User Reviews (117)

Add a Review

  • Zac Efron, Miles Teller, and Michael B. Jordan are very capable actors. They've proved it time and time again, and That Awkward Moment is held afloat because of the chemistry between these three actors. Their bromance is electric. I would watch an Entourage-style show between the three of them and their antics, it's that believable. Unfortunately, the material they have to work with here is artificial and stupid. There are some lines in this movie that no one would ever say. And I know that's usually the case with romantic comedies, but this movie takes it a step further and totally demeans women every chance it gets, and I'm not one to point out misogyny in movies, but it just gets stupid after a while. "Let's all make a pact to not get into a relationship! Let's keep having sex with random girls and never fall in love! High-five!" It's such a dumb premise, and it's like the script keeps wanting you to hate these characters until they "redeem" themselves by the end but again, it's so artificial that you don't buy a second of it.

    It's certainly watchable due to the three leads, but ultimately you're left wishing the movie was good enough to accommodate for the acting talent. There are a couple chuckle-worthy moments, and some clever banter between the three guys, but most of the comedy falls flat and the romance is absolutely insane from beginning to end. You don't believe these relationships for a second. The dialogue for the most part is asinine. It turns the characters into caricatures at times because of how fake it is. No one in their right mind would say these things, and no woman in their right mind would react positively to these things. It's so forced from beginning to end.

    That Awkward Moment isn't a bad movie. It would've been terrible if they cast average actors, but thankfully the stellar cast keeps the movie watchable and mildly entertaining until the end. As a romcom it's insane, but then again, most of them are so you should know what you're getting into with That Awkward Moment.
  • One would suspect that this film would offer the audience at least a fun experience and a decent amount of humor, but That Awkward Moment fails to deliver in every way. Not only does the film have a very predictable storyline and clichéd characters, it is also poorly paced and lacks any sort of momentum. The writing is weak and provides very few humorous moments, with the only encouraging aspect being the performance of Miles Teller, whose comedic talent does shine through. Overall, however, the three leading men lack any sort of chemistry, which results in disappointing delivery and causes the characters to be uninteresting. That Awkward Moment therefore fails to produce characters that are relatable on a emotional level, despite that being the film's main aim.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    "That Awkward Moment" was appropriately named, as most of the movie was scripted, forced, and cliché. As a 23 year old female, I was actually insulted that this is what Hollywood thinks is interesting or relevant to my demographic. It seems as though people this age have been dumbed down to toilet humor, drinking, cursing, and casual sex. The plot line was so uninteresting and predictable that had I would have been more intrigued watching an episode of Barney. It almost seemed like it had elements of "Crazy, Stupid, Love" that went horribly wrong, especially because of the lack of character development. The plot even fell short of the cliché I was expecting, as at least 2 of the characters never had that magical moment where they realize the wrongs of their ways and mature. They were the same, stagnant personalities all the way through the film, the only things that changed were their relationship statuses. Having three main characters with their own stories, the film had at least a 1 in 3 chance of making an intriguing story line. Instead, the plot walked the already worn out path of the traditional romantic comedy script. To make things even more painful, the comedic timing was so off that even elements that could have been funny (the coworker Fred) were just awkward and odd. The overuse of "f---" added to the awkwardness as you could just tell that random cursing was interjected into lines, maybe to make it more "youthful."

    Jordan's character, Mikey, was the character that I found most bearable, as he seemed to have some sort of dignity or depth. Daniel, played by Miles Teller, literally made me cringe with anger at his nonchalant crassness, reminding me of that guy in high school who tries to be funny but has no intelligence to back it up. Apparently, repeatedly telling a girl that you are "the best b--- j-- receiver" is endearing(?). Efron was completely unlikable and never really redeemed himself or matured, making the film feel empty and unfinished.

    Overall, "Awkward" checked all the boxes of a basic romantic comedy, including all of the wrong, stereotypically youthful ones. The only thought I left with was wondering how Efron's character could afford such a nice apartment.
  • ck22820 July 2014
    I was discouraged when I saw the low ratings for this film, but thankfully I had already started watching it. It is definitely not comparable laughter-wise to movies such as This Is The End or 21 & 22 Jump Street, but it is very good. The type of humor may not be for everyone, but I found it to be very relatable. The way the jokes were delivered is how my friends and I joke most often. The actors in it were great and the story moved at a nice pace. Miles Teller was great and I now look forward to his work in the future, Imogen Poots was lovely and Zac Efron was great as always. I don't think Efron gets as much credit as he deserves. It portrays a few different likely dating situations that people could find themselves In these days. I would say it's more for twenty-something's than any other age group. If you are at all curious about this movie I say you should give it a shot!
  • tiff-fowler23 September 2014
    OK, so there were some parts when their morals were completely off but I still loved this movie! I loved that it was a comedy but at the same time it had its completely serious moments. And Zac Efron and Miles Teller shined in this movie. Especially Miles. He rocked in this movie. I love it when Miles does a comedy but has his serious moments like in The Spectacular Now. And Zac Efron. wow, Zac Efron. He really showed you that High School Musical is over. He really stepped up his game in this movie. And Micheal B. Jordan, wow he was awesome. I've never seen him before but I really liked him in this movie. So, if you are looking for a funny, a little heartfelt, sometimes serious movie, this is the one for you. I would watch this movie again.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    "That Awkward Moment" is a romantic/sex comedy about three male best friends in their twenties living in New York City. Two of them, Jason (Zac Efron) and Daniel (Miles Teller), work all book cover designers in a publishing house. The other, Mikey (Michael B. Jordan), is an emergency room doctor.

    While Jason and Daniel are happily swinging singles with their rosters of girlfriends, Mikey has just been told by his wife that she wants a divorce. All three guys promise to each other that they would all remain single together.

    Unknown to his friends though, Mikey strove to revive his marriage with wife Vera (Jessica Lucas). On the other hand, Jason meets and gets close to a new girl Ellie (Imogen Poots). Daniel begins to see his BFF- and pick-up partner Chelsea (Mackenzie Davis) in a different light. Can all three yuppies actually keep steadfast in their fraternal pledge?

    Zac Efron is undeniably fit for this charming yet shallow and arrogant character. It seems though that he had a step backward from his serious portrayals in "The Paper Boy" and "Parkland" to find himself in rather embarrassing scenes in the first third of the film (they were funny though). However, in the final third, Zac was more in his element. His final monologue alone reaffirms his status as romantic lead. This was despite my opinion that his Jason and Ellie do not really jive together.

    Miles Teller plays the raunchy, noisy, annoying friend here. He is the funniest and the most relaxed of the three main actors. He remains very likable despite his smart-alecky character, coming across as a young Andrew McCarthy. His chemistry with his partner Mackenzie Davis was the best of the three pairs in the film.

    Michael B. Jordan is fresh from his acclaimed performance last year as an ill-fated ex-con in "Fruitvale Station". His character is the most stable of the three friends, and his character does not really get too idiotic situations. He finds himself in more dramatic than comic moments here, which makes his character feel like an odd man out.

    The comedy aspect was only occasionally hilarious when an actor makes a total fool of himself. There are two big comedy gimmicks here that will make this film memorable. One was when they show Zac and Miles try to pee while Viagra was still on full effect. The other was when Zac goes to Ellie's birthday party with his awkward sense of "dress up." Other than that, nothing really funny, more of annoying, grating and forced.

    The romantic aspect fared better. It was actually quite well-written, though treading on very familiar ground of male-female relationships and commitment phobia. When is going out just simply going out? The film was quite frank on scenes and language of a sexual nature though, with scenes of semi-nudity of the three actors. I was surprised to see this rated only R-13 locally. This should at least be an R-18 for me because maturity is required to properly understand this aspect of the film.
  • I have read a ton of reviews saying this movie is not worth seeing but I don't understand. I laughed the whole time. Come on, it's three 20-something's fooling around with women. What do you expect? Oscar winning acting, costumes, music and writing? No. It's a feel good comedy meant to entertain you. And that's what I got out if it. And so did the rest of the theater, I'm assuming from the constant laughter.

    That Awkward Moment was not awkward at all! Just hilarious. Well, there were a couple of awkward scenes but it added to the hilarity.

    The specific "awkward moment" is when a girl says "so..."; the three friends say that nothing good comes after a girl saying "so". For example: "so, where are we headed" or "so, what are we?". But this is me (a girl) saying "Soooo... That movie was hilarious! You need to see it."

    I mean, it did make me glad I have a bf already and don't have to deal with guys like in the movie but they are funny, attractive and charming.

    I didn't like Ellie who is a main character. She seemed disheveled and couldn't get a US accent just right the whole movie but everyone else was wonderful. Especially Chelsea (Mackenzie Davis), she was the icing on the Zac Efron, Miles Teller and Michael B. Jordan cake. Yum.

    The movie definitely earned its R rating with swearing and adult scenes. Oh, and Zac Efron does in fact Rock Out with a large, strap-on (Blank) Out. For a good amount of time. So, be ready.

    There was a woman behind me talking the entire time. PEOPLE. STOP talking through movies! We can all read the 8 ft tall "three months later" placed immediately in front of our faces. No need to narrate.

    Go see it.
  • The ad campaign for TAM gives the impression that it will be, at the very least, a fun romp, but don't be fooled. TAM asks us to sympathize for and laugh with the most deplorable and chauvinistic of characters, like the obnoxious guys in high school who thought they were funny but weren't. Every "joke" is about poop or sex, which can be funny. Here, however, they are so poorly delivered and juvenile it's hard to tell if they were even meant as jokes or just as statements of misguided philosophy. We follow three best friends who decide to call off real relationships in lieu of hooking up with as many women as possible. This tired story and accompanying dialogue are not only uninspired, inauthentic, and stupid, but make no tonal sense here. The drastic jumps from bad sex comedy to melodrama are so clumsy it's hard to know whether to blame the editing, the directing, or the script. Such a shame considering of the waste of young talent. Sure, Teller presents moments of charm, but no one is really given anything of quality to work with. There are a few laughs, but for the most part I couldn't help feeling like I was watching a soon-to-be canceled sitcom. The writers seemed more interested in writing bad one-liners than creating originality or emotional connection between characters. Even my wife, who normally loves anything classified as "romance" and/or "comedy", resorted to playing Candy Crush for the last half. If you're looking for a funny bro-mance, go see Anchorman 2. SKIP THIS!
  • That Awkward Moment seems like a promising comedy for guys, the raunchy humor, objectifying women and boner pills. It sounds like a good time, right? HELL NO!!! That Awkward Moment seizes every chance it gets to be as clichéd as possible and to be as unfunny as possible. Zac Efron and Michael B. Jordan turn in acceptable performances but that is overshadowed by the thin-as-ice plot and crude humor, which ends up losing two good performances in the mix. To be fair to those involved, this film should have either been shelved or given more thought, either or doesn't give this film a leg to stand on. The next Knocked Up it is not. This is Sex and The City with too much testosterone and not nearly enough laughs to justify any of the plot holes, clichés or how these characters treat women. This isn't a rental, this is more like a bottom dollar movie you take a chance on at Wal Mart.
  • wlisa858310 February 2014
    I am so angry that I wasted my time watch this crappy movie.

    The storyline was completely unoriginal and devoid of real humor and intelligence.

    The jokes were tired and pointless and we have heard it all before, many times. The script was flimsy, and full of holes. The initial reason why Vera left Mikey rang hollow. Surely if you had a problem with your partners spontaneity, you would just tell them instead of requesting a divorce. And suddenly, after one act of spontaneous love making, they are on the road to recovery. I mean, how ridiculous is that. Just one of many, many examples of this foolish story.

    The acting was the pits; Zac Efron is just not a good enough actor to be leading man material. The rest didn't impress me much either. There was complete lack of charisma and absolutely zero chemistry between any of the couples. Not funny, not fun and not interesting in the slightest!
  • I was so unsettled by this movie, I walked out before it ended, To the point I just didn't care, even though it was getting close to the end, But I was tortured enough. Identity Thief(2013) is an Oscar winner compared to this.

    Trying to be Sex and the City for guys, only not clever and not funny. I will say the three main leads do have chemistry, and you instantly believe they are friends. But the jokes are pretty much thrown down are throats, not to mention dramatic moments also. Unlike The Best Man Holiday(2013) which balanced the comedy and drama perfectly, this film doesn't do it well at all. It's a lame attempt to make a film for couples who like comedies, I'll tell you this save your money and go rent He's Just Not That Into(2009) instead.

    Michael B. Jordan why are you in this, you have proved to be better than this, you deserve better. Has for Zac Efron, after seeing you in this, I think your 15 minutes of fame are about up.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    Actually, it's a master piece of sh#t. I haven't seen a movie where the acting was this bad through and through in a long time. I guess the really awkward thing about this movie is the script. And, none of the actors were that particularly good looking. Even Zac E. looked bloated and at times about 3 feet tall (everyone in the movie was taller than he was). And what was the point of this movie? Guys create a roster of women for sex, so they don't have to get serious with anyone. The characters were so unappealing, I really didn't care what they were up to, and was kinda hoping most of them would get arrested for extreme stupidity and hauled off the set so we could give others a try. This movie is sure to clean up at the Razzies this year.
  • hisanelcuellar1 February 2014
    Warning: Spoilers
    The acting is bad, the movie is poorly written. The dialogue is cheesy and there are clichés everywhere you look. The only reason I didn't give it a 1 was because there were SOME funny parts in it. Zac Efron cursed more than he needed to (I assume to try to distance himself from his High School Musical days.) The characters are boring, the movie is longer than it needed to be and it was just tale of guys who try to have sex with attractive women and end up falling in love with them. There's really nothing else in it and everything was SO PREDICTABLE. I guess male teens will like it but I actually enjoyed the previews before the movie started more than the movie itself.
  • sakeebshahid30 July 2014
    Laughter. Offbeat and unconventional humor caused pure, undiluted laughter.

    I still can't remember why I decided to give this movie a watch. Maybe I had nothing better to do that day, maybe I was longing for a romantic flick, who knows? But I'm glad I did.

    I had an incredible time watching this film. All the lead actors seemed to be aware of the roles they were assigned to, and that lead to a very believable performance from each and every one of them. The story, though, was pretty predictable. The dialogues, however, wasn't. The friendship between the dudes was a very refreshing one since it wasn't dull, tedious, and forced. Their chemistry felt quite natural, smooth, and real.

    The romantic aspect was portrayed nicely that it never felt overdone or sappy; just enough to keep the viewers interested, with some odd humor thrown in between to keep the situation from getting mawkishly sentimental.

    So, if you're still dubious about watching this film, set your doubts aside and go watch it. 'Cause it sure is worth it.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    Many previous reviewers and posters have all had some form of disdain for this movie. This disdain ranges from the way they look at the movie. Honestly if you didn't enjoy it, you weren't in the right frame of mind. As an individual recently out of a relationship I found this movie to be exactly what I needed. The three friends present all face relationship dilemmas and manage to come out on top. Yes the movie is a bit slow to build, but so to is life after a relationship failure. From my perspective (which varies from others I am aware) I found this movie to be highly entertaining and just what I needed. It might not be what you need in life right now, or maybe just didn't appeal to you at all, but I personally found the movie to be humorous and thoroughly enjoyable.
  • Well this is complete and utter excrement. And yes, I wanted to use the other word but IMDb wouldn't allow it. This is like some lame chick flick but with the twist that it's dudes instead of girls even though they still act like girls. This movie's a contrived mess. Guys don't act like this with each other. They don't talk to each other about their feelings and relationships all the time. They don't show each other their privates. These guys were more like girlfriends than guy friends. This is some Sex and the City garbage.

    Listed as the director and writer of this is Tom Gormican. No clue who that is but I hope this is his last film. I feel sorry for Mr. Gormican that he apparently has no straight male friends. If he is going to write a story about straight guys perhaps he should be familiar with the subject somewhat. Here's the first clue for you, Tom: straight guys do not whip their wangs out in front of each other nor do we discuss them with each other or want to see each other's wangs. We're not always thinking about wangs. That's just some gay fantasy that's as authentic as straight guys thinking that all female sleepovers end with sexy lesbian pillow fights. We also don't talk about our feelings with each other like we're on Dr. Phil. This is just a complete crapper. Skip it unless you like movies that are terrible.
  • Same old formulaic stuff about stupid fools with personality defects hitting on hot women, and somehow each finds a woman who likes a loser. There's a lot of women with poor taste in men, apparently.

    These are the kind of guys who wanted to join a boozer fraternity and were turned down for acting too stupid. This tired premise has been done a thousand times before, and this rehash is poorer than most. The writing is devoid of creativity or original humor. There's plenty of middle-school potty humor which even the most inebriated frat house partier would be bored with.

    The characters are cranked off an assembly line of dull and overworked clichés: womanizer, geek, and lunatic. They're the same old brand of self-absorbed nitwits that give the audience no reason to care about them. The acting is weak, especially the female love interests. The jokes are forced and rarely funny.

    Not funny, not interesting, not original, not worth your time or money. The most "awkward moment" of this movie is deciding when to walk out on it. Better off not bothering to see this junk in the first place.
  • Well, that was a waste of time, and I won't spend any more time than necessary writing a review of this poorly written, poorly produced, and poorly acted movie. My first question is: What ever happened to clever humor? Every so-called joke is sex-based. People cannot even have a conversation unless it is based on something sexual (Oh, sorry, there is also some bathroom humor to break the monotony). These are 12-year-olds in thirty-year-old bodies. For some reason that defies all explanation, girls are attracted to these losers...but, then again, likes often attract likes. What's worse is that, towards the end, the director has the audacity to expect us to suddenly take this nonsense seriously. But, by this time, the only thing the viewers are taking seriously is a suicide attempt. I watched this so you don't have to. Don't waste your time on this one. Work on your compost pile. It will be far more enjoyable.
  • Greetings again from the darkness. Writing about lousy movies is no fun, but if I can save even one person from wasting $10 and two hours on this garbage, it's worth it. The only way this got the green light is because of the success of The Hangover movies, Sex and the City, and HBO's "Girls". The difference is that all of those projects had a sense of humor and style, while writer/director Tom Gormican somehow finds it creative to end numerous scenes with someone calling someone else either 'a f***ing idiot' or 'an A-hole'.

    Mr.Gormican's only other listed credit is as Producer for the gross out Movie 43. Let's just say he is now 0-for-2, and here's hoping he never gets a shot at number 3. This is such a waste of a talented group of up and coming actors. Zac Efron loses whatever credibility he has built up since High School Musical by playing Jason the Jerk. OK, I added the Jerk part, but it's true. Jason is best friends and co-worker with Daniel, played by Miles Teller, who was so good in The Spectacular Now. Daniel is a simple-minded misogynist with a razor sharp tongue. They are both friends with Mikey, a young doctor whose wife dumps him. Mikey is played by Michael B Jordan, a standout in last year's Fruitvale Station. These twenty-somethings make a drunken pact to stay single and build their roster of casual sex partners, thereby avoiding the awkward moment of "So ... where is this relationship headed?"

    The guys live like frat boys, guzzling booze while spouting "jokes" on such thought-provoking topics as poop, penis, masturbation, homosexuality, and Viagra. To add even more insult to humanity, there are four female roles that could set back women's advancement by 100 years ... should anyone actually see this pile of junk. Imogene Poots, Jessica Lucas, Addison Timlin and MacKenzie Davis are all smart, beautiful women who somehow associate with these dunces. For the record, Jordan's character is not as classless as the others, but guilt by association cannot be ignored.

    Miles Teller still has the potential to be the next John Cusack, and Michael B. Jordan clearly has a future if he avoids projects like this, and Zac Efron will probably take his perfect face and go back to sweet romantic comedies. The four key actresses should all bounce back soon with far superior projects ... movies that don't denigrate men, women and movie soundtracks (it may be the worst since the 1980's).
  • When i don't enjoy a film i can come on here and vent my frustrations and the negativity flows off the fingers, it really does. All my grievances towards the wasting of my precious time. It helps. But when it comes to this disaster, it is so bad that all that hatred just can't accumulate the words to describe how bad it is. Sure i could look at a thesaurus and rhyme off a sea of synonyms to kick start my inability to word it correctly. But the movie is that dreadful it's really not worth the time; it has already wasted 2 hours of my life (if you include the trailers).

    The acting...by everyone is a shambles. Unconvincing, lazy, mundane. And the avalanche of awkward moments that pummel the viewer do not entertain; they make you depressed. I've seen Zac Efron display some good acting in "The Paperboy" and "Parkland", but with this being a "comedy" i have now became slightly afraid that he is going to ruin the upcoming "Neighbors" in which he stars alongside Seth Rogen. As far as the other two main characters.....well lets just say i hope to never see Michael B Jordan again. He is terrible; the blueprint of somehow who tries to be funny but fails miserably; like attempting a slam dunk and falling on your face. As for John Cusack's mini me Miles Teller well he has potential...if he weren't so bloody annoying. The whole cast are incredibly annoying actually. Not one thing good about this film.

    it is actually like 0.25/10 but that cannot be chosen as a rating so it gets an undeserving 1.
  • Walked out in the first 30 minutes. I don't know who rated this movie R, but it was incredibly embarrassing. I don't know who decided to call it a comedy, but it isn't. I should have demanded my money back. I'm so sad to think that films stoop to this level. I can only assume the target audience are very young impressionable kids. No one else would watch this trash, at least I sincerely hope not. My date didn't research the movie, we just thought a nice comedy would be fun. Mistake. And talk about an awkward moment on our first date !! I felt so bad for him. Luckily he is a gentleman and got me the heck outta there !! We will be sure to be very careful and research the movie before going in the future. Actually it's a shame we have to do that. I can only hope whoever put this movie out had a nice financial loss.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    This movie was strange... It started off as a comedy, but ended as a total drama/romance. That wouldn't necessarily be a bad thing if the romance between Zac Efron and Imogen Poots was even the slightest bit interesting to watch. Spoiler Alert; it wasn't.

    Including a pretty darn good cast; Zac Efron (Neighbors), Imogen Poots (Need for Speed), Miles Teller (21 & Over), and Michael B. Jordan (The Wire), You'll figure you can't go wrong, right? You can when the script they recite is trite and infused with an abundance of unfunny phallic and excrement references.

    I won't divulge much of the plot, but if you've seen any kind of "dramedy" movie, then you can probably figure out what happens next. Guy who sleeps around meets girl who wants a relationship. In order to impress his friends, he doesn't call it a "relationship," leading to them having issues...blah, blah blah.

    The movie wasn't terrible, but in my opinion it had several MAJOR problems...

    The "pact" made between the friends (basically the point of the movie) didn't seem to be taken that seriously by any of the main characters. It was kind of just like..."Yeah guys, let's not be in any relationships..." Miles Teller's character later calls it a "bet," but it wasn't a bet. It's just a shallow plot device to further the poorly written script.

    The movie very clumsily transitions from comedy to drama. At the point where Imogen Poot's father dies, the movie abandons all attempts at humor and becomes a dramatic tale of "trying to get the girl back." It's pretty hard to watch.

    Also, WHO HAS A FUNERAL ON THANKSGIVING? Pretty unrealistic scenario. I can't be the only one who thought that was weird...It ended up just being another forced plot device to further the script.

    As is incredibly predictable, Efron ends up "getting the girl," but by that point we really don't care. When the movie finally ends and you are ready to get up and leave the bloopers start. None of them are that funny. It just consists of them talking about Michael B. Jordan's penis...Ha..ha...ha..

    I would be lying if I said I didn't laugh. There were some funny moments, the funniest being "the cocktail." The funny moments were overshadowed by a boring and poorly written script. This movie can't decide whether it's a comedy or a drama. Instead of infusing the two, bit by bit throughout the movie, it tries to be one half funny, and one half not to a terrible result.

    This movie just further cements in my mind the decline of the comedy genre. It's being inundated by overt sexuality and the overuse of penis jokes. There doesn't seem to be any more attempt at making a character driven comedy. If many more movies are produced likes this, I will just have to stop watching them. I'm just glad that I didn't pay more than a buck fifty for this lame movie.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    "We'll use a coupon and get him a cheap hooker."

    Occasionally I feel like watching a comedy. I don't even mind if there's some romance in it. A movie to watch while lying down on a cozy seat in a lazy relaxing way, with a ridiculous big bowl of popcorn on your bulging belly,hoping that it'll be flung off while viewing the selected comedy. The more the bowl rolls of your belly, the better the movie. That's a sign that there's quite a lot to laugh about. In "The Awkward Moment" you can be sure that the bowl only leaves a circular print on your stomach,because there's not much to laugh about in it. And I doubt whether the level of romance is high enough to call this a romantic comedy. Or romance means to you : having someone who you are dangling an artificial carrot in front of when it's about your relation and in the meantime maintain some nice looking members of the female sex on the sideline.

    Jason (Zac Efron), Daniel (Miles Teller) and Mikey (Michael B. Jordan) are three close friends from New York. One day Mikey tells them the news that his wife Vera (Jessica Lucas) was waiting at home for him with a lawyer and coolly announced that she wants a divorce. The lawyer is also the guy she has an affair with and the one she's leaving him for. The three make an agreement to remain single forever and just go on with the art of conquering female beauty. Jason is the one with the least problem with that, since this is his life's motto anyway, and he claims that a relationship comes to an end, as soon as the partner starts asking questions about where their relationship is actually going to. It turns out that they aren't really able to keep up this promise and they start to jump through hoops just to keep it hidden for the partners in crime.

    So it's clearly a totally predictable, used several times and all but funny subject. Most scenes were far from hilarious, let alone funny and gave me repeatedly vicarious shame. Or you are of a certain age and you wish you'd be in such a situation. And you also love toilet humor. You would laugh about the endless remarks about someone taking a crap, colored penises and sometimes vulgar sexist banal humor. In any case it didn't impress me. I couldn't even smile about it.

    There were also some appalling unreal situations. The fact that Jason runs away in panic after the first night with Ellie (Imogen Poots), who by the way has a nose that could be used as an over sized coat rack, because he saw evidence from which he could conclude that she could be a prostitute, is one thing. But he can explain the whole matter afterwards to Ellie and still get away with it. That sounds really unlikely to me. "Oh yeah, I saw an envelope with money and those boots next to the bed. I was sure you were a hooker. Isn't that funny ? Hahahaha. What a hilarious situation .... ". I am sure that most women would give you a big smack with their super massive Gucci handbag after hearing this miserable excuse so it leaves a crocodile motif on your face for weeks. And the fact that Mikey's wife starts messing around because he's not spontaneous enough, is in a way understandable. But it's amazing how quickly she changes her tack after being jumped on by him in the hospital. Later she admits that she no longer loves him and is still seeing the lawyer while Mikey had the impression that he was saving his marriage. You could see that coming from afar. Apparently Mikey isn't such a spontaneous sports freak in bed afterall.

    There was only one funny moment because of a simple misunderstanding. That's when Jason appears on Ellie's party in a fairly compromising outfit. The biggest part of this movie is filled with irritating drivel, childish one-liners which humorous content is nil, straight dumb sex and ongoing consumption of alcoholic beverages. A future womanizer and Casanova could make use of this flick to bring his seduction techniques to perfection and make notes of the empty idle flattery and smooth talks. There were quite a few awkward moments for me in "The awkward moment".

    More reviews at http://opinion-as-a-moviefreak.blogspot.be/
  • timsnoek11 May 2014
    So I tried to watch this movie, I really tried. But it is so boring. Yes, things happen - Zac Efron is incredibly sexy and the guys look like they had fun together and the acting isn't even bad. But after 38 minutes I myself had an awkward moment and decided to turn it off. Not one second I wanted to know what would happen next, I just lost my interest. I couldn't connect with the leads, I just didn't care anymore. And I never quit a movie, so I felt kind of bad about it. But watching it unfortunately felt like a waste of time. Probably I'm not the kind of audience they made it for, but even then it should be good enough to make me go along with the story. And it isn't. Writing a review feels like too much attention for it already, but I just feel awkward about this, so I needed to express my thoughts. Too bad.
  • bmprofessor8726 April 2014
    This was a garbage bro-mance romance wannabe comedy. Don't waste your time watching it, the main character is just an all around shitty individual who barely redeems himself in the last 10 minutes, I don't even know why I kept watching. I pretty much just wanted to punch Zac Efron in the face for 80 minutes or so, though the other two actors had some slightly redeeming roles (Miles Teller, and Michael B. Jordan) though not really. Nobody who just found out their wife has been banging another dude and wants a divorce is going to be that calm about it, and nonchalantly act like it never happened as he tries to woo her back over. I give it a 4 because I managed to watch the entire thing but that was more or less just because after getting so far in I needed to see how they were going to try and show Zac Efrons character in any kind of positive light.
An error has occured. Please try again.