shouldn't even matter if he doesn't have any wrapper to finish the map. All Larry had to do was sail in the area of the ocean that the wrapper covered and he would have found Candied Island eventually.

    If I haven't made myself clear, there are good and bad ways for a cartoon to not make sense. The example I gave above is a bad way for a cartoon to not make sense. I'll take an example of the good way from FLAPJACK itself: Peppermint Larry has a wife made out of candy (Candy Wife).

    Another mistake is that the show doesn't really go anywhere. In the theme song, K'nuckles and Flapjack sing about how great it would be if they went to Candied Island. The episodes are rarely about them trying to get there.

    A huge mistake is that they revealed in the episode "Over the Moon" that Candied Island really existed and yet, by the end of the series, K'nuckles and Flapjack don't get to it. I'm sorry, but I think what made Candied Island interesting is that the viewer doesn't know if it actually exists. Why reveal that it's real AND have the main characters fail to reach it by the end of the series?

    Another mistake is that Bubbie is kind of an unnecessary character. She's really only used as a house and as transportation by K'nuckles and Flapjack. Roz Ryan did a good job at voicing Bubbie, but the show would have been better if Flapjack had an adventurous adoptive mother who was a human and if K'nuckles was a real captain with his own ship. That would have been awesome.

    I could go on for a while longer if it were not for IMDb's word limit on reviews. I'll just finish by saying again that FLAPJACK had so much potential but it was wasted. Unfortunately, I can't judge a cartoon by what it could have been but by what it was.
  • paulmaddock-4854811 December 2018
    I've watch flapjack through a few times and have long thought it a master work of a cartoon. I love the animation, characters and the bizarre storylines. Great viewing that has been quite hard to get hold of. Hopefully it will start to get some more syndication.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    The Marvelous Misadventures of Flapjack is a very good show. but its not for little kids. its really creepy and dark. one episode has a guys face turn rainbow colored and he starts talking in a creepy voice. captain knuckles stares at flapjack with a creepy face. a lady breathes in knuckles face. and his skin peels off and you see his flesh. there's lots of dark imagery in the show. the doctors pretty creepy when flapjack had a piece of paper stuck to his face. he was going to rip it off with a spear. and later he tries to stab flapjack and captain knuckles with the same spear. the doctor is eating something next to the bed. his face is all red. but it turns out he was just eating a red donut. captain knuckles explodes and a bunch of hotdogs and blood fills the candy barell. captain knuckles tells a story about how he got his hand cut off. by accidentally sticking his hand in the garbadge disposal. captain knuckles gets attacked and gets everything taken from him and is left as a wooden hand and 2 eyeballs. and flapjack and knuckles visit a maple syrup island and its revealed that the owner hopes more people well come to his island so he can enslave them. and santa clause is seen in one episode were he makes bugs crawl on flapjack. captain knuckles drinks maple syrup and candy and gets a hangover. and there's some adult jokes a guy selling crabs yells i got crabs. and a box genie asks flapjack for more lubricant . with that being said i think The Marvelous Misadventures of Flapjack is not for little kids. and is for preteens and teens. and is a very good show for teens and adults.
  • i grew up watching syndicated warner bros. cartoons from the 'forties and flapjack is just as beautiful, dramatic, exciting, and laugh-out-loud funny.

    "the marvelous misadventures of flapjack" is a special work that dwells somewhere between maakies (or drinky crow) and spongebob. --and it's not just for cartoon lovers; the artwork reminds me of some of my most favorite memories of reading as a child.

    i'm glad that cartoon network can still show it still believes in really great shows like this-- that is all the "reality" programming i need.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    Hello Everybody GravityLoudhouseLover2 here again & I'm reviewing the Cartoon Network Show The Marvelous Misadventures of Flapjack. I remember 9 years ago when this show came out & I remember tuning on Thursday, June 5th, 2008 to watch the first episode & I did like it back then but today I find the show Mediocre. Anyway this show is about a boy Named Flapjack who lives his whale Mother Bubbie and his sailor friend Captain K'Nuckles. He and Flapjack are always trying to find Candied Island & getting into weird Adventures. Anyway The Marvelous Misadventures of Flapjack ran on Cartoon Network from June 5th, 2008-August 30th, 2010 with 3 Seasons & 92 Episodes. Anyway Flapjack is Alright Cartoon Network. 7/10 P.S. The Creators of Adventure Time, Regular Show & Gravity Falls worked on this show.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    I originally was excited to see the show after Cartoon Network's first release of promotional advertisements which portrayed it as being actually clever and funny. However, I was rather disappointed about the results. Flapjack lacks the basic elements of a good show but rather consists of those of a bad one which include:

    • Dark, gruesome animation. - General lack of plot and structure in which every episode ends up going nowhere at all. - Side drug references - Undesirable characters which are often shown carrying knives, swords, syringes or even getting into fights with other characters.


    In fact, the only reason why I rated this show a 3 out of 10 would have to be because of its animation which stands out from that of other cartoons. So don't waste your time with this show. For in my opinion, I wouldn't even watch it if it were the last thing on TV. Cartoon Network made a bad decision of choosing this show for its new lineup, and hopefully they'll come to realize that.
  • Cartoon network has been putting out a lot of stupid stuff lately. this has been going on since 2005 when they were came out with Ben 10, my gym parter's a monkey, and camp Lazlo, which are average at best. But what really scrapes the bottom of that poop barrel are these 2 cartoons: The marvelous misadventures of flapjack and chowder. The animation for both are just atrocious to look at, the voice acting is annoying, and are just full of stupid corny jokes nobody laughs at. I hate this show. Cartoon Network stinks now. And that's why I don't watch it anymore. Nickelodeon is going through the same thing, and the only thing worth watching is boomerang.
An error has occured. Please try again.