User Reviews (46)

  • sergeslevin24 January 2017
    Sam Elliott delivers the performance of his lifetime
    I had an opportunity to watch the film during its premiere at Sundance. Beautifully shot: romantic spans of ocean and countryside were breathtaking. Sam Elliott carried the film from the start to the very end. As the director had stated during the Q&A, if Sam refused for whatever reason to do this role, there wouldn't be this film.

    Very emotional narrative. Depressing at times, but cathartic overall. It's a slow paced exploration of life, rejection, denial, depression, and ultimately death. The perception of death is a big theme in The Hero. Driven by a power poem by Edna St. Vincent Millay - 'Conscientious Objector': "I shall die, but that is all that I shall do for Death."

    Great film for audience that enjoys movies like: "21 Grams", "Manchester by the Sea", and "The Hours".
  • hipCRANK23 June 2017
    The moustache that roared.
    Lifetime character actor Sam Elliott was born to play this part, or perhaps this film was written specifically for Sam Elliott. Whatever the case, the big screen's most famous moustache finally lands a career changing role as a septuagenarian.

    Once, and only once, Lee Hayden was a big screen cowboy presence. Now, now he gets by with voice overs for barbecue sauce. But oh what a voice. Real life parallels abound: Elliott is best known for small cameos, TV and commercial work, but is still a much loved and recognized celebrity.

    As the ticker is about to roll 72, Hayden is given some terminally awful news, giving the ol' coot some pause to ponder a stalled career and failed family life. A December - May romance gets the ball rolling, as our hero sets out to make some amends.

    What could have been a terribly sappy piece of fluff, is actually a lovely paced rumination on the very complicated topic of existence, with a wonderful, understated, and vulnerable performance from Elliott: Hollywood's new leading man.

    Warning: guns are drawn, and poetry is read.
  • David Ferguson17 June 2017
    life and art
    Greetings again from the darkness. It's considered bad form to gush over a film or actor during a review, but come on … it's Sam Elliott, dripping masculinity from his signature mustache - beloved by men and women alike. Writer/director Brett Haley (I'll See You in My Dreams) offers up not just a rare lead role for Mr. Elliott, but also one that seems to closely parallel his actual 45+ year career.

    Aging western actor Lee Hayden (Elliott) opens and closes the film in a sound booth, progressively more annoyed at each of the director's requests for just 'one more' take on his voice-over for a BBQ commercial. What happens in between will likely be judged by critics as one cliché after another, but it's also the chance to see an actor north of 70 years old fight through a wide range of emotions and situations, each grounded in struggles many of us will face at some point in our lives.

    When the doctor delivers the worst possible news regarding a recent biopsy, Lee has every intention of telling his ex-wife (the rarely seen these days Katharine Ross, Elliott's real life wife of 30+ years) and estranged daughter (Krysten Ritter). Neither attempt goes well, and instead, Lee finds himself on the sofa of child actor-turned-drug dealer Jeremy Frost (an admirable stage name for Nick Offerman's character) toking on a joint and watching classic silent films. In fact, the recurring themes of beach, blunt, bourbon and Buster (Keaton) are there to solidify the notion that Lee is a creature of habit, and it's meeting Jeremy's customer Charlotte (Laura Prepon) that finally jolts him back to life.

    Charlotte is a stand-up comedian and would-be poet who has an unusually accelerated attraction to older men. Of course, she can't resist Lee, and a May-December romance develops in his last chance at happiness (cliché number 7 or 8, I lost track). Charlotte accompanies him to an event where an obscure group of western film lovers is presenting Lee with a Lifetime Achievement award, and she also becomes somewhat of a life adviser – counseling him to come clean with his family. To ensure no viewer misses out on the sentimentality, Charlotte recites the poems of Edna St Vincent Millay and reminds us all that buying more time is usually the right call.

    As Lee and Jeremy munch on Chinese food after the cloud of smoke has cleared, Lee has a great rebuttal to Jeremy balking at hearing his story: "A movie is someone else's dream." That sentiment is something I try to hold onto whenever reviewing a movie, as it's important to remember that it's the artist (writer, director, actor) who is taking the risk by putting their work on display. It also fits in with the theme here of finding one's place – putting one's legacy in order. Contemplating morality and softening regrets are natural steps to take, and each of us should make it easier for those trying. So, scoff at the sentimentality and clichés if you must, but the messages here are loud and clear and important.

    Although I had previously seen him (oh so briefly, accusing Redford of cheating) in Butch Cassidy and Sundance Kid (1969), and then again in the late night cult classic Frogs (1972), it was his breakout role in Lifeguard (1976) that made me a Sam Elliott fan for life. Depending on your age, your introduction to his screen presence might have been as Cher's biker boyfriend in Mask (1985), Patrick Swayze's pugilistic partner in Roadhouse (1989), Virgil Earp in Tombstone (1993), the wise stranger at the bowling alley in The Big Lebowski (1998), the Marlboro Man in Thank You for Smoking (2005), delivering a gut-punch as Lily Tomlin's former lover in Grandma (2015), or as Timothy Olyphant's nemesis in "Justified". Elliott is the paradigm for the pregnant pause, and combined with that baritone drawl, ultra cool demeanor, bushy mustache, and head-cocked-at-an-angle glance, he undoubtedly won you over to believe him in whatever role it was … because that's how icons become icons.

    Paraphrasing a line in the film: the Sam Elliott voice can sell anything – pot, bbq, Dodge, clichéd roles – and I happen to be buying (gushing).
  • Jon Ochiai14 June 2017
    Courage and Frailty in "The Hero"
    In "The Hero" Sam Elliott as aging Western star Lee Hayden smokes joints with his buddy and supplier Jeremy, played by funny Nick Offerman, at his Malibu Beach home. Lee sizes up beautiful Goth Charlotte, played by striking Laura Prepon, who waits for her own stash from Jeremy. Charlotte gazes at Lee, "You look sad." Prior to this radio voice over actor Lee, discovers from his doctor that he has late stage pancreatic cancer, he is dying. That eloquent scene elicits the poignancy of Writer and Director Brett Haley's "The Hero". Haley and Marc Basch's screenplay is the uncompromising story of mortality.

    "The Hero" is predictable, yet Elliott's authentic bold performance elevates the movie into something special. I saw "The Hero" at a special showing followed by a question and answer session with stars Sam Elliott and Nick Offerman. Sam said that the role was not at all biographical. We all deal with mortality. Sam said he is not the drug head like Lee, and Lee is basically someone who "screws up his own life." However, Director Haley hints that Lee has the possibility of recreating his life. That along with Elliott's fearless performance made me rejoice and respect the movie.

    Lee really had screwed up his life. His ex-wife Valerie, played by Elliott's real life wife Katherine Ross, has moved on as a successful art dealer. But initially, he can't tell Valerie that he is dying. His estranged daughter Lucy, played by strong Krysten Ritter, remains distant, but desperately yearns for her Father's love. He has proved the tragic disappointment for her. Lee is attracted to the beguiling and charismatic Charlotte (Prepon), who is little older than Lucy. Charlotte is the aspiring stand up comic, whose mutual magnetism seems genuine. Lee created the mess of his life, and needs to clean it up.

    Lee was a big movie star in the 1970's and 1980's. His signature movie was the classic Western "The Hero". His agent calls and tells him that some Western Heritage Film Society wants to honor him with a Lifetime Achievement Award. Being that he does voice-overs for barbecue sauce, he agrees to attend the gala. Possible love interest Charlotte agrees to attend with Lee. Before the awards dinner, Lee and Charlotte get high on Ecstasy. Cowboy charming Lee gives an inspiring acceptance speech about "I'm nothing without you…"

    The YouTube video of his speech goes viral, and Lee becomes the Internet sensation. His agent calls him about an audition for part in a big budget sci-fi movie. He runs some cheesy lines with Jeremy practicing for the audition. Jeremy is also the friend, who worked with him in the past. The lines resonate with Lee's soul, reminding of Lucy, his daughter. He says, "I'm here…" Elliott is moving and powerful. "The Hero" transforms in that moment. "The Hero" is a lesson in empathy and compassion. Elliott embodies Lee's humanity, both his courage and his frailty. Yes, "The Hero" is predictable, and so very human.

    Lee courageously and clumsily owns the mistakes that he made in his life, and makes amends with the women in his life. His romance with fiery Charlotte is rocky. At one point she betrays him out of her own selfishness. Prepon is the graceful enigma as Charlotte, self-absorbed yet gentle soul-ed. The movie is adamant in portraying their age gap, and imparts touching sweetness. They are sublime as Charlotte reads Lee her favorite poem. Too bad Ross isn't leveraged more here as Valerie. Elliott and Ross have an amazing scene that illuminates their unique affinity.

    Haley lyrically captures the calm of the Malibu ocean. Ritter's Lucy says to her Dad, "It's beautiful here." Elliott's Lee looks at his daughter, "Yes, it is." "The Hero" is best in its stillness and humanity. Life is both courage and frailty. "The Hero" arises from this.
  • TheTruthDoor10 July 2017
    Why Was "The Hero" Released in the Summer??
    "The Hero" is by far Sam Elliot's best acting performance ever. It is heartfelt and real throughout the movie.

    The other actors were good and able to keep the movie going throughout.

    The plot was also interesting and had a couple of twists that I did not see coming. (Who was hanged? And the painful stand-up comedy routine.)

    This is a slow movie with a story. It's not an action thriller so get some popcorn and a drink, sit back, relax and watch it.

    My question is the timing of the release. This is an adult, drama and should have been released after school starts. That would put it at the end of the year and closer to Academy Awards time.

    I believe Sam Elliot will and should get a nomination for Best Actor.
  • Danny Blankenship25 July 2017
    One last final look and stare into the sunset of life, while coming to past terms before facing final fate. Plus an all pro performance from Sam Elliott.
    So far for 2017 "The Hero" is the best film that I've seen the story seems real and it's a showcase of past reflection and how one can come to terms with future fate even if it does appear to be tragic. And Sam Elliott gives maybe the best performance of his acting life as Lee Hayden a past his prime and washed up western country film actor who's best days and work is behind him, as now Lee only does voice overs like barbecue radio ads with his gravel deep baritone voice. Still he hopes for a comeback.

    Of late Lee's days are full of whiskey drinking and weed smoking and he only has memories of his past glory. And his family life is strained as he's divorced from his wife and wants to reconnect with his stubborn strong headed daughter Lucy(Krsten Ritter). And life has dealt Lee another bad deck keeping him behind the 8 ball as he's just got word of terminal pancreatic cancer.

    Lee's only current bright side is his meeting and one night stand with Charlotte(Laura Prepon)a crude and rude stand up comic, and Lee learns that love and relationships is like stormy waters that go up and down. Thru it all Lee is reflecting and coming to terms with the past of memories, old glory, and family and while facing the future fate of one last sunset in front of his California beach home and the rolling waves. Overall very good picture that is a showcase that one only has reflection and memories toward the end proving that coming to terms with the past like family and love is important before one is faced with a future morality. And Sam Elliott is my "Hero" clearly his greatest performance ever.
  • ccorral41913 July 2017
    A good film to spend your summer movie going dollars
    Director Brett Haley once again joins writing forces with Marc Basch (both of "I'll See You in My Dreams" - 2015) to present a LA based story that feels current, plausible and welcoming. Ruggedly handsome and gruff toned Sam Elliott ("Grace and Frankie") is Lee Hayden, an actor past his prime now doing quirky VoiceOvers and smoking pot and drinking with his former actor co-star Jeremy (the always enjoyable Nick Offerman "Parks and Recreation"). When fellow pot-head Charlotte (another TV favorite Laura Prepon "That 70's Show) appears on the scene, her unique love affair with Lee pushes him to face some important life decisions, including his relationship with estranged daughter Lucy (the beautiful Krysten Ritter - TV's "Jessica Jones") and his Ex Valerie (one of my favorites Katharine Ross - "Donnie Darko" - 2001: a film I was also in!). I love when a director welcomes familiar character actors to join a film, and here Doug Cox, Max Gail, Patrika Darbo, Cameron Esposito and Christopher May are a welcomed infusion to the story. "The Hero" is a sound film with good storytelling, presented at a time when summer animation, CGI and explosion films are seeking your movie going dollar.
  • Paul Allaer24 June 2017
    Watch it for Sam Elliott's performance
    "The Hero" brings the story of Lee. As the movie opens, Lee is voicing his latest commercial for Lone Star BBQ Sauce. "Can you do that one more time", the producer asks again and again. Later on, Lee's agent gives him the good news he's been selected to receive a life time award from the Western Appreciation Guild. But Lee also receives bad news when his doctor tells him he has pancreatic cancer and he must start treatment right away. Deflated, Lee goes to a buddy, who also supplies him with weed and other drugs. By chance, Charlotte stops by at the same time for her own supply of weed. At this point we are 10 min. into the movie, but to tell you more of the plot would spoil your viewing experience, you'll just have to see for yourself how it all plays out.

    Couple of comments: this is the latest movie from writer-director Brett Haley, who previously brought us "I'll See you In My Dreams". Here Haley reflects on the life if an aging Western actor whose only significant role was in "The Hero", a movie made in the 70s. "I've been busy, not achieving", Lee comments. Haley pays attention to the details, as of course it's the small things in life that make most of our lives. Whether the relationship between the Lee character (in his early 70s) and the Charlotte character (in her late 30s) is believable I will leave to you to decide... The movie is chock-full of top performances, none of which more so than Sam Elliott, who seems to be only getting better as he is getting older. Other noteworthy roles come from Laura Prepon as Charlotte (in a role MILES away from her TV work in That 70s Show and Orange Is the New Black), and also Katharine Ross as Lee's ex (she is Elliott's wife in real life). And if you wonder who Edna St. Vincent Millay is, this movie will explain once and for all...

    "The Hero" opened on 2 screens for all of Greater Cincinnati this weekend, and I wouldn't wait to see it. The Friday evening screening where I saw this at was attended very nicely (but not sold out). If you are in the mood for a movie that plays out rather predictably but nevertheless is enjoyable to take in and features a career-best performance from Sam Elliott, "The Hero" is just for you, be it in the theater, on VOD or eventually on DVD/Blu-ray.
  • Tweetienator9 September 2017
    Quiet & Great
    A fine little movie with a great cast and a superb tone of melancholy. A little love story, aging, death, loneliness, reconciliation, and the trial about one's life's achievements - The Hero is a quiet movie with all the great themes of human existence. Sam Elliot plays the lead just exquisite and convincing, and the performances of his side-kicks Laura Prepon, Krysten Ritter and Nick Offerman give him a lot to work with and the right canvas for his play. The Hero is an emotional, sad and contemplative movie with some bright spots and fine humor refined with some poetic works by Edna St. Vincent Millay. Alone the reading of the poem Dirge Without Music by Laura Prepon at the end of the movie... A movie for a mature audience.
  • george.schmidt24 June 2017
    Elliott gives an Oscar-worthy turn
    Warning: Spoilers
    THE HERO (2017) *** 1/2 Sam Elliott, Laura Prepon, Krysten Ritter, Nick Offerman, Katharine Ross, Max Gail. Elliott gives an Oscar-worthy turn as an on the wane actor who, between getting high with his pot dealer and attempting to bond with his estranged daughter, is diagnosed with cancer leading to some life re-affirming with a new love (Prepon) and a lifetime achievement award in the process. Director Brett Haley's screenplay with Marc Basch is tailor-made for the erstwhile Elliott whose under appreciation and sublime performance mirrors his own career to boot.
  • Uberiffic14 July 2017
    Sam Elliot and Laura Prepon are splendid but the movie is dull as dirt
    Warning: Spoilers
    Yes... SPOILERS.

    While the performances were as strong as they seemed in the trailer, the overall film was not what I was expecting. Sam Elliot was very good as an aging Western film star facing his mortality and the results of his "lifetime of achievement." The surprise stand out was Laura Prepon. She added zest and a spark to what was a very dreary and often pointless story. Playing an out of the box and far younger love interest added a much needed and fascinating element.

    This movie feels long and plods in a poorly paced manner. Given the performances, you could forgive the dullness had more scenes been profound and moving. Instead, we experience a LOT of wear and tear and a LOT of emotional numbness. The overall story arc really never concludes and much like real life there aren't easy answers. The third act simply ends on a profound poem about life.
  • Tess Burnside18 June 2017
    A must-see movie. Sam Elliott at his best
    Warning: Spoilers
    This past weekend, I had the opportunity to attend an advance showing of The Hero.

    If you see nothing this summer but one movie, see this one.

    Sam Elliott stars as an ailing actor coming to terms with his own mortality, along with his past and his strained relationships.

    Sam's portrayal of the main character, Lee Hayden, was riveting. He conveyed raw emotion on screen, almost a voyeuristic event, peering into an emotional train wreck as the character tries to find the answers while he self-medicates through life.

    It was real. It was believable. And it is quite possibly Elliott's greatest work.

    I left the theater wanting more.
  • BogdanH9 September 2017
    Don't expect much of a story
    If you're younger than, say 40, then you'll find this movie extremely boring. Well, I think it's boring and I'm over 50. To be honest, I would probably stop watching this movie in the middle, if there wouldn't be Sam Elliot. It's his appearance that keep you watching, not the story. The thing is, there isn't much of a story: no "big" questions and no answers... you need to imagine them just by looking at Sam's face expressions. Or maybe even I am too young to understand "the message". About relationships.. there aren't any either. The idea of good looking young woman (Laura Prepon) falling for such old man is kinda unbelievable, so it should be supported by some dialogs -looking into each others eyes just isn't enough in such case.

    Btw. Who at IMDb decides about movies genre? Because, if this movie contains any of comedy elements, then I really need to get checked by a shrink.
  • bruce-12916 December 2017
    The Hero outside the movie is Sam Elliot
    Warning: Spoilers
    Sam Elliot, the guy his voice, his mustache and gravitas was the hero of this movie, for without it the movie would be all but unwatchable, whereas with him you are mesmerized to watch to the end where you realize it's really not a good movie.

    Sam Elliot and his wife are in this movie. Katherine Ross from a long, long time ago plays the ex-wife of Elliot's character.

    I wanted to like this movie and I kind of did, but at a certain point you realize there is nothing here. Elliot's character is buoyed up by Elliot's image and the fact that at 70 he can still attract a 30-something Laura Prepon. Ridiculous ... yes indeed. Made further ridiculous by the fact that Prepon's character is a stand up comedian, and when Elliot comes to watch her perform she tells every hackneyed geriatric joke she can think of, humiliating him, thus making him more sympathetic to the audience. This is what this movie is about, cheap tricks with very good casting.

    Then there is the scene where Elliot at 70 has the bad judgement to take a drug with his champagne on the way to receive his acting lifelong achievement award. He totally humiliates himself by calling an older woman up from the audience and giving the award to her. Supposedly this video makes it way to social media and people go crazy over it.

    What is good about this movie, and the reason I give it a 3/10 and not a 0-2 is that between elements of a really bad plot, the person to person scenes with Elliot and his family, friends and absurd new love interest, the movie somehow works off the charisma of Elliot himself who is always fun to watch.

    Whatever is good in this film is owed to Elliot and Nick Offerman who plays Elliot's friend and pot dealer who show the elusive intimate working of a male - male non-gay friendship. That is kind of a miracle in Hollywood right there.

    It's a bad movie with some choice moments that makes one wonder why Elliot never became the star he should have because the camera loves him.

  • popcorninhell9 July 2017
    Tin-Eared and Boring
    The Hero often times feels like a Pyrrhic Victory - it showcases the luminous humanism and skill of a veteran actor willing to put in the hard work for a small, intimate film, yet the film itself rings so frightfully artificial that it nearly itself ablaze in tin-eared cliché and slow, art-house minutiae. Prediction: The Hero will be nominated for a token "fifth guy" Golden Globe - not because it deserves it, but because it's so coldly calibrated to make hay and celebrate the life of a much beloved character actor who, let's face it, deserves better than this.

    Sam Elliott essentially plays himself i.e. an aging formerly famous cowboy actor who keeps busy mostly through voice work and copious amounts of pot. Thus when his doctor diagnosis him with pancreatic cancer, Lee starts to consider his legacy as well as his relatively cold relationships with friends and family. Adding to the mix of moping and melancholy is Charlotte (Prepon) whose younger comedienne takes a shining to the erstwhile cowboy. "You seem sad," she says while waiting for their mutual pot dealer (Offerman). Seems that's all it takes to make a connection.

    The movie unfolds more-or-less how you'd expect. The cowboy trudges through his minor commitments, attempts to make amends with his ex-wife (Ross) and daughter (Ritter) while playing the "Big C" close to his chest. Much ado is made about a lifetime achievement award dolled-out by a western preservation society but its narrative importance is drowned out by surreal reoccurring dreams and a series of extreme close-ups.

    It all rings less of subtlety and character-driven composure and more like the film is just going through the motions. Sam Elliott simmers with understated intensity but every other character that orbits him are broadly rendered California-types that repeatedly call him "dude" and "man." The script makes little attempt to give its supporting characters inner life, nor does it give any new dimension to the clichés it collects along Elliott's journey of self-discovery. Instead it takes various plot-threads and makes them feel like padding - bland, boring padding.

    Other than Sam Elliott's stage presence, the best that can be said about The Hero is at least it's not the similarly themed The Last Word (2017). While matching that film in the level of poignancy or lack thereof, The Hero is as comfortably dressed down as The Last Word was obnoxiously twee. It opts for the level tone of a gracious elegy western - cordial, wistful, remarkably old-fashioned and elusive.

    Yet its that elusiveness that slowly drains The Hero of any of its impact. We're never brought into Lee's head space despite ten minute segments of the aged cowboy smoking pot and discussing the metaphorical implications of a desktop iceberg. What's left then is a movie much like its hero - a funhouse mirror version of emotion masquerading as the real thing.
  • Unlimitedmovies16 July 2017
    I'll have to up my dose of Prozac after seeing The Hero.
    My husband and I saw The Hero today but did not read any plot summary before we went. I was excited to look at Sam Elliott for two hours but after the first 30 minutes or so my excitement waned. This is not a movie you want to see if you are having issues with aging or if you are already depressed. There is no closure to this movie. It pulls you along thru emotional tug of wars in Sam's head but you don't get the tying of loose ends at the conclusion of the film that you need. We were just left feeling sad when the credits were rolling. The last time I saw Katherine Ross she was riding on the handlebars with Paul Newman in Butch Cassidy. I was shocked that she didn't age well and it was an extra depressing reminder of the passing of time. My husband and I are in our early 60's and we both felt like, "Oh no, is this what we have to look forward to?" This script was obviously written especially for Sam Elliott to score an Oscar nomination and I think he will get one and well deserved. Just don't go to this movie thinking it is entertaining. It is simply depression on celluloid.
  • rizzojr3 November 2017
    Just another rerun...
    The Hero does not live up to where movies of the same genre do (the Wrestler, Crazy Heart) in that we're made well aware of the protagonist's past in order to advance the plot. Unfortunately, the Hero fails short in that it leaves Sam Elliot left to pick up a script devoid of virtually any background. Instead of using the past to build his future, this movie leaves his past and attempts to build a new character. Not at all what I hoped for.
  • crosetto13 June 2017
    very slow, no meaningful conversation
    very slow, no intelligent or meaningful conversation.

    A waste of time. The director seems just to have placed some ingredients in a kitchen sink such as: some nudity, understanding problems with the daughter, and even cancer to leverage on the emotion of the viewers, making things sensational to watch.

    Not realistic sequence of actions. After 71 yrs Lee had all that whisky and took the strong drug, I would expect to see him in coma in the next picture, instead he was in his best shape like a 25 years old man.

    The only thing a bit original was Lee's speech during the award ceremony that he passed to Diana.

    Do not waste your time, there are many movies out there that are much better
  • SamoKu8 September 2017
    That's it?
    Always makes me laugh when I see American filmmakers try to make serious movies. By that I don't mean there are no serious American filmmakers. There are, of course there are. But Haley should first try something simpler, an action movie or a thriller, not drama about complicated real life stuff. He's like a child playing at being grown up. A pathetic movie. Not worth even one point.
  • Quietb-115 June 2017
    Hero, not really.
    Warning: Spoilers
    Sam Elliott stars as a seventy year plus old actor diagnosed with cancer. His claim to fame was a classic western called "Hero". Now he has to come to terms with his mortality. He also has to reconcile with his daughter and take care of a new young love interest.

    Elliott cares this on his back. He is about the only thing that works in the movie. In spite of too many staring into the ocean, or into the canyon scenes he gives a good performance. The dialogue is weak and contrived. In one scene they didn't write it and we watch the scene from out in the street. The dialogue between father and daughter is as weak as the dumb exposition of why they were estranged.

    The relationship with the new young girl didn't ring true. Her profession as a stand up comedian was conveniently written to provide a couple of scenes. She sure wasn't funny on stage or around the house.

    The best news the movie was over before the lead character. It's a small movie with limited release. No need to see it in a theater. The danger of seeing it in the comfort of your home is falling asleep.
  • jbriskey-3054616 January 2018
    Snooze Fest.
    We waited, and waited, and waited, and then it ended. It was slow, maudlin, and ultimately dull. A pointless waste of talent. Too bad. We still love you, Sam!
  • Jugu Abraham17 September 2017
    A lovely script, a great lead performance and commendable direction
    I do wish the guys who nominate films for the forthcoming Oscars don't miss out on this one. It is one of the best films from USA in a long while. Sam Elliot and Brett Haley deserve a thumbs up. Laura Prepon ought to get picked up for good roles in the future. Sad that TIFF failed to honor this work in the competition.

    A lovely script, a great lead performance and commendable direction. And good to see the return of Katherine Ross--only to team up with her real life husband.
  • adonis98-743-18650323 December 2017
    Elliot's Best Perfomance!!
    An ailing movie star comes to terms with his past and mortality. Thanks to an amazing and inspiring perfomance from Sam Elliot (who is better than ever) The Hero provides a moving and intelligent love story about 2 people with a big age difference but also the meaning of life and true love and how one role can change one person's life forever and become an icon threw that. (9/10)
  • sznhgn4 June 2017
    A movie I've seen
    Sam Elliott and Nick Offerman were great, but that's about all I can say about this--not because of the acting by others, but because it was an overused story. They didn't have much to work with. The plot was predictable and hackneyed. It was like a movie I'd seen--many times before--including the standard situation (shown in the trailer) about an absent father and the strained relationship with his child and everything that predictably happens. We waited for the ending to see if it would redeem itself, but no.
  • galahad58-16 October 2017
    Nothing Heroic
    Not sure why people go all gaga when an older actor makes a movie about being an older actor. This is one of the worse renditions of an older actor playing an older actor though. The script is awful as can be - it is poorly written and the majority of the movie is Sam Elliot getting high.

    These types of movies are supposed to make you feel something positive for the main character, but I didn't like his character at all.

    A movie that really should not have been made. Not the old character movies that Clint Eastwood makes in any way, shape or form.
An error has occured. Please try again.