Listen Up Philip (2014)

Not Rated   |    |  Comedy, Drama


Listen Up Philip (2014) Poster

When a self-obsessed novelist (Jason Schwartzman) has problems with his novel and his girlfriend (Elisabeth Moss), he seeks refuge in his mentor's cottage where the peace and quiet allow him to focus on his favorite subject - himself.


6.3/10
6,303

Get More From IMDb

For an enhanced browsing experience, get the IMDb app on your smartphone or tablet.

Get the IMDb app

Reviews & Commentary

Add a Review


User Reviews


8 September 2015 | themissingpatient
6
| Pretentious fools
Listen Up Philip is a messy character-driven piece in which, oddly enough, the narration is the best part of the film. This is not a film for everyone. The two male leads are pretentious fools that, despite all of their knowledge, lack any true wisdom and consistently make terrible choices. By the end, it's difficult to even feel any pity for them. The female characters, on the other hand, are the saving grace of the story and the actresses are terrific in their roles.

It's far from a typical storyline. Even with the narration, it's hard to say what the plot is, if there is one at all. The film has us enter and exit these characters lives at their most sad, desperate and difficult. Some will find it to be an insightful dark comedy while others will find it to be a pointless, drab drama that is frustrating to watch. The most bothersome aspect is the unsteady hand-held camera work, which comes and goes needlessly.

Listen Up Philip is like only reading the middle chapters of a novel. Fans of Noah Baumbach, Wes Anderson and Woody Allen's films may find a lot to enjoy here but if you're not a fan of character studies, this won't be for you.

Metacritic Reviews


Critic Reviews



Details

Release Date:

21 October 2014

Language

English, French


Country of Origin

USA, Greece

Filming Locations

Brooklyn, New York City, New York, USA

Box Office

Opening Weekend USA:

$23,284 19 October 2014

Gross USA:

$200,126

Cumulative Worldwide Gross:

$214,344

Contribute to this page

The Best Book-to-Screen Adaptations in the Works

From summer reads to classic works of fiction, here are some of our most anticipated book-to-screen adaptations on the horizon.

See the full list

The Rise of Charlize Theron

Charlize Theron, known for her transformative performances in projects like Monster and Mad Max: Fury Road, returns as the villain Cipher in F9. IMDb takes a look at her celebrated career.

Watch the video

Around The Web

 | 

Provided by Taboola

More To Explore

Search on Amazon.com