Add a Review

  • I couldn't contain my excitement for this Wrestlemania because there were some big matches on the card. Overall it was so so with some great and not so great moments. Here's a brief breakdown.

    1) AJ Styles vs Shane McMahon. This match should have never happened as it as a waste for someone as big and promising as AJ Styles to be going against Shane McMahon. We also had some big matches this year and didn't need space fillers. The match wasn't bad itself but we had a good feeling AJ would win since Shane is not a full time wrestler with any real career. The match showed no great counters and was a bit too long compared to bigger ones. 5/10

    2) Kevin Owens vs Chris Jericho. This was a good matchup and storyline with two best friends turned enemies for the US Title. It had some good moments and showed good moves by both. Would have wanted Jericho to win but KO winning was good to push him ahead in WWE. This should have been the first match to the event. 7.5/10

    3)Bayley vs Charlotte Flair, Sasha Banks, and Nia Jax. This was surprisingly really good, it is nice to see the women's division evolve and put on a great match and storyline. The match was entertaining having an elimination factor. Glad Bayley won this one but the others did well with a nice short match. 7.5/10

    4) The Hardy Boyz vs Luke Gallows and Karl Anderson (c), Cesaro and Sheamus, and Enzo Amore and Big Cass. This has to be the best match of the night with the Hardy's surprise entrance and victory. The hardy's showed they still got it with some classic finishers. Entertaining, surprising, fast paced and short. 8/10

    5) Nikki Bella and John Cena vs Maryse and The Miz. This is another match that should have not happened and was an unrequired space filler. The best moment was John Cena's proposal but that could have been orchestrated another way. 6/10

    6) Seth Rollins vs Triple H. Charity matches, where there is an injured superstar who relies on the WWE universe for support and sympathy, are not the best. Focus was placed on Seth's injured knee and his pain. Since WWE is scripted charity matches take it too far and insult the fans intelligence with a big story revolving around his pain. It was a mediocre and long match and I wish Seth stayed at home for this one. 5.5/10

    7) Randy Orton vs Bray Wyatt (c). This was a bit of a disappointment since we were expecting more. The Royal Rumble Winner vs the Champion should headline wrestlemania, it's tradition. Either this or the Undertaker match should be the headline. WWE had built up a perfect storyline and rivalry only to have it done in 10 lousy minutes while Shane McMahon's match was double in length. It was still a decent match because they are great superstars but a counter finisher was all that was needed for Orton. Even WWE said this was the best planned story but poorly executed. Many hoped for Luke Harper to make it a long epic three way and end to the era of Wyatt. The result was a small unimpressive match and undermined the Royal Rumble's 30th show. 6.5/10

    8)Brock Lesnar vs Goldberg (c). This was a decent match between two titans. Glad Brock was not buried again but sad to see Goldberg lose, thankfully the match was longer but still only a few minutes. We could had a longer and better match. 7/10

    9) Naomi vs Alexa Bliss (c), Carmella, Mickie James, Natalya, and Becky Lynch. Another match that should have not happened. Oddly enough it was saved towards the end, after the first women's match they should have not had another. Thankfully it was short match and had plenty of fireworks. 6/10

    10) Roman Reigns vs The Undertaker. Saved the worst for last. This was the worst match of the event. It was terrible to see the Undertaker so weak and vulnerable. Worst of all was to lose to someone like Roman Reigns who is unpopular as ever. The Undertaker is WWE's greatest superstar based on his tenure, experience, persona, popularity and skill and to have him lose what could be his last match was a slap in the face to fans. A very bad end to the event and a great superstars decorated career. People question why a great like HBK or another didn't retire the Deadman. 4/10

    Overall score 6.3/10

    There were some good moments but a number of bad ones. This Wrestlemania was far too long. They could have benefited from removing the Shane McMahon, Seth Rollins, John Cena and last female match. This maybe could have devoted time to Orton vs Wyatt and Goldberg vs Lesnar. The WWE deserved to pay better homage to the Undertaker who has given them 27 years of his life with a deserving match. Either it could have been a win or a loss to another legend. I think the creative team need to be fired for their poor ideas and story lines. WWE could be in risk of losing its viewership with some very bad calls for the biggest show of shows. Their best Wrestlemania's are far behind them.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    WrestleMania has always been considered WWE's flagship event, having been described as the Super Bowl of sports entertainment. Taking place on April 2, 2017 at Orlando, Florida. 'WrestleMania 33' was the first joint-promotion flagship event, since 'WrestleMania XXVII' in 2011, when the original brand split ended. The event was also the second 'WrestleMania' to be held at the Camping World Stadium, which previously hosted 'WrestleMania XXIV' in 2008 under the venue's previous name of Orlando Citrus Bowl, and the third to be held in the state of Florida, the second being 'WrestleMania XXVIII' in 2012. Now that we establish the settings, how was the show compare to the others 'WrestleManias'. Surprising, it wasn't that bad, but it did had some audio and camera problems. Still, it was a huge upgrade from last year's disappointing show 'WrestleMania 32', plus it had a cooler entrance set. Most of the matches were top-notch. Ever the preshow matches, weren't that bad. The first match between Cruiserweight Champion, Adrian Neville Vs Challenger Austin Aries was an excellent opener. It's too bad, that it took place, when fans are still, getting in the stadium. So the fan support wasn't all here, but I did like it, more than the second match on the pre-show card, the Andre the Giant Battle Royal. Without spoiling the match, too much, I just couldn't get onboard with the winner. I also dislike the involvement of celebrities. Why can they jump over the barrier, and manhandle the wrestlers, while the common person cannot? I would rather see that female security guard taser him. That would entertaining me, more than seeing Rob Gronkowski in the match. I get that, 'Gronk' just won the Super Bowl with the New England Patriots, despite being on injured reserve, but this was WrestleMania, and he wasn't a wrestler. Plus, he was at the Citrus Bowl, home of college football games & alternate-league American football teams. He look so out of place. It was annoying. Worst match of the night. At least, the pre-show main event was alright, with champion, Dean Ambrose defending his Intercontinental Championship against challenger, Baron Ambrose. However, there was nothing special with it. The match should had, some sort of hardcore stipulation added to it, since the build up to the showdown, had a few. I'm deeply surprise, that a forklift wasn't used in any way, during this match. In the end, highly disappointing. This brings us to the opening match on the main show, with AJ Styles fighting Shane McMahon. I know, a lot of people love this match, but for me, I was kinda upset that it was no way, a traditional wrestling match. I would love to see if Shane could pull it off, but no, it quickly became a hardcore match. The ref bump was awkward & the interfering of Shane's drive for hardcore style was disrupted, by McMahon messing with his same baseball outfit, he wore last year, rather than selling, really took away, what could had been a great match. It was not good. The next match between US Champion, Chris Jericho Vs challenger, Kevin Owens made up for the lack of chemistry in the last match. It was by far, the best championship match on the card. Just wish, the ending wasn't so predictable. Fatal-4-Way elimination match for the WWE Raw Women's Championship was next with champion, Bayley defending her belt against Charlotte, Sasha Banks, and Nia Jax. It was alright, but not as good, as the match, last year. This brings us to the other Fatal-4-Way; which was the tag team ladder match for the WWE Raw Tag Team Championship between champions, 'The Club' (Karl Anderson & Luke Gallows) Cesaro and Sheamus, and Enzo Amore and Big Cass & the surprising return of one other team. It was good enough match, but it was overshadow by the returns, big time. The match was 'obsolete', mostly. The mixed tag team match between John Cena and Nikki Bella Vs The Miz and Maryse was pretty awful. It's not because, I'm not a Cena fan. It was awful, because the story of the match & the aftermath was very predictable. Plus, I couldn't get behind, seeing weatherman, Al Roker being there. He looks so out of place. The only highlight was the Miz's parodies of Cena. That was awesome. The non sanctioned match was next with Seth Rollins Vs Triple H (with Stephanie McMahon). It was an alright match but could had been better. Surprise, that there was no interferences from Samoa Joe. It also jarring to see a non-sanctioned match, have so many rules. The WWE Championship match follow this. Like the Intercontinental championship match, earlier on the card, I was deeply surprise, that the champion, Bray Wyatt Vs challenger Randy Orton match had no hardcore rules stipulation. Still, I dig the special effects. It made the match, stand out, even if the wrestling wasn't that good. Still, mad with the results. The match for the WWE Universal Championship was another disappointment in wrestling terms. Not only was it short, but it was clear, who was going to be the winner, between the champion, Bill Goldberg Vs challenger, Brock Lesnar match. The Six Pack challenge for the WWE SmackDown Women's Championship was better, even if it was put in the toilet break, part of the show, between the undercard and the main event. Naomi Vs Alexa Bliss (c), Carmella (with James Ellsworth), Mickie James, Natalya, and Becky Lynch was wonderfully done. This brings us to the main event, Undertaker Vs Roman Reigns. It was just sad, awkward and slow. It's hard to watch, seeing Taker in the bad shape. He should had retired, years ago. Just glad, it's over, and we can move on. Overall: WrestleMania 33 wasn't the ultimate thrill ride. If anything, it was messy, like Splash Mountain, and not smooth like Space Mountain. Still, it was worth checking out for.
  • Warning: Spoilers
    Despite being an extremely long and tiring show, WrestleMania 33 was probably one of the best 'Mania of the last 15, 20 years. It was an event that tugged on your heartstrings in the right places, making it more than just a bunch of really good matches. Plus the stage was absolutely incredible.

    Pre-Show Austin Aries vs Neville This was by far the best main roster cruiserweight yet. It was intense and athletic and it had enough starpower to feel like a big match. Neville won. 8/10 Andre the Giant Memorial Battle Royal Fun match with a lot of potential winners. Really surprised Mojo Rawley won. 7/10 Dean Ambrose vs Baron Corbin Good match between two great talents but nothing special. That counter from the end of days to the dirty deeds was awesome thought. Really happy Dean finally won a match at 'Mania. 6/10

    Main Card AJ Styles vs Shane McMahon This match totally exceeded my expectations. AJ once again showed how phenomenal he is, and Shane brought his total A-game. There was mat wrestling, brawling, a coast-to-coast, an announce table spot, and Shane did a freakin' shooting star press. It was a brilliant opening match, and AJ ended up with the victory. 9/10

    Kevin Owens vs Chris Jericho The build-up and story for this match was great, and while the match itself wasn't that special, it was still a great match between two amazing workers. I loved Kevin putting Jericho in the Walls of Jericho, and Kevin getting a rope break with just one finger. In the end, KO won the US title after a powerbomb on the apron. 8/10

    Bayley vs Nia Jax vs Sasha Banks vs Charlotte Great match overall. Nia looked dominant because of the other three teaming up on her, including a triple powerbomb. Plus, they address the story between Bayley and Sasha in a very clever way. Charlotte eliminated Sasha, leaving Bayley alone to face her, so when Bayley finally beat Charlotte clean, it made her victory more meaningful. I would have preferred Bayley had just won the title first here, but this match was still great and all four women looked good. 8/10

    Enzo & Cass vs Cesaro/Sheamus vs The Club Oh yeah, THE HARDYS ARE BACK. This ladder match was amazing with incredible spots, including a swanton bomb from a hundred feet. Hardys win, which is WONDERFUL. 10/10

    John Cena/Nikki Bella vs Miz/Maryse In terms of in-ring action this was really disappointing. The match was very short,and was just Miz dominating until Cena tagged in Nikki and they mounted a comeback. Cena proposing to Nikki afterwards was a nice moment though. 5/10

    Seth Rollins vs Triple H This was my personal favorite match of the night, because it was a solid combination of wrestling and storytelling. Plus, both Triple H and Seth had such awesome entrances, with a trike and a torch, respectively. This match had so great moments from the phoenix splash, Seth hurting his knee the same way he injured it in the first place, the struggle over the sledgehammer, and Stephanie going through a table. In the end, Seth won looking like a triumphant hero. 9/10

    Randy Orton vs Bray Wyatt Uh... this match was so weird. Maggots, Worms, Cockroachs, oh my, and Randy won. Ugh, Bray lost the title after a month, despite being so much more interesting than Orton. 6/10

    Brock Lesnar vs Goldberg This match was so awesome. It felt like a true blockbuster match despite only being 5 minutes long. The two completely destroyed each other, with spears and suplexes galore, and Brock managed not only to kick out of the Jackhammer, but also he avoided a spear by leapfrogging over Goldberg. In the end, Lesnar got his win back with 10 suplexes and an F5, becoming the new champion.8/10

    Six pack women's challenge (Smackdown) Really surprised this match came so late in the show. It didn't really have much to it, but it's nice to see Naomi win the title in her hometown. 6/10

    Roman Reigns vs Undertaker This was one of the most heartbreaking matches in history, because it was the Undertaker last match, and seeing him being mauled and beaten to a plump by Roman was hard to watch. The actual in-ring action was a little bit clumsy, especially them botching the tombstone-reversal spot, but the storytelling near the end was absolutely brilliant. The Undertaker struggling to get up, and Roman begging him to stay down, gave the main event a very somber tone. After hitting FIVE, yes FIVE spears, Roman defeated the Undertaker, sealing his fate as the most hated man in the company, and the new big dog. Afterwards, the Undertaker left his gear in the ring and said goodbye to the fans. It was one of the most emotional moments in the wrestling history. 8/10

    Final Verdict This was a WrestleMania that managed to be more than just good wrestling. The consistently high match quality, the storytelling, the spectacle, the witnessing the end of a true legend like the Undertaker, it was something truly special for me as a fan. The show may have been 7 hours long, but it had something meaningful at every turn, and something for any type of fan across the board. Don't let the fact that Roman won another WrestleMania main event distract you from the fact that from top to bottom, this was an absolutely fantastic Mania. Absolutely fantastic. Nights like these are why I will never stop watching.
  • The_Legend36 September 2017
    Warning: Spoilers
    Wrestlemania 33 was promoted as the ultimate thrill ride. The intro with that stupid roller-coaster sucked. What's even worse was The New Day were the hosts. I slapped my head in shame. How far the WWE has gone to this kid friendly garbage. Unicorns? Why Vince? Anyway I won't go through all the matches as I don't feel it's worth it and most of it is drivel so I skipped a few but I will say this. The Hardy Boyz returning was the best thing the WWE could have done. Them winning the Tag Team championship at Wrestlemania made me forgive the drivel I have been getting. That was a moment I will forever cherish. I just hope Vince doesn't bury them. Anyway I'm going to move on to the Roman Reigns vs Undertaker match. This was a major insult they totally took a massive dump on a legend. Undertaker is one of the most respected wrestlers of our time. It was disrespectful for him to lose to Vinces pet in my opinion. They made him look old and slow and Reigns speared him and that was my childhood scarred. Worst of all it was Roman 'unstoppable' Reigns who did it. I wouldn't care if it was John Cena or someone more charismatic but Regns of all people. Idk why Undertaker agreed to this hopefully he can retire in peace.

    In conclusion Wrestlemania was once again a let down and added nothing but one moment I will cherish.
  • Like last year, this WrestleMania was a total of seven hours in length. I see Mania being the longest ppv of the year, but I personally think that six hours should be the bear maximum. I think this is the reason people criticized the second half of the show while praising the first half. Luckily for me, I recorded this and I went to be so I was less fatigued.

    Seems like once every few years, WrestleMania is held outside. I know people praised the hell out of WrestleMania 31, but 90% of that took place in the burning sunlight where the pyro-technics and cool lighting were invisible. In terms of general looks for an outside WrestleMania, this was the best.

    The kick-off show was two hours. First of three bouts was Neville and Austin Aries for the Cruiserweight Championship. These two men have revived the entire division. I wanted Aries to win, but I didn't mind the victor being Neville. 7.5/10

    Second was the Andre the Giant Battle Royal. It appears that WWE is starting to push some new stars. Patriots footballer Rob Gronkowski even got involved in the match helping Mojo Rawley be the last man standing. I love Battle Royals and this was handled very well. And I am happy Mojo won. 8.5/10

    The Intercontinental Title being defended in the pre-show was not a good move. It is too important. Because of this, Baron Corbin and Dean Ambrose refused to perform to the best of their abilities. Corbin sucks, but the match could have actually been good. Ambrose won. Worst match of the night. 4/10

    The first of the main show was AJ Styles vs Smackdown commissioner Shane McMahon. This was probably the most acclaimed bout of the night. Certainly the perfect opener. Glad AJ won. 9/10

    Kevin Owens defeats his former fake best friend, Chris Jericho for the US Championship. The storyline with these guys in fantastic. So was the match. 9/10

    Bayley retained the RAW Women's Championship in an elimination match with Charlotte Flair, Sasha Banks, and Nia Jax. The Diva matches at Mania aren't usually very good. This is a major exception. Bayley's moment was wonderful. 8.5/10

    A triangular ladder match for the tag team title was next. Enzo & Cass, Sheamus & Cesaro, and The Club would be carrying the tradition of Edge & Christian, the Dudley Boyz, and the Hardy Boyz. Before the match started, the New Day (the hosts) announced another team being inserted. Suddenly, the Hardy Boyz' music hits!! They are currently in a legal battle with TNA over their "Broken" gimmick, so we won't see that for a while. Team Xtreme won! The match was insane and the Hardyz' return was unbelievable. 10/10

    The matches seemed to be getting better. But the mixed tag team bout with John Cena & Nikki Bella against Mia and Maryse proved otherwise. This was no different than the average match on RAW. And the build-up was great! Cena and Nikki won, followed by a heartfelt marriage proposal. Because of the proposal, I'm giving this bit 7.5/10.

    Seth Rollins against Triple H was the RAW match I was looking forward to the most. Many people didn't even like the match, but the great story was brought into the match, so I loved it. All of Seth Rollins' accomplishments were made possible by Triple H. He later formed one of the most dominant trios in WWE history with Dean Ambrose and Roman Reigns called "The Shield." Seth eventually sold out and joined Triple H and Stephanie McMahon's power-abusing and unfair "Authority" faction. I hated that faction with a passion. Last year, Seth got legitimately injured in his knee and was out for several months. Upon his return, Triple H prevented Seth from winning the vacant Universal championship. The building hostility and subtle change in both men (both for the better) was great. Seth got injured again by Samoa Joe a few weeks ago, so that just added. Done rambling! Seth won! 8/10

    Randy Orton against Bray Wyatt for the WWE Championship. Was another letdown that could have been great. Images of maggots and cockroaches on the ring were so awesome and original, that ultimately saved this match. Randy won. 7/10

    Next up was Goldberg against Brock Lesnar for the Universal Championship. This dates back to the 2004 Royal Rumble where Lesnar cost Goldberg the match. This led to their infamous disaster at WrestleMania XX. Nothing wrong with Goldberg winning, but the match stunk royally. Fast- forward 12 years and they meet again at Survivor Series 2016 where Goldberg beat Brock in just over a minute. Nobody wanted them to face off at Mania for the title for three reasons: their match thirteen years earlier sucked; the match would be too short; both are part-timers. Brock Lesnar's victory over Goldberg here is the only clean win over Goldberg in his entire career. Brock is a one- trick pony and the match wasn't that good, but I'll give it a pass. 6.5/10

    Next was a six-way match for the Women's Championship. Naomi won. Definitely the lesser of the two Diva matches. But this was enjoyable. 7/10

    The closer was Roman Reigns against the Undertaker. People have been hating on Roman since the Shield broke up, but his victory over Undertaker legitimized him being hated. Taker then retired. It made sense for this to close the show as WWE's greatest performer and Mania's main man called it quits. Remember WrestleMania 24 when Shawn Michaels retired Ric Flair? This is a similar case, but much more important. Both Reigns and Undertaker have done better matches, but this was actually quite good (aside from a botched Tombstone-reversal). 7.5/10. Thank you, Taker.

    This Mania was full of so much emotion that it probably turned fans off. I loved it! There was very little not to like with this.

    7.7/10
  • bobcobb3019 April 2017
    Warning: Spoilers
    This event almost always delivers. On paper the card wasn't great, but it will still go down as a somewhat enjoyable night.

    No match was really that bad, but I don't know how many were instant classics. The Hardys returning was a big moment even if the internet pretty much exposed it.

    WWE can't have Roman Reigns close out a third show in a row next year. They need to find someone else, just for the sake of freshening things up.