User Reviews (2,052)

Add a Review

  • Of all the different genres of films, I think modern horror is probably my least favorite. I love old horror films...mostly because they aren't extremely graphic and leave a lot to the imagination. But this is a case which proves I can be won over by a violent modern horror pic. The only reason I saw this one at all is because my daughter wanted to see it...and I didn't wanna disappoint her.

    I am not going to make this review long...as there are nearly 800 for this hit film already. Suffice to say, the movie is scary, the story very good (the things omitted from the book are generally best not being in the film) and I enjoyed the heck out of the picture. Who knows...maybe I don't hate the genre...just the brainless teens begin slaughtered at the abandoned amusement park/roller disco by a guy in a hockey mask sort of film.
  • Just got back from seeing 'IT'. Expectations were that of great interest but also apprehension. Eight years ago, back when there was a personal unfamiliarity and ignorance of Stephen King's style and less appreciation for the book, there is the admission of saying don't bother with a re-make.

    Couldn't be more wrong. This was a case where another adaptation was not only warranted but necessary. 'IT' is such a great story that deserves to be done justice and with one of the best trailers of the year this actually looked good. However, with the other King film released this year 'The Dark Tower' being such a disappointment, there was apprehension as to whether a film based on such a huge book would work.

    'IT' as a book is one of King's best and one of the best of the horror genre. King's attention to detail, how he writes scenes with children and depiction of fear are unparalleled, with wonderfully drawn characters, one of the terrifying antagonists in literature and many unforgettable scenes, ones that burn long in the memory in how scary they are. The book is much more than just a horror story though, also with nostalgia, comedy, pathos and deep characterisation.

    'IT' was previously adapted as a mini-series in 1990, which is remembered fondly by those who saw it as children and left them terrified but often derided by fans of the book. To me, it has a lot wrong with it with a vastly inferior second half and an anti-climactic let down of an ending with the infamously terrible effects of IT's true form. But it is nowhere near one of the worst King adaptations, it's not even the worst of the mini-series. Compared to the book it's very poor, as a standalone it's wildly uneven but has more to it than Tim Curry's unforgettably magnificent Pennywise. It has a great first half with strong performances from the child actors, some unsettling moments, a 'Stand By Me'-like nostalgia and a great music score.

    This 2017 film adaptation is a big improvement and one of the best King adaptations in years. It does have changes, including the change in decade, not following the same structure, different IT encounters for some characters and another motivation for wanting to defeat IT. However, it is very loyal in spirit to the book that is apparent throughout. What makes it better are better production values, explanations and character motivations being more logical, Henry Bowers being more of a psychopath (and he is given a reason for why he came to be the way he is, when it was only implied once in passing previously), Beverly's father and the relationship between the two having more of a creep factor and even better child performances.

    Not without its faults. Not all the special effects work, the fangs and the overdone Pennywise shaking look cheap. Mike is underused and underdeveloped compared to the others and the other bullies are pretty much given short shrift (Victor Criss practically anonymous).

    Some people have said that 'IT' is not scary. Personally disagree, finding it one of the scariest films seen in a long time. Not many films recently made my heart jump, covering my eyes, biting nails or stifling a scream. The Niebolt Street, bathroom, George and Pennywise and photograph/slideshow scenes especially are absolutely terrifying, and there are beautifully timed jolts, real tension and eeriness and suspenseful lead-ups, aided by atmospheric intricate lighting and clever effects for IT's forms (that leper!).

    With that being said, 'IT' is much more than a horror film, and is more successful in its other elements. It has comedy, and it's hilarious especially with Richie and Eddie. There is an affectionate nostalgia, reminiscent of 'Stand By Me' and 'The Goonies' and reminding one of how good King was at writing scenes with children and childhood adolescence, which the writers understood and it translates brilliantly on screen. There is pathos, like with Ben's poem and the two most heart-wrenching moments are in the frightening, heart-tugging and triumphant climax. The characters are written very well on the most part, particularly Bill, Beverly and Ben, while Pennywise is evil-incarnate.

    Production values mostly are terrific, not just the lighting but also the beautifully realised Derry setting (Niebolt Street is a standout), taut editing and cinematography that's both stunning and unnerving. The effects mostly are not bad, the make-up is superb and how Pennywise is made up has a creepier effect. The music score is truly haunting, "Oranges and Lemons" has never freaked me out this much.

    Andy Muschietti directs with suspense, potent realism, confidence and affection, while the writing has a great balance of hilarious comedy, touching drama and pathos, references to the time period, King and history of Derry and nostalgia. The story, even with the change of time-line and structure, is cohesive and logical, rich in suspense and emotion but it's the chemistry between the children and the sweet and surprisingly real relationship between Beverly and Ben that resonate most.

    One couldn't ask for better performances. The children are uniformly wonderful, especially a vulnerable Sophia Lillis, a hilarious Finn Wolfhard and a relatable Jeremy Ray Taylor. Jaeden Lieberher handles Bill's dramatic arc very touchingly while Jack Dylan Grazer is very funny. Mike and Stan are well cast. As for Pennywise, it is a very difficult feat filling the iconic Tim Curry's giant clown shoes, but Bill Skarsgard does so superbly, providing a different interpretation that never feels like a copy and has just as much chilling menace, nightmarish air and dark twisted amusement. Curry's laugh is creepier, but Skarsgard's is closer to that described in the book.

    All in all, brilliant and if the second film with the adults happens please have the same writer, director and Skarsgard on board, and use this as a model rather than the mini-series' second half with better cast adults and a far better ending. 9/10 Bethany Cox
  • It (2017)

    *** (out of 4)

    A small town has a strange history with various disasters that strike every twenty-seven years and more times than not it's children that are harmed. One summer a group of friends realize that they are all being stalked by the vision of a sinister clown known as Pennywise. They soon realize that if they don't try to kill it then he will kill them one by one.

    Stephen King's IT was originally made for television in 1990 and it was a hugely successful film that scared the crap out of people. The film had all sorts of hype going into it and it actually lived up to it. The film carried on a cult following for years and then news broke that a new adaptation was coming. This film really try to create the same type of hype and it ended up being a massive box office hit. People were eating it up and it's easy to see why. With that said, as much as I loved certain parts of it there's no question that there are some major flaws as well.

    The great stuff includes the drama aspect of the story. The real terror comes from the bullying, the girl's sexual abuse by her father, the blame you place on yourself for your brother's death and of course there's the building of friendships that kids do during the summer. All of this is perfectly done and director Andy Muschietti does a wonderful job with the development of the characters. He also does a terrific job at capturing the mood and setting of a small town. The 1988/89 settings were perfectly captured and you can sit there and feel that you're in a real town with real characters.

    All of the performances by the kids are simply wonderful with Sophia Lillis and Jeremy Ray Taylor really standing out. The adult performances are just as great even though they're all basically small supporting roles. Tehn there's Bill Skarsgard as Pennywise. I thought the actor was terrific in the park and I enjoyed how much more sinister this clown was. I also loved the line delivery and thought the actor was terrific at bringing this character to the screen.

    With that said, there are some major, major flaws that pretty much kill the horror elements of the film and that's the CGI. The CGI effects are so fake looking that I couldn't help but be taken out of the drama that was going on. This isn't a Marvel movie or some sort of fantasy. Why build up the setting so much just to throw it all away with cheap effects? And I ask you this.... Was this CGI, fake looking clown that rushes towards the camera or floats around really as creepy as the actor and his make-up? Why they had to throw these cheap, fake looking effects is anyone's guess but it really hurts the film.

    Overall, I'd say that the original was better but there's still a lot of great stuff here. It's really too bad that there really aren't any scares due to the fake looking effects and it's even worse that everything was there for a much better movie. As it stands, IT is good but not a classic.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    IT is the first of a two-part modern reworking of the Stephen King classic, first adapted for the screen with the miniseries back in 1990. I like the miniseries a lot, and Tim Curry's interpretation of Pennywise remains definitive, but the 2017 IT is surprisingly decent. It has a far more adult edge than the miniseries, and it's much, much darker. It seems to capture the dark heart of the King novel very well, the very essence of it, while the real asset lies in the all-child cast; the performances are generally excellent, going for realism over sympathy or sentiment and feeling very true to life as a result. The scares are well telegraphed and perhaps a little too inevitably reliant on CGI trickery, but for a modern horror they're quite effective. I didn't mind the updating to the 1980s setting either as it makes sense to follow King's trend of setting the past scenes 27 years before the present day. Despite the flaws I found this to be one of the stronger horror films to come from Hollywood in recent years; there's something pleasingly old-fashioned about a film that emphasis strong plotting rather than a series of jumps or chases descending into tedium.
  • It's 1988 in the small town of Derry, Maine. Bill Denbrough makes a paper boat for little brother Georgie. Georgie plays with it in the rain and it floats down into the sewers. He encounters Pennywise (Bill Skarsgård) and we're off. Bill faces the loss of Georgie with his friends Richie Tozier, Eddie Kaspbrak, and Stanley Uris. They are bullied along with new kid Ben Hanscom, home-schooled Mike Hanlon, and abused girl Beverly Marsh. There is a series of missing kids and Ben may have uncovered the disturbing cause.

    I am not a reader but I did watch the mini-series many years ago (not as a kid). It struck me right away that it obviously needed to be split into two movies. The kids' side could be a great horror and I didn't care for the adults' side that much. It's a decade later and they've made the kids' part of the novel. There are two trailers which really caught everybody's eye and peaked my interest.

    This is like a darker and more brutal Goonies or more likely, a Stand By Me with more gore. It's not a slasher torture porn. It's not super scary but that's not the objective. Honestly, I laughed more than I was scared. It is surprisingly rather funny. It is super well made. Even the cinematography is beautiful. The kids have amazing chemistry. Each one is an individual. They are fun together and natural. Their stories are honest and brutal. This version of Pennywise is creepy and much more a monster than the teasetastic Tim Curry. There are jump scares but the movie does not rely on them. They aren't that big anyways and the one with Beverly is already given away in the trailer. I would put this comfortably on the same level as the two iconic coming-of-age movies previously mentioned.
  • it could be a good adaptation. or a decent horror. or one of films who remains, for a long time, seductive collection of scenes. but it is a splendid eulogy of friendship. remembering "The Lord of Rings". but giving the essence of childhood as the best field for strong relations. this does it special. and, off course, the performance of Bill Skarsgard, not surprising but good prize for expectations of the viewer who knows his roles and the art to build the characters.

    I admit - after the adaptation from 1990, the expectations about a new version on screen of "It" makes me skeptical. and Tim Curry was the perfect Pennywise. but Andy Muschietti has the courage and the science to give more than a modest remake. and this is the axis of this real beautiful film.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    Let me start my review for the new 2017 horror blockbuster by saying that I have not read the Stephen King novel or seen the old "It" from 1990, so my review for this film here has only to do with the film itself and no other version / base material. I have seen director Andy Muschietti's older film Mama and I wish he could have written the screenplay for this new film himself like he did back then as what the writing trio (that is far from a bunch of nobodies) made out of it (no pun intended) here is definitely a case of too many cooks spoiling the broth. But first things first: It runs for comfortably over 2 hours and tells the story of a group of kids as they fight and eventually overcome a dangerous demon in the form of a clown. The latter goes by the name of Pennywise and maybe he was the best thing about it all. Sadly, he and the film peaked already very early on in the rain/sewer scene and that one was quite amazing. There he did look like a worthy antagonist. But honestly afterward he fails on so many occasions and cannot even kill one of the kids from the group. Lets keep it family friendly shall we? Thanks, but no thanks.

    Now about the gang itself: I really never ended up liking or cheering for those kids. One reason for that may be the one with the glasses who is really downright annoying and as his comments were supposed to be the comedic foundation of the film, that is a perspective where the movie didn't work at all. And there's others. In general, the child actors weren't good at all and I would be surprised if we see more than 1, maybe 2, of them acting 20 years from now. The fat kid and the girl were maybe still the best of them, even if their fairy tale like kiss was also one of the weakest moments. The one with the glasses I cannot deny I wanted the clown to kill him, same for the one who got added for diversity reasons towards the end, who added nothing to the film at all. The boy being probably the closest to a lead actor, the one with the dead brother, was not particularly good either. This showed on several occasions, but of course the script did not help either. There is that one scene when he holds a speech that he'd rather enter the house of horrors than his home where his brother is missing was maybe the most cringeworthy moment of the film. You could see how they were desperately trying to make an impact in terms of drama, in terms of coming-of-age. But it all went wrong and not just on that occasion. There's maybe half a dozen more examples. So from the drama/emotional perspective, maybe even romantic perspective, it is a failure too. It was obvious how they wanted to make more than pointless horror fun with the several abuse (physical, emotional, sexual) stories, but the talent just wasn't there to make it work, let alone make it memorable. And at some point, it also isn't fun anymore to see Pennywise with his huge forehead being stopped again and again from killing any of the heroes as he really turned into a clueless impotent clown finally. I guess they still wanted to make it family friendly overall by not killing off any of the good kids except early on. That looked like a really cowardly approach to me. Eventually this film did not come close in its attempt to combine kids and horror, what is a successful formula these days if you look at Stranger Things" for example. I see a sequel is planned for 2019, but after how weak this one turned out to be, I cannot say I am curious about that one at all. Definitely a contender for my biggest 2017 film disappointment so far. Do not watch and I had a feeling that the mix-up between reality and imagination was handled so shoddily in here that it was just beyond confusing. Maybe even the writers lost their focus as this did not turn out half as smart as they wanted it to be. Do not be fooled by the overwhelmingly positive reception. This is not a good film!
  • claudio_carvalho19 December 2017
    Remakes are usually the dumbest way to explore the success of a great film. However, "It" (2017) is not a bad movie; indeed it is a good remake of the first part of the original "It". The storyline is the same but the screenplay was rewritten. In the original film, the seven lead characters are adults meeting each other in Derry. Their childhood is told through flashbacks where the viewer learns their experience with the evil Pennywise when they were children and their pact to return to their hometown if necessary. "It" (2017) is linear and tells the same story of the seven bullied children since the disappearance of Georgie, ending with their pact to return to Derry. Now there will certainly be another "It" with these characters adult. Sophia Lillis, Jaeden Lieberher and Bill Skarsgård have extraordinary performances. My vote is seven.

    Title (Brazil): "It: A Coisa" ("It: The Thing")
  • Director Andy Muschietti takes inspiration from another Stephen King adaptation, Stand by Me. He has also added a touch of The Goonies. Set in a small town back in the summer of 1989 where some of the kids run away from bigger bullies but the real malevolent force in Pennywise the sinister clown.

    The kids discover that disaster strikes every 27 years where children disappear and it is for them to take a stand and stop the clown.

    The story is built up slowly, we first see a child playing with a paper boat which goes into the drainage system where he encounters Pennywise and disappears. His brother is traumatised. Most of the early scenes are kids at school, being teenagers, getting bullied. A girl has an abusive father, one child is ill or is he? However the tension soon mounts as Pennywise taunts them, his appearance being increasingly horrific.

    We see a lot of the movie titles that came out in 1989 such as one of the Freddy Krueger sequels. Another is Batman, Pennywise as a hint of Jack Nicholson's psychotic Joker.

    It has certainly garnered a younger audience with the approach it has taken. My teenage son is not fond of clowns but he was reeled in because we follow these young teenagers and their adventures and trauma.

    The film does run for too long, it could had easily knocked 20 minutes off the running time and this affects the pacing of the movie. Some of the CGI looks a bit cheap as well.
  • nogodnomasters30 October 2017
    I won't labor on the plot, but will just make a few comparisons. The other film was made for TV and was limited it what it could do. This production only concerns the childhood and not the second part as adults. The special effects were improved to make for a far more scary and intense film. Some of the original dialogue appears and I had a few moments of deja vu. I thought the child actors were better. This reboot is superior to the initial in every way. Guide: F-words. No sex or nudity.
  • nogodnomasters30 October 2017
    I won't labor on the plot, but will just make a few comparisons. The other film was made for TV and was limited it what it could do. This production only concerns the childhood and not the second part as adults. The special effects were improved to make for a far more scary and intense film. Some of the original dialogue appears and I had a few moments of deja vu. I thought the child actors were better. This reboot is superior to the initial in every way.

    Guide: F-words. No sex or nudity.
  • kosmasp1 November 2017
    Though I feel like I could use this/headline probably sometime in the near future. But leaving this aside, let's get to the meat of things (no pun intended). It's been a while since I saw the first attempt on bringing this to the screen. This or IT being another story by Stephen King. The first attempt was made for TV, so that and the fact it's been a while I wouldn't be surprised if the effects are nowhere near this newer version and that makes sense.

    Still I do remember Tim Curry doing a phenomenal job. Something Skarsgaard had to play against. I don't think you should compare myself, but I know that some may not be able to help themselves. Whatever the case, the new clown is terrifying as well. And the effects are really good. So while horror fans and hardcore horror movie watchers may not be as overwhelmed by this then the general audience, this still is a good film overall. And it still has a lot more "blood" in it, than one may expect. Just not exactly the way you may expect it ... so don't expect a blood fest. Expect a genuinely scary movie, that will leave an impression with many young ones ... maybe you are one of them
  • Sleepin_Dragon15 September 2019
    I made the decision to wait for the second part's release to watch it, and I watched the first one, and went straight to the cinema for this, for me it's one long film.

    Where do you start? It's a messed up book, with some real dark, crazy horror. Some of it translated here, some of it didn't. The famous scene where Pennywise is first seen I loved, it was terrifying, and from that first moment, I loved Bill Skarsgård, and have nothing but praise for him.

    People criticising the run time, clearly haven't read the book, it's a long, but rewarding book. As I now can compare the two films, I preferred this first installment. It's very well made, well acted, definitely enjoyable.

    Sometimes it felt more adventure then horror, it never really felt full on horror, there were some very good scenes, but they could have ramped it up a bit. Many people are terrified of clowns, they could have pushed that vibe a bit more. Lots of humour, too much though? Not sure, I didn't detect much humour in the book.

    I'm so glad Stephen King is on the big screen still, how about a reworking of The Tommyknockers?

    7.5/10
  • Warning: Spoilers
    For viewers with coulrophobia - beware! That's a fear of clowns if you don't know, and if you don't know if you have a fear of clowns, you WILL know after you see this film. Bill Skarsgard's take on Pennywise the Clown in this remake of the 1980 TV mini-series is a masterful interpretation, delivered for a twenty first century audience that's been desensitized by over the top gore and horror of recent vintage. And that's not meant to take anything away from Tim Curry's portrayal in the earlier film, he brought his own brand of selective nuance to that characterization.

    I liked the idea that the story takes place in 1989 as opposed to the Fifties in Stephen King's novel. With a twenty seven year cycle between appearances of the evil incarnate known as Pennywise, the second chapter will bring events relatively current into a 2016 time frame. The story reinforces the 1989 time frame with a movie marquee featuring the first modern day "Batman" movie along with the "Lethal Weapon II' sequel. A side view of the same theater also mentions "A Nightmare on Elm Street 5", a nice touch for horror fans of that series.

    I agree with a fair number of commenters on this site that mention the natural camaraderie of the members in 'The Loser's Club'. Some of them, like Mike and Stan are underplayed a bit, but not every one of them can be a standout. The manner in which the nominal leader Billy (Jaeden Lieberher) was written was very well done, in a way that handled his little brother's death as real, but holding out some hope that maybe, just maybe there's the possibility that he's a missing person. As the viewer of course, we know that Georgie was a Pennywise victim right at the outset, even though we get teases later on in the story that the evil entity is working through the guise of Billy's little brother.

    As far as the scary elements go, I've probably seen enough horror films to have become somewhat jaded over the years relative to jump scare moments and other nasty surprises. The one scene I thought was outstanding was when Pennywise emerged from the slide show presentation in Billy's garage, that was exceptionally well done. What really made the film work for me was the bonding between the seven 'Losers', all of whom entered into a blood pact to respond to a future crisis when the time should arrive.

    With that, the one disappointment I experienced was that there was no 'after credits' sequence to give us a hint of what to expect in the second chapter. If you hang around until the theater employees are ready to throw you out so they can clean up, all you get is that maniacal laugh from Pennywise to send you off. At least he could have popped out of the screen.
  • I've never read Stephen King's novel about a supremely evil force that terrorizes a Maine town, but this adaptation is worth seeing. Bill Skarsgård plays Pennywise as a truly malevolent being who knows just how to get into people's confidence. Basically, 2017's "It" is a creepy movie that hits the right notes. The children do a fine job with their roles. Like some of Stephen King's other works - "The Body" (adapted as "Stand by Me") and "Hearts in Atlantis" - it does a good job showing how the adults are lousy role models, so the children join up to achieve something. But make no mistake, Skarsgård is the real star. Don't be surprised if you want to sleep with the light on after seeing his performance.

    I also recommend the 1990 miniseries, and I hope to read the novel. Good one.
  • jboothmillard14 September 2017
    8/10
    It
    Warning: Spoilers
    I watched the original 1990 TV made movie, starring Tim Curry as the evil clown Pennywise, (having watched it a second time) it was enjoyable, so I was most interested to see the producers of The Ring, The Grudge, Sherlock Holmes and Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter were making a new version of the famous Stephen King novel, directed by Andy Muschietti (Mama). Basically, on a rainy day in Derry, Maine, October 1988, Bill Denbrough (Jaeden Lieberher) gives his seven-year-old brother Georgie (Jackson Robert Scott) a sailboat made from notebook paper. Georgie sails it in the street gutter, but it goes down a storm drain, Georgie peers inside and finds a man dressed as a clown who introduces himself as "Pennywise the Dancing Clown" (Bill Skarsgård, Stellan's son), the clown entices Georgie to reach in for the boat, then severs his arm and drags him in. Eight months later, June 1989, on the last day of term at Derry High School, Bill and his friends Richie Tozier (Finn Wolfhard), Eddie Kaspbrak (Jack Dylan Grazer), and Stanley Uris (Wyatt Oleff) face constant bullying from Henry Bowers and his gang. At the same time, young girl Beverly Marsh (Sophia Lillis), who is being abused by her father Alvin (Stephen Bogaert), runs into Ben Hanscom (Jeremy Ray Taylor), who has recently moved to Derry, Mike has encounter with Pennywise. Bill is haunted by the disappearance of Georgie, he believes his brother may still be alive in the marshy wasteland called the Barrens, he recruits his friends to check it out. Ben finds a book on Derry's history, he learns the town has been plagued by mysterious unexplained tragedies and child disappearances for centuries, he escapes an attack from Pennywise, then Henry's gang, and flees to the Barrens. Ben runs into Billy's group, as they find the shoe of missing girl Betty Ripsom, after they leave, Henry's friend Patrick Hockstetter (Owen Teague) is killed by Pennywise in the sewer. The next day, each of the children have a nightmarish encounter with Pennywise, Eddie is attacked by a rotting leper, and Stan is traumatised by an animated figure from a painting. Beverly has a a fountain of blood spurting from her bathroom sink, coating the bathroom, Bill is lured into the basement by a vision of Georgie, he narrowly escapes Pennywise. Weeks later, the group, referring to themselves as "The Losers Club", come to realise they are all being terrorised by the same entity, "It" assumes the appearance of what they fear, Ben also deduces that the creature awakens every 27 years to feed on the children of Derry before returning to hibernation. The group determine It moves unseen through the sewers around Derry's well, where 29 Neibolt Street is built, Bill, Richie, and Eddie enter the house while the others remain outside. After the encounter with It, Eddie's mother arrives and is horrified by her son's broken arm, she takes him away, the group begin to splinter. It is now August, Beverly incapacitates her father with a porcelain toilet lid when he tries to rape her, she in abducted by Pennywise, Bill assembles the others to mount a rescue, meanwhile It manipulates Henry to murder his abusive father, and sends him to kill the Losers. At the Neibolt house, the group abseil down the well, Henry struggles Mike, until the bully falls down the well, apparently to his death. The group find It's lair in an underground cooling tower, filled with decaying circus props and children's belongings, there they find Beverly in a catatonic state, along with dozens of missing children corpses, floating above them. Beverly is revived with a kiss from Ben, It tries to trick Bill, appearing as Georgie, Bill shoots It in the head, Pennywise tries to take Bill hostage, but the other help and brutally fight It. It attempts to use their fears against them, but Pennywise is mortally wounded and cornered, Bill coldly tells Pennywise they know It needs their fear to survive, they have effectively starved the creature by making It afraid of them. Knowing it has no more power over the kids, It dissolves and Pennywise escapes into a deep pit, and the floating children slowly descend, Bill breaks down accepting his brother is dead, he is comforted by the others. One month later, Beverly tells the group that while catatonic she had a vision of them fighting the creature as adults, the Losers make a blood oath to return to Derry in 27 years, if It returns they will destroy the creature once and for all, one by one the Losers depart, and Bill and Beverly they share a kiss. Also starring Stuart Hughes as Officer Oscar "Butch" Bowers, Owen Teague as Patrick Hockstetter, Logan Thompson as Victor "Vic" Criss, Jake Sim as Reginald "Belch" Huggins and Geoffrey Pounsett as Zach Denbrough. Skarsgard gives a great performance as the disturbing nasty clown, and the seven young actors are all impressive, it is a simple story, a Stand by Me style story of a group of tween friends who bond together to fight against an ancient evil, it works well with the friendship element, and it is thrilling and scary when it needs to be, the highlights are definitely the opening, and the bathroom blasted with blood. It went on to become the highest-grossing horror movie of all time, and ended as being "Chapter One", so I look forward to the follow-up, a most enjoyable supernatural horror. Very good!
  • Warning: Spoilers
    This adaptation of Stephen King's mammoth novel works exceptionally well because of how vivid and sympathetic the misfit main characters are: One really believes that these oddball kids are true friends who care about one another and have each other's backs. Jaeden Lieberher, Jeremy Ray Taylor, Sophie Lillis, Finn Wolfhard, Chosen Jacobs, Jack Dylan Glazer, and Wyatt Olaf are all uniformly fine and credible in their roles while Bill Skarsgard makes for a supremely frightening Pennywise. Moreover, director Andy Muschietti offers a flavorsome evocation of the late 1980's period setting (the News Kids on the Block reference is spot-on sidesplitting!), grounds the fantastic premise in a plausible everyday small town reality, and generates plenty of nerve-rattling suspense. Better still, the spooky supernatural evil of Pennywise is nicely contrasted by such chilling real-life horrors as vicious town bully Henry Bowers (a perfectly hateful portrayal by Jarred Blancard) and Beverly's repellent pedophile father. The special effects are likewise sound and convincing, the gore is generous, but never excessive, and the overall atmosphere tense and eerie throughout. An on the money scarefest.
  • BA_Harrison9 September 2017
    It's a brave man who takes on the role of Pennywise the clown after Tim Curry's scene-stealing turn in the original miniseries, but this second adaptation of Stephen King's novel sees Bill Skarsgård making the character his own, turning in a memorably different take on the shape-shifting monster that preys on the kids of Derry, Maine (this time in the summer of 1989).

    Buck toothed with glowing eyes, a disquieting voice and a truly sinister smile (plus a few impressive dance moves), Bill Skarsgård's Pennywise sure is the stuff of nightmares, the actor more than deserving of the praise he has garnered. His is not the only great performance in director Andy Muschietti's re-imagining of the King classic: the kids who play the plucky youngsters who fight back against the monster are all excellent, with Stranger Things star Finn Wolfhard putting in a particularly memorable turn as wisecracking Richie Tozier (he gets all of the best lines!).

    Fright-wise, I can't say that I was ever on the edge of my seat, nor did I jump (years of watching horror films has made me difficult to scare), but I was thoroughly entertained throughout. My daughter, on the other hand, frequently hid her eyes behind her hands, as did the woman sat next to her, so the film clearly had the desired effect on those two.

    I rate It an impressive 8 beeps out of 10, and look forward to the next movie.
  • Stephen King's terrifying bestseller from 1986, first adapted for the small screen in 1990, is brought back to life with this crisp, red-balloon-bloody theatrical version, covering just the first part of King's original story and obviously meant to be followed by a sequel (or more, if Warner Bros. has its way). Every 27 years in the town of Derry, both adults and kids mysteriously go missing (mostly kids); in fact, the woodsy community has an extremely high ratio of missing persons versus the national average. A group of young teenagers in 1989, have-nots and misfits who not only have to face their scary elders every day but also must contend with a carload of carousing school bullies, form a "Loser's Club" to fight the evil consuming the town. The "It" of the title lives down in the bowels of Derry's centuries-old sewer line, feeds on fear and manifests itself as a killer clown named Pennywise (whose harbinger is a lone red balloon). Pennywise's freaky transmutations are startling and scary, and the kids scream and cower quite naturally until they finally agree to battle It to the death. The film, which is overlong, lays on the brutality with a trowel. It is, in fact, quite vicious and ugly in its mean-spiritedness and, though some may argue this is necessary in the function of the plot, I found the physical violence inflicted on the kids so nasty as to be unsettling. The introductions of the characters aren't very promising, but the young actors do have a way of growing on you (particularly Jaeden Lieberher as William and Sophia Lillis as Beverly). These poor youngsters have it tough, with parents or guardians who are off-balanced and classmates who are out for blood. Director Andy Muschietti makes their surroundings so dangerous that one wonders how anyone survives in Derry. Still, Muschietti's presentation, helped by excellent effects, cinematography and music scoring, makes this a slambang chiller for audiences out to experience a good shudder. **1/2 from ****
  • I watched this at home on BluRay, my wife skipped. This is an example of a movie that needs to be seen in a theater, or in a home system equipped with surround sound and a powered subwoofer that goes down below 20Hz. The sound track is a big part of the suspense and fright, in certain scenes the whole room shook.

    Set in Derry, Maine, we eventually find out, from the research by the young teens, that the shape-shifting clown appears and is active every 27 years. When he appears people disappear. This story takes place in 1988 and 1989.

    All the kids are good but I will only mention two of them. Jaeden Lieberher , who was so good in "Book of Henry" is Bill Denbrough. As the movie starts he makes a paper boat for his little brother who subsequently disappears while floating the boat down the street during a heavy rain. There is a clown in the street drain, the boy is convinced to approach him.

    Bill doesn't accept that his brother is dead, he and several other 13-ish boys, plus one 13-ish girl, start an organized search for the missing persons and "IT".

    The girl is Sophia Lillis as Beverly Marsh, I had not seen her before but came away impressed with her screen presence. Her character interacted in an interesting manner with others, including her emotionally abusive father.

    This is not my favorite genre but I wanted to see what all the hype was about. It is a well-made movie and I am glad I took the 2 hours to view it.
  • I am glad to see that this was actually a Hollywood re-make that improved on something already established, as re-makes tend to be tedious and unnecessary money machines.

    However, this 2017 remake really upped the game a lot in terms of horror, violence, blood and pure weirdness. They definitely went for a more evil and sinister feel to the movie, and Pennywise shed his family-friendly skin (that he wore in the 1990's version) and draped a cape voven of pure dread.

    The storyline is much familiar, if you have seen the 1990 edition, but there is so much more added to this 2017 version. It does the novel much more justice.

    The CGI and special effects are good, and do add a lot of spice to the movie.

    Pennywise was adequate, although it was a bit difficult taking him serious with those buck teeth and the way he kept pouncing towards the children. The scene where Pennywise was dancing below in the caves was also a bit too comical for my liking.

    The children were really doing amazing jobs with their characters and roles in this 2017 version.

    It was definitely worth the wait and the hype. And for once, a Hollywood re-make that didn't turn out to be a questionable re-make spawned only by utter greed, pointlessness and a lack of creative thought.
  • IT, directed by Andres Muschietti, fires on all of the cylinders it has to, and I think my perspective on it is that it does so much that impresses, aside from attempting and mostly succeeding at adapting the ambition of King's book, is that it does a lot that horror movies today DON'T do. This movie doesn't, for example, over-crowd you with jump scares; oh, it has a couple, don't get me wrong, but they aren't so distracting that it ruins the movie (or, for that matter, have the final shot of the film be the character lunging at the camera, like it's a theme park ride and we need one more "good" scare), and Andy Muschietti and his DP (who usually shoots Park Chanwook films) pour on the atmosphere here while at the same time NOT doing the thing where horror movies drain the color palette or make things blue. This is a director who trusts the audience and, as the opening weekend would show, it seems to have paid off.

    He's also attentive to casting everyone just right (only the young actor playing Stan Uris feels like he's just 'okay', but that may be because everyone around him, especially the actors playing Bill and Beverly, are so fully invested in their roles, and by the way casting one of the main kids from Stranger Things to be Richie is so on the nose I love it), and to making Derry feel like a real place - or, if not *as* much as the book does, as much as can be done in a two-hour movie. There are certainly predictable parts to the narrative, as there may have been to its source (mostly this is felt for me when it gets to the second act end and into the third, with some of the CGI in the climax being less than impressive - oh, some of it is really good, and some of it... is not).

    On top of everything else, Skarsgard surprises with a sinister interpretation of Pennywise. You won't get another Tim Curry performance, you just can't really, but the direction Skarsgard goes in is full of a darkness but also... well, let's put it this way, once you see that scene between Pennywise and Georgie in the opening by the sewer drain, you can believe that this clown *might* appeal to small, impressionable children before, literally, feeding off their fear as well as flesh. It's a turn where every time he came on screen and did something (with the exception of those couple of jump-scares, which made the trailer give the impression it would not be so solid), I was smiling in not a scared expression but simply being entertained by a performer giving it his all. I really hope he gets to do a lot more things as an actor because this is a star-making turn.

    In closing: the critic who said in one review, "This is not the best Stephen King movie, but it comes close, but it is the MOST Stephen King movie" hit it on the head. It isn't great overall and yet I had a blast watching it from start to finish: it's emotional and dramatic and earns those beats; it shows friendship in childhood as a powerful and necessary thing to have and keep a hold of; it's there to scare the hell out of you if you're open to it; and it shows how a good lot of people are... really f***ing creepy. One last thing: it doesn't over-do it's 80's references, and if they're used it's either for actual plant & pay-off in the story (i.e. New Kids on the Block) or a thematic connection (Nightmare on Elm Street 5 is playing at a local theater? You don't say) 8.5/10
  • Well, just watched this with my movie theatre-working friend and I'll just now say: This is quite intense! Stephen King sure can pull the scares, right? The guy who played Pennywise the Clown is such a creepy presence throughout the movie. The loser kids who bond over this really did their parts well, didn't they? I especially like the one girl in the group, Beverly. All I'll say now is I and my friend highly recommend It!
  • Even more so than with any other Stephen King based horror "classic" (although that term is highly debatable), a remake of "It" was bound to happen sooner or later. Clowns always were, and always will remain scary, and horror movies with children as the lead protagonists are incredibly popular for some reason. Moreover, the plot about a sleepy little New England town terrorized by a shape-shifting demon feeding on young children is a quite timeless one. It worked in the late 1980s with a fifties setting, it works in 2017 with a late 1980s setting and it will mostly likely work again in 20-30 year, presumably with a turn-of-the-century setting. To be rather frank and abrupt, I found the original film version massively overrated and had little hope that this reboot would be any better; - even despite all the praising reviews and hypes on Internet forums. "It" is a very average film, with a very thin plot and exclusively relying on a few strong gimmicks. Come to think of it, the upcoming star-director Andy Muschietti was the ideal man to direct a film like "It". Like with his debut "Mama", Muschietti again masters in camouflaging a mediocre and derivative plot by throwing in a lot of spooky imagery and seemingly controversial plot aspects. Whilst watching "Mama" and "It", you quickly get the impression that they are brave and shockingly intense horror productions, but when you start analyzing them, they're not much more than substantially void tales with meticulously pre-measured jump moments.

    But I must be open and honest about one thing, however, namely that "It" has a brilliant and genuinely terrifying opening sequence! The footage of little Georgie chasing his paper boat that is floating in the pouring rain, and then subsequently getting confronted with the smooth-talking yet ultra-menacing clown Pennywise from within the sewer hole, is unbelievable tense and uncomfortable. At the exact same moment when blood stains and heavy rainfall are merging on the street, you already know the film will only be going downhill from here! Unfortunately, 2 hours of film and even the credits then still have to come. The story then unfolds in a very formulaic fashion. A group of social outcast and bullied friends, aptly referring to themselves as "The Losers Club", prepare for a long and boring summer in their hometown Derry. One of them is little Georgie's older brother and he still can't fathom that the boy simply vanished. Together, they discover that there's a remarkably higher number of missing children cases in Derry than anywhere else and that gruesome accidents with child casualties strangely occur every 27 years. Peculiar stuff, like evening curfews and numerous "missing children" posters on the walls, also appear to be the most common things in Derry. Naturally, all the dreadful clichés and typical Stephen King themes quickly start to follow. Pennywise the Clown is one scary villain, but obviously the real monsters are the adults in town, like the abusive father, the overbearing mother or the violently aggressive cop-father. Outcast kids, including an asthma-patient and an obese boy, transform into brave heroes. When the Losers Club threatens to fall apart, they realize the only way to defeat the demonic Pennywise is to stick together! You know, that sort of moralist nonsense. "It" is at its best when the source material, King's Novel, imitates that other great novel "The Body", which was also written by Stephen King and turned into the magnificent film "Stand By Me" in 1986. Yes, King plagiarizes everybody. Even himself! No, seriously, the child actors are terrific and clearly enjoying themselves the most when they drive around on their BMX bikes and mock each other. Bill Skarsgard is excellent as well, as Pennywise, but the old rule of the horror genre still stands: the less you see of the monster, the more menacing he becomes.
  • Gordon-117 September 2017
    This film tells the story of a small American town, that is plagued by a supernatural entity that kidnaps children one by one.

    "It" is so scary. The plot is very believable and convincing. It feels so real even though I know it's not real. It's very heart breaking to see the children tormented by the clown, their own fears and the harsh real life circumstances. It is scary right from the start, and it only gets scarier by the minute. There were many moments when I just could not watch it and had to close my eyes. I'm definitely awaiting the next part of the story.
An error has occured. Please try again.