User Reviews (197)

Add a Review

  • Harun Karali21 September 2016
    I think we can all admit that it's hard to create a show that stands out, As we are at a time where television is at it's pinnacle point. So when I started this show I was expecting a mildly entertaining series. What I got, is, a show that is real. So much so, that it brought tears to my eyes. That should tell you all you need to know about this beautiful tale about life. The story revolves around a few characters that seem to be unrelated. Just like the facts that were stated in the beginning of the show. However they have more in common than you realize. What sets this show apart from most, isn't the ending, But the journey you take in-between. As someone who's seen many new shows this year, both comedy and drama, I can say with absolute certainty, this is the most memorable. Not only because of it's outstanding story telling but because of it's cast, who bring life to the story.
  • SPOILER ALERT

    First I am a hard person to fool. The Village. Figured it out. Many others. The Sixth Sense and Fight club got me and that's why I love them. I love to be taken down a path and then realize everything wasn't as it seems.

    When the fireman lit the cigarette I realized it was 1980. But I still didn't get that those three would be raised together until the nursery with the knit onesies. I'm good at this stuff and the acting and characters blew me away that I wasn't looking for it.

    Best Pilot ever. IMHO.

    Then I thought. Well they can't do that every episode because if you are looking for twists you find them. If I was told there was a twist at the end, I would have figured it out (everyone's birthday on the same day, etc). But the fact one was black and the other two were twins threw me. PLUS the fact one was "Ryan Gosling" body and the other was overweight threw me that they were twins. Both played on stereotypes which I Loved they made us look into ourselves a little.

    So where does the show go from here? It has a great premise. Dual time lines. You can do a lot with that. Have stories play out with flashbacks to tell a larger story (ala Lost). The casting was nailed with exceptional talent. I was interested in every character. They even nailed it by casting Simon and Simon vet Gerald McRaney. He was the glue that MADE that story line click. He speech on the chair was Emmy worthy. I hope he is a regular cast member and explore his wife's death and the death of his one child.

    I'm hooked for at least season one. No need for twists. The dual time lines and great characters is enough for me. They can bounce all around in the 80s when the "triplets" are 4 or 10 or 15. triple time lines or more. Milo and Mandy can be made to look older and cast kids to play the parts at different ages. So much room to explore. I predict a good 4-7 year run.
  • This is a very inventive story line so I won't refer to it, except to say that both the first and second episodes have real surprises. Avoid reading any reviews with spoilers. It will dampen your joy as you figure things out.

    The acting is excellent and the script is well written. This looks like a comedy but in fact it has some profoundly dramatic moments. I want to single out some of the actors who were terrific – Milo Ventimiglia (played Rocky Jr), Mandy Moore ("Tangled"), Ron Cephas Jones, Sterling K. Brown (Chris Darden in "OJ") and Susan Kelechi Watson ("Louie"). Gerald McRaney does a cameo in Episode 1 which may be some of his best work ever.

    The disadvantage of a TV series like this is that it requires the audience to participate and fill in the gaps. Many people will not understand what's happening, so this is the type of series that is best viewed twice, or however long it takes you to get it.
  • I don't write many reviews I'm often tempted but don't get round to it. It might be because most of the time when i'm tempted it's because a series or a films is really really bad, so instead I decided to spend my time tying to find something that's good to watch. Now, I have only watched the first episode and normally I would want to watch a few more before making my mind up but I the case of "This is us" I feel compelled to comment on the pilot episode.

    I LOVED IT ! It was wonderfully written, cleverly written, well acted with a good cast. I felt for the main character, they werre interesting and I want to know what happens to them. I was going to go into details about the main characters but I don't wont to spoil anything for you, all I will say is watch the pilot episode I will add that this is not the type of programme I tend to watch "family's struggling in the modern world" the "ups and downs of life" but after one episode I cant recommend this series enough I just hope it continues in the same manner.
  • All too often one ends up writing a review about a show that is less than amazing, often out of frustration, annoyance or plain old bored at yet another half as*ed attempt to get viewers to tune in with little effort on plot, dialogue or acting.

    I'm so pleased to say, this show is the opposite of it all, it is a delight to have found amongst the tedious modern take on entertainment.

    The tale is one of life, of seemingly unrelated people who share something in common, well that is the opener, the twist reveals itself blatantly at the end of episode one, and I didn't see it coming, so far episodes 2 and 3 have not delivered quite that surprise, but what they do deliver is excellence in acting, excellence in storytelling, and a compelling narrative and the continued potential for greatness.

    The characters are increasingly well developed with main and side stories in abundance, it has so far kept me interested and perhaps most importantly for a show, invested in who these characters are, and the journey they are on.

    There is something spine tingly about the show, as others have stated it can be an emotional journey, with moments of humour and moments of laughter and joy.

    It is merely 3 episodes in, but I am hoping we continue to explore the stories being told here, that the cast continues to deliver compelling acting and that the script writers take us on a human journey with all the typical highs and lows that involves. I am looking forward to more, much much more.

    If you hadn't noticed, I'm impressed by the acting cred of these people, with a couple of exceptions these actors aren't one's I've seen before, but they are doing an awesome job here.

    So for a change, i'm so please to commend this show to others, to say it needs to be watched with patience, with curiosity and and open mind and heart.
  • Sammy27 September 2016
    STOP EVERYTHING YOU ARE DOING AND GO WATCH THIS SHOW.

    Beautiful, Simple and heart warming, this show is one emotional roller-coaster. I've been awed, shocked and surprised, crying and smiling to myself. Loving it.

    One of the best pilots i've seen in a while, giving me the best quote, "There's no lemon so sour that you can't make something resembling lemonade." it's simply amazing. It's very rare to feel amazed and fall in love with the show just by watching it's pilot, this is one of them. Two episodes down so far and it has given two amazing and shocking ends, and i just can't wait how it will turn out.

    Trust me, Go watch it and you will not regret it. :)
  • Leah Martin2 October 2016
    Wow, what a come back for TV Drama. This is a multi layered, moving and totally relate-able show and so so entertaining. I am already so invested and have only watched two episodes. The leading cast are amazing with some of my all time favorites (looking at you Milo) and supporting cast seem more than adequate to keep up. The writers have their finger to pulse of what is really important to people today and throughout all of time... LOVE. It ticks so many boxes for me. I have been waiting for a show that I can safely watch with kids in the room, without soft porn, violence, bad language, and in general inappropriate story lines. This incredible show proves to be not too soppy, funny enough to break tension, loads of character diversity, Mandy Moore, I mean so many more reasons to fall in love with "This Is Us". That is all. Peace out
  • rich-862230 September 2016
    Well I did It!My first review.And i am glad that this is my first review.Because....

    After i watched the pilot episode i thought of only one word...PERFECT.The show caught my attention from the very first frame.I really enjoyed all the emotions,love,family...And the second episode topped the first episode by a mile.The way the past explains the present makes up a really satisfying watch in the second episode.

    I am eager to know how the stories move forward and i hope that the show maintains the standard that it set forth from the very first episode.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    The pilot was absolutely brilliant. Four characters at pivot points in their life, and it felt satisfyingly concluded by the end of the episode when they all decided to change. Sometimes you don't need to show the complete follow-through. To me, the most important thing happened in the first episode. Everything genuine happened there. It all feels so stretched now. I'll grant that on occasion, a good and genuine moment happens, but they have become few and far between, not even every episode. I'm on the sixth episode, and I think it'll be my final one. I'm straining to care about most of the characters, and the only one I do genuinely care about is William, and I don't think it a stretch to believe he won't live out the season, maybe not even the next few episodes, given how his character was established. I enjoy sappiness, I really do, but I enjoy it only when it can be genuine.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    Preposterous set-up, (so what's new? that has never stopped network TV before). The real downer is that the show doesn't use the set-up to generate tension or dramatize conflict. Everybody is so perfect and always has exactly the right, politically correct and "supportive" response. Every time a dramatic impulse threatens to intrude, the show squelches it.

    Jack (Milo Ventimiglia) is a very good-looking, devoted husband; he is even still sexually attracted to his wife in her last stage of pregnancy. He is every woman's dream, and that is the point: he is a fantasy, not a real man. Ditto the doctor. A slightly different fantasy, he is a good-looking (but not TOO good-looking), neatly dressed, authoritative older man; he knows EXACTLY the right words to soothe a mother's anxieties.

    Kevin (Justin Hartley) is introduced in a nude photo of him holding a baby, symbolizing that he is outwardly a grown man, but inside he is still a child. We first see him in bed, undressed, while at the foot stand two fully dressed women, signifying that they are in control. Obviously, Kevin's story will be a one of those fantasy "Bachelor" contests, revolving around which woman can maneuver him into committing himself.

    Kevin's career change happens so abruptly, that it clearly has nothing to do with his character, and everything to do with getting him into the right plot line.

    I confess that I ended up fast-forwarded through the last part of Randall (Sterling K Brown's) story. Everything about his first meeting with his father was so pat and undramatic, that I couldn't help it. How convenient that his father has kicked his habit and become so NICE! It's really too, too white-bread.

    Kate (Chrissy Metz's) problem is the opposite of Kevin's. She represents another fantasy: finding a mate even when your competitive beauty-power is severely compromised. Not to worry, though; her personality shines through, and her target is smitten, no problem. (And if Kate thinks that weight loss is a matter of will-power. . is she on the wrong path!.)

    A text-book example of one-dimensionally relationships, Kevin and Kate display not a single sign that one may be at once envious and resentful of the other for perfect looks (or lack thereof), nor anger on the other's part at how well s/he can or can't play along and fit society's expectations. Instead, all that is buried. Believe me, that is not in the slightest a realistic relationship between twins.

    The audience can therefore look forward to a lot of unmotivated emotionalizing and "relationship building exercises." Count me out.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    I guess America needed a series where the producers and directors spoon feed them a heavy dose of predictable, childish, and completely overwrought melodrama every week. The only thing surprising about this series is how obvious everything everyone says and does is. The fat triplet - everything is about her weight which I guess gives her the right to be a total bitch to everyone. The actor triplet - immature, self-centered, narcissistic, everything is about him, which apparently gives him the right to be a complete bastard to everyone. The black triplet - angry, lacking self-confidence, defensive to a fault - which makes it OK for him to ruin everyone Else's life. Nothing interesting here except that every week, the show runners attempts at bringing on the tears becomes even more palpable. There is no way this whining time-jumping cistern of pablum can maintain these ratings for long.
  • To give away any spoilers to anyone who has not yet seen the first episode would be criminal. The final few minutes of the episode are spectacular, so be sure to watch it in its entirety...and I don't mean, "watch it in the background while you do chores or play with your smartphone," I mean, "watch it without any distractions, and pay attention."

    All I want to say is congratulations and thank you to Dan Fogelman ("Crazy Stupid Love," "Tangled," and so many more) for giving us the best new show of the season. Sure, it's a little over-the-top sappy, but it just works. It totally works. The entire cast is a set of talented actors whose characters are extremely likable, whether or not entirely relatable.

    "This Is Us" is set as a series recording on my DVR -- I plan on watching every episode, and expect to enjoy each one. This one's a gem.
  • Bharve1022 November 2016
    Warning: Spoilers
    Boring is not a strong enough word for this show. I have not intentionally watched this show but my wife has had it on because she too is indoctrinated by the driest program I have ever seen. It is drier and more dull than thanksgiving turkey. I don't see what the appeal to this show is, I'm not apposed to drama. It's not a thrilling neck breaker they adopted a black baby the night that their third triplet died upon birth. The show jumps around with no sort of creative cohesiveness at all. The two biological kids look absolutely nothing alike. I guess I'm not suppose to get this. Not everything is for everyone but good Christ these stories are so boring.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    A lot of people come from dysfunctional families and bad parents. Because of this, many do not adjust to the trials and tribulations of life. They don't learn to not be guided or swayed by emotion and impulse, which is subject to changed moods. They don't know how to learn from mistakes. If something works out in their lives, it is despite circumstances. They are fragile emotionally and can't stand the idea of compromise or delayed gratification. Many have addictive personalities and mood swings.

    This is a series made for such people. It features good well meaning dysfunctional people like them, who, like them, make bad choices. Sadly, this can come to the luck of the draw.

    The parents lose one of the triplets. They adopt (NOT LEGALLY) a black newborn. (Because of this, the mother won't let the biological father enter the boy's life, for fear that he will want his kid back. Of course when the truth comes out, the kid - now 36- will not even listen to the mother. In fact his bio dad seems to come ahead of his real one.) The father pushes his wife into the illegal adoption. Luckily she learns to love the kid, and neglects his brother. Much later their marriage dissolves because they have a minor argument, insult each other, and neither is willing to be peacemaker. No one in their right mind lets a marriage end this way. A later reversal does not change the nature of their irrational first impulse.

    Every person wants things their own way. Kate's boyfriend is ready to leave because she won't share painful experiences with him. Her pain matters not a whit to him. Each person can't seem to handle any crisis without calling on the others to be with them. Love is grand, but what about self reliance. During the new season, Randall on impulse (naturally) wants to adopt a kid, because he was adopted. His wife doesn't tell him right away how she feels. He confesses that he is a perfectionist with low self esteem. Despite that, he continues to bull his way. The wife, Beth, despite being a strong woman comes off as weak so that an emotional scene can play out.

    Throughout this series you will find your emotions manipulated for cheap affect.

    Pity the person who wants to draw life lessons from this mess. For those who are well adjusted and mature, this is anathema. None of these characters is smart, mature or really decent.

    You may want to watch this to see how the dysfunctional side lives. I'll stick with Bonanza,and Father Knows Best.
  • I knew the twist in the storyline before I began the first episode. I have no idea how they will continue with this gimmick ;but I barely made it through the first episode. All the emotions and story lines are are perfect " Hollywood Fake". This show is cloyingly sentimental and predictable. The opening shots of the the woman battling her weight were clichéd and downright stupid. The post it notes in her refrigerator were ridiculous and not funny or touching. Not one thing in this show feels authentic. Really,I can't say enough negative about this show. The forced writing and syrupy acting make this show totally unwatchable.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    This is us is not just the best TV show in a very long time, it is also the most heartfelt with such a beautiful spiritual message. The message is that of LOVE, and that we are all in this together, meaning life.

    The acting, the writing, the characters and its message are beyond beautiful. It is 100% top quality Television and I can't wait for more of this incredible TV event.

    It all starts with Rebecca and Jack in the 70s or early 80s, and gets flashbacks to them in each episode so we can see how it all unfolded to the lives of their three children, one of them a black orphan, Randall (played beautifully by Sterling K.Brown). His biological father William is also casted amazingly by Ron Cephas Jones.

    But my favorite 'This Is Us' couple are Kate and Toby, played in a way by Chrissy Metz and Chris Sullivan, that makes you step back and wonder why we have such judgment and disrespect over obese people. Their acting and interactions are by far the best I have ever seen on TV. Their love for each other is over the top and the both deserve Emmy's for their performances.

    THIS IS US is the best TV show in the last ten years!
  • If unadulterated, absolutely mind-numbingly clichéd schmaltz is your thing, then this is for you. If, on the other hand, you have a few brain cells that actually require a little more than being fed aforementioned pap, it is not. Seriously, do not bother.

    I persevered right to the end of Episode 17 then simply could not watch any more. In retrospect, it would have been quite entertaining to watch this with a like-minded friend so we could howl abuse at this lazily produced/directed, overrated production.

    Even some good performances from the cast couldn't save it, for me - the African-American family were particularly good at their craft, but even they were not able to rise above the cheese. Actually, that's not a bad metaphor. :) The whole show is a messy pizza, with a decent crust trying desperately to get out above the cheese and a mishmash of toppings; it fails, miserably.

    And as for Toby and Kate - how cringe-worthy and UNLIKELY is their story? I am obese, and comfortable enough in my own skin, but I do not want to see the unfortunate, poorly-scripted antics of a couple of fatties. The whole topic of obesity is dealt with in (what comes to be) the expected shallow way, and I just wanted to climb inside my TV and HIT Toby, in particular.

    Ugh. What a waste of several perfectly good hours of my life.
  • ww7872-572-18863823 November 2016
    This show isn't terrible and it has some interesting moments, but I'm finding the characters, yes the same ones everyone else is in love with, to be fairly hard to like.

    Jack is probably the best of the bunch but he is too perfect to believe. What man has a tire blow out and smiles about it? Rebecca favors one child over the others to an abusive degree. Her son Kevin begs her for attention and she can't even be bothered to go to a single one of his shows, or learn the name of the play he's in. That's just cruel. She suddenly cuts of her parents forever, instead of trying to talk out her problems with them.

    Kate sits in weight loss meetings and belittles the concerns of the other dieters. She can't bring herself to smile or nod at strangers who pour out their hearts to her, in fact, she maintains a stone faced disregard of others most of the time.

    Kevin is horrible to his brother when he's a teen and not much better later. He's needlessly rude to his step-father.

    Randall makes snap judgments about his bio father and his adopted mother without giving them a chance to explain themselves. He has never ever watched his brother's TV show. When his mother drops in on the way to the theater, he says, sarcastically, "Thanks for not calling first."

    Miguel is insensitive to things like the family traditions, but everyone is equally insensitive to Miguel and treat him like a pushy, interloper even though he's been married to Rebecca for years.

    I can't care about people this insular and self-centered .
  • Warning: Spoilers
    Okay - what am I missing? I noticed a Tweet from the wonderful (and underrated) Janet Montgomery, saying that she's in episode four of this series, so I thought it must be British. But no, it's American. So I thought I'd better catch up with previous episodes via All4 streaming. I also read a review online - from the Evening Standard, I think - which said I should have tissues handy. I may be a grown man but I have been known to sob out loud at certain scenes in movies and TV, so fine.

    I watched episode one and had no desire at all to continue. There isn't one sympathetic character in it. It's tacky, corny, predictable and completely unbelievable. I didn't need tissues, I needed a bucket. I don't know how anyone can like this twaddle.

    I shall watch episode four, just for Janet, but I may cringe all the way through and I certainly will not be watching any more.
  • If you liked The Blind Spot you are going to like this. Predictable, manipulative, melodramatic and as dull as it can get. In various promotion interviews they've bragged that the success of the show comes from how real and relateable it is. That makes me want to laugh out loud. I've rarely seen a show that was more phony and inauthentic. It's an easy trick that writers use when they are lazy, but want to come off as being "real": put in some deaths, broken families, a fat girl struggling with her weight, and you won't have to make an effort to create good plot and character development. People will just eat it up. So really, the success of this show comes from the fact that people like to be fed corny crap with no substance. Nothing wrong with that, but personally I've found that even a marvel superhero movie have truer dialogue and more relateable characters than this. Also, I might not have been so aggressively against this show it if hadn't been hyped up and overrated to this extreme point. 8.9?? Are you kidding me?
  • The "Pilot" episode follows several story lines including pretty boy actor Kevin (Justin Hartley) looking for something more substantial in his career and life, Chrissy Metz as his sister Kate who is struggling with her weight and looking for love, young couple Rebecca and Jack (Mandy Moore and Milo Ventimiglia) who are expecting triplets and Randall (Sterling K Brown), a successful business man looking for his biological father who abandoned him as a newborn.

    Performances all around were solid, especially from Hartley and Brown and a guest appearance from TV vet Gerald McRaney. The writing of this episode was so cohesive with everything and everyone connecting in some way, and the unexpected twist towards the end of the episode is brilliant and pretty mind-blowing. I will definitely be keeping a close eye to this series. Hopefully the strong viewership the Pilot got will continue to keep this series alive.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    The first episode was great and draw my attention to this show But then i realized it's just too much drama and emotional scenes And also too much set up, like Jack's death... Overall it's an OK show to get emotional and kill time. Thought it would be as deep as Six Feet Under, but i guess i was just expecting too much.
  • Mitzi24 April 2017
    I am a TV watcher so keep that in mind.

    At first, I thought this show was interesting. I am a fan of Milo Ventimiglia so I couldn't help, but be excited to try his new TV show.

    I wish I could say I loved it, but sadly that is not the case. This show is so full of emotion turmoil that I don't want to watch it. I normally don't mind some emotional roller coaster moments, but to me this is to much.

    I'd definitely call this a emotional "chick show". So people out there that want to open a bottle of wine and probably uncontrollably sob this is your show.
  • lucygsc20 October 2017
    Yes, this show incorporates innovative storytelling and interesting characters to depict family relations. But the "background" music track is non-stop, frequently drowning out the dialog. It's immensely distracting and irritating. The music frequently stands in for actual dialog as well. It's like a musical soap opera without any lyrics. I plodded through season 1, but I'm passing on season 2.

    Oh, and why does Milo Ventimiglia's character always have greasy, unkempt hair? Yuck.
  • nananow11 October 2017
    I'm one of the few apparently that appreciates the "Manny" above all the other actors. About 3\4 into the first season I began to feel that each of the characters in their own way was attempting to manipulate feelings of sorrow or despair. Everything literally had to do with grief or anger. Only the Manny was able to present without constantly feeling grief stricken. Perhaps this was due to his denial but I found it a welcome relief. The wives are constantly dissatisfied and petulant.

    In a nitpicking manner I do have to address Ms. Moore's on screen husband's hygiene. Do women find filthy hair attractive? I don't think it's product as that was not the fashion in the timeline and none of the other men present in that style.

    I watched the first year avidly but this year just don't have the energy.
An error has occured. Please try again.