User Reviews (837)

Add a Review

  • Black Mirror has been for me one of the highlights in drama over the last decade. Imaginative, dark, bleak, often cynical, but always absorbing, incredible viewing. What I wouldn't give to sit down and talk with Charlie Brooker, to find out where his ideas come from, and what plans he has for the future of the show. The more bleak they are, the more I tend to enjoy them, and the more an episode has that feeling of 'well that could really happen,' the more I love them still. I will admit I feared when the Channel Four arrangement ended, The Americanisation of the show did worry me a lot, but how wrong was I. The show has definitely changed, and improved for my money, episodes like Playtest and Metalhead are downright scary, while episodes like Hang the DJ and San Junipero tug at the heart strings. How on Earth do you pick a favourite episode, so many outstanding contenders, a few of the best include White Christmas and San Junipero, but the variety is so rich everybody will have a different favourite. I can't wait to see more in the future, Please Charlie :-)
  • jboothmillard24 December 2011
    Warning: Spoilers
    I saw the adverts for this series, and it was after seeing that it was repeated that I noticed Charlie Brooker was the creator, and being a huge fan of his last drama Dead Set I was certainly going to watch the three episodes. Episode 1: The National Anthem, sees Princess Susannah (Lydia Wilson) kidnapped, and as ransom for her safe return the demands are that Prime Minister Michael Callow (Quantum of Solace's Rory Kinnear) must have sexual intercourse with a live pig and it must be broadcast on all news channels. After many attempts to solve the problem with alternatives, such as locating the kidnapper hideout, this disgusting act is forced to happen, but the Princess was released before the deadline, and even though Michael's career continues his social and home life is less good. Episode 2: Fifteen Million Merits, sees a bleak automated Britain where people are forced to live inside a place where to earn credits for food, and enjoy visual entertainment, e.g. pornography from Wraith Girls, they must constantly ride on exercise bikes, and they lose merits for buying food and skipping entertainment. Bingham 'Bing' Madsen (Psychoville's Daniel Kaluuya) decides to help out new friend Abi (Jessica Brown Findlay) get her chance to become a singing star on X Factor style talent show Hot Shot, with judges Judge Hope (Rupert Everett) and Judge Charity (Julia Davis) and Judge Wraith (Ashley 'Bashy' Thomas). This costs him 15,000,000 merits of his, but he is not bothered as he does not do luxuries, but in the end she ends up on Wraith Girls, and he only "gets out" by speaking his mind about the system, but he remains in near solitary. Episode 3: The Entire History of You, technology has allowed people to store all their memories, such as conversations and experiences, in their heads with the help of super chip placed near behind their ears, and they can look back and experience any of these again. Young lawyer Liam Foxwell (Toby Kebbell) starts suspecting his wife Ffion (Jodie Whittaker) is having an affair with a man called Jonas (Tom Cullen), and he is looking back on any memories he has that would suggest this, and obviously he forces her to show her memories and confirm the suspicions. The series is a great satirical play on the significance technology has played in the world, the first episode focusing on the Twitter age and news coverage, the second on the impact of applications and talent shows, and the third about image capturing, and obviously the title Black Mirror refers to ourselves being part of all this, it is a must see drama mini series. Very good!
  • I had not even heard of "Black Mirror" before I was recommended to watch it at the local place where I usually make most of my movie purchases, given the usual stuff that I purchase there. So I went home and started season 1 as it was available on Netflix.

    I managed to endure almost 3 episodes of the first season before I gave up. I will say that it was refreshing for a series to have each and every episode to be independent of one another, that each was a self-contained and complete story in itself. So you could essentially sit down to watch them in any random order. I managed to get almost through the third episode of season 1 before I gave up.

    It turned out, that despite each episode being very well produced and also having some interesting concept behind it, that the premise of the series was just not appealing to me. Why? Well, because I am not really all that interested in technology.

    The acting in the three episodes that I watched was good, and it was nice enough to see story lines poke fun at things that are wrong with society today, such as how desperate for fame people are that they are willing to participate in "talent" shows, or the fact that most of our lives are spent online in one way or another, etc.

    I guess that "Black Mirror" would have a wide appeal, and at first glance it seems like it is something that might slip under the radar of most people. I, for example, hadn't even heard about it prior to being recommended to watch it.
  • (Updated after Season 5).

    A series of independent stories, all centred around technology. Is it a help or a hindrance?

    Brilliant series, created and written by English comedian and social commentator Charlie Brooker. Highly original in its concept - examining possible technological advances, and seeing how these could be used, or abused, and how they can help us, or be the bane of our existence. Set at an everyday person level (mostly), so is highly engaging.

    Plots are very intriguing and entertaining, drawing you in and keeping you locked in until the end. Often part of the intrigue is figuring out the innovation depicted in the episode and how it works.

    In many of the earlier episodes, Brooker was happy to just make the revelation of the innovation the punchline, and then just let the episode run its course from there. These were not bad episodes - the are no bad episodes (the worst score I gave to an individual episode was 7/10) - but did leave me a bit disappointed. I kept thinking this series was going to be like Alfred Hitchcock in the 21st (or 22nd century) and the lack of a great twist towards the end or powerful conclusion made me wonder what all the fuss was about.

    However, with time Brooker's writing got better - grittier, more daring, more profound. He found his formula and pushed the envelope in terms of his creativity. While S2 E2 - White Bear - was the first episode I gave a 10/10 to, it was really only from Season 3 (starting with the brilliant Christmas special between S2 and S3 - White Christmas) where the series consistently delivered a punchiness to its endings. S3 E1 - Nosedive - was one of the scariest and depressing imaginings of future social interaction I've ever seen...and it was 100% plausible.

    Things then went from strength to strength. The pinnacle, for me, was S3 E6 - Hated In The Nation. A murder mystery combined with highly plausible technology, engaging, well-developed characters (well portrayed too) and a big swipe at social media and the types of people who inhabit it. You're forced to think about your own moral view on issues, while not being lectured as to what is the "correct" choice. Brilliant episode.

    Many aspects of the series give a damning, and quite relevant, view on society, and possibly where it is heading. It's not all doom and gloom though - there are some episodes that are quite upbeat, even romantic (San Junipero, Hang the DJ) and in S4 E1 - USS Callister - Brooker makes use of his considerable comedic talent to deliver an episode that is wonderfully funny yet grippingly thrilling and action-filled.

    Season 5 is a bit of a disappointment though. The plots are much more mainstream and less cerebral. There's flashes of the old Black Mirror but Brooker never really rams the point home or provides something profound. Very entertaining and still highly plausible but not of the same quality as the previous seasons.
  • The only way I watch T.V. shows nowadays is by recommendation. There are so many shows that I could be completely consumed by them all and I can guarantee that over half of them are not worth my time. I actually heard about Black Mirror from a sports radio host and thought, "that sounds interesting."

    I watched episode one of season three and was hooked. Just as a refresher: season three ep one was titled "Nosedive" starring Dallas Bryce Howard. It was about a world in which ratings are currency and clout. Every individual has a rating attached to him/herself that can be seen upon viewing the person's face. Using a five star rating scale, those with a higher rating have greater privileges whereas those with lower ratings are the scourge of the Earth. It was amazing to see what people would do just to get a five star rating (not too far from our current reality).

    I binged watched that entire season then watched all three seasons. Just about every episode was genuinely thought provoking. These shows are extremely well done and offer so much food for thought. Each episode is replete with quality writing, quality effects and filming and quality acting. Black Mirror is a Netflix gem. It is Twilight Zone if it were rated R.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    I've seen all the episodes except Bandersnatch and the Miley Cyrus. The first two seasons were gritty British with dark skies and from plotlines that lacked any sense of optimism. The Netflix episodes had a tinge of optimism in some episodes with an expanded locale.

    Hopefully Black Mirror can return for season 6, albeit with less profanity.
  • FeastMode19 August 2019
    Series 1: 7 this season is really good with awesome ideas and great music. i did feel unsatisfied after each episode. questions were unanswered and there were some possible missed opportunities. they left me wanting more. but i guess that's the way short stories are. individual ratings 6/10, 7/10, 7/10 (1 viewing)

    Series 2: 7 individual episode ratings 7, 10, 5, 9. wow white bear, wow (1 viewing)

    Series 3: 7 individual episode ratings: 3.0, 3.5, 3.5, 3.0, 3.5, 2.5 (1 viewing)

    Series 4: 7 USS Callister 3.5, arkangel 3.5, crocodile 4.0, hang the DJ 3.5, metalhead 2.5, black museum 5.0 (1 viewing)

    Bandersnatch: 7 pretty good episode on par with the average black mirror episode. but the interactive aspect was really cool and a fun experience. i was getting really into it (1 viewing)

    Series 5: 4 individual episode ratings 1, 7, 4 (1 viewing)
  • paul2001sw-123 December 2011
    Warning: Spoilers
    Charlie Brooker is a great satirist: funny and clever, and, although often crude, in 'Black Mirror' he certainly isn't pandering to the lowest common denominator (in spite of the fact that the first film is about the prime minister having sex with a pig!). Indeed, he (and his collaborators) show themselves to be skilled film-makers: in this trio of short stories about how technology is changing our lives, two have a sci-fi feels and the understated way with which a future world, subtly different to our own, is conveyed, with a minimum of carefully deployed special effects, is a lesson to Hollywood with its obsession with spectacle and its inability to understand that less can be more. Yet while Brooker's films are delicately made, there's a certain obviousness to the points he is making; while he's extraordinarily skillful in imagining the details, there's less below the surface than you might hope for. I found the middle film the most convincing (and indeed moving), and exactly because it was most explicitly a fable; in the others, Brooker's merciless eye is also not a little heartless. But Brooker deserves credit for not standing still, and settling for making new series of 'Screenburn' ad infinitum; 'Black Mirror' may only be a partial success, but it's bold and fresh and worth watching, even if it's not so much deeper than the world it's taking apart.
  • jack_o_hasanov_imdb9 August 2021
    It's one of the best series I've ever watched. There were excellent episodes, there were also good episodes. Sometimes it's bad :)
  • "Black Mirror" is an anthological series that, for now, consists of 22 episodes, unequally divided into five irregular seasons. The episodes vary in length, genre, and style and are completely separate short films by different authors. What they have in common is only a general theme - the position in which modern technology puts us and not very optimistic forecasts of its further progress.

    The "black mirror" is in fact the effect that the screens of our monitors, telephones, and TV have when turned off, and symbolically also a dark reflection of our reality and potentially darker future.

    8/10.
  • Dangerously creepy mind and bending experience every episode. Among the greatest shows of our existence! Many great realizations that people probably don't think about. I can think of a few people that can sit through & not take in the messages that represent our very existence in a metaphorical genius true way whether with technology, traumatic series of events, mind control, illusions, or being trapped in some way, which is unfortunate for those that aren't woke!

    Regardless of woke or not, I'm happy this is available for people to immerse into the dark reality we live in. Sci-Fi episodes or not they have an extremely valid point to get across to the viewers. Outstanding scary good grittiness all around; will always remain in my favorites.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    This series is in a way outrageously disturbing. It is not science-fiction as usual, but it is science-fiction from a systematically vengeful and sadistic point of view. The six episodes have no alternative meaning and that's why they are poignant in a way because even though we know it is going to be sadistic and vengeful, we do not know how it is going to develop and the punch line is always flabbergasting.

    USS Callister is the story of a power-hungry man who is in real life servile and even humbly spineless. He is a game programmer and as such he invented a game of virtual reality in which he can be himself as he would have liked to be, dominant, powerful, a real slave owner who, in the game, is always successful and can transform the team members of his USS Callister into monsters. The interest is that the team members in this virtual reality game are real people imprisoned in this VR spacecraft via their DNA. Of course, they only are copies of their real selves that stay in the real world. But they have to submit to Captain Robert Daley or they are transformed into monsters that can be killed and revived as many times as Mr. Captain wants and what's more he can capture the children of these team members by getting their DNA and he can torture the VR copy of the children in front of the eyes of the team members who are copies of the parents whose children's copies are being tortured. But what happens when a new "member" is brought into the team who does not want to play the game?

    Arkangel shows a mother who decides when her daughter is still young for a reason that does not justify the decision, to implant in her a sort of GPS that enables the mother to see the world through her daughter's eyes on a screen. The mother becomes invasive and she for a short while decides to put the screen away and keep it dormant. But that will not last when her daughter is a teenager and able to have love relations with boys. I just wonder what it would have been if she had preferred girls. The mother gets crazy when she finds out one boy actually drugged her daughter to rape her. That will lead to the final crisis and both mother and daughter will get out of it deeply bruised.

    Crocodile brings another mind-reading device, this time it is able to go back in time and read the memories of people. Imagine the drama that can come from anyone if they were able to know exactly how the people, they were dealing with felt about them and about themselves. You can meet very dangerous people in the street, and it is better not to know. If you can then you will panic. And the story is ending in some sort of banal conclusion that it is always better not to know what other people think of you and what they think of when they are with you.

    Hang the DJ is just a crazy dating system that brings together people, always one man and one woman, no anti-LGBTQI segregation at all, of course not, but there is always a time limit that becomes a time frame that has to be respected and when it is short it is always too short and when it is long it is always too long. In this dating world, where people do nothing at all but wait for their date, date them and then wait for the end of it to have a new prey provided by the system, and the word "prey" is the only word that fits. What happens when one person falls in love with his/her date and when this date falls in love with him/her? There apparently is no escape. So welcome to permanent and recurring frustration with no compensation or escape at all. Sinister. The very end is the negation of anything human you may believe in.

    Metalhead is mysterious. It is the story of some kind of animal, outside in the real world that got in a way killed or destroyed and the kid attached to it is wanting, not desiring, absolutely wanting, absolutely haunted by his demand based on his deprivation, is wanting then a replacement. Three people try to enter the warehouse where they could find a replacement. It is abandoned except that it is under the control of some mechanical dog that is - or in fact, are - but one is enough, entrusted with the responsibility to get rid of the intruders. They are AI dogs that have tremendous technical powers and psychological understanding of human beings. Wait and the humans will always end up doing what will cost them their lives. More drastically pessimistic than that you die. Not me of course. It is a show and nothing else.

    Finally, Black Museum is by far the best because it reveals the real nature of humans, you know these entities that some people call men and women. Here we are essentially dealing with men who are perverts and live on the nasty suffering they impose onto other people. Imagine a VR-being or a Tussaud's mannequin in which the experience of the highest suffering of the real man represented by the mannequin is embedded and that he could be forced to relive artificially this moment on command from the visitors of the museum. Imagine the sadistic people coming to that museum just to electrify a guilty character who was electrified and have this VR character relive entirely his suffering when he was executed. Sadistic I said. And in this case, the end is absolute and plain justice. Vengeance will come sooner or later, and it does come in the film.

    In our world today, there is a deep vein of vengeful sadism in all or most people. Is there any exception? And modern means of entertainment enable these vengeful and pain-hungry perverts to satisfy their perversion, thirst, and hunger for pain, blood, suffering, torture, etc. This is deeply revealed in these episodes. But what our real concern is that these perversions are not only virtual even if they are mostly satisfied virtually. Is it catharsis? I am not sure at all because of the level reached by some people who are your next seat neighbor on a train, a plane or a bus. And catharsis requires the regular and recurring release of the violence of this death instinct in us for this very catharsis to last more than an instant, more than the length of a TV episode. It could be seen as some kind of feeding of the perversion, keeping it alive and "vital" since the subjects cannot survive if they do not have their portion of perverse fodder, their pound of fresh bleeding flesh. Are human beings becoming the perverse cows raised and fed on the bloody hay of these perversion-providers?

    So, enjoy your perverted onanism on these VRTeleConference TV-episodes. Enjoy the drinks.

    Dr. Jacques COULARDEAU
  • Black Mirror is an anthology series that taps into our collective unease with the modern world, with each stand-alone episode a sharp, suspenseful tale exploring themes of contemporary techno-paranoia. The problem however, is that on some of the episodes, the writers desire to invocate twisted endings that convolute what starts out as a suspenseful tale, falls flat to any possible logic that would leave the viewer satisfied. Still, most of the episodes do succeed with a satisfying ending. 8/10 from me
  • Warning: Spoilers
    This sci-fi anthology series is basically a modern-day version of "The Twilight Zone." It features dark, bizarre tales taking place in the not-so-distant future focusing on technology and it's consequences. I've always liked anthologies and this is pretty good. If you're a fan of "The Twilight Zone" or "The Outer Limits," Give this a view.
  • Maybe it is the whole society, but what is the thing with the humanities seeing disaster in every advancement? Just because it might sell better is not an argument, as variety also sells. Is it because the ones who end up in humanities, as opposed to sciences are not only usually less intelligent, but also start up in fields that pay far worse. So anything that reinforces their obsolescence in the work market only reinforces the Christian mythology about the end of days.

    The series is unpleasant in taking the ugly side of tech, in an unimaginative context. Take the first episode. People can see in a virtual reality hints from their smart phones. Yet they still need a big screen just like the young screen writer envied the people having big screen macs back in the day. The technology seemingly surpassed the need for a screen - see the brother emerged in virtual reality - yet the writer can't possibly understand that. Or when Tesla cars can drive themselves, in this alternative near future the Taxi is a Taxi and not some sort of Uber and has a driver too! So much for visionary.

    Yes, the phones should have been different, but the catalyst of the unimaginative writer incapable to get a science diploma is precisely his fear of a smart phone like the iPhone. And the fear is palpable, after all the screen writer probably has a hard time understanding that the Russian girl who keeps writing is a scam as the Nigerian prince. And jumping from email to enhanced reality is quite a jump for a frail mind.

    Contact me with Questions, Comments or Suggestions ryitfork @ bitmail.ch
  • Black Mirror is a unique series in the world of shows. It is futuristic, thought-provoking, deep and sometimes disturbing.

    • (+) Awesome and sleek screenplay and stories
    • (+) Amazing and fitting acting by the episodes' cast
    • (+) Deep, intelligent and futuristic ideas, well developed in each episode
    • (+) Got more dynamic after season 2, with Netflix help
    • (+) Brightly created and produced by Charlie Brooker
    • (+) Memorable episodes, such as 'Be Right Back', 'The Waldo Moment', 'San Junipero', 'Hang the DJ', 'Striking Vipers and 'Smithereens'
    • (-) None that I remember


    So, when you have such a marvel in hand and real demand from viewers' side, you do them a favor and hopefully release up to a potential season 10. Moreover, the seasons are not filled with conveyer-like episodes, so it can be managed with a bit of will and help from the producing side.

    Hope the above is not wishful thinking as Black Mirror has diamond-like qualities.
  • s327616930 November 2016
    Black Mirror is a trip to the "what if" realm......

    Unlike its title, the stories presented are not always dark and dystopian. Its a mixed bag, of cautionary, horror but also at times, genuinely uplifting and even moving, tales from the "other side".

    The standard of storytelling, predictably, varies. Sometimes there is real flair and inspiration on offer. Other times, the tales can be rather unremarkable and occasionally, boring. That said, as a guide, I'd say this series is more polished than not.

    Season three, sees a departure from UK only based episodes and offers up imaginings from the US as well. Its a good move, that works well, breaking up the UK centric feel of the show.

    I like Dark Mirror and hope for more in future. Seven out of ten from me.
  • The hype is real. I just finished all seasons (as of the date of this review seasons one to four). This show is great but far from amazing thanks to some oddball episodes that fall flat. The Christmas episode was outstanding and so was the one about the rating system. Templates for the future of mankind thanks to the evil corporations and satanic demons running Hollywood? Probably. Yeah, most of the world are all doomed because they are foolish enough not to see the warning signs. Meh, my work here is done and this review is over.
  • AnnaPagrati1 September 2021
    10/10
    Damn!
    Could be the best series of the century! Each episode is so unique! A definite 10/10!
  • My Rating : 10/10 ♠ MASTERPIECE ♠

    How can anyone rate Black Mirror less than 10?! It's one of the most fascinating TV shows ever.

    Favourite Episodes : Be Right Back, San Junipero, Hang the DJ, The Entire History of You, Nosedive and Fifteen Million Merits.

    Bring on Season 5!
  • Season 5 may be terrible, but Black Mirror is a very impressive, original show with lots of interesting ideas.
  • Kingslaay14 July 2018
    Black Mirror is a unique and excellent show.

    It is a blend of technology and human nature and the conflicts. This great anthology sets itself apart from so many shows in this way. You never know where an episode will take you and what the result will be, often this is dark. The creativity and new plot for each episode is a marvel to watch. For the most part it is hit and miss as some episodes are not as good as others. I think the best episodes are the crash between human conflicts and advanced technology. We can do with less of more focus being placed on human dramas that looks more like a soap opera. Overall very good show and a success for Netflix.

    8.5/10
  • gianmarcoronconi4 October 2021
    8/10
    Good
    The series is generally beautiful, with all episodes disconnected you can watch what you want a little while skipping the episodes you don't like. In most of the series the tension is very high and the episodes are brilliant. There is some flaw that compromises the series a little but in general it is really nice.
  • Black Mirror is the anthology series we've been wanting the UK to make in a very long time. Each episode is a self-contained story that could EASILY be used for episodes of shows like Doctor Who and such. The thing that makes Black Mirror so good is its exploration of futuristic utopias, how technology affects the world when we've reached a breaking point, and it's got the open-ended anthology nature of The Twilight Zone. It's basically a contemporary equivalent of Twilight Zone for the 2010s.

    I love Black Mirror. I discovered it when Netflix revived the series in 2016, and the stories it tells are interesting and unsettling. Is all that happens in the world of Black Mirror the right thing to do? Do the character even know the difference between right and wrong?

    See this show asap. It's not going to fizzle anytime soon; but get a Netflix account if you don't have one already.
  • 1/1/18. Have seen all 4 seasons of this technology-based series. Overall it's pretty good. However, I loved San Junipero the best. Almost didn't get through the first season without watching several episodes again. The seasons have gotten better, so that I liked more episodes than not. Season 4 was probably the best, in which I liked 4 out of 6. There is no continuity, so each episode pretty much stands on its own and requires you to start all over again. Like Twilight Zone, but the episodes are longer.
An error has occured. Please try again.