The series follows on 25 years after the events of the 1992 film, Romper Stomper (1992). Returning cast members include: Jacqueline McKenzie as Gabe, Dan Wyllie as Cackles, and John Brumpton as Magoo/McGoo. Writer/Director Geoffrey Wright also returns.

The opening scene of the series echoes the ending shot of the original film

The original film's director, Geoffrey Wright, directs two episodes, alongside fellow directors Daina Reid and James Napier Robertson.

David Wenham (Jago) & Dan Wyllie (Vic) also worked together on The Code (2014) as Ian Bradley & Lyndon Joyce respectively.

Romper Stomper is an Australian television series that was released on video streaming service Stan on 1 January 2018.

The series was commissioned by Stan in January 2017.

International broadcast rights for the series covering Asia, parts of Europe, Latin America and northern Africa were sold to SundanceTV Global.

John Brumpton (McGoo) & David Wenham (Jago) also worked together on Killing Time (2010) as Peter Dupas & Andrew Fraser respectively.

Romper Stomper was filmed in Melbourne across 9 weeks in August 2017.