Add a Review

  • Warning: Spoilers
    First Half: NO SPOILERS.

    Sword Art online is a terrifying but beautiful story of a boy names Kirito who is stuck in this virtual video game in which no player can leave until the final boss is defeated. Throughout the game, if one were to be killed, the player would also die in the real world.

    In this anime, you never know who is going to die next which keeps the viewers constantly on edge. A character that might have seemed important could be killed at any moment and the fact that those characters actually die in the real world makes the story even more emotional. The story itself is definitely unique and entertaining. The action/fighting is good and the emotions run high in this anime, however, it does have a few flaws.

    First off, everything feels rushed in the first half of this anime. In a world that has 100 floors, you only see about 10 of them. To me, I found it annoying to find out that the next episode he had made it 20 floors higher without any explanation. I understand that you can't show him fighting on each floor level, but it could have been more gradual than going from (ex.) floor 20 to floor 47. The first story is completed within 14 episodes and that is it's problem. They do not give enough time for the stories to develop fully. You meet new characters in the beginning of an episode and towards the end of that episode many days have gone by within the anime but truly you've only seen them throughout one episode of 20 minutes, not 2-3 episodes. So when those (not-so) new characters die at the end of the episode where they were first introduced, it doesn't pack the punch it could have had those characters been in the anime longer.

    Secondly, SAO lacks Character depth. After watching 14 episodes of Sword Art Online, you know barely anything about the main characters. They still manage to make you like and care for them, but I think that these feelings could have been amplified had we known more about them.

    ----------- Now for the second half: SPOILERS

    The story continues into a new video game in which Kirito enters in order to save his lover Asuna. In this new game if you get killed, you simply respawn. After watching the first half of SAO, this second half right away seems pathetic and childlike. This story focuses on love instead of survival and in my opinion it should have never have been made. They really should have just spent the extra episodes on the first story. This would have fixed the two flaws I pointed out: They could have added more character depth and not made the anime feel as rushed. It's really a shame, because this second half ruins SAO for me.

    -------- END SPOILER

    All in all, I would highly recommend watching the first 14 episodes of SAO but don't even bother watching anything past that.
  • In the year 2022, thousands of people get trapped in a new virtual MMORPG (Mass Multiplayer Online Role Playing Game) known as Sword Art Online. Where death normally causes you to respawn to a safe zone, Sword Art Online was reprogrammed to kill anyone who dies in the virtual world. The only way to exit the game, is to defeat the final boss. Eager to escape this virtual nightmare, a lone beta player called Kirito fights his way through each floor of the game; however, this lone wolf soon recognizes the need for companionship, and the cost for his freedom. In the end, SAO Season 1 was packed full of mythical virtual excitement, beautiful animation, wonderful orchestral pieces, and intriguing character development. Even if you never watch SAO Season 2, SAO Season 1 is a must see for any Anime enthusiast and deserves a solid 10.

    Sword Art Online Season 2, brings us back to the mmo virtual world. However, unlike SAO Season 1, the first half of SA0 season 2 is primarily based on a gunslinger motif known as Gun Gale Online,

    In a virtual world comprised of guns and bullets, Kirito, uses a female avatar whilst duel wielding a violet energy sword and a 5.7mm FN Five Seven handgun. Not long after his experiences in Alfheim Online, Kirito is asked to assist in finding a mysterious player called Death Gun who is targeting the best players in the game, and is some how killing them in the real world.

    Though we reunite with some familiar characters in the past, GGO introduces a sexy sniper named Sinon who uses a PGM Ultima Ratio Hecate II which is a .50 caliber anti-material sniper rifle. As awesome as this season has been, it does lack a few of the intense emotional elements that made the first season so amazing. (Ex: The romance that developed between Kirito and Asuna, or the intense rage Kirito expressed to certain members of Laughing Coffin)

    Upon the conclusion of SOA season 2 mid-season finale, we are brought back to Alfheim Online where we are reunited with everyone in Kirito's party from SOA season 1. After a brief 4 episodes, the remainder of the SAO season 2 focuses on an entirely new guild known as the "the sleeping knights" guild. In a desperate attempt to achieve the unachievable "the sleeping knights" request Asuna's help after assessing her combat skills in a duel against their strongest member Yuuki.

    Growing up on anime, I have seen my fair share of classics, but the beautiful atmosphere, the breathtaking music, and the fantastic character development has quickly made SAO my favourite anime series. That being said, those who were a fan of SAO season 1 will notice an almost different atmosphere in SAO season 2. Personally I feel that SAO season 1 was better because the second half completely fed off the first half of the season. However, SAO season 2 had what appeared to be 4-5 parts. Although this introduces us to new characters, the plot felt a little scattered as it lacked the kind of consistency and the emotional build that was provided by SAO season 1. Overall, the second season of SAO was not fantastic, but I still believe it deserves a 7.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    Minor Spoilers below. Note: this review is only based on the original SAO, not the second season released in 2014.

    The common line which carried SAO to it's popularity was that it was 'a sprawling epic with an inventive concept'

    This is simply not the case... while the concept has some fun new twists it's hardly original, the 'if you die in the game you die in real life' is almost becoming a cliché, even more so since SAO increased it's popularity.

    And while the animation and music are definitely up to snuff in regards to providing an epic and grandiose spectacle, the story and characters are certainly not.

    the lead protagonist Kirito is perhaps the worst protagonist i've ever seen in any televised series, ludicrously overpowered to the point where he's seemingly able to break established world rules at his leisure with no prior explanation as to how. he also has quite bafflingly... no clear motivation for the entire first half of the series. there is simply nothing to him personality-wise either, he's cocky, but other than that there's not much there, he was made as plain and simple as possible to serve the purpose of wish-fulfilment. he's not a character, he's a skin for the viewer to wear.

    as for the story, for the first half it's at the very least competent if uninspired it's heavily let-down by a few filler episodes and abuse of timeskips but it's at least bearable. but for the latter half? every mistake that could have been made WAS made, all tension was thrown out of the window as the consequences for in-game death were removed as was the sense of being trapped in the world. and the mysterious villain of the first half was thrown aside in favour of a new, completely flat, completely unintimidating moron.

    In summary, the series is the closest approximation of a train-wreck that i can imagine, flat characters, schizophrenic pacing, a glut of rather creepy fanservice... the fantastic animation and music are nowhere NEAR enough to redeem it.

    3/10 is being rather generous...
  • Warning: Spoilers
    OK so first things I enjoyed.

    The first three episodes. Some of the time the animation is glorious. Especially in the first episode. When they're showing you the world of SAO it is fantastic, and some of the fight scenes are great. The first three episodes really shows this off.

    Episodes that I liked: 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 9... that's it really.

    The main character - whilst probably just the avatar for the creator's wet dream - is actually kind of cool sometimes. I enjoyed his moments of badassery. Asuna (supporting lead) was pretty damn cool when you first meet her. She plays the tsudere role pretty well at first, but towards episode 10 or so she increasingly becomes nothing more than the helpless waifu to worry when Kirito is in danger.

    And now I start with the problems in this show.

    This is the basic format for the first half: 1) Introduce cute female character. 2) Let us see lots of her breasts and other body parts 3) Ideally invent some situation that involves her accidentally showing a bit too much body, then getting really embarrassed or angry. 4) Invent random monster for Kirito to fight, female character must be in need of protection. 5) Have some speech about love or hope or something 6) Rinse and repeat.

    There's a little bit of a sidetrack with some hentai porn, but that's most of the first half. Then we have a similar situation in the second half, but just with the same female character (Sugu) on repeat whilst the supposed 'love' of Kirito is all trapped in a cage being molested so all the creepy people watching can masturbate.

    To illustrate Characters who appear in more than one episode:

    Kirito, male - basically Goku

    Sugu, female in love with Kirito

    Asuna in love with Kirito

    Lisbeth, f in love with K

    Silica, f in love with K

    Alicia, f who hits on K

    Sakuya, f who hits on K (lots of fan service)

    Klein, m

    Agil, m

    Kuradeel, m

    Basicaly most of the characters who actually do things are females and what they do is have their bodies exhibited for the viewer while they're saved by the all powerful Kirito who they then fall in love with.

    I could go on about the grand lists of plot holes, things that don't make sense, amount of boring dialog/things that happen and the fact I never once feared for any of the main characters. But that'll just be waffle. You either enjoy the misogynistic misadventures of kirito with a side of side boob, or you don't.
  • With the help of a friend, as well as Sirlionhart's Let's Play of Hollow Fragment, Sword Art Online became the first Japanese Anime that I got into. Closest things to Anime prior that I watched were Avatar: The Last Airbender (Some don't really consider it anime as its American, but its based off it) and if you count movies, Spirited Away. But back on topic.

    After my friend showed me game-play of Sword Art Online: Hollow Fragment, I decided to check out the series on Netflix and I was instantly hooked. It was humorous at times, very deep and emotional, and really epic. The characters are likable, the story is amazing, the music, score and theme songs, awesome.

    I understand that a lot of people don't like the show, and I see the reasons why. I was disappointed when the First Story Arc came to what seemed like a sudden and rather quick end (Which is the reasoning behind me not giving the show a perfect 10 score). I honestly wouldn't have had a problem with different Story Arcs if the first season had focused on just one (Much like ABC's Once Upon a Time, because I think the Story Arcs were rather good.

    But overall, I am really glad that I got into the show. It may not be perfect, but I liked it and I really look forward to Sword Art Online 3 as well as the movie (that is, if they have officially been announced rather than rumored)when they come out.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    Sword Art Online was an anime I went in being very excited for. Being a long time MMO player and anime watcher, an anime about an MMO seemed like it would be right up my ally. How wrong I was.

    The show revolves around the main character Kirito and his in-game (and later IRL) girlfriend Asuna and their story after they get trapped within an MMO that causes its players to die for real if they die within the game. It seemed like an interesting concept that was executed in all the wrong ways.

    I was looking forward to an anime about the struggles of being trapped within an MMO world and the quest to level up and beat the final boss to "escape" the MMO. However, instead of focusing on that quest, the series focuses heavily on the romance aspect of the series. Much of the leveling and dungeoning process is simply skipped over in favor of giving the main male lead Kirito more time with one of his many lady friends (namely Asuna). At one point during the show, the series goes way off track when Kirito and Asuna decide to get married in game and go have a honeymoon for 2 whole episodes (Two whole episodes of this!). I would have rather seen a series where the leveling and dungeoning process was the main point, and the romance was simply secondary. Instead, the romance takes up much the the series, and the actual MMO parts are pushed to the side or simply skimmed over. This seems rather contradictory, as one would think the characters would be more focused on leveling and beating the game instead of romancing each other, considering they are trapped there and could potentially die.

    However, the most glaring problem with this anime is the inconsistency with the two main characters. Asuna, the main female lead and Kirito's love interest, changes multiple times for apparently no reason throughout the first season. She is first portrayed as a strong player that is also a loner, and refusing any offers to partner up with others. Later, after a timeskip, she is shown again, but this time instead as a Tsundre, bossy person that is now in a guild for some reason (despite claiming to be a loner). Some time after that, she turns into a doting, pushover, waifu type of character and remains that way for the rest of the series. All of these personality changes occur without any explanation or plot element that would explain a shift in personality.

    However, with as bad as Asuna is, the main character Kirito is 100x worse. He is by far the worst gary stu I've ever seen in an anime. The series essentially revolves around proving how awesome and special Kirito is. Kirito, like Asuna, is originally described as a loner that prefers to play alone, also known as a "beater" in the game. The series gets this wrong right off the bat as they tell us he has this personality instead of showing us. This supposed loner personality is constantly contradicted, as only a couple episodes into the show, Kirito joins a guild and is constantly meeting, playing with, and helping other players. A pretty odd thing for a loner to do right? Oddly enough, all of these players he helps are attractive females in revealing armor that all fall in love with him for no real reason. After a few episodes of this, I realized that this was in fact a harem anime, not the action/adventure I originally thought it was.

    Instead of showing leveling and dungeoning progression, each episode of this anime either has Kirito wooing some new girl to add to his harem or romancing Asuna. Amongst the girls that are in his harem, there is also his sister/cousin that has also fallen in love with him for some reason. Of course, Kirito ultimately chooses Asuna, since she is the prettiest and most powerful girl in the game. Don't expect to see many male characters that aren't evil or incredibly peripheral in this series, there's only room for Kirito and his various harem girls.

    Kirito always wins his battles through some kind of plot armor, exaggerated to the point where it even breaks the rules of the game at a couple points. He has a special dual wielding ability that no one else has for no other reason aside from the fact that he's special, and also frequently uses other abilities that shouldn't even be possible. At no point is there ever a fear of him dying or even losing, as you know there will always be some random power up he gets that allows him to win.

    And unfortunately, this series and its plot only get worse as the series progresses. As bad as the first half of the first season was, it only gets worse. After escaping Sword Art Online, later arcs portray Kirito and his harem girls in their adventures in other mmos. For one, you'd think the characters would be hesitant to play other mmos after their experience in SAO (not much is really said about the people who actually died from the game). But nope, they jump into other mmos without even thinking about it. And these other mmo arcs lose what little plot suspense the first arc had, as they take away the risk of dying that the first mmo arc had.

    Ultimately, Sword Art Online is just a harem, fanservice anime with little plot/character development or consistency. Everything about it is gimmicky and poorly executed to the point where it has no saving graces (that is, unless you're into the fanservice). There are plenty of good shounen animes out there and this simply isn't one of them. It's highly overrated and doesn't deserve the hype it gets.
  • In order to escape the world of Sword Art Online, players must clear all 100 floors an defeat the final boss. An anti-social gamer by the screen name of Kirito will see if he's got what it takes to survive in this death game. Along the way he will encounter many colorful characters, each of them sparkling with a unique personality. The sword fights in this show are very well done and keep you on the edge of your seat. This show has some very touching moments that will bring you to tears. There are some dark moments and some comedy thrown in here and there along the way. The euphemisms in this show are also quite witty. The show also does a good job portraying the online gaming community. There is also some age verity among the characters so it's not all "kids save the world" stuff. However the main character, Kirito is in his early teens but unlike Ash Ketchum will age as the series progresses.

    The character development in this show is some of the best I have seen. I love every character as they all have certain quirks and flaws that make them seem more human. Kirito's reserved personality will often make the show focused mainly on him for awhile with reoccurring characters showing up now and then. The variety of characters makes the show entertaining even in regular conversations among characters as we see their personalities interact with each other making them seem more human.

    This series is a must watch even if you have never tried anime before. I know lots of people who aren't in to anime but love SAO. If your look for a good show to watch this is defiantly my recommendation.

    ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • sweetcupcakes3 October 2015
    10/10
    Great!!
    Warning: Spoilers
    Sword Art Online is by far one of my favorite anime, its outstanding! It has amazing action that will have you on the edge of your seat just about every episode. I don't know about anyone else but not only did the action make the anime good, but so did the romance. There were so many moments that just made you want to burst in tears.

    A lot of people typically complain about the time skips which I will agree, are pretty annoying. Before Kirito beat SAO, I was thinking it was last in a whole season span rather than just 14/15 episodes, It was pretty disappointing to me. But they still made it work to where the anime was still really good. I totally recommend it!

    10/10
  • I started watching this anime on netflix. The premise about around VR and video games sounded interesting. Little did I know that I would be watching one of the best animes I've ever seen. I expected a bit of sci-fi and fantasy elements, but what I wasn't expected was just how moving the story would me. Unlike a lot of anime, this one truly has heart. To put it in internet terms, "It gave me the feels." While the first half is definitely stronger than the second, it was still a joy to watch all of it.

    It was also refreshing to see an anime with such a strong focus on story. Every episode pretty much moved the story along (for the most part.) With little in terms of filler. And even the stuff I consider to be filler was so well done, that it didn't matter.
  • HajiAltair10 December 2012
    So far I've seen the first dozen of episodes. It goes without saying that this anime is very beautiful and with strong memorable characters. I was hesitant at first to watch this because of the video game theme. But it's a very mature show for what is contrary to what it appears to be in first glance.

    Teenage boy Kirito gets stuck in a futuristic MMO game and together with other players in his situation they have to beat the game to be set free or die in the real world.

    It's not the typical action packed anime, although it could turn into another Naruto/Bleach/OnePiece of ridiculously overpowered action heroes, I think a better description so far would be a tragic romantic sci fi show. I can't remember when I've seen so many characters die in an anime in such a short succession.

    Anyway don't miss this, I'm glad I didn't. There are very few animes these days that make me want to see forward for the next episode.
  • ukrainianz23 August 2012
    This anime is Amazing. Watch it now. I can't even explain this... Sword Art Online is ridiculously well made, so far. A lot of anime have a good start but end horribly but this anime has an incredible start and only time will tell of the end. However, I believe that this anime will finish very well. I don't want to reveal much about the show but the main character Kirito is awesome... Just go watch this show. Now. You wont regret it trust me. I don't know if I'll be able to survive waiting a week for each episode. All I have been doing so far is praising the show but I'm dead serious the characters are awesome, plot is awesome, the idea of the show is very interesting as well. I HIGHLY recommend this show and I know this isn't the most detailed and persuading post (I don't wanna spoil anything), at least I don't think it is but this is a very good show. You will get hooked from episode 1, I promise. My brother and I aren't crazy anime fans, we probably are now because of this show but he saw someone post on a website that an amazing new show is going on air and well, he was right.
  • daletharbaugh2 February 2016
    I am actually watching this Show really late. Most of my friends watched it over a year ago but i have heard great things. I decided to watch it on HULU yesterday for the first time and i was hooked. I stayed up way to late and watched the first 10 episodes. The Reason why it was so appealing to me was it seemed like it was my life. I game daily its a part of my life and seeing this show where everything you do it real and has consequences just opened my eyes. I love all the characters from the good and bad. Great show i cant believe it took me this long to watch it. Give it a chance. Other shows i have watched and enjoyed...Inuyasha, Bleach, One punch man, Trigun, Cowboy Bebop that's just a few so you see what i watch in comparison and there is a 10 line minimum so just stretching this out a bit.
  • Don't believe with bad rating. You must watch it first before you know how excellent this anime. I really really love this love story, adventures, and much more. i just warn you again to watch it first. Kirito and Asuna's story so beautiful to loss it. sword art online is the best!
  • larsverduin28 January 2019
    10/10
    Amazing
    Ignore the negative reviews, and see it for yourself. It is actually one of my favourite series I have watched, the bond between Kirito and Asuna is special. And it's something I have not come across other than in SAO.
  • Hands down I've watched alottttt of anime and I just wont stop loving this one The art is beautiful the plot is original you can't but help falling in love with each character and it includes many different genres I've laughed I've cried I've screamed in joy this anime has made me every emotion possible it just warms my heart I've seen some pretty good anime's, but none can top this one I re-watch the series and the movies all the time and they move my heart every time SWORD ART ONLINE IS A MUST WATCH PEOPLE and IMDb why am I not aloud to use comma's or periods ? Dude fix your app
  • cquimby121610 April 2018
    10/10
    Great
    Love this show, easy to watch, great story line Very easy to build a relationship with the characters
  • Warning: Spoilers
    As someone that has seen both sides of the flame wars, and re- watched the series a total of 4 times after my initial watch, I have to say Sword Art Online is fully deserving of the love it's been getting.

    Story: For those that have heard of this anime, the premise is pretty much common knowledge by now. On the day of launch, 10,000 players of the first VRMMORPG: Sword Art Online, receive news on Aincrad's dark secret: they are unable to log-out, and a death in- game equals a death in real life. Despite the general idea you'd get from the first episode, the story actually goes for a more meaningful theme of exploring the psychological impacts on individuals and exploring what is real when the line between virtual reality and reality begin to blur. It actually ends up being fairly light-hearted and has touches of slice-of-life in some areas and tackles some touchy subjects in our world, such as PTSD, all while still maintaining a suspenseful and emotional thrillers for the arcs that have them. There are many life lessons to take from this anime, but plan to analyze if you want to find them all. There are many plot twists throughout the series and some of its major strengths are addressing how certain happenings are possible in the story and foreshadowing of plot elements that are usually brought into fruition in later arcs. There is plenty of exposition on the world's rules and some of the more confusing plot elements through dialogue, so if you're aiming to fully understand the story, it's necessary to pay attention. However, some of the finer details are only in the light novels, so if you're still interested in fully understanding it, time must be devoted to reading them. It's also worth mentioning that some plots can be cliché, such as Fairy Dance's main goal, and can have uncomfortable scenes. 10/10 for an overall narrative. Arc 1-Aincrad: 10/10, Arc 2- Fairy Dance: 7/10, Arc 3-Phantom Bullet: 9.5/10, Arc 4-Calibur and Mother's Rosario: 6/10 for Calibur, 10/10 for Mother's Rosario.

    Animation and Sound: Nothing short of a masterpiece in both of these categories. The MMO worlds are breathtaking to say the least. Whether it be the Middle Age-like Aincrad, the Norse mythology inspired Alfheim, or the Cyberpunk world of SBC Glocken, there are plenty of worlds to get lost in in this anime. The soundtrack is by the ever talented Yuki Kajiura, known for her work in Madoka Magica and Fate/Zero, and, needless to say, it fits the tone of the anime and the situations. The voice acting, in my opinion, was great between both the English subs and the English dub. 10/10 for both.

    Characters: This category is what sold me and cemented Sword Art Online at my #1 favorite anime series. The main characters are fully realized, both in characterization and character development. I'll only go into a few since covering the main 5 for the individual arcs focused on would be a little too long. Kirito is an introverted, rude on occasions, but very kind individual who still manages to suffer from serious guilt over the course of the series for reasons I don't want to spoil, and he grows as a person throughout his adventures to the MMO worlds. Asuna, in my opinion, hasn't gotten enough credit I believe she deserves as a character. She's proactive to the plot, sweet, fairly smart, yet short-tempered and has trouble speaking her mind when faced with legitimate authority. The side characters, while sidelined shortly after getting screen time, were enjoyable. Some of them have simple backgrounds and don't measure up to the main characters in terms of depth, but they all have personalities that fit them, and the episodes make sure to let you know their place in the world, mainly to make the world feel more alive. 9/10 for SAO I, 10/10 for SAO II. Overall rating for category: 10/10

    Enjoyment: It isn't my absolute favorite anime for nothing. It's a phenomenal series and shouldn't be passed-up due to a controversy that I personally consider ridiculous. 10/10

    Overall: 9.5/10 for SAO I, 10/10 for SAO II. Overall for entire series: 10/10

    If you love romance, thrillers, slice-of-life, action, and adventure with meaningful messages spread throughout, and don't mind a series that tackles touchy subjects with a couple of uncomfortable scenes, I'd highly recommend checking Sword Art Online out.
  • *short*

    The anime Sword Art Online is a great watch, with strong romance, hooking story, and a on the edge of your seat show.

    The thing that SAO excels at over most anime is that the plot is interesting, with a great, balanced mix of romance, action, and suspense. The characters are very like-able, and the animation and voice acting (even for eng dub) is great. The romance is filled with uplifting humor and serious compassion and emotion. The best thing about the show is it is able to tell a very well story with a uplifting plot and atmosphere, even when it is life or death. Another great thing is the characters are very like-able, not overly depressing, and are not insane to the point where it bothers you. Also, the show does a great job of introducing more characters each episode who are also very like-able. This allows you to fall in love with all characters other then just Kirito being the only character you enjoy.
  • This anime was nothing less than a masterpiece (and, believe me, I don't throw that word around lightly). I'm not a gamer and yet I found every aspect of SAO appealing: the special skills, the slightly complicated workings of the VRMMORPG(s), the character designs...everything was top- notch. While the idea of creating an anime which focuses on characters playing a VRMMORPG isn't entirely new/original, I believe that SAO manifests the most flawless depiction of such a series.

    From the onset of the anime, Tomohiko Ito intrigued me with a plot line so gripping and characters so relatable and admirable that I would undoubtedly watch every last episode of this anime. The phantasmagorical world that he created left me wishing that there was some possibility that it could be real sometimes and the love shared between the two main characters was so heart-rending that it made my heart bleed. This anime illustrates the whole scope of human emotions/relations within a mere 25 episodes AND features quite a bit of character development. Furthermore, it presents a completely fleshed-out and fulfilled story which leaves no "what ifs?"...it ties up all loose ends and then redirects to give you a look at the lives of even some of the minor characters.

    This isn't just an anime...it's a true work of art! 100/10 You've gotta watch this! :D
  • tomcrew-520931 January 2019
    10/10
    Amazing
    Warning: Spoilers
    Based on the general public they have rated it as 7.7 out of 10 which is a reasonable number but if I was proper critic I would reconsider to change the number based on my opinion which I have rated as a 10, i have gave it this rating because it has to be the greatest anime I have watched in my 16 year existence The characters to the story, the atmosphere is so good it's seems real at sometimes and at the end of season 2 it had me wondering why stop there but anyway the story is about a 16 year old kid called kazuto kiragaya but also known for his online persona kirito And there has been a new game released to the public in 2022 and it's called sword art online which is also the main title and it's a vrmmorpg and it's for a device called the nervegear which was designed and produced by akihiko kayaba and he is also the creator of sword art online as well and everyone was trapped in the game for over two year and in those two years kirito met a girl called asuna and sooner or later they became married in the game and also had a little cottage on floor 22 by a lake and they was wondering around the forest and that's when they met there adopted daughter called yui they found her there passed out and took her home as soon as she woke up she couldn't remember anything but it's turns out she was just a artificial intelligence programme which made the story move thrilling as it is but eventually they had to return to the front lines and clear the game and it's turns out commander heathcliff is really akihiko kayaba and he is the boss on floor 100 in the ruby palace so kirito took him down but in the last second asuna saved kirito but at the cost of her own life but for anybody doesn't know she is alive And kayaba is not the true boss on floor 100 the boss is called Incarnation of the Radius but that's for an other time but basically if you have not watched it yet give it a shot and watch it you can watch it in English or japanese your choice but I reviewed this in English cause I don't understand japanese to good and I know people are going to avoid watching it because kirito is voiced Bryce papenbrook but I don't understand why people hate him he is a pretty good voice actor he plays rin in blue Exorcist but anyway go watch it and the only reason kirito and asuna didn't for is because because the system, Cardinal, was designed that way. That's why they have the resurrection item like Disgaea mentioned. There is a delay before the player is killed in the real world, following his avatar's death. ... Now, the same can be said about Kirito killing Kayaba.

    Season 2 A year after escaping Sword Art Online, Kazuto Kirigaya has been settling back into the real world. However, his peace is short-lived as a new incident occurs in a game called Gun Gale Online, where a player by the name of Death Gun appears to be killing people in the real world by shooting them in-game. Approached by officials to assist in investigating the murders, Kazuto assumes his persona of Kirito once again and logs into Gun Gale Online, intent on stopping the killer. Overall this season is more thrilling compared to season one, The second season begins with a new virtual reality MMORPG called Gun Gale Online. Rumors are circulating about a person named Death Gun who can fire a bullet in the game that will also kill people in real life. Kirito, the protagonist of the last season, starts working with the Ministry of Internal Affairs to investigate whether such a thing is possible. This arc starts off as a mystery, but it suffers from pacing problems that make it hard to keep an invested interest. The deuteragonist, Sinon, is an avid Gun Gale Online player. She's a well-known sniper in the game, and she even plans on competing in a competition with the silliest name imaginable (Bullet of Bullets). Kirito and Sinon end up working together as Sinon helps Kirito find Death Gun, and Kirito helps Sinon through her fears.

    When Sinon was a young girl, a man barged into the post office and aimed a gun at her mother. Sinon managed to take the gun from him and shot him. Because of this event, Sinon is terrified of guns and is playing Gun Gale Online as immersion therapy to conquer her fears. Sinon's stress triggers whenever she comes into close contact with guns or realistic replicas. At first, this seems like a well done representation of a trigger - Sinon panics when she tries to hold the gun replica she keeps in her desk at home. Her breathing becomes labored and she can only remember how terrified she felt the time she held a gun and killed someone. It's surprisingly dark for Sword Art Online, and the show would have pulled it off had it not done it in such an overdramatic manner. The over the top, highly saturated red in the background and an unreasonable amount of blood flowing across the floor distract from the terror Sinon feels.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    It is time for another series of Sword Art Online and once again is consists of two main stories. In the first half of the series Kirito is approached to enter a game called 'Gun Gale Online' to find and identify a character calling himself 'Death Gun'. When he kills another player that person dies in real life; something that is theoretically impossible. Once in the game Kirito befriends a girl called Sinon who initially mistakes him for a girl. She is a sniper in the game despite being traumatized by an incident involving a gun in the real world. As the story progresses they find themselves confronting 'Death Gun' and learn how he is able to really kill people… something that will put Sinon in real danger.

    In the second half of the series Sinon joins Kirito and his friends in Alfheim Online. They are no longer the main protagonists though; Asuna takes a more central role as she learns new skills and befriends a girl called Yuuki. It looks like their friendship may end as Asuna's mother believes she is spending far too much time on line and is threatening to stop her playing any more, believing her online friendships aren't real. As it turns out Asuna and Yuuki's friendship is threatened by something far more serious; on line Yuuki may be the best swordswoman in the game but in real life she is seriously ill.

    Having enjoyed the first series I wasn't sure I wanted more in case it wasn't as good. Thankfully this series was enjoyably too although, at least for the first story, is quite different. The Gun Gale world is much darker in tone and appearance than the original worlds and the use of guns is quite different… even if Kirito continues to use a sword like weapon. I really enjoyed this story. The second arc didn't grip me as quickly; there seemed no real danger as the group took on new bosses and gained skills; then, with the introduction of Yuuki, things get more emotional leading to a tear-jerking conclusion. Overall I'd say if you enjoyed the first series you should enjoy this too.

    These comments are based on watching the series in Japanese with English subtitles

    JUST WATCH IT - YOU'RE MISSING OUT
  • As most of you know there are light novels for this series, all of which I have read. And this has been perhaps the best read I've had in ages. The storyline, characters, vastness of the world and romance between Asuna and Kirito are perfect, and the twists will leave you dying for more. If you're here for an anime with a great storyline, have played any RPGS or enjoy a little romance mixed with action and suspense, then this is the anime for you. Although there has only been 4 episodes (at the time of this review), the anime has covered a substantial part of volume 2 in the sword art series, so from here on out the main and incredible storyline will be followed. The animation is beautiful to say the least, and will no doubt accurately represent the amazing setting from the light novels as well as the character models. The voice acting for the main characters Asuna and Kirito have been spot on (of course), and the sound quality is overall, like the animation, perfect.

    As I hinted at above, the story will have you hooked from the beginning , I'm sure many of you have played RPGS, and if you died in those RPGS, you'd respawn and try again of course. But in this anime, the RPG becomes real life, if you health bar drops you're killed almost instantly in real life. With that kind of premise, this anime will be very suspenseful and engaging. I'll focus on the main characters for now because most of the others haven't been fairly introduced yet. Off the bat you can tell Kirito isn't the average anime protagonist, he chooses to go solo for the sake of his own survival rather than stay with his "noob" friend and protecting him in the VRMMORPG. This might seem like a shortcoming, but in the novels he quickly changes upon meeting Asuna (his main love interest+party member), and becomes a character you'll love. Asuna is very strong willed and at first seems to contrast with the anti-social and awkward Kirito, but we later find out how similar they are, and their relationship is perhaps the best I've seen in any other anime or Manga. This anime will only be about 25 or 26 episodes long, covering just volumes 1,2, and perhaps some of 8 in the process, if it does well enough movies and ova's or even another season could be launched, allowing us to further immerse in this incredible universe.

    And I'm sure by the time this anime is finished (or long before), everyone will be rushing to read the novels, and they won't be disappointed!
  • Sword Art Online (SAO) Even though the anime is not completed as I write this, I can already see that this anime will be one of the best of 2012.SAO is perfectly paced storyline with many plot twists and surprises it's almost impossible to get bored.I have no other words to describe this is just simply amazing and you will easily fall in love with SAO.I can't believe it's only scoring 8.8.It's easy 10/10 in my books...If you watch one anime in 2012 I recommend SAO especially if your an MMO player and even more so if you played MMO's back in the day before they made all of them casual. This anime tells a story from the viewpoint of those kind of games, where things are very challenging, living in another world is possible in games.
  • Well I have to say, this has got to be the hardest anime to review and rate that I have come across so far. It is one hell of a mixture. But I did had a great time watching it, was very entertaining and that is what really matters.

    On the plus side, I loved the setting/premise, a world where virtual reality has been perfected and MMORPG's truly come to life. The RPG gamer in me was really happy while watching this anime. DAMN I wanted to be in SAO so bad. The animation was great, especially that of the action sequences. I loved em. Coupled with amazing soundtrack, they really became epic. Protagonist was very likable and cool. The heroin was hot. :p

    Now on the bad side, the anime felt really rushed in the beginning. It actually felt like I skipped an episode couple of times. Would have been better if they stretched out the first arc into 24 episodes or so, would have been much better. It got a little too much lovey dovey too later on, which was off putting. The side characters were good BUT they got very less screen time, way too less. It was like the anime forgot about them. And then there was the second arc. It didn't suck as bad as many said it would but still it was nowhere near as good as the first arc. IT just didn't had the same feeling as the first arc. The setting in it was cool, had a lot of Final fantasy vibe to it. But the love stuff was lame and pointless.

    As for the rating, well I would give it like:

    First arc (1-14 episodes) 8.8/10.

    Second arc 6.5/10.

    Overall, despite its flaws, I somehow still found it to be very enjoyable and was engaged in it a lot. 8.3/10.
  • I just got done watching Sword Art Online episodes 1-14. This is possibly the best anime I've ever see in my life. It mad me laugh, love, and cry for the characters in it and their journeys. I will begin to watch the rest of the series later. God damn this show is going down as one of my all time favorites!
An error has occured. Please try again.